Aarklash: Legacy Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 93 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Aarklash: Legacy is a tactical role playing game centered around the principles of planification and strategy. Master tactical combat through the use of active pause to coordinate the various heroes and their skills. Play cleverly to defeat all the merciless creatures living in Aarklash.Aarklash: Legacy is a tactical role playing game centered around the principles of planification and strategy. Master tactical combat through the use of active pause to coordinate the various heroes and their skills. Play cleverly to defeat all the merciless creatures living in Aarklash. Learn their weaknesses and send them to their graves. Sharpen your skills/techniques and attempt to defeat the game in Ragnarok mode, if you dare. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Sep 24, 2013
    80
    Aarklash: Legacy can take these criticisms holding its head up high. Its combat is among the most fun I have had in a party-based Action RPG in a long while and its art direction and visual fidelity are way, way up there.
  2. Oct 9, 2013
    80
    Aarklash: Legacy offers superb tactical combat in the style of classics like Baldur's Gate. It's a game with combat and little else, but if you fancy yourself an armchair tactician you owe it to yourself to give it a go.
  3. Oct 28, 2013
    80
    Devoid of plot, yet highly recommended on the strength of its combat. Beautifully balanced, complex and challenging. [Nov 2013, p.96]
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    75
    Despite some limitations in party managing and world interactions, Cyanide has made ​​its best title ever. Aarklash Legacy is a good example of tactical GdR with an isometric view and many hardcore gamers will love it.
  5. Nov 2, 2013
    70
    There was no single-player RPG title with party-based cooperation of the same importance as it is in this game. Aarklash brings magically elaborated combat system, however, many things around this feature should have been made in much better fashion.
  6. Sep 22, 2013
    70
    Aarklash: Legacy takes the player back to the world of the tabletop RPG known as Confrontation in a second attempt to propose its fantasy universe to PC gamers. The game in itself is a good, party-based RPG, with a nice combat system and many interesting ideas. Unfortunately it’s not a masterpiece and, after a while, the hybrid turn mechanics become a little boring. Dedicated to the fan of the genre who are in search of a fantasy game at a budget price.
  7. Oct 7, 2013
    60
    Aarklash: Legacy is not without its moments, but it is too sadistic to be any fun.

See all 13 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 27
  2. Negative: 2 out of 27
  1. Inq
    Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Okay, so, I just created an account to review this game (and I'm using Metacritic to check Game Scores for over a year now, so that shouldOkay, so, I just created an account to review this game (and I'm using Metacritic to check Game Scores for over a year now, so that should tell you something) and I just have to say, this is SO good.

    The combat is genuinely interesting and challenging (make sure you play on Hard or Impossible for full effect), the directional heals are a cool idea, as are most of the skills (except for a few generic ones, but can't have any RPG without a Direct Damage Melee Skill, right?).

    Basically you control a party of 4, 1 Tank, 1 "Healer" and 2 "DPS", notice I'm using Healer and DPS loosely here, because some DPS classes (you get more Characters later on) are better used CCing enemies or even healing as well. The Main Healer has kind of a blood mage thing going on where he can't heal without leeching the life of allies and the Tank uses HP for his abilities and these aren't all of the interesting mechanics.

    Anyway, this game has decent-enough graphics, decent-enough sound, a good story, questionable voiceover but incredible mechanics, for the price it's being sold it I can recommend it to everyone who likes gripping tactical combat that requires you to actually think for a change. Great stuff.
    Expand
  2. Sep 22, 2013
    9
    I am going to be pretty blunt here, If you liked the combat in Dragon Age origins, but were looking for something harder, here it is. This isI am going to be pretty blunt here, If you liked the combat in Dragon Age origins, but were looking for something harder, here it is. This is the old school infinity engine style of combat plan and simple, same as you would see in Icewind Dale, but a bit more limited. That's actually the only thing I did not like about the game, was that they limited the player a bit to much in the area of skills and interactions. You also only control 4 characters at once, and in some fights you will be facing off vs. up to 8 enemies at the same time. Other then that though, they nailed it, with a great fluid combat system with competent ai and some interesting character choices to make as your wheel swords level up. The story is nothing to write home about, though I did really enjoy the universe that it was set in. The voice overs were also pretty bad at some points, but even the worst of them were better then some things I have seen from other games.

    In short, if you are looking for a good pick up and play tactical game that wont take it easy on you, then this is for you.
    Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    9
    My English is bad, but I have to write something to this game, because this game deverse it.

    It's very nice game. I was looking for
    My English is bad, but I have to write something to this game, because this game deverse it.

    It's very nice game. I was looking for something like this kind of game for a long time. And at least this time comes. I am not finished this game to now, and I am playnig only on medium difficulty, but I must say, that it is very chalenging. I am looking forward, when I will play this game again from begin in harder difficulty with another chosen skills in my characters. Every character in game have only 4 skills, but I must say that I really like it, becuase the skills are very different and specific and a healer is not only a healer and damage dealer is not only a damage dealer. Every character have very specific skills and is only really on you how you will build it.

    For me pros:
    All things on game are very good explained and described, how it works and so. (This is very specific for kind of players like me, if we want to know all about behind functionality)
    Very addictive and challenging combat. (I really like planning in pause mod)
    Great skill system
    Nice graphics

    For me Cons:
    Missing pause on dialogue (when not good in English you can lose the storyline in some moments)
    Loot items are repetitive (after every loot you must take care if you loot something usable or not)

    But in every case I love this game (hope to some expansions)
    Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2013
    9
    Aarklash: Legacy has, quite possibly, one of the most cohesive, addicting combat systems I've experienced in a strategy RPG in years. RealAarklash: Legacy has, quite possibly, one of the most cohesive, addicting combat systems I've experienced in a strategy RPG in years. Real time combat with a pause at any point to micromanage your Quorr of Wheel Swords (team of mercenaries)? Yes, please. Add a fun setting, interesting story, and interesting customization options and you've got a great strategy RPG experience everyone should give a go and for a budget price, it's a hard one to pass up! The voice acting is a little hit-or-miss, but the gameplay is top notch. Expand
  5. Sep 15, 2013
    8
    Aarklash: Legacy does one thing wonderfully right. Combat. Crank up the difficulty, and every encounter requires proper management of yourAarklash: Legacy does one thing wonderfully right. Combat. Crank up the difficulty, and every encounter requires proper management of your group of four to succeed and enemy abilities require you to actually pay attention.

    Combat is designed so that you can (and must) pause regularly to give orders to the group. This is similar to the original Dragon Age, and--though it sounds strange if you've never done it--it can be as much fun (or more) than real time combat.

    To keep things interesting, you can alter the members and skill trees of your group at any time. Characters have a limited set of spells, but you're expected to use most of them on a regular basis (and the game doesn't give you much time to learn them on the harder modes). Skill trees drastically alter the skills, and since those skill trees can be reset at will, there's ample opportunity to tweak the group for every fight and to experiment.

    Art style is similar to Torchlight 2 and Diablo 3; character movement is performed in a similar manner (point and click).

    The game does have flaws. A crash rendered my quicksave unusable. Fortunately an autosave allowed me to at least start at the beginning of the area.

    The game's graphics are fine (for the art style), but they appear to need optimization. The game (on a static pause screen, no less) spikes my video card temperature worse than any game I've played on this machine, games with much more action, larger maps, and far better graphics. For this style of game, I can live with turning down my settings, but I shouldn't need to.

    The voice acting is mostly good, although the editing could use some work (e.g. gaps in conversation that make it obvious the lines were pieced together).

    I've found a variety of little user interface bugs/behaviors, but nothing that couldn't be fixed with a patch (or even better help text in a few places).

    In brief, this is a game that deserves attention. It definitely has niche appeal, but you might be surprised to find yourself part of that niche.
    Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2013
    8
    Aarklash Legacy is probably the most challenging game ive played in a while, even on normal difficulty it takes a while to figure out theAarklash Legacy is probably the most challenging game ive played in a while, even on normal difficulty it takes a while to figure out the attack patterns of enemys, plan a strategy and a good portion of calmness, because otherwise you'd die pretty quickly.

    I dont have the time for a full review so ill just do a quickie.

    Pros:
    Price
    Great, challenging combat system
    Interesting skills
    Random loot

    Okays:
    Gfx
    Story

    Negs:
    Level design
    Voiceovers
    Expand
  7. Nov 3, 2014
    1
    About as fun as League of Legends, ie not very. Highly repetitive combat without the engagement of the Dragon Age titles with the worstAbout as fun as League of Legends, ie not very. Highly repetitive combat without the engagement of the Dragon Age titles with the worst inventory concept ever. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews