User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 85 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 74 out of 85
  2. Negative: 8 out of 85

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 13, 2012
    10
    Worth every penny and more. One of the few real examples of games being used effectively and meaningfully as an artistic medium. Granted, it is unlike games as they are known in general, but to complain about that seems insane given the competence and power of what is actually delivered here. No game has ever imbued me with a sense of the weight and impact of my actions nearly as well,Worth every penny and more. One of the few real examples of games being used effectively and meaningfully as an artistic medium. Granted, it is unlike games as they are known in general, but to complain about that seems insane given the competence and power of what is actually delivered here. No game has ever imbued me with a sense of the weight and impact of my actions nearly as well, or made me engage with the characters emotionally in nearly as much depth. Expand
  2. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    I recently played all the way through this title for the second time, and I still found myself scribbling notes on little notepads trying to keep the facts together. Analogue is a delightful game that is a joy to play. It has a wonderful story that you piece together in an interesting way. The two characters you actually interact with are very well done. All the supporting characters areI recently played all the way through this title for the second time, and I still found myself scribbling notes on little notepads trying to keep the facts together. Analogue is a delightful game that is a joy to play. It has a wonderful story that you piece together in an interesting way. The two characters you actually interact with are very well done. All the supporting characters are the people you read about in the log files, each one having very real and deep character development. You honestly feel like you know these people, which speaks very well for Christine Love's writing ability. Expand
  3. Mar 25, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. love how analogue assumes intelligence on the part of the reader and I was really impressed with the variety in the game, not just with the subject matter but with the gameplay choices they made. For once, the limited nature of responses of VNs was actually worked into the lore and I really liked how it integrated the main barrier to immersion, the interface into the story. The suspension of belief was effortless. I couldn't find a single plausible reason not to play along with the game's lore that I was communicating with a derelict ship perusing its archives for answers. And the story of the Mughungwha was fascinating too. Some people criticise this game heavily for treading "too much" into feminism but I think considering the setting and the history and traditions of Korean society, its not too exaggerated at all. In fact, I think it was rather apt, speaking as someone familiar with both Koreas. I also liked the ambiguousness of the moral choices and how they were largely thought provoking. I didn't play out all endings but Hyun-ae's final choice where she confesses to you. I really felt as if I couldn't say yes, because her reasons for falling "in love" with me were very naive. I would just be taking advantage of a traumatized inexperienced girl so I just thought, it, I'll say maybe for now and when she's on "my" ship I'll just explain to her why and help her adjust or get her the help she needs (YES, I WAS THAT IMMERSED). Overall, personally love this game. 10/10 would recommend. Expand
  4. Apr 28, 2012
    10
    Ok, whilst a different type of game to the norm, even amongst Visual Novels, this game is great! It's hard to give an overview of the gameplay that sounds right. Put simply, the entire game's focused around accessing emails and learning about the history of a ship. Specifically, what caused all those aboard to die. If you go in expecting MW3 you'll be disappointed, but if you can take aOk, whilst a different type of game to the norm, even amongst Visual Novels, this game is great! It's hard to give an overview of the gameplay that sounds right. Put simply, the entire game's focused around accessing emails and learning about the history of a ship. Specifically, what caused all those aboard to die. If you go in expecting MW3 you'll be disappointed, but if you can take a slow, intriguing tale, with one hell of a moral dilemma if you think about it, I can't recommend Analogue enough Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    It is an amazing gen-ship mystery with good sf, good characterization, good writing & good politics of class, gender & sexuality imho. I can't recommend it enough esp. for science fiction fans or anyone who enjoys a good story. The other two free games of Christine Love are pretty good also,
  6. Aug 14, 2012
    10
    Analogue adds a point again where you can see that you don't need full nudes or extremely harsh situations to have a "good" visual novel.

    There's no doubt telling that the story is deep and it's told in an unconventional way that allows you to read again so you can collect your thoughts and take good actions, it has enough endings to satisfy anyone, even those bad ones and there is an
    Analogue adds a point again where you can see that you don't need full nudes or extremely harsh situations to have a "good" visual novel.

    There's no doubt telling that the story is deep and it's told in an unconventional way that allows you to read again so you can collect your thoughts and take good actions, it has enough endings to satisfy anyone, even those bad ones and there is an epic tension moment in the game that will test your typing and mind skills to the limit.

    Both characters are wonderfully developed, only if you could talk with them using the input text console...

    It's a novel I would gladly recommend to anyone who is willing to share his or her time to enjoy a nice written piece of art, with beautiful graphics and a nice and intuitive interface.
    Expand
  7. Mar 28, 2013
    10
    Great in every sense. I don't even normally like anime or graphic novels, but as a game and a story, Analogue triumphs in so many ways it's difficult to describe.
  8. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Can games be art? Hardly.

    But sometimes you may find a game with good story and gameplay of it is based on... reading this story. These games are often called Visuals Novels where player constantly reads walls of text. It's like reading a book (good one if you're lucky) but with ability to choose (it leads to different and often unexpected endings). This game is harder than many
    Can games be art? Hardly.

    But sometimes you may find a game with good story and gameplay of it is based on... reading this story. These games are often called Visuals Novels where player constantly reads walls of text. It's like reading a book (good one if you're lucky) but with ability to choose (it leads to different and often unexpected endings).

    This game is harder than many other VNs because here you may find many letters (with many words) not just dialogs. And if you are used to playing fast paced games (like shooters or RTS) you will suck. You need patience and cup of tea.

    But after you get accustomed to this style you will find beautifully written texts as well as great plot mixed with atmosphere of middle-age korean stuff. And then you'll love this game I swear.
    Expand
  9. Jul 30, 2013
    9
    This game is a great example of how to do a visual novel. Instead of just forcing the player to read, click, read, click, read, read, go to sleep, the game constantly gives something to do. Sure, those are mostly just about showing something to the two AIs in the game, but it does keep the player entertained.

    The story is fantastic. It's both interesting and unique and it makes you want
    This game is a great example of how to do a visual novel. Instead of just forcing the player to read, click, read, click, read, read, go to sleep, the game constantly gives something to do. Sure, those are mostly just about showing something to the two AIs in the game, but it does keep the player entertained.

    The story is fantastic. It's both interesting and unique and it makes you want to read everything you can. The writing is very good too.

    The only complaint I have about the game are the endings. Majority of the endings feel too similiar to each other. It would have been nice to more differences between each ending.

    If you want to "play" something what isn't about explosions and level ups, I recommend you to try this game.
    Expand
  10. Jan 5, 2014
    9
    While it can be a bit short, it's very well crafted. Engaging story if you've got the patience for it, it's short yet sweet and emotional. The story is told just like any other visual novel lots of clicking on messages etc, but (with the exception of switching between the data blocks when you're within the last message of a block) it's easy to navigate. While at first you will be confusedWhile it can be a bit short, it's very well crafted. Engaging story if you've got the patience for it, it's short yet sweet and emotional. The story is told just like any other visual novel lots of clicking on messages etc, but (with the exception of switching between the data blocks when you're within the last message of a block) it's easy to navigate. While at first you will be confused about what happened, the story unfolds itself and tells an tragic yet horrific tale of abuse and murder.
    Note: while you potentially can allow your children to read it, it can get a bit heavy at times. Best is first to play completely through it yourself, and then decide if you want to have your children play through it. Early teens and older can handle it fine, younger ones... is a personal choice.
    Expand
  11. May 8, 2012
    9
    This is the most I have ever spent on an indie game on Steam, and the least I have ever regret it. Not that this is a game; it's an interactive novel. The story is intriguing, dense and balanced. The characters are nice too. I can remember the last time I have been so deeply submerged in a story. I actually built so much empathy that it blurred my actual opinion on matters of the storyThis is the most I have ever spent on an indie game on Steam, and the least I have ever regret it. Not that this is a game; it's an interactive novel. The story is intriguing, dense and balanced. The characters are nice too. I can remember the last time I have been so deeply submerged in a story. I actually built so much empathy that it blurred my actual opinion on matters of the story (you get asked for it at times). The only shortcoming I can think of is that it never makes you re-evaluate anything, despite the moral ambiguity of the subjects raised.

    All in all, I can't recommend this enough. Just, make sure you play the demo first. This might not be what you expect.
    Expand
  12. May 4, 2012
    9
    The Mugunghwa, one of the finest and most advanced spaceships out there. That was back in the 2000s, at least a thousand years ago. No one knows what happened, at some point it just vanished. It's now been spotted in the orbit of Antares B. You're a freelancer, and your employer wants you to approach it and download any log files you can find.

    Disclamer: I'd like to start saying that this
    The Mugunghwa, one of the finest and most advanced spaceships out there. That was back in the 2000s, at least a thousand years ago. No one knows what happened, at some point it just vanished. It's now been spotted in the orbit of Antares B. You're a freelancer, and your employer wants you to approach it and download any log files you can find.

    Disclamer: I'd like to start saying that this is a visual novel. There's a *LOT* to read. Reading *IS* the gameplay of this kind of game. If you don't like it (especially you, GenuineOpinion) it's unfair (and rude) to pretend to be able to judge it.

    Getting the job done is just a matter of downloading the logs you've been requested to find. This is extremely easy, unless you start to actually READ them. Then it becomes personal.
    You're just a passive observer, since this all happened in the past. You're completely powerless, there's nothing you can do to avoid the terrible and disturbing events that you acknowledge, as this great story unfolds by piecing together the informations you find while investigating diaries, emails, logs and reports. You will hate some characters, and you will love and pity some others. There is no black and white here, no one is purely innocent or completely guilty. When a game manages to get you feel these kind of things, you know you've got a great story in your hands.

    This was a really good game, i want to congratulate with the developer and wish her good luck. If you're reading, i'm waiting for your next game. (also, give us some wallpapers, please :)
    Expand
  13. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    This game has far too low of a score, but it sets out to do something and does it almost perfectly. While the layout may not be perfect, it's quite simply the best interactive fiction I ever played. The world that is explored throughout this game is haunting and mesmerizing, and at times, very disturbing. This game may not be for everybody, as there is very little player input, but that'sThis game has far too low of a score, but it sets out to do something and does it almost perfectly. While the layout may not be perfect, it's quite simply the best interactive fiction I ever played. The world that is explored throughout this game is haunting and mesmerizing, and at times, very disturbing. This game may not be for everybody, as there is very little player input, but that's just Christine Love's style. In fact, I'd hardly call it a "Game" at all, but as a work of fiction, it's simply great. Check out what people have been saying about it on Kotaku, as they have a much more nuanced way of explaining it than I do. Let me just say that the Metacritic Critic Reveiw section is not a good representation of the games actual reception. It is slow paced, yes, but it's superbly written, and if you have the patience to uncover the truth hidden within the game, it's a very rewarding journey, only hampered by the occasional interface limitation, and the unfortunate option to distill all of the players input into binary options. Expand
  14. Jan 15, 2013
    9
    This "game" is great. It's realistically more of a visual novel with a few interactive elements, but still. It's engrossing, interesting, and it has anime waifus as a hook. To those of you developers trying to turn games into a storytelling medium, this is how you do it guys.
  15. Apr 7, 2013
    9
    Anyone who wants to build a Visual Novel could stand to take cues from this game. Its "visual" elements are stylish and flow well for each part of the game you are exploring, building up the mood appropriately, and mood is everything in this story. The "novel" part is actually quite novel, as the game simply hands you a disorganized set of clues, and tells you to figure out the story forAnyone who wants to build a Visual Novel could stand to take cues from this game. Its "visual" elements are stylish and flow well for each part of the game you are exploring, building up the mood appropriately, and mood is everything in this story. The "novel" part is actually quite novel, as the game simply hands you a disorganized set of clues, and tells you to figure out the story for yourself. It's quite engaging, as you start out for the first 15 minutes of the game just scratching your head, trying to keep all these names straight, and not really having a clue what's important at all, but having a nagging feeling that it will all be worth it when you can jam some of those pieces together. When you do, it's a rather haunting story that all crashes down around you at once.

    That said, it's also a game I felt was somewhat short, and left far too many mysteries I rather wish that it were longer, and padded out with more dialogue that let you get a better sense of what life was like on the ship before it all came tumbling down. The story certainly doesn't really leave much room for a sequel, with it's multiple endings and destroyed setting. However, there are several reviews of this game calling it "too long" for reasons I don't quite grasp, so I guess that's a matter of perspective. I would think that anyone really trying to enjoy this little mystery would honestly like to have more mystery to have uncovered, and the "too long" people were basically people who wouldn't have been satisfied by this game at any length, however.

    Ultimately, it seems like the real decider on whether you will like this game or not depends entirely on whether you have a positive or a negative reaction to the words "Visual Novel" as a genre in the first place most people who dislike this game dislike the entire genre, and there's just no way a mystery will satisfy someone who isn't a mystery fan.
    Expand
  16. Jan 24, 2014
    9
    This game may be short, but it packs a lot into that amount of time. I think the most amazing part of Analogue is the fact that I spent the entire game willing to believe that I was in fact dealing with a derelict space ship's computer. Everything from the AI interface all the was back down to the cmd prompt style override terminal seemed authentic - like a viable interface. Even some ofThis game may be short, but it packs a lot into that amount of time. I think the most amazing part of Analogue is the fact that I spent the entire game willing to believe that I was in fact dealing with a derelict space ship's computer. Everything from the AI interface all the was back down to the cmd prompt style override terminal seemed authentic - like a viable interface. Even some of the incongruent behavior of the AI Hyun-ae is explained away, but to go further in would be a spoiler and a disservice to any potential player.

    At first I was just trying to dig for the ship's admin password, but before long I wanted to know what happened to the inhabitants of this doomed colony ship - and I'm excited to learn more about the ship's history in the upcoming Hate Plus.

    This is one of the better visual novels I've explored (and the most interactive) and by far the most immersive. To anyone seeking a good sci-fi or general lost-history mystery, I must fully recommend Analogue: A Hate Story.
    Expand
  17. Oct 8, 2013
    9
    If you are even slightly curious about this game play the free demo! It takes seconds to download on steam and only takes about 10 minutes to play through, so you have no excuse!

    This game is not for everyone, but the demo is a very good "go/ no-go" gauge to determine if you will enjoy the rest of the game. If the demo leaves you even a little curious about the characters you'll love
    If you are even slightly curious about this game play the free demo! It takes seconds to download on steam and only takes about 10 minutes to play through, so you have no excuse!

    This game is not for everyone, but the demo is a very good "go/ no-go" gauge to determine if you will enjoy the rest of the game. If the demo leaves you even a little curious about the characters you'll love the rest of the story.
    Expand
  18. Apr 29, 2012
    8
    This game was totally worth its money. Something i cannot say about a bunch of AAA games out there. You don't have to be a huge fan of visual novel or an otaku to like it. If you're interested in sci-fi, socials or intense storytelling with at last some mature topics, you don't do anything wrong in buying. If you seek something to just play and relax (which is totally ok) you should stepThis game was totally worth its money. Something i cannot say about a bunch of AAA games out there. You don't have to be a huge fan of visual novel or an otaku to like it. If you're interested in sci-fi, socials or intense storytelling with at last some mature topics, you don't do anything wrong in buying. If you seek something to just play and relax (which is totally ok) you should step away from this game. It is a little short but it also feels like "more" would just lenghten it unecessary. I was a little disapointed that it was quite easy. So no much detective work and only two passages where you could use the console somehow free and creative. I would like to have another game like this, maybe slightly longer and with more posibillities to look trough the ship, use the console, maybe hacking, hide things from the ai because you don't thrust them and so on. Hey, seriously who didnt disabled the bulkheads in the reactor sequence because he tought something like "Oh hey maybe there are surviors left or i cannot board the ship if...". Anyway, good game. Collapse
  19. May 14, 2012
    8
    In my opinion this game is a perfect story, told extremely well and engaging until the end: I literally played all of it through the end, unable to stop and wanting to know the next information or page or diary coming up. Honestly, this game's major flaw maybe is that it's not even a Visual Novel, but more of an Interactive Story: there is hardly any picture around the game (except theIn my opinion this game is a perfect story, told extremely well and engaging until the end: I literally played all of it through the end, unable to stop and wanting to know the next information or page or diary coming up. Honestly, this game's major flaw maybe is that it's not even a Visual Novel, but more of an Interactive Story: there is hardly any picture around the game (except the obvious girls talking to you), and you often get to choose one of the two answers she'll give you, and that's it...well it's not very long too: finished it in about 3 hours, but at least you can have fun unlock the endings (only 5: worth the trouble I dare to say). Also, another little flaw I might need to add, is that most of the game is basically reading text and understanding the story thanks to these old emails, letters, diary pages and sometimes talk to the girl in order to unlock more pages so you can understand more of the history behind all. It's just the way this game is, and I can't say it's bad: I'm more keen to say this game is definitely not for everyone, especially those who hate visual novel style and text-based adventures. For everyone else who enjoy little gems of storytelling, this game is simply magnificent. Expand
  20. Jan 20, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Analogue: A Hate Story is an interactive novel where you have to find out why a spaceship filled with colonists is now floating in space devoid of life. (The name is a play on a previous game, Digital: A Love Story.) As you read the various logs, you also discuss them with the ship's two AIs to get the full picture.

    (This is all from the early part of the story to avoid spoilers. If you don't want to see story, skip this paragraph.) The story that unravels revolves around a sick young girl in a culture much like modern Korea who is placed in a stasis pod in hopes that future technology can cure her. She is instead woken up far in the future where culture has actually regressed several centuries, and not only can they not cure her, but they instantly arrange a marriage against her will to gain status for the family.

    This is a very sad story, but powerful and worth reading. It's not for kids, though.

    There's not a ton of gameplay here to judge. The music is pretty nice, and the soundtrack isn't a bad purchase. Ultimately, the value of this game hangs entirely on its story, and if you're not interested in reading it, then this game has nothing for you. If you're okay with delving into the story for a few hours, then you may find a lot to enjoy. It's definitely worth getting on sale if it sounds interesting to you.
    Expand
  21. Apr 28, 2012
    8
    This game is a worthwhile diversion for someone looking for a change of pace. The content can be disturbing in places, and really is only appropriate for mature audiences. Game play consists of brief bouts of command line interface, reading the text, and interactions with the ship's AI. The demo includes 20% of the whole, so you'll certainly know by the end of it whether this game isThis game is a worthwhile diversion for someone looking for a change of pace. The content can be disturbing in places, and really is only appropriate for mature audiences. Game play consists of brief bouts of command line interface, reading the text, and interactions with the ship's AI. The demo includes 20% of the whole, so you'll certainly know by the end of it whether this game is for you.

    I enjoyed this one as both a veteran of old school adventure games and as a student of East Asian literature. It might have been nice to have seen the story branch out some more and to have gotten the perspective of a couple more AI's, but as-is, it is completable in one sitting. There are multiple endings available as well as some extras to be unlocked if you're really looking for an excuse to play through the game more than once. I really felt satisfied playing through it once and leaving it at that.

    Readers of the Tale of Genji will recognize many of the story elements, although the credits described them as based on a period of Korean history I was not familiar with. It's much more so court fiction with sci-fi elements than the other way around. In any case, it's a fresh take on the material presented in a style we don't often experience in the West, but not something that is going to resonate with a wide audience here. Overall, it's an engaging offering for a niche market.
    Expand
  22. Jan 23, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Hey you! Do you want to play a Japanese-style visual novel about dealing with two insane female AIs on a deserted spaceship in the far future, paging through nearly 100 different post-apocalyptic logs coming from a time when the ship's crew decided to hardcore-LARP the most brutally misogynistic period in Korean history? Of course you don't! That's why you're reading this review instead! Analogue: A Hate Story is a game about everything I just described up above. You play as a person from the distant future whose only set attribute is working for a Korean archaeological society, because this game had to firmly establish how Korean it was from the word "go", and I hope you're fine with that because the only way this game could be more Korean is if the text was in Korean (actually available as a setting), the soundtrack was done by PSY (not actually available as a setting), or if it was actually made by Koreans (it's made by Canadians). You arrive at a ship called the Mugunghwa, which, if you hadn't already guessed by now, is completely screwed and has been for a long time. You are greeted by an astonishingly human AI named Hyun-ae, who is, if you hadn't guessed by now (and you will by the time it's revealed at the end of the first hour of gameplay [by which I mean reading, not that I expected anything else, considering the genre]) actually a human personality uploaded into the computer system. It's about this time that the game introduces the OTHER AI, Mute, who is actually the ship's AI, copied by Hyun-ae and repressed for hundreds of years while the ship fell into disrepair because Hyun-ae couldn't run a spaceship to save her life. Gameplay in Analogue is told mainly through pages and pages of letters and diary entries from the time when the ship went insane. Every single reveal is exactly what you think it's going to be, which would make it sound like the game was predictable if it wasn't for the fact that it tries to make each one as gut-wrenching as possible. The TL;DR version of these logs is this: Hyun-ae was a sick girl from forever ago who was put into stasis before the ship's inhabitants decided women, medicine, and modernity were overrated, so when she woke up an indeterminate amount of time later nobody could cure her or even tell there was anything wrong with her. The rest of the logs repeatedly hammer home the point "being a woman in old Korea was the worst thing ever" until the girl turns off life support and copies herself into the computer banks. So now, you have to decide which AI you like so you can decide who to take with you when you inevitably leave the floating metal deathtrap you've strapped your tiny ship to. You communicate with the AIs entirely through binary questions because language parsing is hard and quite beyond the needed parameters of this game, to be honest. On the one hand, you have Hyun-ae, the human being who killed everyone on the station and who falls very readily in love with you if you tell her what she wants to hear, which is never hard to guess, so by all means download her and enjoy your hand as you frantically wank to her image on the screen on the trip back you sad pathetic loner. On the other hand, you have Mute, the true AI, who never dreamed of opposing the brutal regime while it was going and reads like Phyllis Schlafly in a hanbok, who is NOT romanceable (not that you'd want to), who will never ever stop complaining about Hyun-ae. I'm being too harsh with this game. I liked it, really I did, and it's beautifully written: I found myself nearly in tears at times because the game knows exactly how to horrify and sicken you with its still-very-predictable twists, but you really need to go in knowing what to expect. If you don't like visual novels, this game has absolutely no chance of changing your mind, but if you're the kind of person whose only problem with Metroid: Prime was that there weren't enough Space Pirate logs to read, then congratulations, you've got your wish, and it's wrapped in a South Korean flag. Expand
  23. Jul 5, 2012
    8
    I read about this game, debating to myself whether to purchase it or not, so I held off and one day it came on sale, so I read some more and decided to purchase it, I was not dissapointed. This game is essentially an interactive visual novel, where you find out what happened to a missing ship in space with two A.I programs giving you their opinions and more files to read from. ItI read about this game, debating to myself whether to purchase it or not, so I held off and one day it came on sale, so I read some more and decided to purchase it, I was not dissapointed. This game is essentially an interactive visual novel, where you find out what happened to a missing ship in space with two A.I programs giving you their opinions and more files to read from. It unfolded very well in my opinion, and it felt very thought out and highly interesting. The music in the game is very good, although over the time I played it the music did start to grate on my nerves when I heard the same track twice in the same ten minutes while reading the files. The only reason this loses two points with me is the time taken to finish the game, it took me five hours being a fast reader, and when I found out the fate of the ship and got my ending, I felt little motivation to play it again, which is a bit of a problem considering it cost me the same as some of the longer games in my collection while both being on sale for the same price. However, this did not make me regret playing. Overall, I really enjoyed this "Visual Novel", interacting with A.Is and finding out the fate of the ship was very enjoyable, but before buying this you have to ask yourself, "Can I really invest for a game which is purely about the story, nothing more?" which can make it a tough sale. To find out if you would enjoy it, download the demo, if you found the story interesting you cannot go wrong with buying the full game. Expand
  24. Jul 7, 2012
    8
    I really did like this game, although it is kind of short, or maybe it just felt like it. Definitely for the price and that it is an indie game, it is great and worth the money no doubt. The game is slow paced but it is much more about the story and the characters, and this game does it well. The simple interface is deceptive, but it worked well, I can honestly say I hope to see anotherI really did like this game, although it is kind of short, or maybe it just felt like it. Definitely for the price and that it is an indie game, it is great and worth the money no doubt. The game is slow paced but it is much more about the story and the characters, and this game does it well. The simple interface is deceptive, but it worked well, I can honestly say I hope to see another game by Christine Love. Expand
  25. Sep 30, 2012
    8
    I'm no one to play visual novels but the Steam page for it got me interested and I'm glad I bought. I thoroughly enjoyed the story this game had to tell (59,000 words) and the characters were interesting. There is love, drama, some comedy, and plenty of hate; I'm not giving anything away by saying it's called a "Hate Story" for a reason.
    This is a visual novel first and foremost but
    I'm no one to play visual novels but the Steam page for it got me interested and I'm glad I bought. I thoroughly enjoyed the story this game had to tell (59,000 words) and the characters were interesting. There is love, drama, some comedy, and plenty of hate; I'm not giving anything away by saying it's called a "Hate Story" for a reason.
    This is a visual novel first and foremost but there are game play elements. You interact with the game using the mouse and some text parsing and both systems are logical if not intuitive. For the majority of the game you'll be reading through logs (this isn't a spoiler it says right on the intro screen) and the interface is a little annoying. It is not a game breaker but I wish more thought were put into the log reading interface. This being a visual novel, you interact with the Ai character in a binary Yes/No sometimes more elaborate answer interface and it makes sense story wise, I just wish I had more options.
    The first thing most see when they look at the game will be the anime styling but this game does not have the stereotypes associated with anime. The characters are in anime style but there are no pantyshots, no nosebleeds, no comical gentalia, and there is no pervertedness. Also this isn't a dating sim (I thought I just add this in there).
    Overall, I felt this game was excellent. I enjoyed my time spent with it and its characters and would spend more if I had the chance which I would consider a success in my book.
    Expand
  26. Dec 15, 2012
    8
    Obviously, as a Visual Novel, there isn't much to say about game-play, its really just reading, exploring files, and clicking on stuff. But what it lacks in game-play it makes up for in its story, background, and characters. There are points in this story that will shock or disgust you, stress you out, make you cry, laugh...really, the story is pretty great, as are the characters. The artObviously, as a Visual Novel, there isn't much to say about game-play, its really just reading, exploring files, and clicking on stuff. But what it lacks in game-play it makes up for in its story, background, and characters. There are points in this story that will shock or disgust you, stress you out, make you cry, laugh...really, the story is pretty great, as are the characters. The art is done well, as is the writing, there isn't really anything just remotely bad about the game, what you expect from a VN is what you get, and what you get with this is great.
    All in all i'd say that if you want a unique, enjoyable story with sci-fi undertones then this is worth picking up.
    Expand
  27. Dec 25, 2012
    8
    A surprisingly nice visual novel. There is a sh*tload of text to read, be aware if you are not used to visual novels. Anyway, the story is good and the characters are nice. The novel is pretty short (4-5 hours length) but it has different endings. There are also some achievements that will make you play it all. The full price is a bit high, tough. Recommended to all visual novels fans,A surprisingly nice visual novel. There is a sh*tload of text to read, be aware if you are not used to visual novels. Anyway, the story is good and the characters are nice. The novel is pretty short (4-5 hours length) but it has different endings. There are also some achievements that will make you play it all. The full price is a bit high, tough. Recommended to all visual novels fans, maybe while on **** Expand
  28. Aug 25, 2013
    8
    I bought this game on while it was on sale on Steam, as at the time I was just (and still am) getting in to the Visual Novel genre.

    At first I didn't pay much attention while I was playing it, and struggled to understand the computer-console aspect of the game, leaving me stuck very early on, so I forgot about it. So I will warn you, if you are going to play this game, be sure to give
    I bought this game on while it was on sale on Steam, as at the time I was just (and still am) getting in to the Visual Novel genre.

    At first I didn't pay much attention while I was playing it, and struggled to understand the computer-console aspect of the game, leaving me stuck very early on, so I forgot about it. So I will warn you, if you are going to play this game, be sure to give it all of your attention (it will probably earn that attention quickly, anyway). I then picked it up again three days ago while my internet was down, and conveniently, yet unknowingly, three days after the release of the sequel, Hate Plus (which I am yet to play, but am looking forward to).

    The game is enjoyable, and you won't have to be a visual novel enthusiast to enjoy it. While being set centuries in the future, it presents interesting themes of older societies, ones where prejudice was common. There seems to be a lot of emphasis on the roles of women especially. As you play, you will read through various archived files from the time the ship Mugunghwa was still inhabited. You will find yourself meeting two characters with completely contrasting views on this society.

    I'm going to go ahead and give a brief review along with a rating of each aspect of this game.

    Characters: 8.5/10
    While there are only two characters in the game, you won't feel as if you are missing out on more. Having just the two makes sense story wise, and also allows you to get more attached to each character personally. What I particularly likes was the stark differences between the two characters that both do a great job of representing two different kinds of societies.

    Graphics: 9/10
    Taking in to account that this is a visual novel, and not a video game, the graphics are very well done. The characters are well designed, and the game provides you with a very clean and easily navigable interface. Subtle background effects throughout are pleasing to the eye. Nothing is overdone, I particularly enjoyed the graphics.

    Storyline: 7/10
    I have two different views on the storyline. On the one hand, the basis of the story is unique and really well thought out. I definitely enjoyed reading the log files and exploring the detailed history of the Mugunghwa. However, the game felt as if it ended much too abruptly, and the conclusion did not feel particularly satisfying. I understand that there was little to expand on with the ending, but it is still one of the rare things that bugs me about this game.

    Replay Value: 6/10
    Once you've finished the game for the first time, you'll definitely want to go back to complete the multiple different routes and discover all of the log files. After that though, there's nothing that will give you a particular urge to go back and read through it all again in the near future.

    Value for Money: 6.5/10
    The game definitely shouldn't keep you around for days, but the unique storyline makes up for that. £7 is a fair price for an indie game, and it shouldn't put too much stress on your wallet. There are much worse deals out there, that's for sure.

    Overall: 8/10
    Generally, a really enjoyable game with little missing. Far from a masterpiece, with the story writing lacking at times and a little shorter than you would hope for, but overall Christine Love has done a fantastic job with this game and I would definitely recommend picking it up. If you're like me, you'll find yourself craving for the sequel the moment you finish. On to Hate Plus!
    Expand
  29. Jan 3, 2014
    8
    Analogue is an intriguing visual novel with a good story and compelling characters that grow on you as the game progresses. I enjoyed the humor and interaction with the characters, and the soundtrack is gorgeous to listen to. The story is decent and the mechanics, although limited, are fitting and in tone with the atmosphere and environment in which the story is told.
    You take on the role
    Analogue is an intriguing visual novel with a good story and compelling characters that grow on you as the game progresses. I enjoyed the humor and interaction with the characters, and the soundtrack is gorgeous to listen to. The story is decent and the mechanics, although limited, are fitting and in tone with the atmosphere and environment in which the story is told.
    You take on the role of an investigator whose mission is to uncover the truth behind the events that took place on the generation ship Mugungwha using a computer console to access log files and diaries. To aid you in your mission, two characters, *Mute and *Hyun-ae, both with their own personality and view on the story, are at your disposal. As with most visual novels, at least partly, the game involves romance. Analogue is obviously aimed at a male demographic, but I wouldn't say that the game goes out of its way to pamper to the boys.

    Note that this is a *visual novel*, as in, "a visual presentation of a novel", meaning the game's primary way of storytelling is through text (i.e. you'll have to do a lot of reading to get through the game, as is the nature of these kinds of games). How fast you progress depends on your own reading speed. I personally thought the game was reasonably paced, enough so that I spent at least a couple of days playing practically nothing else without it really feeling like a drag.

    All in all I enjoyed my time with Analogue. The game was well worth my money, but if you're the kind who'd rather watch a movie than read the book, then this game isn't for you.
    Expand
  30. Sep 4, 2013
    7
    For what it's worth, this is a very good Visual Novel that has a few problems that arise from being a game. The story is excellent, but definitely on the depressing side. It's wonderfully done and the A.I's that accompany you on the journey were excellently written. The issue arises with the override terminal that's in the game. If you don't have some idea on how to already use a computerFor what it's worth, this is a very good Visual Novel that has a few problems that arise from being a game. The story is excellent, but definitely on the depressing side. It's wonderfully done and the A.I's that accompany you on the journey were excellently written. The issue arises with the override terminal that's in the game. If you don't have some idea on how to already use a computer terminal in this way, you definitely will have issues, like I did, especially in the later stages of the game where you must use the thing in order to advance in the game with a time limit. It's frustrating and annoying and something that definitely didn't need to be there. If this game was more along the lines of it's sequel, Hate Plus, it would have been alot better. But the fact that there's an element to give it more of a game feel ironically makes it a worse game than it should have been. Still a good game and worth the 10 dollars I spent on it. But that terminal did not need to be there at all. Expand
  31. Jan 24, 2013
    7
    This is a very cool little visual novel type game. As a player, you search through a computer database, read e-mails, and learn about the history of a spaceship and the people that used to live on it. There is a lot to read, and the story is quite good, with some exciting twists and turns along the way. I wouldn't rank this as one of my favourite novels, though, and given that it isThis is a very cool little visual novel type game. As a player, you search through a computer database, read e-mails, and learn about the history of a spaceship and the people that used to live on it. There is a lot to read, and the story is quite good, with some exciting twists and turns along the way. I wouldn't rank this as one of my favourite novels, though, and given that it is mostly a novel (in video game clothing), I've come up with a score that reflects this. Expand
  32. Jan 7, 2014
    7
    I don’t usually enjoy these types of games, but I liked this one. It’s sort of like an interactive mystery novel with pictures (be prepared for a lot of reading). The reason I liked it is because the story is, shockingly, pretty interesting. It also introduces enough game elements to prevent it from being nothing more than a pure text adventure and the length is just right.

    You play the
    I don’t usually enjoy these types of games, but I liked this one. It’s sort of like an interactive mystery novel with pictures (be prepared for a lot of reading). The reason I liked it is because the story is, shockingly, pretty interesting. It also introduces enough game elements to prevent it from being nothing more than a pure text adventure and the length is just right.

    You play the part of a salvager who is trying to uncover what happened on a derelict generation ship, which is one of the theorized ways humans might be able to explore the galaxy. The way this story goes is how I think such an attempt would end in real life, too (I’ll stop here before revealing any spoilers).

    There are different levels of depth to be discovered to the story as well as multiple endings. What you uncover depends on what questions you ask and how deep you dig. The game is also timed, in a way, so that after a certain point certain endings become impossible depending on what you’ve done so far. Thankfully, the game’s length is paced excellently so right around the time you are getting tired of reading the text, you’ll find yourself near the end. You’re also able to speed through much of the text on subsequent playthroughs to see different endings, which is nice.

    I liked the music a lot, too. It sets a very appropriate mood throughout the story. I played this with headphones on and I’d recommend that. It greatly increases the immersive feel as this game is best enjoyed with a couple of hours blocked out and no distractions to take you away from it, not unlike reading a book.

    Is it worth $10, though? That’s a tough call and will depend on just how much you like this sort of thing. It will only take you 2-3 hours to get through this and considerably less to view the alternate endings, if you even care about doing that. And once you beat it, there is little reason to play through it again. I bought it during a Steam sale, though, and am content with what I paid for it.

    I will say that the music and writing are above average and the artwork is well done. This is essentially an adventure game that removes all of the pointing & clicking and walking around aimlessly through the same maps. To me, that is a good thing.
    Expand
  33. Apr 27, 2012
    5
    I almost bought this game JUST to give it a bad review on steam. I was playing this game at my friend's house because he was trying to tell me how good it was, so I started playing, and my god. This is soooooo slow. I'm sure there's someone out there that will LOVE this game, but it is definitely not my cup of tea. I give it a 5 because it's good at what it does, it's just not my style.
  34. Aug 26, 2014
    0
    This game is absolutely horrible. I don't know why people like it so much. The visual novels from Japan are way better. Stick to the real deal Japanese games.
  35. Apr 29, 2012
    0
    This game was totally worth its money. Something i cannot say about a bunch of AAA games out there. You don't have to be a huge fan of visual novel or an otaku to like it. If you're interested in sci-fi, socials or intense storytelling with at last some mature topics, you don't do anything wrong in buying. If you seek something to just play and relax (which is totally ok) you should stepThis game was totally worth its money. Something i cannot say about a bunch of AAA games out there. You don't have to be a huge fan of visual novel or an otaku to like it. If you're interested in sci-fi, socials or intense storytelling with at last some mature topics, you don't do anything wrong in buying. If you seek something to just play and relax (which is totally ok) you should step away from this game. It is a little short but it also feels like "more" would just lenghten it unecessary. I was a little disapointed that it was quite easy. So no much detective work and only two passages where you could use the console somehow free and creative. I would like to have another game like this, maybe slightly longer and with more posibillities to look trough the ship, use the console, maybe hacking, hide things from the ai because you don't thrust them and so on. Hey, seriously who didnt disabled the bulkheads in the reactor sequence because he tought something like "Oh hey maybe there are surviors left or i cannot board the ship if...". Anyway, good game. Collapse
Metascore
62

Mixed or average reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. May 14, 2012
    86
    It's no secret that I thoroughly enjoyed Analogue: A Hate Story. The writing is stellar, the music and graphics are stylish, and the interactive gameplay elements are immersive. I also appreciate its unapologetic attitude toward mass appeal, instead opting to please a very specific kind of gamer. Those who want to see a fine example of elevated video game storytelling would do best to check this game out. It may not be a long ride (5-7 hours for a single playthrough), but it is a satisfying one.
  2. Apr 6, 2012
    70
    It's a game that doesn't have the luxury of distracting you with clever mechanics and satisfying challenges to excuse its lack of narrative. It's just you and the story and how exactly you digest it. If you're interested in dystopian sci-fi and intriguing mysteries and like getting angry about patriarchal misogyny, then it's certainly something you could enjoy.
  3. Apr 5, 2012
    40
    An intriguing exercise in interactive fiction, let down by shaky writing and a major lack of emotional engagement. [Apr 2012, p.50]