• Publisher: THQ
  • Release Date: Mar 14, 2001
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 41
  2. Negative: 8 out of 41

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. FredB.
    May 1, 2003
    10
    IT ROCKSSSS!!!!
  2. DarianS.
    Jun 14, 2001
    3
    This game BLOWS!!! The graphics are laughable even at high res. The gameplay stinks, and I don't think they planned out the battle scenes very well because they are pretty F$@%&*!G retarded.
  3. Jessie
    Jun 20, 2003
    1
    This is the worst RPG ever. The only reason I played through it was because it was so stupid it was funny. It wasn't even worth the five bucks I spent on it aside from laughing at it.
  4. Auenfjeewefa.k.a.zz
    Jun 20, 2003
    1
    This game just sucks. The only reason I played through it was because its stupdity was to the point of humor. It wasn't even worth the five bucks I spent on it, besides the laughs it gave me. The whole game is focused around then main character getting poisoned, and every person he runs to sends him on a mini quest to seek out someone who can else help him, who in turn can't This game just sucks. The only reason I played through it was because its stupdity was to the point of humor. It wasn't even worth the five bucks I spent on it, besides the laughs it gave me. The whole game is focused around then main character getting poisoned, and every person he runs to sends him on a mini quest to seek out someone who can else help him, who in turn can't help him so the send him somewhere else, and so on. After awhile you get so annoyed you just end up wishing he'd just go ahead and die. The speed that the poison takes affect is so slow, you start to wonder if he was even poisoned at all. Combat is horrible. The inabilty to revive a dead character is not really as annoying as combat in general. Sometimes you can't get a swing at an enemy much less a decent hit for a bunch of turns. And each battle is so slow. It'd be okay if there weren't hundreds of people to fight. Another thing is the sound. There's hardly any background noise or music, but when a character dies it makes a horribly loud deah screech which is not necessary at all. The graphics are so bad sometimes I couldn't tell what was what. Anyway, if you're an RPG-er who'd like a laugh and have time to blow, I'd definitely recommend this game to you, if you can borrow it from someone. Just don't spend money on it. Expand
  5. NB.
    Sep 30, 2008
    6
    This game really needed to wait for the Gamecube, simple as that. Clunky controls, bad graphics, even the textures, Nintendo's saving grace with their systems, seem low res and chunky. Switching the game to "hi-res" mode with an expansion pack does nothing aside from lowering the already low FPS to levels so low as to be ridiculous. Not to mention that mere months before release they This game really needed to wait for the Gamecube, simple as that. Clunky controls, bad graphics, even the textures, Nintendo's saving grace with their systems, seem low res and chunky. Switching the game to "hi-res" mode with an expansion pack does nothing aside from lowering the already low FPS to levels so low as to be ridiculous. Not to mention that mere months before release they were still talking about features to be in the game, such as a way to keep party members if they die. All and all it's not a bad game persay, but it really needed to wait for the Gamecube. Doesn't help that in the end it actually had load times of up to 10 seconds between load areas, which just makes the point of cartridges moot. Expand
  6. EJN.
    Oct 27, 2001
    9
    Awesome, the best rpg n64 has yet!!
  7. Johnr
    Jan 4, 2010
    10
    i hate reading all the negative comments floating about concerning this game.. the n64 only has soomuch potential.. you have to consider, this game is huge, theres alot of dialoge, and theres manny items, weapons, and different types of monsters to fight. the game play and story is alittle slow and drawn out at first.. which is probably why it gets a bad reputation.. players who are used i hate reading all the negative comments floating about concerning this game.. the n64 only has soomuch potential.. you have to consider, this game is huge, theres alot of dialoge, and theres manny items, weapons, and different types of monsters to fight. the game play and story is alittle slow and drawn out at first.. which is probably why it gets a bad reputation.. players who are used to zelda and others are spoiled by pretty visuals.. those games are nice and crisp looking.. where aidyn is a bit muddy and has a blended look to it.. however there is alot to make up for it.. the storylike is amazing.. the people who say it sucks and doesent draw you in, must not know how to take there time and read or something.. there is alot in this game that makes it unique and worth playing.. other games such as final fantasy dont compare to this game.. i personally got verry annoyed with the cutscenes and music in the line of ff games.. the legend of zelda was great though.. this game is turned based.. and they have done a fantastic job of balancing everything out.. the music here has a deep and natural feel to it.. theres no techno, or modern musical sounds.. it all fits.. the music sounds natural in the sence that theres drums,, chanting, flutes and other sounds.. instead of the gutar, and other sounds.. another way to sum up just how this game feels.. its not a happy jump around and dance game.. its a game for deep meaningfull intellegent people who have the time to appreciate something.. if you are a fan of games where you rent it and beat it in a night or two games.. you will be sadly dissapointed.. i am a verry experienced Zelda OOT player and aidyn player.. oot takes me about 2 days to beat.. aidyn takes about 4... if it was your 1st time playing OOT id say it would take about a week.. so doubble that for aidyn :D to sum up how i feel.. this game is the best singleplayer game for n64. as a little tip.. try this game on emulators if you can.. it looks much better and cleaner on computer.. you can enable aa and af.. and you get better framerates. there is no gamepack corruption.. so takeaway all the bugs and flaws.. if you can emulate it.. u Expand
  8. DanielV.
    Jan 9, 2002
    10
    The best game ever!!!
  9. NickW.
    Jun 19, 2002
    10
    I think it was one of the best games I have ever played and Craig A. can kiss major butt because he dont know what he is talking about and any followers like Craig can follow him. Oh... and if you are reading this creater of one of the best games ever made[Aidyn Chronicals:The First Mage] I just want to say I am looking for this game.
  10. I_skateboardbecause_its_fun
    Jul 23, 2002
    9
    This is a really great game for somebody who wants to sit down at 8 or 9 when you are doing nothing. This is one of those games that you don't finish in two weeks (cough cough zelda cough) and you don't follow the same road every time you play it so to speak. yes the controlls are hard to figure out, but unless you are a dumbass (namely those gameshark dudes) it's not that This is a really great game for somebody who wants to sit down at 8 or 9 when you are doing nothing. This is one of those games that you don't finish in two weeks (cough cough zelda cough) and you don't follow the same road every time you play it so to speak. yes the controlls are hard to figure out, but unless you are a dumbass (namely those gameshark dudes) it's not that hard to open a f...ing instruction book and read a couple pages. THAT'S WHY THEY MAKE INSTRUCTION BOOKS! Expand
  11. CNJJackson
    Sep 14, 2004
    8
    Anyone who likes fantasy will like this game the grafics for the movies couled have been better.
  12. JohnW.
    Sep 22, 2004
    9
    This game is great, the battles were a little too long at first but after you get your dexterity up it goes much faster, the people who made this game knew there way around fantasy, some people are saying that there's not many secrets to find in the world of aidyn,they are not looking hard enough because i found many.i think this game is made for people with soul.
  13. TreborR.
    Mar 7, 2007
    10
    This was the first RPG video game I played and fell in love with it. Great storyline--(who wrote the script?) great imagination and execution. If I had to change anything would be I'd like to have had voice talent preferably from a British Cast. The graphics were simple but effective as were the music and sound effects. This is a nugget of a game that will grow on you like a classic. Enjoy!
  14. B-NIZ
    Nov 20, 2001
    10
    This game is awesome!!!
  15. KevinM.
    Oct 17, 2001
    9
    Hmmm..... I thought this was a great game, with a few exceptions. I loved how large the game was and the fact that I could explore the vast lands in the game. The only thing that I really couldn't stand about this game was that once one of the characters were killed, they didn't come back. This made me constantly save before almost every battle in fear that one of my characters Hmmm..... I thought this was a great game, with a few exceptions. I loved how large the game was and the fact that I could explore the vast lands in the game. The only thing that I really couldn't stand about this game was that once one of the characters were killed, they didn't come back. This made me constantly save before almost every battle in fear that one of my characters would die. I thought the story was great and well thought out. I also appreciated the combat system, which was a refreshing change from standing in a line and attacking. This system made me think at least a little bit. I think that newbie RPGers who can't get past the horrible graphics and sound and missing out on a great RPG, maybe my favorite RPG behind FF7 and FF9. This could have been an immensely popular title if THQ had waited a little longer and tweaked the sound and graphics of the game. Too bad. I thought this was an overall great game. Expand
  16. CraigA.
    Jun 11, 2001
    3
    This game really sucks. It is way easy to get killed when you have a hit ratio of 2 to 10, while monsters hit more like 5 of 10.
  17. AlexT.
    Jun 1, 2001
    10
    Awesome!!
  18. ReiV.
    Jun 15, 2001
    5
    There doesn't seem to be any music or sound in the game. The graphics are not the way N64 games should be.
  19. OniA.
    Dec 9, 2002
    6
    For an N64 RPG. Not bad. The problems.... Permanent character death. Adds a touch of realism, but annoys the crap out of you. Does a game really need to be that difficult if you die? While the game isn't flashy, and I was at first playing it merely to act superior and scoff, I kept on playing, even though none of the characters were cool or memorable,(I thought Abrecan was For an N64 RPG. Not bad. The problems.... Permanent character death. Adds a touch of realism, but annoys the crap out of you. Does a game really need to be that difficult if you die? While the game isn't flashy, and I was at first playing it merely to act superior and scoff, I kept on playing, even though none of the characters were cool or memorable,(I thought Abrecan was interesting in some sense.) and I couldn't force myself to care about them. Why do I keep playing it? Maybe because it's so difficult. I feel like the game mocks me. So...I guess that means I should seek some professional help. I get the feeling that H20 had really big plans for this game, but no budget or commitment to see them through to the end. Everything seems really lazilly done, and on the music subject, I just unhook the audio cable from my TV and listen to Orbital while I play. Tee hee. At least the battle system was inspired. At times whne I play other RPGs I wish that it felt more involved, none of that with Aidyn Chronicles, every battle made me nervous until I was level 12 or so. When I first played RPGs, random battles pissed me off, then I played Chrono Cross, and learned to love pre planned encounters, they added to the realism. But this game poorly integrated that aspect. How was I to get strong enough to whoop Kitarak with no enemies to whomp? I eventually got around that, and it seemed to be a bit easier afterwards. Final opinion. This game lacks. Not enough fantastic weapons or armor, not enough inspiration in the magical aspect(Or maybe Final Fantasy's Ultima and Omni Slash type moves have spoiled us?), and the characters are about as flavored and original as the original Final Fantasy's. I jad something else to say, but maybe I shouldn't be writing reviews in Psychology class? o.o; Expand
  20. KafkaF.
    Jan 31, 2002
    9
    I am a hardcore gamer, having played nearly every game known to human kind, I would have to say those top mags are full of "stuff". Though Aidyn Chronicles may be slow paced to some, anyone who has played, ACTUALLY played a D&D game would understand that RPG's by definitine are slow, and boring to all you sugar-poppies. The soundtrack was strange enough to promote the same ambiance I am a hardcore gamer, having played nearly every game known to human kind, I would have to say those top mags are full of "stuff". Though Aidyn Chronicles may be slow paced to some, anyone who has played, ACTUALLY played a D&D game would understand that RPG's by definitine are slow, and boring to all you sugar-poppies. The soundtrack was strange enough to promote the same ambiance as ancient games like Ultima or D&D silverblade and pool of radiance. I would have given this game a 10, but the game lost fraction points for HIGH RES problems, but the game is still very good in low res. The best part of the game is the lengthy, but intellegent battle systems. The worst part is I haven't figured out how to revive character (without a gameshark of course) Expand
  21. Beavarius
    Apr 4, 2002
    10
    As someone who loves to play D&D and any RPG game that is good, which limits me to FF7 and FF9, I really enjoyed Aidyn. Aidyn Chronicles is essentially D&D as a video game. One of it's little flaws are that you can't revive dead party members and the game crashes sometimes. Other than that you have a great adventure with a story that is different from the usual RPG "Kill the As someone who loves to play D&D and any RPG game that is good, which limits me to FF7 and FF9, I really enjoyed Aidyn. Aidyn Chronicles is essentially D&D as a video game. One of it's little flaws are that you can't revive dead party members and the game crashes sometimes. Other than that you have a great adventure with a story that is different from the usual RPG "Kill the evil guy and marry the king's daughter". It's about a young squire named Alaron who is poisened by goblins and must find a cure. It sounds shallow but I'm not in the mood to write a long review. Any RPG lovers dream game and a game that might make someone who despises RPG's start to like them. It's excellent, 'nuff said. Expand
  22. BobF.
    Oct 24, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome!!! Even though I don't know that much about RPG's I do know a thing or two about fantasy. When you can take a game and make people feel like they're part of it. It is something very interesting indeed. Oh and one more thing. All you a...holes who are dissing on this game because of freaking graphics really need to get a life. If you are such a hard This game is awesome!!! Even though I don't know that much about RPG's I do know a thing or two about fantasy. When you can take a game and make people feel like they're part of it. It is something very interesting indeed. Oh and one more thing. All you a...holes who are dissing on this game because of freaking graphics really need to get a life. If you are such a hard player you would know that image isn't everything. Besides this games for N64 of course the graphics aren't going to be as good as a PS2 or X-box game. Expand
  23. Glacier
    Mar 4, 2004
    10
    I just bought the game and i like it so far.
  24. JohnM.
    Jun 12, 2005
    10
    Ok to sum it all up dont play this game if you are the type of gamer who likes fast paced games but if you have time on you're hands GET THIS GAME!!! i am in love with this game it is my favroite game i even have dreams about playing this game i even bought 2 copy's just incase i lost 1 or something happend to one GET THIS!!!!
  25. Quincy
    Aug 22, 2006
    10
    This Is One Of the Best Games Ever . the world is the BIGGEST one i have ever seen in any game and the music is really great. i really love that you can choose about 13 palyable chararters and that you can train them however you whant. i also love the great storyline . The only thing i did'nt liked where the graphics but the game is so amazing that it doesn't really notice. i This Is One Of the Best Games Ever . the world is the BIGGEST one i have ever seen in any game and the music is really great. i really love that you can choose about 13 palyable chararters and that you can train them however you whant. i also love the great storyline . The only thing i did'nt liked where the graphics but the game is so amazing that it doesn't really notice. i really recomened this game. Expand
  26. JohnS.
    Apr 28, 2007
    9
    Pros: Immersive world that is huge! It also contains plenty of hidden secrets, which are very well hidden. Every aspect of the character can be customized. Dialogue fits each character. Slow but fun combat system. The world itself is gorgeous. Enemies can be seen on the world map and the world just flows into itself nicely, fans of Hyrule Field in OOT will be amazed at how seas blend into Pros: Immersive world that is huge! It also contains plenty of hidden secrets, which are very well hidden. Every aspect of the character can be customized. Dialogue fits each character. Slow but fun combat system. The world itself is gorgeous. Enemies can be seen on the world map and the world just flows into itself nicely, fans of Hyrule Field in OOT will be amazed at how seas blend into mountains blend into forests all with textures that match OOT. Cons: The characters for the most part are lacking. Animation also seems rather lacking. The game is a bit hard at first, but it eventually levels out. Expand
  27. TomB.
    May 5, 2008
    3
    I played this game with the knowledge that it was an RPG with a strong fantasy sense. After reading reviews like those above from users from various game sites, I thought this game would be fantastic. This is sadly not the case, if anything the gameplay is boringly slow. The trudging over this "massive" world is more tedious than fun when compared to other massive games. The mechanics and I played this game with the knowledge that it was an RPG with a strong fantasy sense. After reading reviews like those above from users from various game sites, I thought this game would be fantastic. This is sadly not the case, if anything the gameplay is boringly slow. The trudging over this "massive" world is more tedious than fun when compared to other massive games. The mechanics and the limiting movement in battle mars this title's possible accomplishments. It doesn't lack story or graphics to much degree, but the gameplay at it's core is unbelievably boring and trivial. This game should not be given a ten based on simple things like graphics or amount of characters. Skip this game. Expand
  28. [Anonymous]
    Nov 27, 2001
    8
    I like this game. I think they could have improved it by making more music, enhancing the graphics, not making it so challanging, and improving the battle scenes. I really like this game except for the poor graphics and the game challenge level.
  29. JustinF.
    Jul 14, 2001
    10
    It's a cool castle game.
  30. GamerG.
    Jul 27, 2001
    2
    This game is horrible. The graphics are primitive and the layout is frustrating. Battle is extremely slow and time consuming. Just a little more thought could have improved the poor battle layout.
  31. JoeC.
    Feb 26, 2003
    2
    This game isn't worth a minute of your time. The overall plot was actually okay. presented horribley and trying to make a games elements real while forgetting all the rest like the fricken combat 9if you've played for that long) felt like you swing hit them or miss them half the time showing mercy I'd say this game was rotted by bad development come on. THQ hasn't ever This game isn't worth a minute of your time. The overall plot was actually okay. presented horribley and trying to make a games elements real while forgetting all the rest like the fricken combat 9if you've played for that long) felt like you swing hit them or miss them half the time showing mercy I'd say this game was rotted by bad development come on. THQ hasn't ever come up with a game that wasn't a snorefest. Expand
  32. CaedenH.
    Oct 26, 2005
    9
    This is a very good RPG for patcient, laid back RPG fans. It has a wonderfuly complex storyline, a huge world, and the potential for a great remake. It is also VERY unique as far as storyline and gameplay go. There isn't a game like it. Its too bad that the big critics gave it such a bad rap. I love the game and would like to see a remake. I would say the only problem is that the This is a very good RPG for patcient, laid back RPG fans. It has a wonderfuly complex storyline, a huge world, and the potential for a great remake. It is also VERY unique as far as storyline and gameplay go. There isn't a game like it. Its too bad that the big critics gave it such a bad rap. I love the game and would like to see a remake. I would say the only problem is that the graphics give me a headache but they really arent that bad for n64. In short it was a good game made at the wrong time for the wrong crowd. I wish they would remake it for Xbox with all the errors fixed. Expand
  33. Oct 31, 2011
    7
    not that bad, animation really hurts and combat is not succesfull but was a really ambitious project for the 64 which was great for its time
  34. Jan 19, 2014
    3
    This game crushed my soul. It's got a dead, massive, empty world. The combat is painstakingly awkward. The graphics are so terrible that they make you want to gouge your eyes out, and inserting the expansion pack only gives you framerate stutter for some reason. The music isn't great, and it's usually not present any. There are almost no sounds except for your own headache-inducingThis game crushed my soul. It's got a dead, massive, empty world. The combat is painstakingly awkward. The graphics are so terrible that they make you want to gouge your eyes out, and inserting the expansion pack only gives you framerate stutter for some reason. The music isn't great, and it's usually not present any. There are almost no sounds except for your own headache-inducing footsteps for hours on end. And for all of your effort wandering around the bland world aimlessly, fighting banal monsters over and over again, your main character never stops looking like an embarrassing dweeb. Still, I might be insane, but the story was actually passable. If it could be remade with modern graphics, filled with sidequests, some way to let you know what to do next, and a good battle system, I see it being extremely enjoyable. Expand
Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 7 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 7
  2. Negative: 3 out of 7
  1. It's a shame that Aidyn's slow pace and plodding combat mean many of its pluses will be discovered only by the most stubborn players out there.
  2. After prodding through this journey over the past week, I can assure hopeful N64 players that this game isn't worth your time, money, or effort.
  3. This attempt to add strategy to combat brings the entire gaming experience (slowly) crashing down, and ruins any chance of the gamer enjoying the story being presented.