Diddy Kong Racing Nintendo 64

Diddy Kong Racing Image
Metascore
88

Generally favorable reviews - based on 15 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 101 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Timber the Tiger's parents picked a fine time to go on vacation. When they come back, they're going to be faced with an island trashed by the spiteful space bully Wizpig - unless the local animals can do something about it! So join Diddy Kong as he teams up with Timber the Tiger, Pipsy theTimber the Tiger's parents picked a fine time to go on vacation. When they come back, they're going to be faced with an island trashed by the spiteful space bully Wizpig - unless the local animals can do something about it! So join Diddy Kong as he teams up with Timber the Tiger, Pipsy the Mouse and Taj the Genie in an epic racing adventure unlike anything you've ever experienced before! Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 15
  2. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Diddy Kong Racing is almost too good to be true. It is an exquisitely animated, color-rich racing game that bubbles over with character and charm. A triumph.
  2. 100
    Take Diddy for a test drive and you'll be hooked. It's the smoothest ride you can buy this holiday season.
  3. 100
    "Mario Kart's" (at least the original one, anyway) biggest strength was its multiplayer mode and of course DKR does what Nintendo did but better.
  4. Buy Diddy Kong Racing for the very good Adventure mode, but don't expect multiplayer action on the same level as the Mario Kart series.
  5. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    90
    DKR looks better than "Mario Kart," but it's a little too cutesy for us. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  6. 84
    Diddy Kong Racing is an excellent follow-up to the somewhat controversial "Mario Kart," improving on all of the game's weaknesses and inventing a few new additions of its own. It's the best kart game we've ever seen.
  7. Artificially lengthening games by making you do the same thing over and over again is my vote for the worst trend in gaming … even though this is a much better game than Kart 64 ever was.

See all 15 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Aug 1, 2016
    10
    This game is nostalgic and amazing. I think its better than Mario Kart 64 and that is most of the time said the best racer on the N64 but thisThis game is nostalgic and amazing. I think its better than Mario Kart 64 and that is most of the time said the best racer on the N64 but this game has more and is MORE nostalgic. Expand
  2. Mar 22, 2015
    10
    10/10 ................................................................................................................................................
  3. PersonKiller
    Feb 6, 2004
    10
    It is a kool game the music is hella cool.
  4. Feb 26, 2017
    10
    At a first glance, Diddy Kong Racing doesn't look all that special but there's a good reason it has stayed my all time favorite racing gameAt a first glance, Diddy Kong Racing doesn't look all that special but there's a good reason it has stayed my all time favorite racing game for this long. DKR is jam packed full of content. Tons of characters, maps, battle stages, collectables, and more make DKR feel as much like a single player adventure as it does a multiplayer racing game. When your add the mirrored courses and silver coin missions to the mix, there is a ton of content in the main campaign. I haven't even mentioned the multiple vehicles, which not only add variety to the game overall, but to each stage as well as many stages are designed around multiple vehicles with alternate routes and shortcuts to discover. The stackable powerup upgrades are also something that makes this game more fun and unique. Great music, graphics, gameplay, and variety makes this game special. Expand
  5. May 29, 2012
    9
    Mario Kart-style racer with the characters from Donkey Kong. Long and funny game, very addictive. Although it copies Mario Kart, also DKRMario Kart-style racer with the characters from Donkey Kong. Long and funny game, very addictive. Although it copies Mario Kart, also DKR knows how to bring some new ideas like planes (so you can fly instead of just drive). Very good game in general terms. Expand
  6. Sep 11, 2013
    9
    First off I love this game! It's just as fun as Mario Kart, but with carts, hovercrafts, and planes. The gameplay is fun, the music rocks, andFirst off I love this game! It's just as fun as Mario Kart, but with carts, hovercrafts, and planes. The gameplay is fun, the music rocks, and the graphics are beautiful.

    Diddy Kong Racing is just awesome. Score: 4/5.
    Expand
  7. Dec 24, 2011
    6
    Have any of you played through the full adventure mode? Okay this game is fuun, and adds alot more to mario karts formula. but the singleHave any of you played through the full adventure mode? Okay this game is fuun, and adds alot more to mario karts formula. but the single player adventure gets SO BORING! if i remebre, you have to beat like every track 4-5 times just to beat the adventure mode... and i did. Oh and when you do that, you can do adventure 2... all of the tracks are just backwards... ADVENTURE HO! Collapse

See all 22 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed N64 Game of 1997
#4 Most Shared N64 Game of 1997