Banjo-Kazooie Nintendo 64
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 224 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Mixed: 0 out of 224
  2. Negative: 8 out of 224

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 27, 2011
    10
    i still remember clearly the impresions this game caused me when i played it for the 1st time, it had never seen before graphics, a lot of moves, so many things to do, amazing sense of freedom.....but not better than super mario 64 IMO
  2. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    Banjo-Kazooie is in my opinion one of the greatest games ever made. The graphics are amazing for it's time, playing it today just really gets you into that nostalgic feel! How the characters act and sound is pretty much unique to this game, the hilarious bosses and the wide range of maps, challenges, upgrades, transformations and terrain makes this game simply amazing. The soundtrack isBanjo-Kazooie is in my opinion one of the greatest games ever made. The graphics are amazing for it's time, playing it today just really gets you into that nostalgic feel! How the characters act and sound is pretty much unique to this game, the hilarious bosses and the wide range of maps, challenges, upgrades, transformations and terrain makes this game simply amazing. The soundtrack is also exceptionally good!

    Thank you, Rare, Thank you so very much.
    Expand
  3. Mar 30, 2014
    10
    Banjo Kazooie is a masterpiece on the Nintendo 64. It has very fun gameplay and platforming that you just cannot find anywhere else except probably Tooie. The levels are all fun with very fun missions and cool things to collect; It has some good challenges and puzzles and level designs. However, it's not just the gameplay that makes this such an amazing game, it's also the wit and humorBanjo Kazooie is a masterpiece on the Nintendo 64. It has very fun gameplay and platforming that you just cannot find anywhere else except probably Tooie. The levels are all fun with very fun missions and cool things to collect; It has some good challenges and puzzles and level designs. However, it's not just the gameplay that makes this such an amazing game, it's also the wit and humor this game has to offer. The characters are so unforgettable and awesome and you will probably find plenty of moments in this game that are full of good comedy. Banjo-Kazooie is one of the greatest platformers ever made, I honestly thought it was way better than Super Mario 64. This game is a must-own for any Nintendo 64 owner; it's such a shame that Rare can't make anymore quality games like this anymore. Expand
  4. CourtneyB.
    Jan 22, 2004
    10
    This game is purely amazing. It's what makes N64 great. I've been addicted to it since the moment I bought it, and can play it over and over. Great graphics, easy to understand..and nothing is too complicated. Awesome.
  5. BobA.
    Mar 12, 2003
    10
    This game is awesome and is the most brilliant game i've ever played. Filled with puzzles and tons of stuff to collect. 9 completely different worlds and different places in the castle to go to make this game the best i have ever played in my life.
  6. JessikaB.
    Nov 22, 2003
    10
    This is one of the best games you will every play! the big goofy bear and the wise talking bird make a great couple!
  7. Nov 10, 2011
    9
    Who needs Super Mario 64 when you can play as a bear teamed up with a bird in a back-pack in Banjo-Kazooie? Banjo-Kazooie may had the same concept gameplay as Super Mario 64 did, but the game did offer really creative levels, a quirky style and a different take in the gameplay to make the whole experience in Banjo-Kazooie acceptable. Rareware did a magnificent job creating these humorousWho needs Super Mario 64 when you can play as a bear teamed up with a bird in a back-pack in Banjo-Kazooie? Banjo-Kazooie may had the same concept gameplay as Super Mario 64 did, but the game did offer really creative levels, a quirky style and a different take in the gameplay to make the whole experience in Banjo-Kazooie acceptable. Rareware did a magnificent job creating these humorous characters that quickly became charming and fun throughout the game. The presentation in visuals is outstanding for a 1998 game on the N64 and the overall game soundtrack is extremely catchy to match the Banjo universe perfectly. Like Super Mario 64, Banjo-Kazooie is one of those titles you do not know when to put the controller down. The game is entirely fun with solid puzzle challenges and great exploration through each and every location. However, the game can be really nerve wrecking at times if you plan to complete the game at 100% or playing later portions of the game such as the final boss with Gruntilda. Believe me, beating her to finish the game is pretty difficult. In results, Banjo-Kazooie is a solid platformer containing jigsaw piece to find and birds to fire eggs out of their butts. I highly recommend anyone to get Banjo-Kazooie to any fans of platforming games or video games in general. It's definitely a game you will not get disappointed with. Expand
  8. Mar 20, 2015
    10
    This game, is quite simply, almost perfect. The over-world is designed beautifully. It's not too big, and it allows you to go exploring, whilst still keeping you on a path throughout the lair. The levels are great. They allow you to come back to them and slowly unlock more knowledge about them until you get every puzzle piece and honeycomb imaginable! Discovery is not too cryptic, and theThis game, is quite simply, almost perfect. The over-world is designed beautifully. It's not too big, and it allows you to go exploring, whilst still keeping you on a path throughout the lair. The levels are great. They allow you to come back to them and slowly unlock more knowledge about them until you get every puzzle piece and honeycomb imaginable! Discovery is not too cryptic, and the game always gives hints towards what to do, without making it obvious. You really have to think, and that's what I love about this game. The world is full of secrets that have simple puzzles blocking your way to them. When you solve the puzzle, it's so satisfying! Mix that with good platforming, and you have the formula for a great game. However, when I say "good" platforming, I mean "good" and not "great", as the world is more set around problem solving. The graphics are nice and colourful, and the music is catchy. I like the was Banjo controls, and though it's not quite as great as in Sonic Adventure, it's good. One problem however is that occasionally with the way the control is implemented, it can sometimes be frustrating in a part of the level, like in the part of Freezeezy Peak where you have to hit the alligators. it's weirdly non-functional! One of the other few flaws is the generic story, but since the game pays such a small amount of attention to it, it hardly matters. I LOVE this game, and give it a 9.5 (though because Metacritic doesn't have decimal ratings, I have to give it a 10) Expand
  9. Aug 23, 2014
    10
    all i can say is that it is super mario 64 but with more curative, more fun, and more exciting EVERYTHING. rare your a genius. thank you for this masterpiece
  10. Nov 10, 2014
    9
    A revolutionary game with outstanding graphics and flawless game play. An adventure worth going back to again and again. A MUST have for any N64 collector or fan.
  11. Oct 29, 2014
    10
    Greatest game I've ever played in 25 years of my gaming life!
    This is masterpiece of mankind.
    Caraters, graphic, music, secrets, moves, progression, humor, controls...
  12. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  13. Apr 12, 2015
    10
    I LOVE THIS GAME. this changed every ones look on a game for the better no longer a high sore game. It was a bout the adventure and thrill i loved every moment playing this game 10/10
  14. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
  15. Char
    Feb 8, 2004
    10
    Though I played the game when I was quite young, I loved it. Stunning graphics for 1998, catchy music (you can find me humming the tune of 'Gruntilda's Lair' most of the time), and astonishing characters and villains. Though it resembles Super Mario, I think it's better. Of course, I didn't get very far in the game, but by reading the whole story on another site, Though I played the game when I was quite young, I loved it. Stunning graphics for 1998, catchy music (you can find me humming the tune of 'Gruntilda's Lair' most of the time), and astonishing characters and villains. Though it resembles Super Mario, I think it's better. Of course, I didn't get very far in the game, but by reading the whole story on another site, I could tell a LOT of work was put into this game. Expand
  16. Dec 9, 2011
    9
    I don't know how this game does it. You have to collect 100 notes, 10 jigsaws, 5 jingos, etc. in each level. It seems like the concept of just collecting various little trinkets scattered across the level would be boring and repetitive but it's the complete opposite. The art style, the music, the humorous story, everything about this game is awesome, and I'll be replaying it years from now.
  17. Sep 28, 2014
    9
    This is an amazing game from start to finish. While the controls may be outdated by today's standards You will get used to them really fast. The game play is fantastic with many collectibles that will make the completionist's happy. the story is simple, but engrossing with all of the humor in the game. the only flaw in my opinion is that if you die, you have to collect every single noteThis is an amazing game from start to finish. While the controls may be outdated by today's standards You will get used to them really fast. The game play is fantastic with many collectibles that will make the completionist's happy. the story is simple, but engrossing with all of the humor in the game. the only flaw in my opinion is that if you die, you have to collect every single note again (this was fixed in the xbla remake). If you have an n64, please get this game. Expand
  18. JimW.
    Jan 3, 2008
    10
    Great graphics, great music, great storyline, great characters and great worlds. Overall my favorite game I have ever played even the best game ever made!. Please, please,please make games like this again today. Rare come back.
  19. RyanM.
    Feb 10, 2003
    10
    This game is truly one of the most addicting games there is. The basic storyline and the wide array of characters gives this game the title of a basic easy to understand best platformer ever. a one of a kind.
  20. AlbertR.
    Jul 6, 2003
    10
    It"s action and adventure I love it action aventure mixed together new monsters for each level and neat tricks for each level 2 thumps way way up.
  21. ZachG.
    Feb 20, 2004
    10
    Greatest game i've ever played! Rareware is a genious! Too bad they've been boughten by Microsoft though...
  22. RobertC.
    Mar 12, 2004
    9
    Just a flat-out great platformer...further proof that Nintendo and Rare were infact the Godsends of video gaming. Though I must admit...Grultida is unbelieveably hard.
  23. JustinC.
    Sep 30, 2005
    10
    This game rocks. Thats it. You can't deny it.
  24. JaimeF.
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    I really, really like this game.I use to like zelda better but now ive finishd both of my zelda games i like banjo and kazooie better!
  25. ZiggyStardust
    Oct 31, 2002
    10
    It's really on par with Mario 64 in being a brilliant 3D platformer. I didn't expect such greatness going in. It blew me away.
  26. SiroldS.
    Jun 2, 2003
    10
    Challenging puzzles, lush graphics, cool moves, zany characters. THE best action game for N64, period.
  27. Donald
    Aug 20, 2003
    10
    Wooo yeah okay hooray yah...whatever. It's an awesome game, but it's too hard to find the empty honeycombs in the beach level...
  28. Uter
    Sep 5, 2003
    10
    A really long and well designed game. There's a lot of collecting, but it's made so fun I didn't mind at all.
  29. WayneP.
    Apr 3, 2004
    10
    Buy it NOW!!!!!!
  30. JonH.
    Mar 26, 2005
    8
    A nice little mario rip-off, quite fun.
  31. J.M.
    Jun 20, 2005
    10
    This is a neat game, and its replay value was good.
  32. NickS.
    Feb 15, 2006
    10
    I never give a rating of 10 for either games or movies. But 7 years onwards I cannot forget how good the game was, the best game on N64, Although the flexibility and moviement of Mario 64 is slightly better, Banjo is better in every other department. Buy it, even if you have the nintendo cube, this is one of the best games you will play in your life.
  33. BenF.
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    One of the best games ever! Buy it. It is still available at stores. They still sell old products like old movies.
  34. EmilyRose
    Jun 5, 2008
    10
    This game is obviously one of the best games I've ever played. I got the game when i was 7 and it amazed me just as much, if not more, than zelda:orcarina of time. This game is truly a masterpiece. Rare has been focusing on other titles recently which is fine, when they released information about banjo kazooie: nuts and bolts i got excited....until i looked at the screenshots. I was This game is obviously one of the best games I've ever played. I got the game when i was 7 and it amazed me just as much, if not more, than zelda:orcarina of time. This game is truly a masterpiece. Rare has been focusing on other titles recently which is fine, when they released information about banjo kazooie: nuts and bolts i got excited....until i looked at the screenshots. I was very disappointed at first at the gaming *leap* they were making with this series but once I read a little about the game, I realized it hasn't changed and I'm currently waiting for it to hit shelves. But anyway back to Banjo Kazooie, the game had a kiddish look but it really did make you feel happy and it kept you playing until the sun came up. Def one of the best games made! Expand
  35. AdrianP.
    Aug 31, 2002
    9
    I own the game and i like it,its a neat action adventure expirience and the 3-d levels are facinating,the game is fairly long too and theres and whole lotta different enemies for every level so i gave it a 9.
  36. Banjo
    Apr 17, 2003
    10
    What a great game!
  37. Banjokazooie
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    A very good platformer,better than i had ever expected!
  38. JimmyC.
    Mar 3, 2004
    10
    This is quite simply the best game ever made, there is no, i repeat no faults in the game whatsoever. It is long, but not to spread out (like Banjo-Tooie), its worlds are ingenious and imaginitive, and capture the essence of bear country perfectly, the music is fantastic, and i can be found humming click clock wood every day, i even worked out how to play it on the piano, i commend Rare This is quite simply the best game ever made, there is no, i repeat no faults in the game whatsoever. It is long, but not to spread out (like Banjo-Tooie), its worlds are ingenious and imaginitive, and capture the essence of bear country perfectly, the music is fantastic, and i can be found humming click clock wood every day, i even worked out how to play it on the piano, i commend Rare greatly, and this game may never be beat. Expand
  39. DDRManiac
    Apr 16, 2004
    10
    I love this game and think it is one of the most amazing works of all time. It is a true masterpiece in its simplicity and simultaneous difficulty. Although it seems to be clearly aimed at a young crowd with it's silly voices and names, it is enjoyable at any age. People who say it is similar to Mario or a copy of Mario should get it through their heads that BK is like a revised I love this game and think it is one of the most amazing works of all time. It is a true masterpiece in its simplicity and simultaneous difficulty. Although it seems to be clearly aimed at a young crowd with it's silly voices and names, it is enjoyable at any age. People who say it is similar to Mario or a copy of Mario should get it through their heads that BK is like a revised edition of Mario. True, Mario is a classic and was the first game for N64 ever, but Banjo Kazooie came so quickly after that it's hard to even say that RARE could have copied the design. I can play this game again and again and even when I have gotten each and every note and jiggy in the game, I go back and start a new game to do it all over again. I would call this game one of the true classics for the Nintendo 64 gaming console. Expand
  40. SeanB.
    Jul 15, 2004
    10
    Simple idea, hilarious, and it'll just make you smile. :-)
  41. ArthurM.
    Aug 12, 2004
    10
    Banjo Kazooie was and still is a perfect game. The graphics are amazing for its time, the music i could hum along to all day and the gameplay...... just a masterpiece.
  42. LukeC.
    Aug 6, 2005
    10
    Good Game
  43. Edouble24
    Jun 16, 2007
    10
    Best N64 game ever.
  44. FlappyFlappy
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    Best game in the whole world! I think they should make a movie on the first to games.
  45. MichaelJ.
    Aug 28, 2007
    10
    Absolutely amazing. I grew up playing this game- I loved it when I was 6, and I love it even more now. It may seem "kiddy", but trust me, there are some very challenging parts, and the ENTIRE game is constantly fun. You will never be bored.
  46. Banjo-KazooieForever
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    Ah...the memories of good times. The first action platform game I ever got when I was 10. 9 years on and I still consider it to be the best platform game EVER. The beautiful, rich worlds amazed me when I first played the level Mumbo's Mountain at the shops. This was the N64 generation (a very special time to have been a part of....just watch the N64 Kid video...that's the kind Ah...the memories of good times. The first action platform game I ever got when I was 10. 9 years on and I still consider it to be the best platform game EVER. The beautiful, rich worlds amazed me when I first played the level Mumbo's Mountain at the shops. This was the N64 generation (a very special time to have been a part of....just watch the N64 Kid video...that's the kind of impact it had) and I still remember the day I got it for Christmas. I couldn't have been happier when I got my very own copy. I don't get that kind of satisfaction these days that I got then when I buy games...probably since the N64 was such a big technical leap. The rich worlds, lively characters, fantastic gameplay and music are what made it a very memorable game. (Damn the music was awesome! Rare always make good music.) I realise that a lot of games these days try ato be too cool and hardcore...but the truth is, they're often just depressing. Banjo Kazooie may have seemed kiddish, but it was a game that made you happy. The atmosphere of the whole world was amazing. I don't know what Banjo Threeie will be like (from the looks of the trailer it looks horrible) but I know that Banjo Kazooie along with Banjo Tooie will always have a special place in my heart. :'( I'm sure many other people feel the same way. An absolute masterpiece...full stop. Expand
  47. [Anonymous]
    Feb 4, 2008
    9
    Actually a 9.5 this game was good but also had its flaws like you have to go back to level to get the notes so you have to finish in one hit
  48. Maslab
    May 20, 2008
    10
    With all the praise and the fact that this game deserves it, easily one of the most under-noticed games ever.
  49. ToddS.
    Oct 14, 2009
    10
    Banjo-Kazooie is the best game Rare has ever made made. This is a game that has a great concept, a wide variety of moves, fantastic game play that never gets old, and best of all just the right amount of time you get into the game so you can easily replay it without the game getting old. Now a lot of people have compared it to Super Mario 64 because people claim that Banjo-Kazooie is a Banjo-Kazooie is the best game Rare has ever made made. This is a game that has a great concept, a wide variety of moves, fantastic game play that never gets old, and best of all just the right amount of time you get into the game so you can easily replay it without the game getting old. Now a lot of people have compared it to Super Mario 64 because people claim that Banjo-Kazooie is a rip-off of Mario 64 and Zelda Ocarina of Time because they both came out just five months apart from each other and they both won their fair share of game of the year awards (OOT getting more). After that I looked at all three of the games and said too myself, "Banjo-Kazooie blows Mario 64 out of the water and Zelda OOT out of the water temple (shudders). now I think all three of those games are good it's just that Banjo-Kazooie is a little less linear than Mario 64 because Mario 64 forced the player to do one episode in the level, getting kicked out of the level and having to go back in to play in the same level and Banjo-Kazooie has a original concept of being like a scavenger hunt unlike Zelda OOT which was just like a 3-D Link to the Past. You know what scratch that being Rare's best game, Banjo-Kazooie is the best N64 game of all time. God their is just so many great things about this game other than the ones I motioned earlier; the 9 unique, varied, and most of all huge levels that you don't necessary need a map for like in the sequel which is also a great game, the subtle humor and multiple personalities every character gets, the excellent music by Grant Kirkhope that matches as well as emphasizes on the environments that you are in, and that is just a few of the things that make Banjo-Kazooie a great game. My childhood memories with this game will be cherished forever and ever. Hey, forget Banjo Kazooie being the best N64 game, Banjo Kazooie for the N64 is the best game of all time. I love you Banjo-Kazooie, we all do. Expand
  50. ChrisC.
    Nov 28, 2003
    10
    It doesn't list it, but I rate it a 100,000,000,000,000,000,000.
  51. ZackC.
    Mar 29, 2007
    10
    Old, but still a very fun game to play.
  52. MikeR.
    Sep 15, 2007
    10
    I've just played and finished this game for the 6th time. I love it that much. My constant argument is that the writers are wasting great, creative brain power on these newer games and not designing a game similar to this one. Perhaps even a sequil!
  53. JulianP.
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    This game is just plain addictive. From the screen at the beginning with the dragon fly hitting the rare logo, right up to fighting Gruntilda, it is a blast. The only equivalents to this game are Zelda: Ocarina of Time and Donkey Kong 64. This is the kind of game you never forget.
  54. Fabio
    Nov 29, 2004
    10
    Fun fun fun.
  55. Mar 1, 2013
    9
    Banjo Kazooie is one of the best platformers of its time and even to this day. Offering a unique storyline that has several humorous twists, revolutionizing gameplay, incredible sound track, and amazing graphical display Banjo Kazooie is bound to take you away from the usual adventure platforming that you were used to from playing Super Mario if you were interested in platforms before orBanjo Kazooie is one of the best platformers of its time and even to this day. Offering a unique storyline that has several humorous twists, revolutionizing gameplay, incredible sound track, and amazing graphical display Banjo Kazooie is bound to take you away from the usual adventure platforming that you were used to from playing Super Mario if you were interested in platforms before or will introduce you to a whole new world of a gaming experience which to this day proves that there are better platformers out there than Mario. Enjoy Nine distinct worlds and a even bigger outerworld as you journey through the world of Banjo Kazooie! Expand
  56. Nov 22, 2012
    10
    I have no words for this game. It stands as a masterpiece in many gamers' hearts, as well as mine. Many who say, "Oh, it's just another Mario 64," get your cranium checked. Yeah, it was a collect-a-thon much, but it isn't derogatory in the case of Banjo-Kazooie. It was built around the idea of collecting objects to progress further, which added a deep sense of progression. RareWare may beI have no words for this game. It stands as a masterpiece in many gamers' hearts, as well as mine. Many who say, "Oh, it's just another Mario 64," get your cranium checked. Yeah, it was a collect-a-thon much, but it isn't derogatory in the case of Banjo-Kazooie. It was built around the idea of collecting objects to progress further, which added a deep sense of progression. RareWare may be dead now, but this game should still remind us that they can indeed make great games. Expand
  57. Aug 30, 2012
    10
    An outstanding game made by one of the greatest developers on the planet: Rareware. The amount of moves Banjo and Kazooie have at their disposal is just staggering. The difficulty and the graphics might scare away younger gamers, but for its time, this game was a masterpiece. The graphics themselves are vibrant and colorful, albeit simple. The stages provide quite a challenge,An outstanding game made by one of the greatest developers on the planet: Rareware. The amount of moves Banjo and Kazooie have at their disposal is just staggering. The difficulty and the graphics might scare away younger gamers, but for its time, this game was a masterpiece. The graphics themselves are vibrant and colorful, albeit simple. The stages provide quite a challenge, especially the last ones (Rusty Bucket Bay comes to mind). The final battle with Gruntilda is difficult but satisfying. Great game. If you think you can get past the outdated controls and visuals, you owe it to yourself to play this game. Expand
  58. Jul 19, 2013
    10
    It was the first game I've played and maybe it's just the nostalgia, but it was already the best. Yes this is my favorite game of all time, and I think this status will never have another game for me, except of the sequel 'Banjo Tooie', but they are equally good.
  59. May 22, 2012
    10
    Another N64 classic. Is very Super Mario 64-like, but that's something good. This game brings its own mechanics. There are lots of skills that allow you to gain access to new levels as you learn to use them. There are lots of levels, enemies and tasks. In general terms, is a beautiful and very funny game. Must play.
  60. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    I loved this game as a kid, playing it at my grandparents' house on weekdays after school. Recently, I got an N64 again and tried the game again. I found it to be just as magical of an experience as it was back then. Banjo-Kazooie is an inspired platformer with great game-play that differs a lot from the other platformers of the N64 era. Similar to Mario games, this game will have youI loved this game as a kid, playing it at my grandparents' house on weekdays after school. Recently, I got an N64 again and tried the game again. I found it to be just as magical of an experience as it was back then. Banjo-Kazooie is an inspired platformer with great game-play that differs a lot from the other platformers of the N64 era. Similar to Mario games, this game will have you running around trying to collect puzzle pieces to unlock even more incredible levels and it never gets boring. Expand
  61. Oct 9, 2013
    8
    At the time of release the graphics were excellent. It has a fantastic soundtrack and brilliant level design. However, when compared with the other "big" platformer on the console Mario 64, it does not get even close. Although with both game being very early on in terms of 3d platformers, and they both played large roles in setting the standards for future platformers, Mario 64 wins out.At the time of release the graphics were excellent. It has a fantastic soundtrack and brilliant level design. However, when compared with the other "big" platformer on the console Mario 64, it does not get even close. Although with both game being very early on in terms of 3d platformers, and they both played large roles in setting the standards for future platformers, Mario 64 wins out. This is because in Banjo Kazooie, particularly now (but I remember having problems in the past) has awful controls. Theres something about it the just seems slow, almost unflowing. Especially when swimming. However, the nostalgic feel plus the awesome gameplay still allows Banjo to stack up as one of the greatest platformers of all time Expand
  62. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    If you love Super Mario 64, I bet you'll heart this as well. Even though Banjo Kazooie can be a bit childish at times, it is actually a fun and rewarding game that surprises even the biggest critics. Story (7): could be better, this is where the childish aspect shines. The witch is pretty annoying and the least bit scary. Graphics (9): For its time Banjo Kazooie offered some of the richestIf you love Super Mario 64, I bet you'll heart this as well. Even though Banjo Kazooie can be a bit childish at times, it is actually a fun and rewarding game that surprises even the biggest critics. Story (7): could be better, this is where the childish aspect shines. The witch is pretty annoying and the least bit scary. Graphics (9): For its time Banjo Kazooie offered some of the richest graphics. The world diversity is similar to Mario 64, and in some parts is even more detailed. Sound (7): Some of the environments sound ok but most of the music and noises get repetitive. Gameplay (9): Feels similar to Mario 64 with a little more diversity, being able to play as 2 characters. You will notice the controls are rather responsive. The game-play surprisingly is where this game shines, the world is fun to explore and collect the extras. Endgame: (8) The game will take some time to complete, and there is a lot of secrets to go after. Some sort of multi-player support would have been nice. Overall Banjo Kazooie was a worthwhile experience, and even though the witch was annoying she sure was a ***** to kill at the end. Overall: 8 Expand
  63. Jun 25, 2015
    8
    Banjo-Kazooie was a great ride. I hated Rusty Bucket Bay and feel bad that I used cheats to beat Gruntilda, but I very much enjoyed it. It's one of the best games on the N64.
  64. Nov 15, 2013
    10
    Oh man, this game was and still is brilliant. I just wish games like this were still produced. I mean the worlds were just so atmospheric and immersive, the humor was witty, And Oh boy the music! God, by far my favorite video game soundtrack eva! It suited each world perfectly and added that much more to the atmosphere of the game. I really can't think of a single negative point about it.Oh man, this game was and still is brilliant. I just wish games like this were still produced. I mean the worlds were just so atmospheric and immersive, the humor was witty, And Oh boy the music! God, by far my favorite video game soundtrack eva! It suited each world perfectly and added that much more to the atmosphere of the game. I really can't think of a single negative point about it. Dare I say this game holds the spot for my personal favorite game of all time. Oh you better believe it.
    R.I.P Rare.
    Expand
  65. Mar 8, 2014
    10
    Beautiful game, colors, sound, and gameplay, Banjo Kazooie is the best platformer for the nintendo 64, and one of the best of all time. Despite being a collectethon, it makes no difference because the game is based around it. Whenever you discover anything in Banjo, you get rewarded with a variety of prizes. Grant Kirkhope composed one of the best soundtracks in any game, from the startBeautiful game, colors, sound, and gameplay, Banjo Kazooie is the best platformer for the nintendo 64, and one of the best of all time. Despite being a collectethon, it makes no difference because the game is based around it. Whenever you discover anything in Banjo, you get rewarded with a variety of prizes. Grant Kirkhope composed one of the best soundtracks in any game, from the start screen, to the final boss music, any song is atmospheric, and creative. Banjo captures the golden age of Rare, one without Microsoft, and what it means to be truly creative Expand
  66. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    This is the best adventure/platformer ever made. I have played and beaten this game sooo many times, I've lost count. Super Mario 64 made 3d platformers what it is today and this game takes all those ideas and perfects them.

    I can honsetly not think of a single flaw this game has, not a single annoying aspect I would change. And that has not happened to me before or ever since. So this
    This is the best adventure/platformer ever made. I have played and beaten this game sooo many times, I've lost count. Super Mario 64 made 3d platformers what it is today and this game takes all those ideas and perfects them.

    I can honsetly not think of a single flaw this game has, not a single annoying aspect I would change. And that has not happened to me before or ever since. So this is as close to a perfect video game as you're gonna get, Imo.

    I you haven't experienced the greatness, fun and entertaining value this game has to offer, then you're missing out on the best the video game industry has to offer. Well done Rare!
    Expand
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 19
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 19
  3. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. Unfortunately, the sound is pretty much a mix of "Mario 64" and "Diddy Kong Racing" leftovers. A grunt here, a guffaw there, it's all been done to death.
  2. Banjo-Kazooie isn't going to win any awards for originality, but who really cares? If you have to borrow a little to make a fun, absorbing adventure, so be it.
  3. 96
    Features the best graphics we've seen on the console, it one-ups Mario 64 in terms of gameplay, it sounds astounding and it may just be the most clever title we've ever played.