Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 30 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 30
  2. Negative: 0 out of 30
  1. Mar 8, 2012
    91
    Arguably the best compliment I can give Alan Wake is that it is a console-to-PC port done right.
  2. Mar 1, 2012
    90
    Alan Wake is a superb game that will satisfy anyone looking for a slight twist of horror blended into their third person shooters.
  3. Feb 23, 2012
    90
    It might seem that Alan Wake is essentially the same game that was released on Xbox 360 two years ago. Nothing could be further from the truth. Remedy has worked hard to adapt the psychological thriller to a platform that should never have waited so long. Better graphics, 3D support, and additional content including DLC. The only excuse for not buying Alan Wake for PC is that you already got bored of it on console. Even if so... you should give it a try.
  4. Feb 22, 2012
    90
    The mix between intriguing storytelling and near-perfect game design elevates Alan Wake to an extraordinarily finely crafted experience. Even if should you shelf it after its 10-15 hours and never take it out again: This one playthrough will be a lasting experience. Alan Wake is something special that enriches the world of gaming.
  5. Feb 20, 2012
    90
    It has been a long wait, but Alan Wake is finally available on PC and it comes with better graphics and a gorgeous collector's edition that includes both DLCs and some very interesting extras for a bargain price.
  6. Feb 17, 2012
    90
    The real Alan Wake has come. A great game not only from the narrative prospective but also from technical one, without weakness of the previous version.
  7. Feb 15, 2012
    90
    Though the camera can cause issues and the supernatural story that's more interested in asking questions than answering them, it's a tough game to put down once you've started. Remedy's done a great job of mixing elements of written work, television, and videogames to create an experience full of scares, laughs, and thrills that's just as fun to play as it is to watch.
  8. Feb 20, 2012
    89
    Good things come to those who wait - Alan Wake on the PC may show up very late but it is visually a clear improvement over the Xbox 360 version, plays better with a mouse and brings the excellent atmosphere and gripping story to a whole new audience. No couches needed.
  9. Apr 3, 2012
    87
    More than just a port, Alan Wake for PC is a must-have.
  10. Mar 13, 2012
    87
    Excellent PC translation is better than the original. Not for the vastly better graphics, but because you can hide the HUD and the game is a game, not a computer assisted interactive experience. [March 2012]
  11. Mar 12, 2012
    87
    The alpha and the omega of the game is the chilling mood. A man from the city, unaccustomed to dangers and hazards, is asked to survive in the middle of nowhere, alone versus all. It is an exemplary drama and as such, the psychological pressure on the protagonist manages to affect us, as well. It's like living the whole thing, like actually being there. [April 2012]
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1160 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 40 out of 243
  1. Jun 23, 2012
    3
    I am certain Alan Wake will garner many positive reviews that focused on the story and its "unusual" style and presentation. I admit, it is interesting and would make an excellent book or movie. The problem is that even the best novel can be turned into a bad computer game and that is essentially what has happened here.

    The story unfolds over the coarse of 20 hours as you run from one well lit area to the next, fighting waves of the exact same 4 monsters, using the exact same 4 weapons and the exact same strategy all the way to the end. The Enemy AI is rudimentary. The soundtrack is non-existent. Alan Wake will occasionally narrate and explain a new revelation, or what he is feeling or what you need to do next.

    The game lacks tradition incentives to keep you playing. There are no choices, no dialogue trees, no weapon upgrades, no level-ups. Even Alan Wakes own survival is tied to the plot and thus never seems to be in question. The game thrusts you into the action without spending sufficient time on character development and then tells you that you need to do X, Y and Z if you wish to save various people you don't care about. This might work in a book or movie were we are simply spectators along for the ride, but it is asking a lot in a game where players must invest 20 hours of their own time to progress the story. I constantly found myself asking the question, "Do I really care about these people? Do I even care what happens to Alan Wake? Why do I need a key to open this door when I have a shotgun in my hand?" As a result, it is easy to lose interest. This is one of the few games I have played in my life that I have had to force myself to finish. Somewhere along the way, Remedy lost that balance between making a game with a good story and a game that is still fun to play. People invest in computers and pay top dollar for games because they want more than books or movies can offer. My advice: Buy BioShock or replay Indigo Prophecy. You can skip this one.
    Full Review »
  2. Feb 16, 2012
    4
    poor pc performance even on top end rigs
    no crosshair, must aim with flash light
    off-center camera angle is awful
    there is a delay to initiate
    shooting and no focused/zoom mode specifically for shooting

    probably works better on xbox (because it has auto aim, and probably runs smoother.) no reason for a nearly 2 old xbox game to not run 60fps on top end rigs.

    the camera also sucks, if you try to have a centered camera view - you run crooked; you have to have a crooked camera view to run straight.


    probably will automatically get good reviews from fan boys and people that were paid to review the game. maybe it was good on xbox, but playing it on pc is like paying $30 to willingly handicap yourself.
    Full Review »
  3. Feb 20, 2012
    8
    When I saw this was a microsoft game. I honestly reset my expectations to expect something a very linear and probably quite corny. However, I was very pleasantly surprised by AW. The game has some enhancement for the PC. Things like the crippling FOV you see on many console ports are not a problem here. The game is enjoyable and atmospheric. It is very linear but then due to the nature of the game this is to be expected, the linear nature of the game is not to the point where you dont feel in control and it plays very well. The location are is good although the game could bear some better textures it is generally very pretty. I have seen many complaints here and on steam about poor performance but I play using a quadfire so have not experienced this problem. However, I have encountered a stonking great bug in the final episodes of the game which prevent me from completing the game. Basically the script seems to have broken down. Required taken dont spawn and an event which is required for progression will not start. A very disappointing end to a game I was enjoying immensely. (Playtime approx 20-25 hours.) Overall, I would say a bit short but due to the atmosphere, story and environment in general I would say this would have been a very good buy for the 20 Euro I paid on steam if it didnt have this cataclysmic bug in my save game. Full Review »