Altitude Image
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 80 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Welcome to Altitude, the best multiplayer 2-D aerial combat game on the internet. Altitude is a fierce contest of ace vs ace, battling for supremacy of the skies in a fast paced combat that is way more fun than a flight simulator. It is a game of steely nerves, hair-trigger reflexes and brilliant tactical thinking. Altitude will stretch you to the limit from the upper reaches of the stratosphere, the relics of a long forgotten city, to within the deepest hollows of underground caverns. It offers five unique planes to choose from and an online community that will provide you with hours of entertainment. So stretch those fingers, get your game face on, and prepare to blast your way across the cartoon skies in this fast-paced game of aerial combat. The sirens have sounded, bogies are coming in hot… so jump into the fast and agile Loopy and drop your enemies from the sky with a tactical EMP blast - but get out of the way before your Biplane support tears them to pieces with 20mm cannons blazing! Barrel roll through the enemy minefield and arm your nuke as you enter the drop zone. There it is - the enemy base - but two Mirandas just warped in with lasers hot, and an Explodet is lumbering into position over their hangar decks — will you carry your team to victory? [Nimbly] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. It's a great little indie game, it's cheap and you really should play it. [Mar 2010, p.83]
  2. There really isn't anything not to like about Altitude. [Aug 2010, p.101]
  3. Fast, fun and cheap. For less than 10 bucks and despite a not so charming visual style, Altitude is a very good multiplayer shoot'em up.
  4. Altitude's simple premise hides behind a deceptively difficult game, but one that's easily learned and enjoyable to engage in. Although there's plenty of content here, more might have been better, but what is here does last, just so long as it's taken in the right doses.
  5. Plainly the best plane-centric shooter on a 2D plane. Stick through the slow start and enjoy the view later on. [Jan 2010, p.94]
  6. If you're into twitchy, fast-paced multiplayer shooters, Altitude might just be worth a look. [Mar 2010, p.75]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 3 out of 21
  1. Jul 24, 2011
    10
    This game is really good. I´m not a real indie fan but this game kicks ass. Airplane soccer, FFA, Perks, Ranks, Dedicated Servers. Three words: I love it Collapse
  2. Sep 6, 2010
    10
    This is hands down my favorite PC game ever! There are good and addicting game modes, like Team Base Destruction (my fav) where you must grab a bomb and fly it to the opposing team base and drop it on their base. Also Ball, which is like soccer but with planes! And of course Free-for-all/death-match modes. The real fun is the online-play of course, where you can level up and unlock different planes and "perks" (weapons, armory, etc.). Try the demo for yourself and finish the training (they have easy, medium, hard and expert difficulties), and afterwards if you feel that this could be a decent game, then just buy it because as said before, online is where the fun is at. It gets millions of times better than the training. Expand
  3. Apr 10, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I can't understand how anybody may say that this game is poor or that it lacks depth! Such a nonsense!

    Sure it's not for luxury-freaks, who want to get everything easy and quick... It's a hard work to learn to fly in Alti, but the reward is more than worth the effort.

    It's one of cheapest games I've bought through years and definitely one of 3 best and most addictive games. And I am comparing it with titles like Mass Effect, Deus Ex and Battlefield!

    So give it a try, I am sure it will very much surprise you! If you are not a lazy-fellow, who is bored by doing simply anything... ;)
    Expand
  4. Dec 3, 2010
    10
    In a world where multiplayer shooter equates to brown fps games, Altitude is a deliteful breath of fresh air. The thrill and skill of flying is equally matched with the intensity of teamwork. Plane ball really shows of Altitude's aptitude at making a team experience intense and rewarding. There's been critisism towards its simplicity, but seriously; the battles are far from simple and it's the teamplay that makes you a vital cog in a complex wheel. The community is light hearted and the games usually end with a round of 'gg's.

    I game to have fun. This game is fun. This is my type of game.
    Expand
  5. Mar 9, 2011
    8
    You can play this game in 3 ways. Nr. 1 is that you can play every once in a while, just level up a bit every time, reaching level 40 after half a year. It's fun but it looks like you are just playing it as a flash game, while it could be much more. Nr. 2 is that you play it pretty much, you take a look at the perks (which are fairly big in variety) and after a while you seem to get a favourite plane, and with that you keep leveling and you get to your first prestige etc. Very competitive stuff is not your thing and you just enjoy certain modes, but this is a very fun game! Nr. 3 is when you are all into this game. You've checked every perk to the bone, you know what plane has the best tactics and you are prestige 10 (of course), you've played this game for 100's of hours and think it's a masterpiece.

    I count myself to the second range. I enjoy playing this game very much. As of today I've put 62 hours into this game, and so far it has never bored me. I have periods where I play it, and after a while I stop again, and that's the charm of this game: You can play it when you got nothing better to do, and you fully enjoy it. I've got my favourite plane and mode (Ball + Loopy) and so I know what to choose to enjoy this game. People calling this game bad haven't gone much into it imo. It's as with every other "community" game, you must have been there for a while to make a decision. The servers work good, the maps are very fun and balanced and it's just a perfect indie game. Don't expect a BioWare product, but don't expect a oversized Flash game either since it's more than that. It has it's negatives and it's positives, and one of them is that you can make it as fun as you want yourself.
    Expand
  6. Feb 20, 2012
    7
    Personally I give this game a 10 but since it is a review i will look at it differently. This isn't really a game that can be judged from 10-20 hours of game play. Some may think it has no depth and those are the people that judge from 10 hours of game play it takes 100 's of hours to begin to understand the depth and sheer perfected balance that the developers have achieved with this game. Yes, it is a little on the childish side and yes it lacks graphical awe but in the end it is an indie game with an awesome community and great developers mixed with 100 's and 100 's of smooth bug free game play that really is addictive when given the chance. It also has a free unlimited DEMO how can you go wrong with that? Expand
  7. Nov 19, 2010
    0
    Oh my goodness this game is a joke! There is actually no point in it. It has the complexity and depth of Robot Unicorn Attack but without the addictive music.
    OK it's an indie game but check out the scene so many better games out there for example Madballs and Osmos!
    I don't feel rewarded by the game - levelling up, ah wow who came up with that new concept, it's just the same old stuff repackaged and that's not what indie is about it's all about the different games that come from people's imagination that are cool and new - not someone's remade version of something they saw on miniclip and thought they'd make some money off of.
    The demo is free - it wont cost you money but your time and a portion of your soul with wither when you play it - the choice is yours.
    Expand

See all 21 User Reviews