Perfect Dark Nintendo 64
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 192 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the Dark... As Carrington Institute's most promising new Agent, Joanna Dark must uncover the truth behind the dataDyne Corporation's recent technological breakthroughs - breakthroughs which could have serious consequences for mankind.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Oh yea, oh yea, glory hallelujah -- this is the game we've waited so long for.
  2. Magnificent. Until now, GoldenEye was arguably the best reason for gamers over the age of 16 to own a Nintendo 64. No longer.
  3. 100
    It's a stunning achievement by any measure and stands as one of those rare products that delivers more than you paid for.
  4. If "GoldenEye" is a bull's-eye, Perfect Dark hits somewhere in the lungs. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  5. From superior graphics, which really showcase the capacity of the N64 Expansion Pak, to Dolby Surround Sound, to seemingly unlimited playability potential, "Perfect Dark" is the game of choice for N64 owners.
  6. It’s multiplayer is, by far, the best on Nintendo 64. The Single Player is epic and addicting.
  7. Better than "GoldenEye 007" in every aspect, making it the best first-person shooter at the time of its release. With much deeper Solo Missions and a completely customizable Combat Simulator, Perfect Dark definitely was worth the wait.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 80
  2. Negative: 3 out of 80
  1. Alex
    Jul 8, 2006
    10
    Awesome, creative guns. Laptops that turn into sentry guns, and player-controlled rockets. Awesome!
  2. SteveD.
    Apr 13, 2004
    10
    This is the best First Person Shooter I played until Halo. After several months of playing Halo, I still miss the arenas and weapons from Perfect Dark. I looking forward to Perfect Dark Zero for the Xbox! Expand
  3. TheWargamer
    May 2, 2008
    10
    Ah, a timeless classic... Let's start by addressing the naysayers. Yes, the graphics aren't great anymore. Yes, the game turns to Perfect Lag whenever chain explosions kick off. Yes, the AI does seem to "cheat" if you know what you're looking for... but none of that matters. Perfect Dark is a thing of beauty. I could talk for hours about the single player mode alone and never mention the fantastic single-player mode, which remains challenging to this day. The reason I am going to stick so much with Multiplayer is, as all reviews of Halo 3 prove, people seem to value Multiplayer above all else. Perfect Dark has THE BEST Multiplayer around; the "Simulants" (Console-controlled Bots) outshine most other games, and frankly any game that came out after Perfect Dark that DIDN'T include Bots cannot be forgiven of this crime. Perfect Dark is showing its age, but it is nonetheless a shining example of how gaming should be. There are so many game modes, weapons and unlockables you'll be kept busy for YEARS, and many of the things we take for granted originated here. An all-time classic. Expand
  4. JS
    Dec 16, 2009
    10
    Possibly the best FPS ever made. Intricate storyline, intricate gameplay, unsurpassable multiplayer. This game had it all. When games like Halo 1 were dishing out the worn out Golden Eye recipe, Perfect Dark pushed the FPS genre into a new era - until games like Ghost Recon Advanced Warfighter pushed us back into the Dark Ages. There are so many things to do with this game. You can play the great, lengthy storyline and all its missions; coop, single-player, or versus (friends play as bad guys). The AI bots in multiplayer are amazing. There's a ton of templates to choose from, and the Ai is superb. I haven't seen a game to match it since. so many neat gadgets to mess with, and a massive arsenal of weapons; the likes of which haven't been seen since. Brilliant game. Expand
  5. TiagoJ
    Dec 30, 2008
    10
    One of the best FPS ever released! One of the best multiplayer modes in a console. One of the best graphics in its decade. Simply perfect! The game I've spent more time in all my life. Expand
  6. Nov 27, 2010
    10
    A Masterpiece of overall gaming by legendary developer Rareware. Don't judge the game by the mockery of "yet another generic first-person shooter" because IT ISN'T. Games like this only happen once in your life. I purchased this brilliant game in late 2000, from then on I've never looked at another video game in the same light. Sure, some might bash it for its chuggy issues (e.g. frame rate), which is never actually a problem, but its design is IMPECCABLE. And even after unlocking all the cheats, even after completing all the challenges, and even after spending my entire teen life playing this game, I still find something new to do every time I go back to Perfect Dark. It is an unmatched enjoyment that, in fact I count myself lucky to experience. Expand
  7. Sep 27, 2012
    3
    I bought this game based on the positive reviews on Metacritic. However, the game does not age well. FPS's were not meant to be played with one joystick, and going back to that is just frustrating. Collapse

See all 80 User Reviews