Mixed or average reviews - based on 40 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 40
  2. Negative: 12 out of 40
  1. Nov 28, 2011
    With a long campaign, A Game of Thrones: Genesis will captivate fans of the original series in particular. It's not a particularly good-looking game even by strategy standards, though.
  2. Oct 17, 2011
    This unconventional real-time strategy game has both great strengths and clear weaknesses. It offers unique opportunities for intrigue during peacetime, but unimaginative and simplistic combat during wartime. Its long campaign is a true treat for fans of the TV series and books, and contains many hours of great strategy.
  3. Oct 4, 2011
    Fans of Military - and Combat - Strategy will not find too much joy in this title, but anybody who feels like trying something new and does not demand perfection might want to give AGoT:G a try.
  4. Oct 6, 2011
    I love seeing innovation like this, especially in a genre that can be as immobile as RTS, but between the severely lacking technical implementation, bad presentation, and unforgivable UI, it's like Cyanide was trying to make its game as impenetrable as possible. I'd give this one a pass unless you have a couple buddies you can count on for some quality multiplayer time or just dig unusual designs.
  5. PC Games (Russia)
    Oct 27, 2011
    Genesis is a fresh take on a strategy genre, but it doesn't have a lot in common neither with the original books, nor the TV Show. [Nov. 2011, p.77]
  6. Nov 9, 2011
    When you play the game of thrones, you win or you die--there is no middle ground. [Holiday 2011, p.74]
  7. CD-Action
    Nov 29, 2011
    Genesis doesn't work for the people who had no idea about 'A Song of Ice and Fire' before the HBO TV series came out. But if you consider yourself a master strategist and miss Good Old Times – buy it. [December 2011, p.94]
  8. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 15, 2011
    It would be a perfect interactive guide for all "Song of Ice and Fire" or "Game of Thrones" devotees with all of its diplomacy and schemes. But boring battle system and lousy graphics & sounds with overgrown micromanagement spoil almost all the fun. [Nov 2011]
  9. Oct 27, 2011
    A Game of Throne: Genesis does nothing particularly well. It's a fairly boring board game at the start of each round, and by the end, it's just plain awful.
  10. Oct 14, 2011
    A Game of Thrones: Genesis's sluggish campaign further suffers from poor pacing, and the end game almost always devolves into ham-fisted warfare punctuated by dull combat – one of its weakest facets.
  11. Games Master UK
    Nov 20, 2011
    Dated visuals and an awkward interface don't help a rather boring PC RTS. [Christmas 2011, p.92]
  12. Oct 31, 2011
    It's not a bad game, but it has no soul. It's sterile and doesn't stir up any emotions due to the nameless, disposable characters. It's still fun for a short time, though.
  13. Oct 18, 2011
    THere are some good ideas in this RTS experiment, especially in the calm before the storm. When the battle start though, you'll feel how unpolished the gameplay really is. A true shame, especially for the bad use of this important license.
  14. Pelit (Finland)
    Nov 15, 2011
    A Game of Thrones is a real-time strategy game based on the Song of Ice & Fire fantasy series. Graphically the game is very outdated and the actual gameplay mechanics are repetitive and boring even though there are some original ideas. The game also fails to take full advantage of the source material which is why the singleplayer campaign is really bad and short. Multiplayer mode is slightly better but finding matches is hard because there aren't many people playing the game. [Nov 2011]
  15. Nov 7, 2011
    Interesting ideas, mediocre execution – it's an all-too common verdict for a game made by a B-list studio.
  16. Oct 19, 2011
    Normally we recommend this level of product only to the serious fans of the series but frankly we cannot even bring ourselves to do this. Avoid it.
  17. Oct 21, 2011
    A Game of Thrones: Genesis lets down its bright ideas with a bungled campaign and unfulfilling battles.
  18. Oct 21, 2011
    Despite the vast and intricate saga created by George R. R. Martin and some unusual games mechanics, Game of Thrones: Genesis doesn't catch the feeling of the Westerosi fight for the throne. Boring, predictable and visually poor, this is not what the fans of A Song of Ice and Fire deserve.
  19. Oct 17, 2011
    Even the visuals seem disinterested with everything looking lifeless and devoid of any real colour or identifiable landmarks, outside of a few fan service cameos. Bland is probably the only word to describe how the game looks.
  20. Oct 16, 2011
    Genesis is only successful at translating the intrigue of underhanded diplomacy that characterizes Martin's books, but the poor mission design and interface balances out to a firmly mediocre game.
  21. Oct 14, 2011
    The fact that there is so much misinformation potentially in play, and your own units can basically be turned against you without you knowing, is a great twist and could have made for a great strategy game if AGOT: Genesis either placed all its emphasis on those mechanics, or if it paired them with equally solid combat and controls. But that's not the case here. Instead, there are a couple potentially great ideas, surrounded by poorly-executed mediocrity.
  22. Oct 14, 2011
    Cyanide Studio has tried to reinvent the wheel to end up getting a disastrous outcome. A Game of Thrones: Genesis only shares its name with the saga of George R. R. Martin because it is completely impossible to relate the two products. The game lacks depth as well as have removed every name, territory and aspect that could enrich the experience. Despite having good ideas, they are done poorly. Song of Ice and Fire is a complete and rich license with almost infinite possibilities that have been underused. Better to forget.
  23. Oct 9, 2011
    So fans of the books and show may like the game a lot because of the materials and a chance to play the time line long before the show? But hard core RTS players may feel a little antsy here if they enjoy the large scale battles part of a RTS. Those new to RTS style games may want to try this one out as it's a good primer and friendly throughout.
  24. Oct 7, 2011
    So while single player is pretty much a write-off, and none of the game modes really do the Game of Thrones license justice, multiplayer House vs House offers a relatively original take on medieval power struggles. Pray that enough of a multiplayer community sticks around, because this is a title where you'll want to wait for a sale.
  25. 50
    The exact opposite of what most fans of the TV show would probably want from A Game Of Thrones tie-in, but there are some interesting strategic ideas here nonetheless.
  26. Oct 6, 2011
    A Game of Thrones: Genesis feels cheap. The unique focus on treachery politics might have been enough to compensate for the lackluster graphics and gameplay a decade or so ago, but it's on the fast track for the bargain bin by today's standards.
  27. Oct 5, 2011
    Come not for the enticing Game of Thrones name, certainly not for the ugly graphics, clunky interface (as appears to be Cyanide's habit of late) and soulless writing, but instead, perhaps, for what genuinely is an ambitious new take on real-time strategising. With verve and wit and gloss, Genesis could have been the start of something fascinatingly, enthrallingly cruel: as it is, it's a song of needless branding and sad compromise.
User Score

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 110 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 47
  2. Negative: 30 out of 47
  1. Sep 29, 2011
    Some people here must be joking. Cyanides own forums is teeming over with people who are literally pissed off at this game for not deliveringSome people here must be joking. Cyanides own forums is teeming over with people who are literally pissed off at this game for not delivering what it promised.
    Basically what it is, is a very shallow world, if we take the HvH mode. No location or city or town got any names assigned to them. Your own capital town is called Feudal home. Very rich, very immersive. The game itself bases around gathering 100 presige points, which you have many ways to get but many fewer ways to lose. Generally speaking a game is rather short, since 100 prestige points isn't hard to achieve. When you've got them you won, game's over byebye cya next time. The only reason they label it "Brute military force is not the only way to win" is because brute military force can't win the game. By the time you get to tedious wars, the game is over. The game is really a capture the node game. Start with a base, send out envoys, noble ladies, spies and god knows what, and "ally" surrounding towns to gain income. You send out a peasant to manage the fields and 1-2 merchants to every town and gold mine to gain money. Essentially it's just a capture the node game dressed up and labelled as something creative. Unfortunately they failed to deliver. There are no hotkeys, no way to assign armies, the minimap is rubbish and the instructions and information is either wrong or contain typos. Unlike my review, their text should be flawless, the least to expect from a company. Nonetheless it's not. You can find "loose" instead of "lose" along with information that the minimap is on the left side while it's on the right. It could've been done so much better. In fact with a lot of tweaking it's a promising concept, just drop all the focus on the neutrals and increase the diplomacy and underhanding with the other houses. Give it a decent combat system, not combat focused, but you should atleast be able to fight your way through a game if you'd like that. Add more options. For heavens sake there's not even a way to change the victory requirements in HvH.
    No spend your money elsewhere and don't let those "I rank this game 8 because I've never played any other strategy game and I think this is kind of good" fool you. There's a flood of better Strategy games out there. Europa Universalis 3, The Total War series, Civilization etc etc.
    Full Review »
  2. Sep 29, 2011
    Gameplay that would feel right at home in the early 90's are the most forgivable of this games many faults. The campain and skirmish modesGameplay that would feel right at home in the early 90's are the most forgivable of this games many faults. The campain and skirmish modes lack all that made the books so great. The ai is terrible, the political and underhanded side of the game is insulting after reading what the devs/publishers had to say...I know this sounds stunted and isn't much of a review but this game actually made me angry, that's how bad it is the graphics match the 90's gameplay and yet the load times are terrible. The skirmish mode's victory conditions can't be altered so you will lose over and over again for no apparent reason often related to your kingdoms "prestige" stat...bah just don't buy it it's awful. Not only because it plays and looks bad but because the books deserve far far better. hopefully someone makes a total war nock off with the promised deep political system that cyanide would have us believe is in this game, now that would be worth $40. Full Review »
  3. Oct 1, 2011
    SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!! I downloaded this via Steam hoping to find an exciting RTS based on the wonderful Song of Ice and Fire story. What ISAVE YOUR MONEY!!!! I downloaded this via Steam hoping to find an exciting RTS based on the wonderful Song of Ice and Fire story. What I received was a snooze-fest of a game. My roommate also played the game and we are in full agreement it sucks on a massive scale. First off I've seen better graphics on my smart phone. The character movements are extremely slow. The first few missions make me feel like I am Bill Murray in Groundhog's Day. Send envoys, send spies, send assassins and repeat... ZZZZzzzzzz. My roommate suggested I wait for a professional review and game play footage before purchasing, damn I wish I would have listened to him. I thought how bad could it be? I wasn't expecting cutting edge graphics and I was fine with that as long as it had a cool storyline and decent game play. I strongly suggest that you do not purchase this game. The graphics are very poor, the characters are absolutely tiny even when fully zoomed in. There is little sound effects or music during game play. I can't believe I just blew $40 on this game. The graphics somewhat remind me of Age of Empires II which came out almost 10 years ago. The only upside to this game is that you may catch up on sleep. If the sheer boredom of the game does not send you into unconsciousness the ridiculous load times will. My roommate is a huge fan of the series of books that this game is supposedly based on and he is as disgusted with it as much as I am. That being said don't expect good graphics, good story, or good game play. Do expect less money in your pocket and a frown on your face. Full Review »