Metascore
55

Mixed or average reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19
  1. Alone in the Dark is a perfect example of how to stage games: a story with twists, fantastic scripts and interesting characters. It could be a great cocktail of action and horror, but it comes with a bad aftertaste. Every minute obvious design errors can be observed. This could have been avoided with two more months of development time. Players who are easily frustrated should wait until patches fix the problems.
  2. Alone in the Dark proves that with a little time and patience, a good game can be created from innovative ideas.
  3. Ambitious and imaginative, it's a guilty pleasure. Those who are able to deal with its issues – that aren't easy to ignore – may end up living a very interesting adventure.
  4. A valiant attempt at elevating Alone in the Dark back into the Pantheon of genre-defining adventure-games – much innovation, and even more atmospheric awesomeness.
  5. Alone in the Dark can be applauded for its innovation, but it cannot be saved from its dysfunction. Had Eden Games added polish, or dare I say it, play-tested the game, it could have been a welcome addition for survival horror fans. [Aug 2008, p.85]
  6. Poor controls and too much reliance on trial and error in order to progress within the game. Hacking up the zombies is good fun, though. [Sept 2008, p.102]
  7. Buy it on a console if you must play it, but don't expect things to be much of an improvement.
  8. It has more than enough good ideas to make a brilliant, must-own game, but features even more bad game design and gameplay issues. As such it's without doubt the biggest disappointment this generation of consoles has seen and a game that's impossible to recommend.
  9. There are some unique ideas concerning health replenishment and inventory management.
  10. Despite the numerous obtuse moments, the interesting story should keep you playing at least a little while.
  11. A horror that isn't scary? Fail. Awkward controls are tiring, gameplay is shockingly plain. There is a lot of new concepts, but technical deficiencies take out the fun from this game. For example the fires are amazing, but fireproof wood does the whole idea in. [Aug 2008]
  12. Great environmental puzzles and a chilling soundtrack are sadly let down by a poor port with dodgy controls. [Issue#9, p.46]
  13. Alone in the Dark could have been a great game, but in its current shape it’s just a disappointing failure.
  14. For me, this was one of the most frustrating gaming experiences in recent memory. Most frustrating of all is the fact that this could have been a great game. Like a pack of half-starved zombies, the developers have simply bitten off more than they can chew. [Sept 2008, p.57]
  15. Alone In The Dark truly horrifies me. How can such a big-budget title actually get to the stores with such unfriendly controls and gameplay glitches? The game is clumsy, completely linear and absolutely no fun to play.
  16. Hateful game. [Sept 2008, p.60]
  17. Almost - but not entirely - worthless. [Aug 2008, p.70]
  18. 35
    Nice visuals, great fire effects and valiant efforts at innovation don’t make up for boring combat, frustrating controls, poorly designed levels and a hackneyed story.
  19. Think about it: the developer built in a level skip. I recommend a cheaper alternative: the game skip. [Oct 2008, p.66]
User Score
5.6

Mixed or average reviews- based on 128 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 52
  2. Negative: 22 out of 52
  1. AlexaL.
    Jul 1, 2008
    1
    I don't recommend it. a total waste of time and money. @atari: I am very disappointed.
  2. Jun 3, 2011
    1
    If there is such thing as an 'anti-game', this must be it. I simply had the impression this wasn't a game, but rather an experiment by theIf there is such thing as an 'anti-game', this must be it. I simply had the impression this wasn't a game, but rather an experiment by the game publisher to test how far they push the gamer into frustration with an endless stream of bugs, impossible control schemes, camera angles that don't work, stupid saving schemes...And oh boy, did they succeed ! After a few hours of gaming, the frustration and agony was so overwhelming that the only enjoyable satisfaction I had was uninstalling this game from my PC. Glad I picked it up from the bargain bin and didn't pay the full price as I would have felt pretty angry about it.
    Too bad, I did feel that there was some potential in it, but the developers have wasted it for me.
    Full Review »
  3. DanielM
    Oct 8, 2008
    8
    Great game. Controls take a bit of getting used to but if you go through the entire game you'll walk away feeling the experience was Great game. Controls take a bit of getting used to but if you go through the entire game you'll walk away feeling the experience was worth it. Most people giving these poor ratings haven't played the game from start to finish or have some kind of bias against the game. Full Review »