User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1277 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 18, 2012
    10
    Not a fan of puzzle game usually, I really got into it, especially thanks to the survival-horror side of the game. If you playing it like it's meant to be (alone, in the dark, headphone), it is a scariest game ever. The audio is amazing, graphics are decent enough for a full immersion. I liked the fact that you are scared at all time during the game, you are really under pressure, where inNot a fan of puzzle game usually, I really got into it, especially thanks to the survival-horror side of the game. If you playing it like it's meant to be (alone, in the dark, headphone), it is a scariest game ever. The audio is amazing, graphics are decent enough for a full immersion. I liked the fact that you are scared at all time during the game, you are really under pressure, where in games like dead space, it's just punctual fear which is going to make you jump out of your chair (which I think is the easy solution in scary entertainment). A must have if you like horror games. Expand
  2. Jan 27, 2012
    9
    This game is #6 on my top ten favourite games of all-time. In Amnesia: The Dark Descent, you play as Daniel witch if you haven't figured out yet, has amnesia. This game game is CRAZY on scares. The thing that made me jump the most, was in the Storage room and I don't want to spoil it. The monsters? Don't even get me started on those, the first time you play, they are scariest things ever,This game is #6 on my top ten favourite games of all-time. In Amnesia: The Dark Descent, you play as Daniel witch if you haven't figured out yet, has amnesia. This game game is CRAZY on scares. The thing that made me jump the most, was in the Storage room and I don't want to spoil it. The monsters? Don't even get me started on those, the first time you play, they are scariest things ever, but once you play it a few times, it gets less scary. The graphics could be improved and there are some bugs that I have found, but overall, great game. Expand
  3. Feb 11, 2012
    8
    Amnesia, what's not to say about the game... It has incredible, immersing gameplay that leaves you feeling shaken to the core for hours, even after you stop playing. The game was so frightening, yet so gripping that you can't help coming back for more. Amnesia is so psychologically testing, that it has effected my personality; I have developed paranoia, I lock the doors twice at night forAmnesia, what's not to say about the game... It has incredible, immersing gameplay that leaves you feeling shaken to the core for hours, even after you stop playing. The game was so frightening, yet so gripping that you can't help coming back for more. Amnesia is so psychologically testing, that it has effected my personality; I have developed paranoia, I lock the doors twice at night for precaution, the slightest thud makes me jump, I fear being alone for more than 3 hours and I have changed from my night shift at work. The game is in fact, too frightening, and too mentally trying, that is why I must give it an 8/10. Now if you'll excuse me, I'm returning to my corner to cower in fear. Expand
  4. May 7, 2012
    10
    New, refreshing, and scream-inducing. Buy this game the day before Halloween in your college dorm, grab many snacks, and prepare to keep everyone else in your building awake at night. I'm not going to explain the game since that would take away from it. Just try it. Trust me. Best played with friends in the dark at night.
  5. Feb 29, 2012
    10
    Wait until nightfall. Sit down at your computer, put your headphones on, turn on Amnesia: The Dark Descent, and get ready to poop your pants. I have never played a game scarier than this. Penumbra: Black Plague was terrifying, but Amnesia: The Dark Descent is deliciously repulsive, horrifying, and mystifying. I highly recommend this game to anyone who wants to stay awake until dawn.
  6. May 17, 2017
    8
    An entertaining plot, interesting puzzles and absolutely bloody terrifying. Amnesia: The Dark Descent will have your heart pounding like nothing else out there, give it a go now... if you dare!
  7. Jun 22, 2012
    9
    Perhaps the best survival horror game to grace my PC ever. Amnesia keeps you hooked from start to finish, if you can even get that far. The shocks are purely atmospheric with little to look at or do other than physics puzzles.There is no combat which makes hiding from the monsters that much scarier. Perhaps one of the best PC games to happen since Half-Life 2, Amnesia:The Dark Descent is aPerhaps the best survival horror game to grace my PC ever. Amnesia keeps you hooked from start to finish, if you can even get that far. The shocks are purely atmospheric with little to look at or do other than physics puzzles.There is no combat which makes hiding from the monsters that much scarier. Perhaps one of the best PC games to happen since Half-Life 2, Amnesia:The Dark Descent is a must buy for any indie, horror or PC gamers. Expand
  8. Apr 8, 2012
    10
    This is one of the best games Ive seen, ever. This is undoubtedly the scariest game i think ever created. Me and my friends often find people to play this game, and we all gather round to watch them crap themselves with fear.
  9. May 3, 2012
    10
    This game is the most intense game I have ever played! the atmosphere is terrifying. Also the game shows originality and very unique, most horror video games gives you an option to fight back and defend yourself. And Amnesia is a different type of game play that actually requires stealth and hiding. A nice storytelling makes a good game. -the-epikninja
  10. Dec 29, 2013
    8
    Fine game, but I enjoyed Penumbra so much more.
    .....................................................................................................
  11. Apr 4, 2013
    9
    This game is definitely one of the high points of the survival-horror genre. However, before playing it, you should know what to expect; if you're expecting something more similar to Dead Space 2 out of this, you will have a bad time. It's not that kind of horror game. Gameplay isn't all that great, maybe 7/10, but the intense atmosphere makes up for it. Amazing sound, good (not too good,This game is definitely one of the high points of the survival-horror genre. However, before playing it, you should know what to expect; if you're expecting something more similar to Dead Space 2 out of this, you will have a bad time. It's not that kind of horror game. Gameplay isn't all that great, maybe 7/10, but the intense atmosphere makes up for it. Amazing sound, good (not too good, but more than enough) graphics...

    There's quite a lot of difference between Amnesia and most horror games, the main one I see being monster density. Monsters aren't very common. This is partially justified by your lack of self defense, but the real beauty in this is that you never really stop being scared of them. So instead of a lot of shootable monsters, you get a few very dangerous and terrifying ones.

    Now, "A few monsters" isn't really enough to keep the scares going. Amnesia solves this problem in an ingenious way. With the creepy ambience, the constant tiny creaks from the foundation, and even the illusory footsteps Daniel hears when low on sanity, you genuinely never feel completely safe. Aside from the tendency to encounter monsters while backtracking after grabbing an important item, it's pretty danm hard to predict where one will show up.

    Anyway, the point of the game is to make the player feel as scared as possible. So, don't play to win, play it just for the sake of being scared.
    Expand
  12. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    Have you ever played Myst? And kno Bioshock was the best game of all time? Puzzle games totally suck because they totally forget what the word "logic" means. "Scary" movies haven't scared you since you were a child. Sooo Amnesia has all of that. This is a really great game. The only way you can't get scared by it is by thinking you're way too cool and you keep your guard up. Way, way up.Have you ever played Myst? And kno Bioshock was the best game of all time? Puzzle games totally suck because they totally forget what the word "logic" means. "Scary" movies haven't scared you since you were a child. Sooo Amnesia has all of that. This is a really great game. The only way you can't get scared by it is by thinking you're way too cool and you keep your guard up. Way, way up. In which case, you're only ruining the fun for yourself. Put on headphones, play in the dark. Lose yourself. The sound is amazing, which is critical to terror. Monsters, on a technical scale are only ehh, but when you combine it with the rest of the game, become horrifying poetry. There is also some of the deepest story I have ever encountered, and I only really like to play games with a ton of story. It's more like you're playing a book, but it feels like a movie you're directing... and suffering. You will not get a better form of Art in most modern AAA titles. I just got this for $5 on Steam, and I wish I could donate more to the company if I could. Personally I kinda wanna give it a 9 only because I really suck at puzzles, but compared to 99% of other digital titles, this game is an 11 out of 10 Expand
  13. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    This is an amazing horror game. I'd even call it brilliant. I learned things about myself by playing this. I probably don't have to tell you that Amnesia succeeds in being scary - it succeeds hard. I often had to remind myself that it was just a game and I wouldn't really die if the monster got me or I wouldn't be able to move forward. Video games have a unique ability to evoke fear in anThis is an amazing horror game. I'd even call it brilliant. I learned things about myself by playing this. I probably don't have to tell you that Amnesia succeeds in being scary - it succeeds hard. I often had to remind myself that it was just a game and I wouldn't really die if the monster got me or I wouldn't be able to move forward. Video games have a unique ability to evoke fear in an audience and I feel this game absolutely takes advantage of that. Through its visuals, sounds, mechanics, and storyline, Amnesia succeeds in creating a very focused experience of helplessness, curiosity, and fear. I don't give it a ten because I feel there are three things I still have room to complain about. For one thing, despite not seeming like it at all, the whole game is highly scripted, so once you've played it the whole way through you have very little reason to go black and play it again. It's also best to play it alone so you can't have fun watching other people play it without cheapening the experience for them. Second, the storyline is a bit underwhelming towards the end. It only feels this way in the very last room of the game, and its not too pronounced, but I felt they could have done better. The multiple endings are still good though. Lastly, (*spoiler*) and this might tie in with the storyline thing, but through the whole game, I was under the impression that there was only one monster chasing you through the castle. He seems to be in a lot of places at once, but I thought he was part of the whole "shadow" thing and maybe he could teleport. However, a little over halfway through the game another monster comes in and kills the first and starts hunting you instead. Then the first monster shows up again and it becomes apparent that there's a whole bunch of these things all over the place and they're actually the big bad's henchmen, which I felt just made them a whole lot less significant, mysterious, and scary. That really cheapened it for me and I still prefer to think of it the other way. However, no one else I've read has mentioned that so maybe it's a personal thing. Expand
  14. Dec 6, 2016
    9
    If I was to liken Amnesia to a film, it would almost certainly be Texas Chainsaw Massacre. If you have never watched it then you probably wont know what I'm going on about. But despite its title, there is virtually no gore in it at all. No chainsaw massacres, no nothing really. But one thing it does do, and does well, is it is disturbing without being shocking. It is a series of wellIf I was to liken Amnesia to a film, it would almost certainly be Texas Chainsaw Massacre. If you have never watched it then you probably wont know what I'm going on about. But despite its title, there is virtually no gore in it at all. No chainsaw massacres, no nothing really. But one thing it does do, and does well, is it is disturbing without being shocking. It is a series of well placed shots, well paced story, and inventive camera and sound play. In short, this is what Amnesia is. If you turned the sound off you would probably think what the hell the fuss is about. But the developers really know their genre. And better than that, they don't really go in for jump scares. Amnesia is about a sense of building danger and suspense as you discover more about the protagonist you play. This is well played out through scripted notes and flash backs. The other game of this kind - Outlast - is very similar. I would say Amnesia has more character. Outlast is top dog for jump scares and its graphics are also better. But I think over all Amnesia is executed better (although they are both good titles IMO). Along with Alien Isolation, these are without doubt the best 3 survival horror titles in the market today. I would put this on a par with Alien isolation, and Outlas5t a close(ish) second. Expand
  15. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    It's very hard to make really scary game, but Frictional Games did it. The main story took me about 6 hours, but after that i started playing custom stories. I gave 10 points because this game has everything! - Beautiful atmosphere, - Scary main story, -Scary monsters and - New custom stories every day. This game don't need weapons. They would ruin the idea of the game. People justIt's very hard to make really scary game, but Frictional Games did it. The main story took me about 6 hours, but after that i started playing custom stories. I gave 10 points because this game has everything! - Beautiful atmosphere, - Scary main story, -Scary monsters and - New custom stories every day. This game don't need weapons. They would ruin the idea of the game. People just concentrate on shooting. But every time i start this game, i enjoy it very much :) Expand
  16. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    It would be impossible for me to leave spoilers in this, for I cannot beat the game. I have played the game, with my friend, for all of about an hour so far. We can't do it. We haven't seen a single monster yet, and we cannot continue forward. The game is just scary, it carries on-wards in the ways of freaking you out of your skin. We picked up a book, and accidently slammed it against aIt would be impossible for me to leave spoilers in this, for I cannot beat the game. I have played the game, with my friend, for all of about an hour so far. We can't do it. We haven't seen a single monster yet, and we cannot continue forward. The game is just scary, it carries on-wards in the ways of freaking you out of your skin. We picked up a book, and accidently slammed it against a metal door, and it scared... The living... *Bleep* out of us. We of course continued forward, and got up to a point where our lantern ran out. It was at this point we really started to get.... on edge... To say the least. We found a small amount of oil and used it, continued forward. We were about to go through a door there was a hint stating something similar to "Hint: When there are enemies nearby, try to run and hide in the darkness" , this was the point where my friend (Who was playing at the time) said "I can't do it, just can't. I'm done". I of course proceeded to give it my shot. Within a minute, not even a full minute, I started to walk through the door with no lantern, and slowly opened it... When I saw something move. I backed up frightened into a corner and just stood still. I heard "Tip... Tap... Tip... Tap" Not of water, but of footsteps. The screen went blurred, and moved as if we had just been turned into a ghost and back. I gave up. We cannot continue for quite a while... We don't have the power-up from Binding of Isaac, "Balls of steel", or the other power-up of "Masculinity". I guess we just haven't spent enough time to get the "Puberty" one either. We're little children in this game. We.... Are... Done. Have fun everybody! Expand
  17. Jul 19, 2012
    10
    for the people that try to downpour this brilliant horror game obviously haven't played a good game yet. Amnesia is probably the best TRUE horror game out there, not only does it scare the **** out of you it involves high amounts of strategy and careful thought one you actions. for the people that try to downpour this brilliant horror game obviously haven't played a good game yet and arefor the people that try to downpour this brilliant horror game obviously haven't played a good game yet. Amnesia is probably the best TRUE horror game out there, not only does it scare the **** out of you it involves high amounts of strategy and careful thought one you actions. for the people that try to downpour this brilliant horror game obviously haven't played a good game yet and are 40 year old lards you sit in front of there computer all day. Expand
  18. Oct 21, 2012
    8
    It's fun, scary...dark...everything you could ever want, right? Right. Things fly at you from the ceiling, you can hide in dressers, and you have some extreme anxiety issues. Recommended, if you're a fan of scary games. If you read this review, and decided to play it, then played it and died from fright (or the fact that the game is pure awesome), I am not responsible.
  19. Aug 9, 2012
    8
    When this game first released as an Indy game, it was a cult hit, and spread via the web to all gamers, even casual ones. After playing this title, I must tell anyone who is thinking of buying it two things: 1) Buy it. 2)Don't 'play' this 'game', don't think of this as a milestone that you must 'beat'. It is an experience that everyone should have, and it WILL scare you. I have never beenWhen this game first released as an Indy game, it was a cult hit, and spread via the web to all gamers, even casual ones. After playing this title, I must tell anyone who is thinking of buying it two things: 1) Buy it. 2)Don't 'play' this 'game', don't think of this as a milestone that you must 'beat'. It is an experience that everyone should have, and it WILL scare you. I have never been so frightened by any form of media, be it a movie, game, music etc. There are a few parts where it will feel annoying because you may not understand how to get past a certain part, revealing it's true 'game' nature for only a moment, and then you are back in the experience. Buy it. Expand
  20. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    Creepiest game i have ever played in my live. I am sill having nightmares because of this game.. And the custom stories make this game much more than just the main story.. Actually the main story wasnt so great so -1 for that.
  21. Sep 29, 2012
    9
    I have to say that this is the scariest game I played, a lot scarier then Slender. If you are about to play this, have headphones on and play in the dark. So many moments I'm just going through a dark and creepy hallway and suddenly a monster comes around the corner and is going towards you fast, forcing you to hide, it just scares the crap out of me. And watching your sanity go down MIGHTI have to say that this is the scariest game I played, a lot scarier then Slender. If you are about to play this, have headphones on and play in the dark. So many moments I'm just going through a dark and creepy hallway and suddenly a monster comes around the corner and is going towards you fast, forcing you to hide, it just scares the crap out of me. And watching your sanity go down MIGHT make your real sanity go down. Other then the scares, the game play and story is pretty good. A lot off the puzzles are just so hard and genius that it takes me 10-20 minutes to figure them out. If you have at least a mid range PC, you should get this. Expand
  22. Mar 9, 2013
    9
    Amnesia unlike most horror games brought an entirely new entity to Horror Games. Being complete vulnerable to enemy attacks, with the only defence of running and hiding in an eery castle complex in 1839 makes this a lot more fun! With only a lantern and a limited supply of oil, Frictional Games surely know how to keep on scaring people! 9/10
  23. Oct 26, 2012
    9
    This game really does deserve the title of "World's Scariest Game". After playing the game for about ten to twenty minutes, I was wondering "Is this it?" and to be honest I wanted to backhand them for making a crapy game and calling it scary. I couldn't have been more wrong, the game absolutely scared me. I have never played a game that instilled fear into me like this: fear radiatedThis game really does deserve the title of "World's Scariest Game". After playing the game for about ten to twenty minutes, I was wondering "Is this it?" and to be honest I wanted to backhand them for making a crapy game and calling it scary. I couldn't have been more wrong, the game absolutely scared me. I have never played a game that instilled fear into me like this: fear radiated through my body, the rush of adrenaline, heart pounding, jumping at every groan, splash of water and almost any other sound.

    Okay, the downside, the graphics weren't the best, but the detail and architecture really did create the perfect mood for the game. Excellent use of sound all throughout the game; I did turn my volume down to zero to see what the game was like without the sound and to be honest, it was really calm, so well done on the sound effect. The plot was average, it was fitting of the mood though and it didn't need an awesome plot to be scary. I really liked the idea of being harmless, although I did try to pick up a chair and wave it around madly trying to fight off that horrible zombie thing. One thing that disappointed me, was the I could jump up onto a desk or a pile of rocks and the zombie couldn't get to me, it kind of ruined the mood when it was walking into a desk trying to move forward. The camera wobble was a bit annoying, although it did fit into the game, but overall I didn't like it.

    In summation, it is a very good game and I enjoyed the scare I got from it; although I wouldn't advise this game for children or anyone who gets nightmares. Apart from that I advise you to play it.
    Expand
  24. Jan 13, 2015
    8
    A true modern horror classic. Those extremely tense moments and challenging puzzles take you back to a time when survival horror was key and patience was a must. Fantastic story and atmosphere make this a must for horror fans.
  25. Nov 24, 2012
    10
    This game is scary as hell, but is fantastically scripted. The AI is amazing and this is the only game you can get a true fear feeling in. Excellent graphics, especially shadows. Also, it has a well written and intriguing storyline. Has some very minor bugs, which do not effect the game. I would go as far to say this is the most frightening game EVER created.
  26. Nov 27, 2012
    9
    I love this game... The atmosphere is incredible, and the fact that you can't kill the monsters and you actually have to run or hide, is amazing. I really like it. Also, hearing weird noises gives an incredible feeling. I actually congratulates the creators of this game because it's fun to play this game and freak out.
  27. Nov 28, 2012
    8
    This Game has a amazing and fightening Atmosphere. The Graphics are a little bit old, but the Colors and Lightning are perfect. Its so horrorfying to walk through the dark corridors, because you dont have any weapon. The Puzzles make fun, but the Gameplay and the Story could be better.
  28. Dec 6, 2012
    9
    This game feels like an Edgar Allen Poe piece. Its extremely dark and thoughtful in feel... And I was disappointed it finally ended. With so many things done right, its hard to believe such a small group created this creative masterpiece.
  29. Jan 3, 2013
    10
    I have never been more scared. That's all you need to know. Love the setting, the audio is absolutely phenomenal, the pacing is precise. What's not to like about this game?
  30. Jan 13, 2013
    9
    This has to be one of the most atmospheric games I have ever endured to play in my life. You've got a squid-looking guy walking around, making your swallow your tongue, and watching your heart drop through your intestines. It is amazingly scary. People think this game is "trash", and it's "not scary", play it once. We'll see if your mind changes. The game itself is horrifying, but I wishThis has to be one of the most atmospheric games I have ever endured to play in my life. You've got a squid-looking guy walking around, making your swallow your tongue, and watching your heart drop through your intestines. It is amazingly scary. People think this game is "trash", and it's "not scary", play it once. We'll see if your mind changes. The game itself is horrifying, but I wish there was more to it. There needs to be something there that just sparks your mind and makes the game better than it already its, on this one though I am going to have to score it good overall. Not recommended for players that get easily scared though. This is one of the most highly recommended games I have for you. Expand
  31. Feb 13, 2013
    9
    Behold immersion through sensory deprivation! As paradoxical as the previous sentence may seems, I'd suggest that's exactly what Amnesia succeeded to achieve. The game's premise is that you are alone, chased by a living nightmare from which you can only hide from. Being completely vulnerable, you constantly keep you ears open for some unknown sound, being in the dark, relying on the frailBehold immersion through sensory deprivation! As paradoxical as the previous sentence may seems, I'd suggest that's exactly what Amnesia succeeded to achieve. The game's premise is that you are alone, chased by a living nightmare from which you can only hide from. Being completely vulnerable, you constantly keep you ears open for some unknown sound, being in the dark, relying on the frail light of your lantern, you keep scrutinizing for somewhere to hide or for some way to escape through and being on the verge of sanity, your heart keeps pounding, your breathing gets heavier: the immersion begins. Soon, you learn that your only way out of this nightmare is only forward, deeper where all the horrors come from. All this, makes Amnesia a game you'll never forget (no freakin pun intended) if only for the atmosphere it creates. Aside from keeping your head cool, progressing in Amnesia requires you to solve puzzles and obstacles, most of which are logical and well integrated. In all, this makes it one of the best game-play experience I've had in some years.

    Technically, the graphics are very decent (not even considering that it's an indie production) but where the game shines most is perhaps in it's sound effects which are greatly responsible for the realistic feeling of this game.

    I'm not aware of much games in the style of Amnesia but in the end, if you liked it, I strongly suggest you try Miasmata.
    Expand
  32. May 18, 2013
    9
    There are two common comments that need to be struck down here. One, this is not some boring point and click escape game. The people who say it is just an escape game were too scared to actually get to the good parts of the game and never really passed the "tutorial stage". Also, for those comparing it to Dead Space, how could you possibly think this game would be like Dead Space? It isThere are two common comments that need to be struck down here. One, this is not some boring point and click escape game. The people who say it is just an escape game were too scared to actually get to the good parts of the game and never really passed the "tutorial stage". Also, for those comparing it to Dead Space, how could you possibly think this game would be like Dead Space? It is not an action or shooter game, the way you survive is by using your wits and hiding. It is very fun, you will be scared half the time, and the other half you will be running from the thing that was previously scaring you. The suspense in this game is amazing. Expand
  33. Feb 22, 2013
    8
    Amnesia: the dark descent is a well crafted experience that manages to pull off something that a lot of games fail to do these days, and that is atmosphere. By keeping the gameplay and interface very simple, one is much more easily drawn into the world. And it is the first game I've played in a very long time that has actually succeeded in scaring me. I was skeptical at first that it couldAmnesia: the dark descent is a well crafted experience that manages to pull off something that a lot of games fail to do these days, and that is atmosphere. By keeping the gameplay and interface very simple, one is much more easily drawn into the world. And it is the first game I've played in a very long time that has actually succeeded in scaring me. I was skeptical at first that it could have such an effect on my all but dead emotions, but the first time I was being chased by a creature, thought I'd outrun it, then turned around to see it right behind me, I very nearly wet myself. Some reviewers will often say that the monsters were not scary because, if you watched them closely, their behaviour was predictable and they were easy to avoid. But if you can sit back and enjoy a game without having to test the engine's every weak point, then this game should scare you. If you were the kind of kid who pulled the beard off the mall santa, then it probably won't. But if you're a cynic who can't suspend a little disbelief every now and then, then I don't see how any game could scare you. (And for that matter, feel free to suspend a little disbelief on the matter of not being able to pick up candles. It serves the gameplay. Just accept it.)
    All this is not to say that the game is perfect there are a few items on which the game falls down. Firstly, the level design occasionally feels a little samey. It's not nearly as bad as the endless repeating corridors in the likes of Eye of the Beholder, but it is a little like that. Also the voice acting is a little painful to listen to at times. I wish I could say that it's below par, but in the gaming industry this is probably better than average. [slight spoiler alert] In particular the voice of Agrippa fails. Here's this weird, creepy undead dude missing his jaw hanging from a chain, and he sounds like a jolly fat guy with rosey cheeks wearing lederhosen and playing the accordion [spoiler over].
    These, mostly minor, complaints aside, Amnesia: the Dark Descent is a great game. The story is interesting and very well researched (look up the Brazen Bull for example), and the attention to detail was for the most part spot on. Atmosphere, immersion and tension are excellent, and the game goes for just long enough to not overstay its welcome. And most of all it's a stand out, iconic title with some true innovation amidst a pool of samey, tepid drivel.
    Expand
  34. Jun 25, 2013
    9
    Horror games have never really scared me. Typically, they all followed the same patter: suspense followed by jump scare. After a while, they just didn't seem too scary anymore. Thinking that I would be able to handle it, I started playing Amnesia. Boy was I wrong.

    Simply put, Amnesia: the Dark Descent is the scariest game I've ever played. Everything from the chilling atmosphere to
    Horror games have never really scared me. Typically, they all followed the same patter: suspense followed by jump scare. After a while, they just didn't seem too scary anymore. Thinking that I would be able to handle it, I started playing Amnesia. Boy was I wrong.

    Simply put, Amnesia: the Dark Descent is the scariest game I've ever played. Everything from the chilling atmosphere to amazing sound design helped to make this one of the freakiest experiences I've ever had in a game.

    Nothing is quite as scary as hearing a noise, hiding in a closet for dear life only then to be assaulted by a hideous monster. It's a feeling of terror that I haven't had with any other game, one that makes the hair rise on the back of my neck

    The only issue with this game are the graphics, which aren't bad. They're just somewhat outdated.

    If you like being terrorized, be sure to pick this one up.
    Expand
  35. Feb 24, 2013
    8
    On my opinion, i found Amnesia the dark descent horrifying... I got to be honest with you, Amnesia made me feel fear. I never played a game like this. Frictional games did here a master piece
    The monsters are not very scary but the suspance... Just the soundtrack of the game is amazing! Did you knew that each object in Amnesia has its own sound? And the felling of being hunted, defence
    On my opinion, i found Amnesia the dark descent horrifying... I got to be honest with you, Amnesia made me feel fear. I never played a game like this. Frictional games did here a master piece
    The monsters are not very scary but the suspance... Just the soundtrack of the game is amazing! Did you knew that each object in Amnesia has its own sound? And the felling of being hunted, defence less and above all vulnerable makes you scared. Very scared. But amnesia put a lot of afford on the atmosphere. The light sources are few so you have to walk into the darkness a lot of times.
    The story could be a little better. Its is good but not perfect. I found myself bored of reading all those notes. I belive this game is awesome to fans of horror and im really willing to play Machine for Pigs
    Expand
  36. May 15, 2014
    9
    Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope. Nope.
    Although if your into games that scare the everliving crap out of you then this is definitely a game you want.
  37. Apr 27, 2017
    10
    Amnesia : The Dark Descent was not the first horror game I had played, but it was definitely the first of it's kind - run and hide, do or die. Yes, this was my very first experience with the survival horror genre, and what an experience it was..

    The lovecraftian setting of the enormous castle in which you spend the entirety of the game will make even the bravest of gamers feel helpless
    Amnesia : The Dark Descent was not the first horror game I had played, but it was definitely the first of it's kind - run and hide, do or die. Yes, this was my very first experience with the survival horror genre, and what an experience it was..

    The lovecraftian setting of the enormous castle in which you spend the entirety of the game will make even the bravest of gamers feel helpless and isolated, as the level-design is absolutely spectacular with it's ''gruesome'' simplicity and exquisite lighting.

    When it comes to the ''fear-factor'', this game does something very simple yet very effective - it makes you traverse the horror-ridden halls and sanctums of the Brennenburg castle.. completely alone. From start to the very finish, you will not have a single sighting of another human being other than yourself. This makes for a very powerful psychological tool, as the game never allows you to actually grasp anything else rather than danger - whatever moves, it is out there to either haunt or dismember you.

    Throughout the game, you will solve area puzzles by collecting items and combining them, which I felt had given just the right amount of a mental challenge, while also running and hiding from the monstrosities plaguing the gigantic mansion. Your only constant tool will be the oil lamp, which must be carefully conserved and used only when necessary as it will attract enemies and reveal your position. While the darkness would serve to hide you from your grotesque pursuers, you should not revel in it's embrace, and this is also one of the finest twists in the game's arsenal - should you spend too much time in the dark, your sanity will give out and Daniel, your playable character, will crumble under the weight of a mental breakdown, leaving you completely helpless and unable to move, for a while.

    Lastly, as if the near-perfect design and impeccable gameplay weren't enough, Amnesia is also gifted with an absolutely remarkable story. Through differing flashbacks and collecting texts, a captivating and spine-chilling tale will slowly unfold to the player, adding depth to an already amazing experience.

    After playing games like Outlast, Layers Of Fear, Resident Evil, Silent Hill, Dead Space, F.E.A.R, and many others, I can honestly say that all simply pale in comparison to this absolute masterpiece of a horror game. I have never before (or after) been so genuinely gripped with fear like when I was playing Amnesia : The Dark Descent, and I believe that it could be years and years before another title dismantles it. Simply put, it is arguably, if not definitely, the most terrifying gaming experience of all time.
    Expand
  38. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    I used to play this game with my brother. He moved. I don't play it anymore because I'm too scared to play by myself. For this, the game gets a 10. I have not been too scared to play a game by myself since Silent Hill 2. By the way, I only put in 3 hours of gameplay. Still too scared.
  39. May 22, 2013
    9
    Is Amnesia the best horror game ever made? Sadly that answer is no. But it is da*n good and worth a spot in the top 5. The games atmosphere not only sets up the best experience for this game, but uses lighting, sound, and suspense in some of the best ways possible in a horror game. You cant kill what is hunting you and you'll be having insane amounts of fun while also being terrified outIs Amnesia the best horror game ever made? Sadly that answer is no. But it is da*n good and worth a spot in the top 5. The games atmosphere not only sets up the best experience for this game, but uses lighting, sound, and suspense in some of the best ways possible in a horror game. You cant kill what is hunting you and you'll be having insane amounts of fun while also being terrified out of your mind. Again, not the scariest game ever made but it is one of the best horror games. Expand
  40. Sep 1, 2013
    10
    A truly scary games okay the graphics are not so good and it sometimes gets a bit predictable when a enemy spawned outside the room you finished a puzzle in. but the way you are always running and hiding makes you feel very weak. Unlike say Doom 3 or System Shock 2 which are very atmospheric games but since you have a lot of heavy weapons you aren't scared so buy it off steam and play itA truly scary games okay the graphics are not so good and it sometimes gets a bit predictable when a enemy spawned outside the room you finished a puzzle in. but the way you are always running and hiding makes you feel very weak. Unlike say Doom 3 or System Shock 2 which are very atmospheric games but since you have a lot of heavy weapons you aren't scared so buy it off steam and play it with the lights off and the volume up with a headphones Expand
  41. Apr 2, 2013
    9
    More an experience than a video game. And a really amazing experience at that. The cult classic really delivers with its atmosphere and feel, which suck you in in minutes.

    The vast amount of custom stories ensures hours of entertainment beyond the main story. As a downside it can sometimes be difficult to get your room lighting right for playing. Amnesia is a game that can be
    More an experience than a video game. And a really amazing experience at that. The cult classic really delivers with its atmosphere and feel, which suck you in in minutes.

    The vast amount of custom stories ensures hours of entertainment beyond the main story.

    As a downside it can sometimes be difficult to get your room lighting right for playing.

    Amnesia is a game that can be pulled from the shelf many times and it has the same chilling charm every time.
    Expand
  42. Rem
    Mar 8, 2018
    8
    Back in 2010 Frictional Games popularized the first person horror experience with its release of Amnesia: The Dark Descent. The indie scene became a bastion for horror during the lull of scary triple-A titles last generation. Amnesia: The Dark Descent is one of the main games to thank (or blame) for the resurgence in creepy, atmospheric games. Arguably one of the scariest first personBack in 2010 Frictional Games popularized the first person horror experience with its release of Amnesia: The Dark Descent. The indie scene became a bastion for horror during the lull of scary triple-A titles last generation. Amnesia: The Dark Descent is one of the main games to thank (or blame) for the resurgence in creepy, atmospheric games. Arguably one of the scariest first person horror games, Amnesia finds strength in keeping you at unease despite a few stumbles.

    Players awake in a castle in the 1800s, their memory wiped due to the titular malady. Amnesia begins a slow, steady burn toward the first frightening monster reveal – a tortured beast that cannot be killed directly. You play as Daniel, a man with the sole task of killing the baron of the castle, the reason why comes together as you venture further into the castles depths. Amnesia’s story is told primarily through notes and diaries scattered about with a sprinkle of environmental cues. It’s a dark, extremely twisted tale that continuously peaks your curiosity as you continue to uncover the more morbid details. It’s backed by solid voice acting and the story displays a Lovecraftian vibe for those into that sort of mythos. The only major gripe I have for the story is that the endings fall well short of expectations. It’s anti-climactic and fairly unsatisfying to say the least because of the lack of payoff.

    Amnesia’s lasting legacy is due to its oppressive atmosphere and truly effective horror elements. The influence of Lovecraft is etched into every corner and the fact that it’s so consistently dark and foreboding speaks to the commitment of the developers. Gameplay centers around Daniel traversing through the castle as he attempts to reach his supposed target. Only thing is, he must maintain his sanity, solve environmental puzzles, and conserve his resources all while being pursued by grotesque monstrosities known as the Gatherers. Forget about fighting them as this game places an emphasis on Daniel not being a willing combatant, he must either flee or hide. The focus on flight over fight only amplifies the omnipresent sense of dread. Not being able to battle the abominations stalking you might be infuriating in other games, but Frictional handles it with unsettling elegance. This is due to the various setpieces and how wonderfully setup they are. Dead ends paired with chase sequences kept my adrenaline booming without even seeing my pursuer once. One major gripe I have regarding such encounters is that the enemies become predictable and easy to exploit, often diminishing what would otherwise be terrifying moments, but these moments are rare. Daniel’s sanity meter must also be balanced as he will begin to suffer hallucinations and attract the attention should he spend too much time in the darkness. Advancing through the game is the only method to regain your wits, which creates a feedback loop that pulls you ever forward rather than encouraging the meticulous scavenging behavior that is a hallmark of so many other horror games. His use of resources such as lamp oil and tinder boxes become more valuable than bullets in other games. It’s this balancing act that never becomes too forgiving or punishing that makes Amnesia a fantastic survival horror game. The various puzzles you encounter never ask of you to solve a riddle, instead forcing you to think outside the box about your surroundings. They aren’t brain tickling, but are solid enough to stop you in your tracks and think throughout the game’s well paced 7 to 8 hours.

    Visually, Amnesia has very average looking components, but it’s supremely effective use of light and darkness coupled with its commitment to its aesthetic of a foreboding 19th Century European castle propels it’s lauded atmosphere even further. The sound design follows this same excellent quality from the ambient noises to environmental reactions. It keeps you on edge throughout and its accompanying music serve the setpieces very well. Much of Amnesia’s horror is a result of its pitch perfect audio design and I couldn’t be more glad for that.

    This indie project is an expertly crafted tale of horror and discovery that uses its interactive nature to enthrall players as deeply as any tale in videogames. Amnesia is barely a game in the traditional sense, leaving the nearly two decades of horror gaming tradition since Alone in the Dark by the wayside and forging its own twisted path. It’s ending and predictability of encounters marr some of its more stellar moments, but many games as of today still try to recapture its same horror brilliance since.
    Expand
  43. May 11, 2013
    9
    Very good peace of work. I love it very fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun game. It is not like dead space at all; you can't kill your enemies and that's what's so fun about it. It tells you at first just have fun and kind of "go" into the world of Amnesia. GENIUS! It is the perfect way to get into the game. And when I bought this I bought it at night, so I played till like what? 11:30Very good peace of work. I love it very fun fun fun fun fun fun fun fun game. It is not like dead space at all; you can't kill your enemies and that's what's so fun about it. It tells you at first just have fun and kind of "go" into the world of Amnesia. GENIUS! It is the perfect way to get into the game. And when I bought this I bought it at night, so I played till like what? 11:30 maybe, and I couldn't go to sleep later. So got up and played again. VERY addicting game. The only reason is why I am only giving it 9/10 is because the sanity drains like crazy. I put my lantern down for 2 seconds and it starts wigging out and 10 seconds later my dude's about to pass out or die or something. Expand
  44. sft
    Apr 24, 2016
    8
    Into the light

    I’m not normally a fan of games that present you with deadly enemies and then give you no option to defend yourself, but ATDD uses this device cautiously and to good effect. Evading the enemies is fairly stressful (as it should be) but is never frustrating or annoying. ATDD is all about atmosphere, which it has by the bucketload, and story, which it has in some depth.
    Into the light

    I’m not normally a fan of games that present you with deadly enemies and then give you no option to defend yourself, but ATDD uses this device cautiously and to good effect. Evading the enemies is fairly stressful (as it should be) but is never frustrating or annoying. ATDD is all about atmosphere, which it has by the bucketload, and story, which it has in some depth. Much of what has to be done in the game, by way of solving puzzles, will be familiar to anyone who has played adventure games before but here again ATDD gets the formula just right. This is the first survival horror game I’ve played that has no combat (I’ve played plenty that do) and I was pleasantly surprised at how well it performs in both the survival and the horror aspects. Graphically it’s pretty good but not outstanding. There are some nice touches of interactivity: you have to pull and push at doors and drawers in order to open and close them. And the sound design is also very atmospheric. It’s a fairly short game but it packs quite a lot into 10–15 hours of gameplay and is recommended if you like the horror genre.
    Expand
  45. May 26, 2013
    8
    Unlike most games, Amnesia isn't one with predictable, dumb scares, but instead well crafted ones. The story is hard to follow, but that's the only real complaint. It really is Survival Horror themed, and has a Stealth element too as hiding from monsters is not optional. The realism is a bit too realistic, as you lose "Sanity" by staring at a monster or being in the dark, when really, theUnlike most games, Amnesia isn't one with predictable, dumb scares, but instead well crafted ones. The story is hard to follow, but that's the only real complaint. It really is Survival Horror themed, and has a Stealth element too as hiding from monsters is not optional. The realism is a bit too realistic, as you lose "Sanity" by staring at a monster or being in the dark, when really, the character isn't losing the sanity at these parts but the Player is. When you do lose your Sanity, you pass out, which can be annoying but adds a Strategic Feel. Puzzles are well-done and not too cryptic, monsters each have a different personality, etc. Buy it, its only £12.99 on Steam currently. Expand
  46. Aug 9, 2013
    9
    The best horror game I have played since Silent Hill 2. This game has truly mastered what makes a game scary, the atmosphere and complete helplessness of your character really hammers it in. The story is also very interesting until the ending where I think it fell flat.
  47. Aug 19, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Fear is an understatement when I played this game. As soon as the opening music begins on the main menu, chills went up and down my spine. I had never experienced anything like that in a video game before. This game is the definition of fear. Every time you look around a corner or open up a door your heart begins to pound and you pray that there isn't something there to kill you. The atmosphere of this game is phenomenal. Whether you're in the ornate hallways of the living quarters, or the dark and shrill jail cells, or even to the sewers, every place this adventure leads you to provides a new and horrifying view to each one. The story line flows fluently through each of the settings with exceptional voice acting. The physics in the game engine are a masterpiece considering this is an older game. The way a tinderbox would roll out when you open a door, it feels like real life. Someone who does not like horror games probably wouldn't enjoy this game though. It took me a long time to get used to the constant fear and paranoia for me to finally complete it. All in all though, this game is expertly crafted and easily deserves a 10/10 for being one of the best horror games to ever be released. Now the sequel, "A Machine For Pigs," arrives September 10th, 2013 and I will instantly purchase it. Expand
  48. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    I did like the game very much. The storyline, puzzles and atmosphere was very well done. Graphics could have been improved, though. What I liked most is playing some of the mods. There are some fantastic free mods out there!
  49. Dec 3, 2014
    10
    After playing it for 22 hours I must warn you. Some of the challenges strain you, and will stress you out when you are being chased while trying to solve a puzzle. That is the beauty of the game, it pushes your mind, races your hear, and crushes you when you get cocky. 10/10
  50. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    Do you want a really scare game? Here you have one.
    Buy a new pair of pants too.
    Incredible game, you can't kill your foes, you can just run, hide, and dont stare at them or you will die of fear! Some puzzle are tricky, story is awesomely strange and interesting at the same time. The environment is so dark and you almost feel you are inside this creepy castle! Can't wait for the next
    Do you want a really scare game? Here you have one.
    Buy a new pair of pants too.
    Incredible game, you can't kill your foes, you can just run, hide, and dont stare at them or you will die of fear!
    Some puzzle are tricky, story is awesomely strange and interesting at the same time.
    The environment is so dark and you almost feel you are inside this creepy castle!
    Can't wait for the next chapter!!
    Surely in the top 5 of the games I played!
    Expand
  51. Aug 18, 2013
    10
    Played through the game numerous times, trying to find every little detail and trigger to create something new. Checked every corner and looked at every detail on paintings in the game. I think this game is very well made and the background story is purely genius. I love hiding from monsters, the pure darkness and clever puzzles this game has. I sometimes also check out some customPlayed through the game numerous times, trying to find every little detail and trigger to create something new. Checked every corner and looked at every detail on paintings in the game. I think this game is very well made and the background story is purely genius. I love hiding from monsters, the pure darkness and clever puzzles this game has. I sometimes also check out some custom stories, but they're not the same. I am looking forward to the sequel as well, for it promises things I am very familiar with. Expand
  52. Sep 7, 2013
    9
    One of the best horror games I have played so far. Even when your nowhere near the enemy, the feeling of being hunted is always there. Love the mechanics of the game, and what makes it even better is the puzzle solving aspect to the game. I am only part way through the game but I feel that this game definitely deserves an 9/10.
  53. Dec 4, 2014
    9
    Psychological survivor horror at its best! Creepy, scary, frightening and the developers really know the human nature. It's not one of those full of cheap jump scares it takes advantage of the human weakness.

    Amnesia has pretty good graphics (but not top-notch), excellent sound effects, fantastic music by Mikko Tarmia. You can interact with many objects to make the feel more genuine.
    Psychological survivor horror at its best! Creepy, scary, frightening and the developers really know the human nature. It's not one of those full of cheap jump scares it takes advantage of the human weakness.

    Amnesia has pretty good graphics (but not top-notch), excellent sound effects, fantastic music by Mikko Tarmia. You can interact with many objects to make the feel more genuine.

    You will always feel like someone or something is following you. It will wreck your nerves and when you think you are in safe, something bad will happen. It has a great lovecraftian story (with 3 different endings), nice voice acting and compared to that it was made by a small game developer team, it is better than the most of the AAA horror titles.

    The game was release in 2010, but it's still great and it has a Custom Story mode, which allows modders to create their own stories and even total conversion mods.
    Expand
  54. Jan 1, 2015
    10
    I go back to this game constantly... I've played it so many times and I never get bored of it. I've used this game as an argument in the debate over games being art. I point at this game with a resounding yes. For this game is a masterpiece of not only horror but gaming in general. Games are windows to a new world, they allow us an experience things that would be impossible in real life.I go back to this game constantly... I've played it so many times and I never get bored of it. I've used this game as an argument in the debate over games being art. I point at this game with a resounding yes. For this game is a masterpiece of not only horror but gaming in general. Games are windows to a new world, they allow us an experience things that would be impossible in real life. They are creations of imagination... characters, worlds, environments and lore. Movies are great but they could never immerse us as much as a game could. We control the progression of the story, we control the main character and we go through the emotions.

    It's here you will find what games can truly be. It's here Amnesia The Dark Decent stands alone. The story is compelling, it's so gripping that it plays off your emotions. It wraps you even further within it's clutches giving you immersion you haven't felt before. It's a game, yet many people swear that they feel like there's something at risk when they play this. They actually feel like they're in danger. But the greatest aspect of this game is within it's level design. You will find the game constantly sends mixed signals, you'll feel exactly what the game wants you to. Allowing yourself to be taken in will grant a gaming experience the likes of which have never been known.

    For example the area with the water monster is one of the most intense moments in a horror game. You're being chased by sound rather than sight. You hear the creature splashing towards yet you cannot see him. The water monster does not have a character model... some say that's lying design but it's actually genius. One of man's worst fears in this world is the fear of the unknown. Our minds are capable of many things, one thing in peticular is our amazing able to imagine. Your mind doesn't see anything in the water so it will fill that empty space with whatever the nearest surroundings are. And what it ends up doing is running our imagination wild, as it fill that empty space with your worst fear. The water monster is no longer a monster in a game... it's personal.

    Getting past this area means you've gone through one of the scariest moments in the game... so what do you get for it? An achievement? Achievement points? A high score? A character in the game saying "good job!" Do you get an epic mount? No... you get the greatest award this game could offer you after such an experience.... you get a relaxing room. The room right after the water monster is a well light room with a hole in the ceiling, allowing the player to see the light of day for the first time in the game, you get beautiful somber music playing gently in the background, the calming sound of running water coming from the fountain. This is the game saying "good job, relax a bit you're going to need it" it rewards you with an emotion rather than some meaningless item or achievement. It gives you a much needed breather.

    As for the design of monsters (grunts) they are in their own right a brilliant idea. They may look like creepy disturbing monsters but they are also emotions. The main character isn't being chased by monsters, he's being chased by guilt. Guilt from the people he's tortured for this own safety against the darkness. Their twisted disfigured bodies are a representation of a tortured victim. That's why you can't attack them... you can't kill your own guilty memories... not even by purposely giving yourself amnesia. They as well as the main character, cannot leave that place until something is done. The main character is being chased by something far more sinister than monsters, something he must purge. The story is about a man who had purposely lost his mind to regain strength, in the vain hope he would rid himself of this feeling of dread as death approaches him. With every piece of the puzzle he unlocks, with every step of progress he makes it takes a toll on his his own conscience. The more he remembers the more his walls of sanity begin to crack, as he's being chased by his own demons he ventures further down into the darkness in hope he'll see light.

    Given the level of immersion, this game has been considered the scariest game of all time. It's not due to fandom or some contrived belief that this game is better than the others... it's given this title simply because the people who play cannot help but get so wrapped up in the story that they feel as if it's their own dark decent they must venture into. The danger feels real... the fear feels real and for the player the only escape is to move forward or hit that ESC button.

    There aren't enough 10's in the world to express how amazing this game is. It's truly a masterpiece.
    Expand
  55. Jan 4, 2014
    10
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent sets an example for other horror games that are around or being made. It defines the definition of the word 'horror' compared to some other apparent horror titles like Resident Evil 6.

    Amnesia is such a good horror game, not because of the graphics or gameplay, it is because of the immersion. If you've played this game with earphones or a proper headset it
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent sets an example for other horror games that are around or being made. It defines the definition of the word 'horror' compared to some other apparent horror titles like Resident Evil 6.

    Amnesia is such a good horror game, not because of the graphics or gameplay, it is because of the immersion. If you've played this game with earphones or a proper headset it enhances the experience. The design of the game and the background noises combined create an eerie and terrifying experience, even without the monsters in the game. Amnesia relies on your imagination to create the horror rather than the scripted sequences, which in my opinion creates a real horror game.

    Compared to Frictional Games' previous trilogy 'Penumbra' in which you could defend yourself with shovels, pickaxes etc, in Amnesia the game focuses on you using wit over weaponry, forcing you to hide from monsters rather than fight. This feature is always good to see as because you have NOTHING at all, you feel defenseless so you must focus more on strategy.

    Once you encounter a monster its very easy to get scared and lose focus very quickly, the way they look, sound and move is enough to scare even the toughest players. In these parts of the game I've been focused during the puzzles, then I encounter a monster, swear loudly, and completely lose sense of direction. These moments in the game test your focus and sanity, seeing if you are calm or shaky when encountering your fears.

    Overall, Amnesia is a great horror game. If you compare it to Outlast, this would be just as good, maybe even a little better at times. If you aren't impressed with the new mainstream horror games like Dead Space 3 or Resident Evil 6, buy Amnesia for an immersive, realistic horror experience, and see what it truly means to be scared.
    Expand
  56. Jul 31, 2014
    9
    Hype doesn't lie here. Truly one of the scariest gaming experience you can get. Work with fear, dread, light, building up tension and atmosphere works amazingly well in this game. One of the best gaming horrors of the last decade. 9/10
  57. Jan 31, 2017
    8
    This is the scariest horror game ever, period. Music and story are also good, although these are not usually talked about in reviews. My complaints are mainly the awkward and sometimes frustrating controls, short length of the game and lack of explanation on certain part of the story. They could have made use of the setting and lengthen the game to tell us more about the main charactersThis is the scariest horror game ever, period. Music and story are also good, although these are not usually talked about in reviews. My complaints are mainly the awkward and sometimes frustrating controls, short length of the game and lack of explanation on certain part of the story. They could have made use of the setting and lengthen the game to tell us more about the main characters and background of Shadow and Orbs.
    However considering that this is an indie game made by 6 people, I think the devs did a very great job. I highly recommend it.
    Expand
  58. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Frightening, mind-boggling, dark gameplay along with the intense storyline makes the entire game soooo freaking interesting- like a book you are reading, although you cant ever seem to put it down- it clings to your thoughts as you roam the halls of the ancient castle, solving mysteries and experiencing new scares. (BAZILLION)/ 10 stars

    You, and every single living soul you confer with,
    Frightening, mind-boggling, dark gameplay along with the intense storyline makes the entire game soooo freaking interesting- like a book you are reading, although you cant ever seem to put it down- it clings to your thoughts as you roam the halls of the ancient castle, solving mysteries and experiencing new scares. (BAZILLION)/ 10 stars

    You, and every single living soul you confer with, should own this amazing game!
    Expand
  59. Dec 13, 2013
    10
    Absolutely terrifying, I love it. Easily one of the hardest and scariest horror games out there. Amazing graphics, horrifying enemies, and a powerful sense of suspense every single minute.
  60. Sep 23, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's maybe the best horror game i played. And I might say i play a lot of survival horror game.

    The only reason I dont give a 10 is that de par of agrippa is boring and the big fail in this game is the final. The game deserved a better final.

    I hope they make the second part.
    Expand
  61. Jan 6, 2014
    9
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent. The king of all survival horror. There's really not much more to rant about, so here's a pro/con list.

    PROS -Fantastic Atmosphere/Story -Great Pacing/Game-Play/Puzzles -Great UI/Screen effects -Fantastic Environments (with a good variety) -Godly sound design, maybe the best I've ever seen in a game -Several of the most memorable sequences in gaming
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent. The king of all survival horror. There's really not much more to rant about, so here's a pro/con list.

    PROS
    -Fantastic Atmosphere/Story
    -Great Pacing/Game-Play/Puzzles
    -Great UI/Screen effects
    -Fantastic Environments (with a good variety)
    -Godly sound design, maybe the best I've ever seen in a game
    -Several of the most memorable sequences in gaming history
    -Disturbing, chilling, frightening, and downright scary

    CONS
    -Very few enemy designs, which means encounters get stale toward the end
    -Light engine is questionable; there is no global illumination (or a faked alternative) when lighting candles or torches, which typically produces a cone of light with no interaction with the environment. I say this because lighting a torch should make a whole room visible. Instead, it just lights a section of it while leaving the rest totally pitch black
    -Fairly intensive compared to the average PC game, probably because of the physics engine
    Expand
  62. Jan 8, 2014
    10
    This is undoubtedly the best horror game I have ever played. It is--in my opinion--so horrifying not just because of the whole you-can't-fight-the-monsters-with-unhinged-jaws thing, but because of how deliciously creepy the whole environment is. There's a perfect mix of fear and calm; some of the rooms are so quiet and beautiful you tense up even more, expecting something to break theThis is undoubtedly the best horror game I have ever played. It is--in my opinion--so horrifying not just because of the whole you-can't-fight-the-monsters-with-unhinged-jaws thing, but because of how deliciously creepy the whole environment is. There's a perfect mix of fear and calm; some of the rooms are so quiet and beautiful you tense up even more, expecting something to break the peace.

    To those who say this game is boring, my condolences to you, your lack of imagination must make life really dull. The fear in this game comes from knowing what *could* happen, sometimes what you know *will* happen, and the sheer terror of not knowing when you'll have to face it.

    I'm not a horror person at all, but let me tell you that the bravest people I know have literally walked out of the room after playing this game for 20 minutes. I play it in broad daylight on a tinyass laptop screen with just speakers, no headphones, and still want to piss myself.

    Buy this game. It's every PC's bucket list.
    Expand
  63. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    This game is just so great! When you start this game it's not so scary but when you have played it for about 1 hour the monsters start coming... And they're horrifying. Puzzles in this game were pretty good and monsters scare the **** out of you.
  64. Feb 15, 2014
    9
    Terrifying yet captivating. Would be itching to play a session, and in a few seconds suddenly find the desire to hit save and run to the desktop to hide!

    A must play.
  65. Apr 11, 2014
    8
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent is a great horror game that has an interesting story, runs well, and has HARD puzzles. Probably because I'm bad at puzzles. Anyway the thing that really makes this game is the soundtrack and the custom levels. The best custom levels (basically the best things in the game) (oh and also in order from best to 5th best) are Amnesia: Destiny Rebellion, The Small HorseAmnesia: The Dark Descent is a great horror game that has an interesting story, runs well, and has HARD puzzles. Probably because I'm bad at puzzles. Anyway the thing that really makes this game is the soundtrack and the custom levels. The best custom levels (basically the best things in the game) (oh and also in order from best to 5th best) are Amnesia: Destiny Rebellion, The Small Horse Series, A Late Night Drink, White Night, and Laughing In The Darkness. Yeah so those are my personal favorite custom stories in the game (that I have played obviously) in order. Amnesia is the best horror game around (80% of Amnesia being the best horror game comes from the custom stories) and it is worth your time. Unless if you're not good with puzzles, because I'm not. However I still made it through (just barely) and I would rate this game a 7/8 Expand
  66. Apr 18, 2014
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is absolutely terrifying. This is one of the scariest games I have ever played.

    I was immediately scared by the atmosphere and the sound. When the door opened by itself at the start, I immediately quit the game. Later I went back to it. I encountered my first monster shortly after that. I was about to jump out and try to attack it, but then I remembered. You have run, hide or die. That is just one of the amazing things about this game.

    The story was amazing. I loved the way I had to piece the story together throughout the game. About Alexander and Brennenburg. About Daniel and the orb. It all fit together perfectly into a masterpiece: Amnesia: The Dark Descent.

    You are put into this castle. As Daniel, who has no recollection of his past. You are just a normal person. No guns, swords or any sort of weapon. The sanity effect, the lantern, the laudanum, the tinderboxes, the puzzles, just everything. It all works.

    A horror game is supposed to horrify you. And that's exactly what Frictional Games did with this masterpiece.

    I highly recommend Amnesia: The Dark Descent to anyone who is considering to buy this game.
    Expand
  67. Nov 14, 2014
    9
    Holy **** what is that in the water?! Storytelling, mood and the total fear of the unknown elevate this game to a definite place in history. Admittedly, I truely enjoyed this game solely because of the fact that it followed the recipe of the psychological horror story (in a Silent Hill sort of way) The main connection between this IP and the Silent Hill series is the continualHoly **** what is that in the water?! Storytelling, mood and the total fear of the unknown elevate this game to a definite place in history. Admittedly, I truely enjoyed this game solely because of the fact that it followed the recipe of the psychological horror story (in a Silent Hill sort of way) The main connection between this IP and the Silent Hill series is the continual psyschological anguish that follows the player all the way through the experience.

    Of course, the IP differs greatly from the Silent Hill series. First thing, of course is that it is not in the third person, but the first. Also, a person cannot actually defend themself against the horrors of the gameworld which in a (at the time of release) really fresh way introduces a new game mechanic. The inablility to defend, attack or in any way fight the monstrosities that one faces introduce a truely different experience never encountered in gaming.

    For these accomplishments this game always remain a true benchmark in all future horror game experiences. Bravo.
    Expand
  68. Jun 22, 2014
    9
    A great horror game, has several interesting things like sanity, which also hindering the game makes the player has a greater connection with the setting, the game is also the puzzles, and the puzzles are beautifully drawn, inventory serves to hold the items that most of them, you will use the puzzles, it also has an interesting history.
  69. Sep 8, 2014
    10
    This game is pure intensity and scary **** It gives you so much tension that you just can't wait to finish the game, but it is so difficult and takes so long, that you are definitely not going to finish this in one day without a walkthrough. It gives you the frightening feeling to just get the hell out of wherever you are end everything. It gives you the hesitation to just look around aThis game is pure intensity and scary **** It gives you so much tension that you just can't wait to finish the game, but it is so difficult and takes so long, that you are definitely not going to finish this in one day without a walkthrough. It gives you the frightening feeling to just get the hell out of wherever you are end everything. It gives you the hesitation to just look around a corner, open a door, or turn on your lantern in a pitch black room. Continuation in this game is one of the hardest things you'll ever have to do. It's so frightening and uncomfortable, that moving through the game is slow, which makes it even worse. Expand
  70. Oct 27, 2014
    10
    vewy scawy it scawes panties of of me. me **** meself when me paways it, me is scawed of getin dewem of big mouze monistowr chacing me threw place in me homes. me lyke ze game cuse me is scawed in game ze gave me, me is vewy good revivng gamez cuse me ony 4 and me englash is god top ze lane and yu is jally of me englash skalls. tank yu for rading me revieu of vawy god game cuse me vawy godvewy scawy it scawes panties of of me. me **** meself when me paways it, me is scawed of getin dewem of big mouze monistowr chacing me threw place in me homes. me lyke ze game cuse me is scawed in game ze gave me, me is vewy good revivng gamez cuse me ony 4 and me englash is god top ze lane and yu is jally of me englash skalls. tank yu for rading me revieu of vawy god game cuse me vawy god reviving. tank yu agan for laking my vawy god reviu. tank yu vewy mach, ma lave ya vawy mach. godbuy Expand
  71. Sep 26, 2014
    8
    Sin duda alguna, uno de los mejores juegos de terror del año, te hace sentirte como si estuvieras dentro, es asombroso. Se lo recomiendo a todos, (la única forma de que no te guste, es que tengas miedo)
  72. Jan 9, 2015
    9
    This game is brilliant, its scary, hard and you wont want to stop playing. I rate this nine because of the ending was kind of disappointing. There were 3 endings and 2 were ok but the other one was a bit meh. I recommend this game for Penumbra fans. The games atmosphere always make you worried or scared and the chases are terrifying. I really recommend this game to horror game lovers.
  73. Oct 11, 2014
    9
    From the first loading screen to the conclusion of the story, this game is absolutely terrifying. A stressful, and at times a downright unpleasant experience. Which is surely what we want from a survival horror? This is without a doubt the best horror game I've ever played, with a lovely story that has the richness and depth of a novel. I would have liked to have some replay value in it,From the first loading screen to the conclusion of the story, this game is absolutely terrifying. A stressful, and at times a downright unpleasant experience. Which is surely what we want from a survival horror? This is without a doubt the best horror game I've ever played, with a lovely story that has the richness and depth of a novel. I would have liked to have some replay value in it, but, I suppose you can't expect that from an interactive story. That's the only reason this doesn't get a perfect 10. Expand
  74. Oct 13, 2014
    10
    The best horror game ever made without a doubt. This game was not only one of the scariest games ive ever played, but is also a fantastic survival experience. The sounds and music are brilliant and contributed greatly to building the tension and kept me tense throughout the entire game( amnesia even won awards for it's audio and technical excellence at the 2011 independent gamesThe best horror game ever made without a doubt. This game was not only one of the scariest games ive ever played, but is also a fantastic survival experience. The sounds and music are brilliant and contributed greatly to building the tension and kept me tense throughout the entire game( amnesia even won awards for it's audio and technical excellence at the 2011 independent games festival). The atmosphere is as pure as it gets, from the dimly lit hallways to the dark underground cells, every little noise will have you jumping by the end, especially with the game's fantastic attention to detail on many levels. There are also custom stories that can keep the games appeal alive even after it's complete ( some of which are amazing and i would have payed money for). Terrifying, unique and one of the most immersive experiences you'll ever have Amnesia the Dark Descent is a must play for anyone even remotely interested in horror Expand
  75. Dec 17, 2014
    8
    This game... It is one of the only games to ever fill me with a sense of dread, And I LOVED it! Every single second! The ambiance, The sounds and lighting all work together to leave you wanting to stop but you just can't! The ONLY reason I didn't give a 10 is because the game IS rather linear and the graphics are pretty dated but that is to be expected of an indie publisher. BUY IT NOW!
  76. Apr 19, 2017
    8
    I love amnesia one of the best horror games I've played and its the origin of its genre. Good game loved everything except the level design which was a bit repetitive, when it had the potential to have fantastic level design. All in all totally a must play for a horror fan.
  77. Jan 17, 2015
    9
    This is my favorite horror game. The atmosphere is just perfect, with good use of lighting and sound cues. The enemies are genuinely terrifying, and trying to find a hiding place before it finds you really gets the heart racing. The story is well thought out and delivered in a good mix of dialogue, flashbacks and notes. The game allows for user made custom stories, some of which areThis is my favorite horror game. The atmosphere is just perfect, with good use of lighting and sound cues. The enemies are genuinely terrifying, and trying to find a hiding place before it finds you really gets the heart racing. The story is well thought out and delivered in a good mix of dialogue, flashbacks and notes. The game allows for user made custom stories, some of which are brilliant and definitely worth checking out, such as The Attic, and Black Forest Castle.

    The game has a few flaws, hence why I am not giving it a 10. The monster AI is very predictable, and you can learn after a few encounters that they are easy to deal with. After a few minutes of hiding they will "despawn" and be removed from the level. Furthermore a sound cue will play when the monster spawns, and will stop playing when it despawns. This detracts from the feeling of anticipation, as you know there is no monster after you as you traverse the level if the sound is not playing, making the atmospheric sounds seem much more benign. The other flaw is the surplus of resources. There is so much lantern fuel and tinderboxes in the world, you never feel the need to conserve resources, which defeats the purpose of having them in the game.
    Expand
  78. Jan 17, 2015
    8
    "Hey there, so I like to play games that scare me."
    Oh cool, well you've picked the right ga-
    "Like, pants-****ingly scary. I don't want to be able to sleep." Y-yeah, sure. Like I was saying, this game would be perfect for y- "And I also like the odd puzzle or two to complete in the story" Okay, well you're in luck, because this has that t- "While I'm simultaneously ****ing my
    "Hey there, so I like to play games that scare me."
    Oh cool, well you've picked the right ga-

    "Like, pants-****ingly scary. I don't want to be able to sleep."
    Y-yeah, sure. Like I was saying, this game would be perfect for y-

    "And I also like the odd puzzle or two to complete in the story"
    Okay, well you're in luck, because this has that t-

    "While I'm simultaneously ****ing my pants"
    You have issues.

    So yes, Amnesia: The Dark Descent is quite a scary game. The scariest, in fact, that I have come across. You play as Daniel in this Survival Horror game, who wakes up in a castle with no memory of how he got there (bing! title!).

    Unlike horror games such as F.E.A.R, where you can defend yourself against monsters; here, you have no means of fighting back. It's a frightening game of hide-and-seek. And the fear trickles in. It doesn't reveal everything straight away, so the anticipation of running into a monster really eats away at you.

    It's not just your health that you have to keep track of, but your sanity. If you remain in the dark too long, or look at something that doesn't make any rational sense, your sanity starts to deplete. This makes your screen blurry, and your controls less responsive, making for a harder experience. Thankfully, you've got a lantern and can find oil and tinderboxes along the way to keep you in the light.

    The story is actually compelling, the Gothic art-style is perhaps outdated now, but fits the game perfectly. You may quit due to fear and frustration from the few puzzles you come across, but this is definitely worth pushing through to reach the end, where there are some rather confronting torture chambers.
    Expand
  79. May 21, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................................. Expand
  80. Jun 28, 2015
    10
    It fantastic! This how you do a survival horror game! The story is complex, the visual are great, the puzzle are interesting and the levels are well designed!
  81. Nov 9, 2015
    9
    Everything that needs be said about this game has already been said. It is a fantastically frightening experience for those that get immersed in horror games and even after countless imitators, it still stands out as the best example of its particular style. Cracks may begin to show in the mechanics if you play it like a regular game, and it requires a certain commitment of mind and focusEverything that needs be said about this game has already been said. It is a fantastically frightening experience for those that get immersed in horror games and even after countless imitators, it still stands out as the best example of its particular style. Cracks may begin to show in the mechanics if you play it like a regular game, and it requires a certain commitment of mind and focus to have the intended effect, but for those into this kind of thing, it will always be one of the scariest games ever made. Expand
  82. Feb 10, 2016
    9
    Incredible horror game with great mechanics and physics (quite odd). The atmosphere of the dark castle really helps this game, especially late on as you die repeatedly, the monsters begin to become somewhat annoying rather than scary because you've seen their ugly faces over and over again. Plus, the narration is kinda cool, but the protagonist is quite dull at times.
  83. Jun 25, 2016
    9
    We're currently going through an age where the horror genre is dying out as they're getting repetitive, at least for horror games that occupy the Steam market and Steam Greenlight. However, when people thought that there was no hope, Amnesia: The Dark Descent decided to come on in and show everybody how a horror game should be done.

    In Amnesia: The Dark Descent, the main thing that
    We're currently going through an age where the horror genre is dying out as they're getting repetitive, at least for horror games that occupy the Steam market and Steam Greenlight. However, when people thought that there was no hope, Amnesia: The Dark Descent decided to come on in and show everybody how a horror game should be done.

    In Amnesia: The Dark Descent, the main thing that makes it a truly great horror experience is the fact that it makes you defenceless as you have nothing to defend yourself against the horrors that may lie inside the castle. All you have is your trusty oil lantern, which keeps on running out of oil and forces you to find more. Your only way of truly escaping these monsters is to hide from them by using the darkness and the hiding places to your advantage. However, if you spend too long in the darkness, it can affect your sanity, so you can't spend too long in the darkness. This is a great way to experience true horror, making you feel defenceless against the monsters that litter the castle, that are rigorously trying to hunt you down. It's rare you feel this sort of way in horror games nowadays, which is why it's so refreshing to see it being taken into effect in this game. There are also some puzzles that are thrown at the player, none of these puzzles are difficult per say as long as you've been paying attention to the notes and hints that have been left around for you, however some of these puzzles feel a bit tedious and unnecessary to add in.

    The story of Amnesia is that you play as Daniel who has woken in the castle with no recollection of anything at all, you as the player must tread through the castle, picking up notes, piecing back together Daniel's memory, avoiding the enemies around the castle and foiling a maniacal scheme that is set to be carried out. I always like the sort of games that throw this sort of plot at the player because it makes you feel immersed in the role as the main character knows as much as the player does and he learns along with the player. However besides the set up of it, the rest of the plot doesn't feel that special and, I'm not going to reveal spoilers here or anything, but by the time I reached the end of the game, I felt like I had more questions than answers and for the last 20 minutes, due to the story, I felt like I wasn't really playing the game I thought I was going to be playing when I first started it up, if you know what I mean.

    This is an indie development company and I was amazed by the graphics when the game started. They went into lots of detail when designing the game. The lighting work that is done on the windows of the castle is great, the walls look really god and detailed, even the monster look quite good. The only complaint I have is that some of the creatures that scatter across the ground at times look like they were made of an ugly blob, but that's just nit-picking.

    The sound in this game is brilliant. The noises that occupy the castle sound terrifyingly real, especially with headphones, it really helps you immerse yourself in the world that this game is creating.

    I really enjoyed my time with Amnesia: The Dark Descent as it took risks that other horror games dare not take and did it with a terrific pay off

    Pros
    + Terrifying
    + Good gameplay elements
    + Good graphics
    + Great sounds
    + Pretty good story

    Cons
    - Tedious puzzles
    - Got a bit sci-fi near the end
    Expand
  84. May 31, 2016
    9
    A classic horror game that should be in every gamer's library. The game is not only scary but offers an amazing adventurous atmosphere for the player to put themselves in.

    The storyline was extremely immersive and enjoyable to experience and the art and design are simply outstanding. If you like a long and spooky challenge for that friday night with friends, I'd highly recommend this
    A classic horror game that should be in every gamer's library. The game is not only scary but offers an amazing adventurous atmosphere for the player to put themselves in.

    The storyline was extremely immersive and enjoyable to experience and the art and design are simply outstanding. If you like a long and spooky challenge for that friday night with friends, I'd highly recommend this game to you! You're in for a scare that will be remembered for a lifetime!
    Expand
  85. Oct 29, 2016
    9
    A breath of fresh air for the horror genre at the time, Amnesia: The Dark Descent shows the so-called "survival horror" games how it's done. Playing this game legitimately had my breathing pick up, my heart race, and my hands sweat, and I was playing in a fairly lit room. This game does so many things right, from the sound design to the monster encounters to the puzzles and theA breath of fresh air for the horror genre at the time, Amnesia: The Dark Descent shows the so-called "survival horror" games how it's done. Playing this game legitimately had my breathing pick up, my heart race, and my hands sweat, and I was playing in a fairly lit room. This game does so many things right, from the sound design to the monster encounters to the puzzles and the environments.

    The game's central focus is the balance of light and dark. Your player character has nyctophobia, a fear of the dark, and in the darkness your sanity will drain, encouraging you to stay in the light, whether it be by the light coming from windows, lighting a torch with one of your limited tinderboxes for a reprieve in a particularly dark room, or lighting your lantern to help shine your way. However, the darkness is often your friend, despite its detrimental side-effects. The horrifying monsters that lurks the halls of the 19th century castle of Brennenburg will spot you easily in light, but you are able to hide in the darkness, creating a dichotomy between staying hidden in the dark at the cost of sanity, or taking a risk for light in order to keep your mind together. Looking at the monsters will drain your sanity as well, and staring too long will lead to you being spotted, creating further tension as you often cannot keep your eye on the monstrosities to make sure they aren't moving closer, forcing you to rely on sound for most encounters.

    Speaking of, the sound design is impeccable. You can hear every detail in the environment, from the howling wind coming in through a broken window, to a door shutting itself in the distance. When you hear the sickening groan of a monster entering your area, it makes for a very tense situation, forcing you to be careful and juggle light and dark in order to survive. Perhaps you'll try to locate where the monster is and maneuver around it, or maybe you'll pick up a nearby rock and throw it to distract the horrifying creature. Either way, fighting is not an option. If these creatures see you, running is your only recourse, as they are relentless and you are defenseless.

    One thing I would complain about the game, however, is that the monster encounters can be somewhat predictable. They almost always spawn in after an important task has been completed, and it can become somewhat easy to tell when they'll appear based on objectives. This doesn't make the encounters any less harrowing, in most cases, and sometimes you'll be forced into a single room with no way out, praying that the monster just on the other side doesn't decide to investigate the room you are hiding in. Another complaint is that it's very easy to tell when a monster is around and when it leaves, as the musical cues will always tell you. A specific track will play when a monster is in the area, and this track will end when the monster leaves, meaning that you'll always know when you should take things carefully and when you're completely safe. The soundtrack will also change to a screaming and howling track when a monster sees you, meaning that you'll always know what to do at any given time when it comes to monster encounters. This is good game design, sure, but it comes at the cost of some of the atmosphere. The game's horror factor would've been amplified without these cues, forcing the player to rely entirely on environmental cues in order to know when a monster may be lurking about, and to listen out for the groan a monster will make when it spots you to know when to run, though you could easily just turn off the music for this exact effect (though I'm not quite brave enough to try it myself).

    All in all, Amnesia is a master-class of survival horror, bringing new life to a dying genre of games that is filled to the brim with lame jumpscares and scare chords, unable to capture the subtleties and nuances that makes a true survival horror game.
    Expand
  86. Apr 17, 2017
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Amnesia the Dark Descent is an amazing masterpiece of survival horror, there was never a moment when I wasn't scared during a play through. Amnesia has amazing gameplay; you can run or hide. The character's name is Daniel who takes an amnesia potion but is left with a note by his old self to murder Alexander. The monsters in this game patrol for a little while and then despawn, it is easier when you figure this out. The one monster, the Karenk, you can't see but is very terrifying. The game doesn't get easier as you have a sanity meter that will go out if you look at a monster for too long, they will eventually spot you. Expand
  87. Jul 9, 2017
    8
    Amnesia: the dark descent is a good game which surprised me, I've always had a problem with horror games where you just walk around until a jumpscare comes out of nowhere, it's more annoying than scary but thankfully amnesia doesn't really belong in that category for me.

    The story wasn't as complex and thought provoking as "Soma" and it wasn't as interesting and tragic as "Amnesia: a
    Amnesia: the dark descent is a good game which surprised me, I've always had a problem with horror games where you just walk around until a jumpscare comes out of nowhere, it's more annoying than scary but thankfully amnesia doesn't really belong in that category for me.

    The story wasn't as complex and thought provoking as "Soma" and it wasn't as interesting and tragic as "Amnesia: a machine for pigs" but it still manages to keep me entertained until the end...BUT the last quarter of the game dissapointed me, it got a bit too ridiculous and it took me out of the story and the endings were all anti-climatic and dissapointing... but other than that it was intriguing.

    The gameplay wasn't great but it has more interesting ideas unlike some other games (outlast), you have a lantern but you can't use it all the time because otherwise the torch will ran out, but you can't stay in the dark because it increase your insanity level which will make the screen blurry.
    BUT other than that, the gameplay wasn't great, the puzzles were annoying at times but it did save it from being just another walking simulator.

    What made this game made a great horror game was the atmosphere, the audio and the presentation are perfect, it's stressful and I do found this game scary at times.
    I rarely find a game scary but this game genuinely creeped me out and that really surprised me, they weren't any cheap scripted jumpscares most of the time, the ambiance and the themes of torture really unsettled me, it was a feeling a rarely felt in a game and I appreciate that.

    So even if I think it's a flawed and at times overrated, amnesia: the dark descent was an effective horror game, I wish the gameplay and the story gave me more of an impact but the atmosphere and the themes behind the story made this game scary and worth it.
    Expand
  88. Apr 1, 2017
    9
    9.5 - Outstanding survival horror. Awesome puzzles, cool environments and enemies. Inventory and sanity system is also great, and movement and controls are very well done and fitting for the survival-horror genre.
  89. Apr 27, 2017
    10
    Este juego es solo para los mas bravos, la jugabilidad te sumerge en el autentico terror, es como jugar un juego de terror de mundo abierto (excepto que todo pasa dentro de un castillo)
  90. Sep 17, 2017
    9
    One of the best horror experiences ever created. With a dark and deept story you can only understand if you spend your time exploring every area of this game filled with monsters, allucinations, dark fog and an entity that has cursed the castle.
  91. Feb 23, 2018
    8
    8.5 out of 10.
    Amnesia provides even more polished survival horror experience than Penumbra Black Plague. It has very little jumpscares and a lot of atmosphere.
  92. Mar 10, 2018
    8
    I couldn't even finish it. Not because it's bad, no, it was just so anxiety inducing I hid inside a closet at one point and then never had the courage to exit.

    I've watched this game several times, however, and yep, the story is phenomenal. There are very little jumpscares, the atmosphere is what keeps you at the edge of your seat the entire time, even when you know you're technically
    I couldn't even finish it. Not because it's bad, no, it was just so anxiety inducing I hid inside a closet at one point and then never had the courage to exit.

    I've watched this game several times, however, and yep, the story is phenomenal. There are very little jumpscares, the atmosphere is what keeps you at the edge of your seat the entire time, even when you know you're technically safe... or are you?
    Expand
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 44 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 44
  2. Negative: 0 out of 44
  1. Apr 19, 2011
    90
    Amnesia: The Dark Descent is the scariest game in years. You'll get an extremely creepy vibe from the castle and all of the mysterious things that are happening there. The voice overs and the ending of the game aren't great, but this shouldn't bother anyone seeing how you'll be extremely scared when you play this on your own in a dark room.
  2. Jan 31, 2011
    83
    Amnesia offers an experience so rich that we're willing to forgive its weak ending, imperfections of the engine, and low-bugdet production values.
  3. Jan 29, 2011
    90
    At times it's a struggle to play purely because of how scary it can be, and it's not often you can say that about a video game. Just remember: lights off, headphones on, and try not to go insane.