Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 31 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 339 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Age of Mythology transports players to a time when heroes did battle with monsters of legend and the gods intervened in the affairs of mortal men. Players wage war using human armies and diplomacy, progress through development ages, enhance military and economic performance with improvements, and manage economics through resource gathering and trade. Mythology enters the mix when players call upon the gods to act on their behalf or reinforce their armies with more than 20 mythological creatures. Ensemble Studios' new 3D engine adds a deep richness of graphical detail and creates a unique new title based on the ancient cultural history of the Greek, Norse, and Egyptian cultures, which are divided into nine detailed civilizations. [Microsoft] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Appealing to both the intellect and the imagination, it presents itself vividly and audaciously, leaving little doubt that it intends to be a complete experience in every possible way.
  2. 100
    It's certainly the closest I've ever gotten to a perfect gaming experience with an RTS game.
  3. Drives the gameplay stake through the heart of this genre, and keeps on stabbing. [Jan 2003, p.116]
  4. Without a doubt, the gameplay, graphics and sound all add up for a spectacular RTS title that you will be able to play for hours upon hours without getting remotely bored.
  5. 90
    Polished, intuitive, balanced, and fun, this is one of the best RTS games ever made, but if you’re bored with the genre this isn’t going to suddenly make you a believer again.
  6. It’s managed to make ostensibly the same game as it always has, but with just a little bit of lateral thinking has revolutionised its own formula. Bring on Age of Bomber Jackets, already.
  7. My experience with Age of Mythology was one of apathy and boredom... Think of AoM as Led Zeppelin’s "Stairway to Heaven." Sure, it’s a great song, but do you really want to hear it over and over again?

See all 31 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 56
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 56
  3. Negative: 4 out of 56
  1. GMD
    Jun 29, 2013
    10
    The Best Strategy Game I ever played. First I played AOM when I was 9 years old And it was AWESOME then and it is AWESOME now. 19 years old one. The only thing I cant understand why them stopped improving game? AOM 2 AOM 3 AOM 78 Expand
  2. Nov 17, 2010
    10
    favorite game of all time, played the campaign multiple time, and LAN it with friends almost every weekend. the graphics still look amazing. 8 years later still the best looking RTS in my opinion. gameplay is perfectly balanced soundtrack is outstanding there is so much content in the game, it could last me forever. it is so good i have bought it 4 times and 3 times was for myself. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2014
    10
    Um um dos jogos maravilhosos do meu passado! A minha avaliação é baseada na versão antiga, que era perfeita! Agora com essa nova versão com gráficos remodelados, imagino que o game vai ser sucesso novamente com a nova geração de jogadores. Algo que me desagradou foi o preço, a Steam deveria colocar esse game bem mais barato, acho que todos nós deveríamos cobrar isso deles! Expand
  4. Mar 16, 2012
    10
    AMAZING! in every fooooken way. I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good.I like this because it is good. Expand
  5. Jun 7, 2012
    10
    Amazing game for its time. Age of Mythology is easily my favorite RTS game of all time! Its so much fun, many hours have gone by because of this game and I'm happy with that. It passed the test of time and is still just as fun as it was to play 10 years ago. If your a coumpter gamer, or if you have a some what new pc (you should be able to play this game on any recent pc, not just gaming pc's), you should give this game a try, you could probly get it for real low cheap right now. Expand
  6. Jan 21, 2013
    9
    I'm not a big fan of Age of series. In fact, i played only couple of them and liked them, but there wasn't something that made me keep coming back. But Age of Mythology took my attention and I love this game even today and can replay whole campaign right after Nox. Game got my attention not by it's realism or story that based on real events, hell no, this game is pure magic that kinda based on actual story, but with Cyclopses, Colossuses (is that right?) and freaking Gods. All right, first things first, story is really good, it develops slow, but when you will reach Egypt levels plot will surprise you with some cool bad-ass moments and twists. Gameplay is your basic Age of mechanic, but here you also have power of Gods, you can unlock 4 unique abilities and by gaining, you know, God's love, you can create such creatures as Giants, Trolls, Cyclopses and other cool monsters. There's 4 different cultures and each of them are actually different and unique, trust me, because of that replay value is very high. My only complain is that story is REALLY slow and you will be bored of it by the chapter 20. There are bad-ass moments, but also tons of useless and forgettable ones. Other than that, game is just about perfect. Expand
  7. May 11, 2014
    1
    Let me start off my saying that I am a huge fan of AOM, it is one of my favorite games of all time.

    This reboot, however, is simply
    pitiful.

    Lets start off on price point. Paying $30 for a game that is 12 years old is pretty steep, but they claim to have done some work to it so I decided what the heck, I'll get it.

    Bad choice. Unfortunately several important units are now broken since clearly no one bothered to test the game after they made their changes. Some missions on the campaign simply cannot be beaten without using cheats now because of broken units.

    As for the changes themselves, the water does look pretty. But I probably wouldn't have even noticed changed it i hadn't already known. There is absolutely NO NEW CONTENT added, it is just a rehash. I would hope they would at least do something to the horrible path finding and unit commands but apparently they could not be bothered to do that much work.

    BIG DISAPPOINTMENT
    10/10 for the original game
    1/10 for getting people to pay twice for the exact same thing
    Expand

See all 56 User Reviews