Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics What's this?

User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 45 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This is a third-person shooter in which players assume the role of a soldier battling aliens on a mysterious spaceship. From a top-down perspective, players explore dark corridors and search for key cards, unlock doors, and attempt to power up areas of the ship. Aliens emerge from holes,This is a third-person shooter in which players assume the role of a soldier battling aliens on a mysterious spaceship. From a top-down perspective, players explore dark corridors and search for key cards, unlock doors, and attempt to power up areas of the ship. Aliens emerge from holes, pods, and passageways to attack the player's character; the soldier uses assault rifles, shotguns, machine guns, flamethrowers, and grenades to kill hostiles, including larger boss aliens. Aliens screech and emit splashes of green blood when killed. The word "sh*t" is heard occasionally in dialogue. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. 80
    It's a small game that feels big while you are playing it, a laudable accomplishment for a $10 title.
  2. Alien Breed 2: Assault is a great sequel to Alien Breed: Impact. Compared to its precursor, it has improved in terms of graphics and gameplay.
  3. Dec 13, 2010
    60
    Adrenaline-fueled crescendos and bosses toss in some welcome fun to the experience, but not nearly enough. [Jan 2011, p.77]
  4. Dec 21, 2010
    60
    Alien Breed 2: Assault stays very close to the roots of the genre, which gives it a touch of old-school charm, but it feels archaic next to newer offerings like Alien Swarm and Lara Croft and the Guardian of Light.
  5. 40
    Another Alien Breed remake results in another failure. What was great back in the Amiga-times is missing and a remake is just a boring and repetitious shooter with a small variety of enemies in uniform environments. [Issue#197]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 5 out of 14
  1. Aug 2, 2011
    10
    I have become convinced gamers are turning into a bunch of cry babies.
    This game for this format kicks ass, its fast paced , fun and
    I have become convinced gamers are turning into a bunch of cry babies.
    This game for this format kicks ass, its fast paced , fun and addictive. the graphics are sharp ( maybe the people with Dell / Celerons should not give reviews) on my system.
    I had this game sitting in my library for 3 weeks and decided to check it out.. 3 hours flew by. its a top down shooter action packed and puzzles tossed in for good measure. have not seen a single glitch.
    This game is worth the meager price they ask by far.
    Collapse
  2. Jul 10, 2011
    8
    Alien Breed 2: Assault is a good sequel to the first Alien Breed game. It takes the story line deeper and has better graphics and game play.Alien Breed 2: Assault is a good sequel to the first Alien Breed game. It takes the story line deeper and has better graphics and game play. Overall it is a very enjoyable game to play. Expand
  3. Dec 1, 2011
    7
    Steam Summer Sale Free Prize! Coop! Achievements! First time I played it I didn't give it an honest chance. After giving it another go, I'veSteam Summer Sale Free Prize! Coop! Achievements! First time I played it I didn't give it an honest chance. After giving it another go, I've changed my tune. It's not fantastic, but it is above average for a title in this genre, especially using a game controller. I'd go so far as to say it's not worth a look using a keyboard and mouse. Expand
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    5
    This is a top down shooter that makes a solid first impression, but after a few minutes of playing you will discover that the execution ofThis is a top down shooter that makes a solid first impression, but after a few minutes of playing you will discover that the execution of many essential elements is not very good. The gameplay gets repetitive rather quickly, as you frequently just walk from A to B, holding space bar down to interact with switches. The gun sounds and sound effects are also rather bland. The environments are also very dark, with little variety, although the actual graphics aren't too bad. You will also battle with the camera, as it sometimes switches to bizarre angles, obstructing your view to certain areas, such as the other side of a wall. There is also a load of on-screen text, so you know right off the bat which objects are interactive, and although some people may like this, I think it does take away discovery aspects of the game. Get this if you must, but there are far better top down shooters out there. Expand
  5. Dec 3, 2012
    5
    While not an overly satisfying title, Alien Breed does provide a nice change of pace from other shooter games. While the core gameplay isWhile not an overly satisfying title, Alien Breed does provide a nice change of pace from other shooter games. While the core gameplay is relatively solid the game becomes quite repetitive with only 5 weapons (2 which you find halfway through the game), and enemies which although different are still dispatched using the exact same methods as any other. After playing the game for a while the fights start to become predictable. The story never really does anything to drag the player into it although the comics in between chapters were a nice touch. The upgrade system was a nice addition which allowed some variety to how you could play the game. Overall not a bad game for the price, plenty of stuff to kill but try to pace yourself so it doesn't get repetitive. Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2011
    4
    Ive only played this for a short while, like 30 minutes but so far its dull, some aliens that die with little effort and unimpressive sound,Ive only played this for a short while, like 30 minutes but so far its dull, some aliens that die with little effort and unimpressive sound, the guns are flat sounding it really needs some environmental audio effects to give a better ambiance, ricochet sounds and echo.
    i hit a couple of bugs not sure what caused them exactly, i lost mouse aim pressing esc cured that, but then i lost ability to control menus while at a console, so i couldn't save and buy items, shift + tab to open steam screen cured that.
    Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2011
    0
    Clon of "Alien Swarm".
    It was St*pid, very boring.
    Hate this.

See all 14 User Reviews