Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
  1. Jun 28, 2014
    95
    There was nothing in the way of Age of Wonders III maintaining the quality level of its predecessors. But that did not happen and instead of another solid title we got a game that will make every armchair strategist cry... tears of joy. [05/2014, p.52]
  2. Apr 24, 2014
    90
    Age of Wonders III is a must for anyone that will enjoy spending a lot of their time controlling the fights rather than just clicking auto-resolve.
  3. Apr 4, 2014
    90
    This is a deep experience backed by intricate mechanics and a concerted polish that makes gameplay immediately intuitive and rewarding. Age of Wonders 3 will keep you up until the wee hours of the morning, constantly muttering that you'll crawl into bed after just one more turn.
  4. Apr 3, 2014
    90
    Age of wonders 3 perfectly simulates that one-more-click feeling. As an action packed turn based RPG it easily keeps you on the edge of your seat. This sensation is strengthened by a beautiful fantasy world and enormous battles. We’ve been struck with a case of national pride.
  5. Apr 8, 2014
    89
    Once you have maybe 10 hours of gameplay under your belt, you will start to appreciate the subtle changes that the upgradable heroes and combat mechanics bring, and thus the equally subtle innovations that Triumph Studios has made throughout the game.
  6. Mar 28, 2014
    86
    Age of Wonders 3 gives you challenging 4X strategy within a charming fantasy setting with one of the best enemy AIs I’ve seen in years.
  7. Mar 26, 2014
    86
    Whether playing a campaign against the computer or taking on eight other players in a random map, it bears the hallmark only a few empire building games have--the addiction to take "just one more turn".
  8. May 11, 2014
    85
    Age of Wonders III is old-school turn based gaming at it finest. [Apr 2014]
  9. 85
    Since I never played the earlier games, I can’t make the call as to whether or not this game was worth waiting 11 years for. Saying that, I’ve been waiting since I saw the game at GamesCom last year to get my hands on it, and it was definitely worth it.
  10. Apr 2, 2014
    85
    Age of Wonders III is quite possibly the best 4X that has arrived on our computers so far this year. The game is vast in options and features endless hours of entertainment. The work of Triumph Studios is a perfect example of the right way to successfully retrieve a license. A must for fans of the Age of Wonders title, although it cannot go unnoticed by those who enjoy turn-based strategy games. We will be stuck to our computers for some time.
  11. Jul 30, 2014
    84
    Age of Wonders III offers a very good option for turn-base strategy fans, continuing successfully the legacy of the series. It offers many hours of play, especially if you want to taste every bit of detail. Some further improvements which would force the player to ponder of his strategy before acting are needed. Nonetheless, Age of Wonders III is an amazing game that will always keep you thinking "one more turn".
  12. Apr 8, 2014
    83
    Age of Wonders: Shadow Magic in particular has long been a cult classic, and Age of Wonders III certainly doesn't let it down. It could use a couple patches to adjust balance and minor things such as occasional lag on the strategy view, but the core game is an immediately engaging mix of strategy and tactics.
  13. Mar 26, 2014
    82
    It may be overwhelming for beginners, but it offers months of fun for veterans of the genre. It doesn't change a lot compared to the first installments, but why change good things that work?
  14. Mar 26, 2014
    82
    Age of Wonders 3 is everything fans of the series wished it to be: a deep and complex turn-based strategy game with lots to discover, a true PC Game with beautiful graphics. Although its campaigns lack a certain something and the economic part of its gameplay never reaches the excellence of Civilization 5, Age of Wonders 3 is still a challenging game you don’t have to regret sinking many, many hours into.
  15. May 21, 2014
    80
    If you enjoyed the previous Age of Wonders games and you had any reservations about this game, then rest easy – it is a very good one.
  16. May 6, 2014
    80
    Age of Wonders III turned out to be a very accessible game that is filled with tons of content. Its beautiful fantasy world will keep you busy for hours.
  17. Apr 24, 2014
    80
    Despite my nitpicks with combat and balance, Age of Wonders 3 is a solid title.
  18. Apr 15, 2014
    80
    So while Age Of Wonders III doesn’t really offer much that you can’t get elsewhere from the 4X genre, it feels fresh and distinctive enough – it has been over a decade since the last Age Of Wonders, after all – that strategy fans will have something to get their teeth into all the same. Hopefully next time won’t be quite so far away, and a little more consideration for the city management screen wouldn’t go amiss.
  19. Apr 14, 2014
    80
    Age of Wonders comes back on PC after years of silence with a well-crafted game that's too old in its gameplay or aim to bigger scores.
  20. Apr 11, 2014
    80
    Age of Wonders III is a good comeback that only needs to be balanced to become perfect.
  21. Apr 11, 2014
    80
    Age of Wonders 3 is an authentic Age of Wonders title. A deep, complex and beautiful turn-based strategy game for PC.
  22. Apr 9, 2014
    80
    All that long waiting was worth it. Age of Wonders III is not only a game about magic but it's a magical one at the very same time. Fight, invent, conjure, and enjoy its endless gaming possibilities. Just... we would like to forget its lazy game engine along with flaws in its game interface.
  23. Apr 8, 2014
    80
    Addictive, beautiful and often challenging. This is Age of Wonders as we know and love.
  24. It's not the new king of the hill for turn-based strategy genre, but certainly a deep and pleasant game for anyone looking for a tactical challenge. Especially if you've played the previous games, you will definitely enjoy this one too.
  25. Apr 1, 2014
    80
    These clashes are the most tense and exhausting part of Age of Wonders 3, but also the most engrossing.
  26. Apr 1, 2014
    80
    Triumph Software is a skilled bunch of people that have created a really good strategy game. You could have some reservations about the graphics, very minimal portrayal of different castles or not strong enough focus on diplomacy, but none of these issues spoils the fun. Age of Wonders III is a well made, extremely playable game.
  27. Mar 31, 2014
    80
    It’s the best that Age of Wonders has ever been.
  28. May 7, 2014
    78
    Just like any other decent 4X game, Age of Wonders 3 truly shines when you play on random maps, rather than scenarios. They are much more fun to explore, and the whole diplomacy mechanic suddenly makes sense.
  29. Apr 15, 2014
    75
    Age of Wonders III's wealth of unit types and leader abilities leads to some engaging battles. I just wish as much thought was required for its strategic empire-building sections. If you can put up with the toil of running an empire, you are treated to some compelling and rewarding combat. Unfortunately, you have to do both, because you can't play only half a game.
  30. Apr 8, 2014
    74
    Age of Wonders III is a bona fide old-school 4X. And it's also pretty good at it, even if sometimes falls in the trap of tedious, unbalanced micromanagement.
  31. Apr 2, 2014
    71
    I have no doubt that the strength of the tactical combat will help find a strong niche, but for me, that just makes the relative weakness of the strategic side of gameplay all the more disappointing.
  32. Apr 17, 2014
    70
    Age of Wonders 3 knows the ropes, so much is clear. But as soon as you get a grip on the clever AI, you'll notice this game might be looking in Civilization's direction – much too often for me to believe that's not what it wants to be – but it never really reaches those heights.
  33. Apr 11, 2014
    70
    Despite some familiar trappings and a shortage of genuine wonders, Age of Wonders 3 delivers a more tightly focused experience than Firaxis' behemoth Civilization series, to which it initially appears to owe so much. In doing so, it proves that even after a decade away the Age of Wonders series can still stand proud beside its modern-day contemporaries.
  34. 60
    A complex, albeit a little confusing strategy game. If you have the time and enthusiasm to pour into it, you will be rewarded. [Issue#241]
  35. Apr 8, 2014
    60
    But the more you play, the more you try different game types, the more you experiment with different races and paths along the skill tree, the more you develop favorite combos and hated opponents, the more crushingly disappointing it is that it doesn’t know how to end. A game this good deserves a good finale. It deserves anything other than the long tedious slog to finish a game that was over 100 turns ago.
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 431 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 68 out of 98
  2. Negative: 18 out of 98
  1. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    So what are my thoughts on Age of Wonders 3? Let me just start by saying this is going to be a subjective review. There is two ways about it. I love TBS. I love tactical combat in TBS's. I love fantasy setting and I love unique and varied races and units. Age of Wonders 3 hit all these perfectly for me. This is the game I have been waiting for and wanting.

    Let me underline that I have been participating in the beta for 2 months and have over that time clocked 180 something hours (all within the limitation of real life) in both online and offline modes (yes, you can play offline). Over that time I have gotten a good impression of what the game is about, what it delivers, but more importantly, what it can deliver. The game has such a solid mechanic, that any additional content will just improve more and more on the game.

    I am not a reviewer and I don't know how to write reviews, but what I can do is give you my thoughts on the game. It is complex, it is deep and it really covers the 4X expectations. You get to explore a beautiful map, you get to exploit treasure sites by entering them, fighting the guardians and taking their loot (everything from weapons/equipment to mounts, secret spells, resources, prisoners who will join you and more). You get to expand by building new cities or by having other cities join you through diplomacy, bribes, quests or just conquest! And you get to exterminate all who stand against you in a glorious tactical combat.

    You have heroes who level up and can pick traits, skills and spells as they increase in power, decking them out in magical equipment and riding fantastic mounts from spiders to hell hounds and beyond. You have units who rank up and become stronger and learn new abilities, increasing their tactical value. You have access to great spells that can shape the land, makes cities riot, devestate armies on the strategic map and summon creatures from other places. Spells that can turn the tide on the battlefield and give your opponent a surprise he or she never saw coming.

    There is this and so much more! I am quite horrified to see three votes giving 1 score even before the game is released knowing everyone who has participated in the game so far has been nothing but happy with it. For me, this is just the game I have been waiting for and it combines the best of master of magic, heroes of might and magic, civilization and fallen enchantress. Seeing the game as it is and knowing it is just so incredible fun and that with each addition to it, it can only get better, this is my highest rated TBS game of my so far life time, including all the oldies and classic.

    I can't wait to see other people get to try the game and leave their thoughts on it. I look forward to reading other peoples opinion on the game and I feel confident that any TBS fan will find this game to hit the mark for them.
    Full Review »
  2. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    Finally the perfect game to scratch my TBS/4X itch! I have a feeling that in 15 years or so I will still be playing Age of Wonders 3. I make this prediction because once in a while I still play the original AoW and it came out in 1999. So unless they come out with an AoW4 or standalone expansion that is even better in every aspect I think this game will stay on my computer and my next computer and the VR headset after... a long time.

    My favorite part of AoW3 is its focus on tactical combat while still including all the 4 Xs (explore, expand, exploit, exterminate) plus RPG elements. There are cities to form into an empire, heroes to level up, spells to research, dungeons to loot, resources to manage, etc... On top of it all players are engaged in battles early and often. The battles are killer fun tactical experiences that take place on their own maps separate from the primary strategy map. When a hex is attacked on the strategy map the armies/stacks in that hex and all neighboring hexes get pulled into the tactical battle. This means there could be 42 units (7 hexes x 6 units/hex) in the same battle and they could even belong to several different players! The combat mechanics like attacks of opportunity, flanking, guarding, and 3 action points to use for movement, multiple attacks, or multiple reactions are very well done. When playing single player I almost always choose to fight each battle manually because they are so much fun, but there is an option to automatically resolve them if you wish.

    One thing that is disappointing about AoW3 at first glance is the number of races. Past AoW games had at least 12 races but AoW3 is releasing with 6. However, this is made up by the new class system which did not exist in previous AoW games. The developers have done an amazing job making both race and class matter. An elven archdruid feels different than a draconian archdruid or an elven warlord. Thus, instead of having simply 12 races to choose from you have 36 race/class combos (6 races x 6 classes). There are also specializations/spheres that further customize your leader and playing experience, similar to previous AoW games. I expect more races to be added in DLC or an expansion and am fine with that.

    The only bad thing I can say about AoW3 is that it feels like the morale systems need to be flushed out a little more. My wish for morale is that your starting/ruling race should have more influence on the morale of your cities and units and diplomatic relations with independent cities. It was important in past AoW games. These things will probably get improved with some patches, and should not stop anyone from buying the game.

    There was a period of years where I played a lot of Civ4 and some Civ5. Eventually I found myself thinking - I wish there was more action in these games and battles were more realistic like... Age of Wonders. Before AoW3 was announced, I searched for recent games with gameplay similar to AoW but nothing seemed to be on the same level. Warlock was too simple and too Civ-y... Total War just didn't draw me in... Others didn't even look worth buying. Age of Wonders seems to fill a special niche that no others do.

    Bottomline: AoW3 takes many of the best parts of its predecessors plus some new goodness to create a masterpiece of the TBS/4X genre.
    Full Review »
  3. Mar 31, 2014
    10
    Awesome return of an epic game! Looking at the new features, e.g. 3D-engine or class-race-combinations, I am excited to finally see this game returning. Had kinda lost all hope to ever see it again, but yay! :) Full Review »