Perfect Dark Nintendo 64
Metascore
97

Universal acclaim - based on 30 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 190 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Step into the Dark... As Carrington Institute's most promising new Agent, Joanna Dark must uncover the truth behind the dataDyne Corporation's recent technological breakthroughs - breakthroughs which could have serious consequences for mankind.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 30
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 30
  3. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Oh yea, oh yea, glory hallelujah -- this is the game we've waited so long for.
  2. Magnificent. Until now, GoldenEye was arguably the best reason for gamers over the age of 16 to own a Nintendo 64. No longer.
  3. 100
    It's a stunning achievement by any measure and stands as one of those rare products that delivers more than you paid for.
  4. If "GoldenEye" is a bull's-eye, Perfect Dark hits somewhere in the lungs. [Jan 2004, p.189]
  5. From superior graphics, which really showcase the capacity of the N64 Expansion Pak, to Dolby Surround Sound, to seemingly unlimited playability potential, "Perfect Dark" is the game of choice for N64 owners.
  6. It’s multiplayer is, by far, the best on Nintendo 64. The Single Player is epic and addicting.
  7. Better than "GoldenEye 007" in every aspect, making it the best first-person shooter at the time of its release. With much deeper Solo Missions and a completely customizable Combat Simulator, Perfect Dark definitely was worth the wait.

See all 30 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 80
  2. Negative: 3 out of 80
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    El mejor shooter que he visto. Un juego bueno y muy completo, perfecto tanto para el modo un jugador como para el multiplayer. Una autentica joya de la N64 Expand
  2. Jun 12, 2011
    10
    Clocked more hours than any other n64 title, and wore out quite a few joysticks. It's a damn shame the sequel on the 360 didn't show new fps' how its done... Expand
  3. May 27, 2012
    10
    This game was another classic. Addicting gameplay. Music is awesome...A game that will be remembered for a lifetime. So much fun with friends!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  4. Dec 18, 2013
    10
    By far my favorite game of all time without a doubt. Made by the greatest company ever Rareware it has amazing graphics for its time and so much replay value that I can play this game at any time and not be bored. There is so much customization in the multiplayer for endless amounts of ways to play. The single player is also very well done and is what I play the most. Thanks to the cheats you can just casually play the single player with all guns and just have a blast. Make the enemies harder by giving them shields and rocket launchers for more fun. I can't really think of anything this game does wrong. The beta version of the game was going to allow you to put custom heads on characters for multiplayer which would have been epic. Expand
  5. Aug 28, 2012
    10
    Oh, God. This game is the real deal! People talk a lot about Goldeneye, but this game is even better than that! The graphics alone are the most realistic I've ever seen in a N64 game, and they blew my mind back then. The controls can be hard to get used to, especially for people who have been playing dual-analog shooters, but are extremely responsive and were top-notch for their time. One of the last great gems of gaming left to us by Rareware. Groundbreaking in every possible way. Expand
  6. May 30, 2012
    9
    This game is way better then goldeneye. It has Coop, MP bots, and a better story.
  7. Sep 27, 2012
    3
    I bought this game based on the positive reviews on Metacritic. However, the game does not age well. FPS's were not meant to be played with one joystick, and going back to that is just frustrating. Collapse

See all 80 User Reviews