User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PiranhaG.
    Sep 7, 2003
    7
    Nothing more than an expansion.
  2. SidneyG.
    Apr 3, 2005
    8
    Good game. You could play it at fast pace. But if you slow yourself down and use all resources its a challenge. i enjoyed.
  3. ShadiacoV.
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    It's a great game realy,couse of the great sounds and lightning.And the story is also good. I'm giving it 10 couse i just liked this game a lot.
  4. GerD
    Jun 15, 2009
    3
    Get the game, don't get the expansion. Had to resort to cheats to get past the turret part where you're waiting for Dimitri. So badly done, first off, even if you carefully spend your ammo. It's bugged, after a while your rounds stop hitting the aliens, leading to death. If you go ape and spray everywhere, you'll run out of ammo and blam dead. There's no health Get the game, don't get the expansion. Had to resort to cheats to get past the turret part where you're waiting for Dimitri. So badly done, first off, even if you carefully spend your ammo. It's bugged, after a while your rounds stop hitting the aliens, leading to death. If you go ape and spray everywhere, you'll run out of ammo and blam dead. There's no health and no ammo pickups, so there's no effective way forward for me now other then to cheat or to restart the entire fucking game. Pathetic sh*t really. Expand
  5. JamesK.
    Apr 25, 2004
    10
    It is soooooooo coool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  6. DanD.
    May 26, 2004
    10
    Omg goooooood game i loved the expansion.
  7. Mar 21, 2013
    5
    When a studio that has nothing to do with original game's success desperately tries to expand a universe, such bad games as "Primal Hunt" happen. This expansion in any way can't be called a good pack. AVP 2 by Monolith was a perfect game that introduced various original scenarios that years since walkthrough leave good memories. Thing I do remember about "Primal Hunt" is that it wasWhen a studio that has nothing to do with original game's success desperately tries to expand a universe, such bad games as "Primal Hunt" happen. This expansion in any way can't be called a good pack. AVP 2 by Monolith was a perfect game that introduced various original scenarios that years since walkthrough leave good memories. Thing I do remember about "Primal Hunt" is that it was extremely short (only 3 levels for each species), boring and not original. Yes, there could be some more story told about events that took place in AVP 2, but this pack does not achieve this goal. Expand
  8. Mar 2, 2014
    6
    Aliens franchise is strong enough to beat things like this expansion pack and sequels like Alien versus predator and colonial marines; in fact only the first 2 games are worth it...let's see what's going to happen with Alien isolation...is it gonna be a classic or another expendable adventure? Let's see...
  9. Mar 23, 2015
    3
    I am playing through this at the moment, and the Official reviews (GameSpy, PC Gamer) got it bang on. Lacks all the atmosphere from AvP2. I am interested in the back story, but I don't think I'll follow this through.
Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 16
  2. Negative: 5 out of 16
  1. A serviceable expansion pack but casual fans need not apply as it can in no way be considered essential to the original.
  2. This title doesn’t advance the series; it’s really more like a watered-down version of AVP2.
  3. If you found the first game to be very challenging, this expansion has the potential to frustrate you to no end. It also lacks the elements that made the first game suspenseful and packed with atmosphere.