Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 9 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 9
  2. Negative: 0 out of 9
  1. Aug 2, 2012
    70
    None of its individual parts is particularly original, but put together in the way they have been, you end up with a synergistic success of a puzzle title that will test both reflexes and noggin-scratching abilities.
  2. Jul 31, 2012
    70
    Short enough not to wear out its gimmick, with enough complexity that getting a perfect score will take a fair while, there's lots to like about A Virus Named Tom.
  3. Aug 8, 2012
    65
    A good game with not too many weaknesses or too many strengths, which is something that will make it hard to be highlighted among the rest of the puzzle games on Steam. It's entertaining, properly done and its gameplay usually works, even though it might become quite frustrating sometimes. It is worth recommending for the puzzle lovers, and there's a demo available in case you want to try it yourself first.
  4. Aug 16, 2012
    70
    A Virus Named TOM is a decent little puzzler. Fans of the genre will enjoy it, and if you can play the co-op, you and a friend can have a really fun time taking on the challenges. Casual players may have a difficult time with some of the puzzles.
  5. Aug 10, 2012
    65
    A Virus Named Tom is a nice puzzle game as a snack. It's structure is simple and it never gets very complicated. Still, there's enough challenge in this relatively short game and the multiplayer lifts it to greater heights. Unfortunately the versus and coop modes are only playable locally, and for a PC-game, that's a giant waste.
  6. Aug 31, 2012
    60
    Its a title with hints of nuance, and fairly entertaining gameplay, but absolutely no reason for me to get excited. And that makes reviewing it hard.
  7. 70
    This interesting and funny arcade game mixes a couple of genres together and offers a fast-paced multiplayer option. [Oct 2012]
  8. Sep 19, 2012
    55
    The extra frills don't add thrills to the tried Pipemania template. [Oct 2012, p.90]
  9. Oct 11, 2012
    60
    Like trying to solve a cryptic crossword whilst blind and being repeatedly stung by mosquitoes. [Oct 2012, p.82]
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 21
  2. Negative: 6 out of 21
  1. Aug 13, 2012
    10
    Tom is the perfect blend of action and puzzler, creating a game that remains varied and exciting throughout it's play.

    Each 'world'
    Tom is the perfect blend of action and puzzler, creating a game that remains varied and exciting throughout it's play.

    Each 'world' introduces a new component that can drastically change the type of challenge presented by the level - from basic puzzler to a race against the clock and enemy drones - whilst keeping the core concept intact. This helps the game stay fresh and exciting and there's always an area of play that one can improve upon.

    Replaying to achieve gold medals in each level is also satisfying, and the co-op campaign creates some very exciting teamplay. While online play is still in the works, it's refreshing for a game to offer split screen again. Devs have also talked about implementing a level editor which will drastically enhance the game's replay value. As it stands now, for it's current price it's a steal.

    One of my top games of the year. Try the demo.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 5, 2013
    3
    A simple puzzle game bloated with painful controls and an arbitrary story line. Adding "action" to a puzzle game so often just makes itA simple puzzle game bloated with painful controls and an arbitrary story line. Adding "action" to a puzzle game so often just makes it frustrating, and that's certainly the case with A Virus Named TOM.

    It's just the old "Pipes" game annoying.
    Full Review »
  3. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    I thought this game looked boring. Then I played it and it is so much fun! My wife & I can't stop playing the co-op. We've battled our wayI thought this game looked boring. Then I played it and it is so much fun! My wife & I can't stop playing the co-op. We've battled our way through every puzzle, but we re-play the levels for fun or for a better score. We can't help it! The puzzles are really well designed in both co-op and solo play. (54 levels of unique puzzles per mode.) There's always a new mechanic lurking around the corner. The further I progressed, the better it got. The cut-scenes are pretty humorous too. A really solid game. Full Review »