Perfect Dark Nintendo 64
User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 192 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 8 out of 192

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    A Masterpiece of overall gaming by legendary developer Rareware. Don't judge the game by the mockery of "yet another generic first-person shooter" because IT ISN'T. Games like this only happen once in your life. I purchased this brilliant game in late 2000, from then on I've never looked at another video game in the same light. Sure, some might bash it for its chuggy issues (e.g. frame rate), which is never actually a problem, but its design is IMPECCABLE. And even after unlocking all the cheats, even after completing all the challenges, and even after spending my entire teen life playing this game, I still find something new to do every time I go back to Perfect Dark. It is an unmatched enjoyment that, in fact I count myself lucky to experience. Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Clocked more hours than any other n64 title, and wore out quite a few joysticks. It's a damn shame the sequel on the 360 didn't show new fps' how its done...
  3. Aug 16, 2012
    10
    Perfect Dark is possibly the best game Rare ever made. After the success of GoldenEye, Rare went on to make the compelling story of a heroine names Joanna Dark, an operative out to destroy a rival corporation to her employer. The game was pretty revolutionary at the time and even now, is a fun game to play for anyone who enjoys older games or first-person shooters. It's worth it to play one of the originals. Expand
  4. Sep 27, 2012
    3
    I bought this game based on the positive reviews on Metacritic. However, the game does not age well. FPS's were not meant to be played with one joystick, and going back to that is just frustrating.
  5. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    Oh, God. This game is the real deal! People talk a lot about Goldeneye, but this game is even better than that! The graphics alone are the most realistic I've ever seen in a N64 game, and they blew my mind back then. The controls can be hard to get used to, especially for people who have been playing dual-analog shooters, but are extremely responsive and were top-notch for their time. One of the last great gems of gaming left to us by Rareware. Groundbreaking in every possible way. Expand
  6. Oct 27, 2011
    9
    Wonderful game. The single player is great and has the best kind of difficulty setting. The more difficult difficulty level, the more objectives you get. It has fine amount of variation and the action feels great. Multiplayer isin't not so great though. It has co-op mode and counter operative mode, where one of the players is enemy and tries to stop other player from completing the level. The basic deathmatch is outdated though, because it gives too high advance to players, who collect weapons (You start unarmed). It's still must buy game though. Expand
  7. Feb 7, 2014
    7
    Other than in looks, I fail to see what was so special about perfect dark. It's good, but not so great as some shooters I played in the n64 era. It hasn't aged too well either
  8. Dec 22, 2011
    10
    In an older and simpler time, First Person Shooters where not very common on consoles back in the time of this game's creation, they where mostly only on PCs. When 007 Goldeneye proved that even on simple cartridge technology that great First Person Shooter single player and multiplayer experiences where possible, the genre exploded at the thought of the possibilities. Perfect Dark is a indirect sequel to 007 Goldeneye in the sense of improved engine, interface and features even though it was not related to James Bond at all. The storyline is beautifully crafted with the ability to play the story mode in single player, co-op, and counter-operative (your friend controls enemy guards). Multiplayerer deathmatch had heavy improvements with the ability to select all weapons to appear on the map, creation of your own character skin and your personal gameplay settings, map selection, save files full of multiplayer statistics and rankings, team settings, AI difficulty and personality settings, multiple game modes, music, specialized deathmatch missions, and the ability to save match settings and load them on a whim.In conclusion, I'll be perfectly honest here, as a person who absolutely despises the bland, repetitive and uncreative of nature of most games in the First Person Shooter genre (especially in most recent years with games like call of duty), this game feels so fresh, unique, interesting and daring. I had an absolute blast playing this game back in the day when it was new and playing it with my friends recently, we has just as much fun if not more reliving this masterpiece of a game. Expand
  9. Apr 19, 2013
    10
    I felt compelled to give this game a 10. I mean ultimately if you don't give Perfect Dark a 10... then what on Earth DOES deserve a 10?

    Everything about this game is compelling and satisfying with quality and developer talent dripping from it.

    Imaginative, varied and fast-paced gameplay, captivating mission objectives and levels, great characters, amazing weapons, just an overall
    excellent game. The multiplayer is also great (for it's time, not sure about by modern standards as I haven't played it much recently!).

    As for flaws... some of the mission objectives aren't too clear. Some of the dialogue and story and stuff is a bit cheesy. Some of the levels are weaker than others (inevitably).

    Overall however, Perfect Dark is without doubt one of the finest games ever made
    Expand
  10. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    El mejor shooter que he visto. Un juego bueno y muy completo, perfecto tanto para el modo un jugador como para el multiplayer. Una autentica joya de la N64
  11. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    I could itemize each aspect of the game, but what's the point. Everything is great. Everything a FPS fan could have wished, it's here. My only complaint is that a few single-player levels are too labyrinthic. But that's just a droplet of strain in an ocean of enjoyment. A game bordering on perfection.
  12. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    On consoles, this was the height of FPS, then the industry started over with hype and the unrevolutionary Halo. U could disarm enemy's and shoot them with it! A lot of people only want minimal gameplay in their games so they immediately give Goldeneye the nod. i like Goldeneye, but i also keep it real because overall i like FPS games in general.
  13. Jan 6, 2012
    10
    A timeless classic that changed the way fps ar done til today.... they tryied to emulate this king of game many times later, but they have never got closer
  14. May 30, 2012
    9
    This game is way better then goldeneye. It has Coop, MP bots, and a better story.
  15. May 28, 2012
    10
    Perfect Dark is the BEST FPS of all time. Sorry to the kids who are coming back 10 years later and not finding it up to your standards. You need to learn to respect where things came from. If you didn't experience it when it was brand new than I am sorry, you really missed out.
  16. May 29, 2012
    9
    Inspired by the classic 007 Golden Eye game, Perfect Dark adds its own elements. PD shows a pretty long single player campaign, but that isn't everything. PD also brings lots of multi player missions (which you can play on your own thanks to the enemy IA). You can also customize your own game with the IA and have fun for hours. There are 40+ weapons, some of them brought from Golden Eye 007. The only bad thing is the lack of innovation from the 007 game (PD is just the same, but with more elements). Expand
  17. May 27, 2012
    10
    This game was another classic. Addicting gameplay. Music is awesome...A game that will be remembered for a lifetime. So much fun with friends!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  18. Aug 3, 2012
    10
    This is the best shooter i have played to date. When i heard it was going onto X-box i almost cried. It had the best multiplayer of it's time. And was the most revoulutoinary Shooter ever. Every one was shocked that halo 2 had duel wielding so did this game. I still play it today.
  19. Aug 6, 2012
    7
    I never saw the appeal of this game. It's not bad, just not all that good. While I liked the voiced dialogue, which was very innovative for the time, the graphics were stylistically unappealing and detracted from the quality of the game. Moreover, some of the maps were obvious re-skins of Goldeneye maps, which just made the devs look lazy, and overall it lacked the charm of that game. It did offer some interesting innovations though, like secondary modes for weapons, Expand
  20. Jul 28, 2012
    10
    The best first person shooter ever made. The best multiplayer. The best singleplayer campaign(I cant even count how many times ive gone rogue and killed everyone on Airforce One cooperatively) and some of the best graphics of its time.
  21. Sep 5, 2012
    8
    This game was literally on its way to becoming on of the best N64 FPS games, then a little alien known as "Elvis" entered the picture. I thought Perfect Dark almost got it right, The game was off to a great start with nice graphics and solid story, but I personally believe Elvis killed the story and pretty much the game halfway through. Set aside from the story, the amazing graphics and totally addicting multiplayer made this game a must have. A lot of the maps are seriously fun and the guns KICK ASS. Perfect Dark did push the N64 to its' limits using the Expansion Pack and overall was definitely worth checking out. Expand
  22. Feb 4, 2013
    10
    Perfect Dark is the most perfect first person shooter videogame ever created. I know that is a bold claim, and the game is not everybody's cup of tea. But why should art have to apologise just because it was designed with an ethos some find disagreeable? Do we judge Pink Floyd for not sounding like Queen? Both are masterful music groups with masterful music. Perfect Dark is a masterpiece of video-game design. If players are unable to tolerate the slow pacing, lack of hand-holding, or the science fiction storyline, that is really their own fault.

    Perfect Dark is filled with features which 13 years of development since have failed to recapture: Destroyable lighting, locational damage on enemies, surrendering AI, an array of clever weapons, non-lethal combat as a viable option, and alternate means of completing common objectives.

    The story is clever, humourous, and told very well via voiced conversations and cutscenes which book-end each mission. Joanna Dark is an interesting protagonist. I can't think of any videogame with a better female lead.

    Also of note is the multiplayer functionality, including well-designed cooperative, the combat simulator, and the inclusion of key maps from Goldeneye.

    Some people complain about this game's framerate. Let me tell you a cute little fact. Perfect Dark runs at a maximum of 50 or 60 frames per second, depending on whether your copy is PAL or NTSC. To compare, Ocarina of Time is capped at 17-20 frames per second. The sluggish framerate is noticable during heavy action in Perfect Dark because the game is capable of running at a much higher framerate at other times. And to be frank, the framerate is not as bad as people make out, and certainly much better than Goldeneye's.

    It's difficult for me to submit this review. I fear I haven't expressed just how beautiful this game is. It changed my life, and has continued to inspire me to this day. It deserves the title of greatest first person shooter ever created, and I suggest it deserves to be considered among the greatest video-games ever created. You owe it to yourself to play this game with an open mind, and most importantly LEARN how to play it. If you've been bought up on Modern Warfare and Quake, this game will be a plodding, dull experience. But if you have a taste for Deus Ex, and games which require the player to think in order to be completed, you will enjoy it. Just make sure you find a control scheme which feels comfortable first. The default is not particularly good for aiming.

    That is all I can think to say. I love Perfect Dark.
    Expand
  23. May 20, 2014
    9
    The Spiritual sequel to THE BEST N64 GAME OF ALL TIME GOLDENEYE 007, a comparable futuristic female agent with aiming or not aiming options making the game almost unique. The character models were still great for it's time but not revolutionary and neither the setting that a few times may have been too dark. The biggest thing about this game it's the unlocking extra mission content and multi-player content improved from Goldeneye but it doesn't impact you graphically or hilariously like 007 did back in 1997. Despite that the voice acting it's way much better than all of rareware games that I have played before and maybe even after this game so I gave it A 9.254 THE 3rd BEST GAME EVER MADE ON N64. Expand
  24. May 10, 2013
    10
    If you thought Goldeneye 007 was great, Perfect Dark will blow away to parts beyond. Improving on nearly every single thing that made Goldeneye great, Perfect Dark is, for the lack of a better word, perfect.
  25. Jun 5, 2014
    6
    If you guys are questioning my 6... keep reading. Goldeneye 007 should be known as a cult classic, and thank god a spiritual successor exists. Pros: -The graphics... holy crap the graphics! this (at the time) was a major improvement on goldeneye, and probably some of the best from the N64 -It actually looks pretty nice, graphics or not, give this game a try -Cool Challenge mode
    -This game went on to shape one of my favorite games ever made: timesplitters 2 and 3
    -The setting is cool as hell! and thanks to the pretty outdated graphics, story missions are AWESOME looking.
    -You start in the HQ, which you can explore to see many different things about the game
    Cons:
    -The A.I. is NOT too great. while it seems pretty good in the story mode, but in challenge mode,
    the enemy's run into WALLS and when they do see you they run anywhere EXCEPT you location, and
    only shoot when you're REALLY close, though, the A.I. in this game is better then some of the A.I. on the newer games (Thor god of thunder, the walking dead survival instinct, etc.)
    -The multiplayer... yeah its great and all but I still think goldeneye had it better.
    -The story mode is pretty cool, but REALLY frustrating
    -The controls are not to great... if you like games where if you press up, you look down, this isn't much of a problem, but considering goldeneye didn't do it like this, and how uncomfortable it is ruins it, also, no, you can't change it.
    -While the HQ is nice and vast... its really easy to get lost in.

    So that's my review.
    Don't ask me about zero or what the f*ck the were thinking on that one...
    because I never played it, nor do I own a 360!
    This game is a classic, just be aware of the package.
    Expand
  26. Feb 9, 2014
    10
    All hail the greatest FPS ever made. Perfect pushed the n64 to its **** limits. The music of this game is incredible the graphics look AMAZING for a game that game out in 2000. THe sc-fi story theme allows for you to go to some interesting locales such as: RUined Temples, Villages on the cost, Underground labs, ETC. This game is a huge improvement over Goldeneye 007 which was Rareware's last fps on the n64 in 1997. After three long hard years Rare delivered the biggest n64 game ive ever played. I have absolutley no complaints about this game oh before i for get RARE says that only 5% of gamers will beat it on the hardest diffculty so threres that to challenge yourself to so yeah. I give this my completionist rating of : COMPLETE IT Expand
  27. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    By far my favorite game of all time without a doubt. Made by the greatest company ever Rareware it has amazing graphics for its time and so much replay value that I can play this game at any time and not be bored. There is so much customization in the multiplayer for endless amounts of ways to play. The single player is also very well done and is what I play the most. Thanks to the cheats you can just casually play the single player with all guns and just have a blast. Make the enemies harder by giving them shields and rocket launchers for more fun. I can't really think of anything this game does wrong. The beta version of the game was going to allow you to put custom heads on characters for multiplayer which would have been epic. Expand
  28. May 27, 2014
    10
    Graphics: 9.8 Sound: 10 Gameplay: 9.8 Fun/Story: 9.5

    The natural Goldeneye sequel on N64. Some occasional slowdown but always with nice graphics. A must-have.
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. 100
    It's a stunning achievement by any measure and stands as one of those rare products that delivers more than you paid for.
  2. So damn close to perfect that it makes me want to cry tears of joy.
  3. This is the best action game on the Nintendo 64 and a great follow-up to "GoldenEye."