Anarchy Online PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Anarchy Online Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 38 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Funcom's massively multiplayer science-fiction online role-playing game, referred to as a "sci-fi Everquest" & fraught with bugginess and stability issues upon release, caused some critics to lose sleep over whether to review the game out of the box or after the release of routine patches.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. The communitiy is huge, the forums helpful, and there are no hunts for ennemies around a barren wasteland.
  2. There is nothing wrong with this game universe or the adventure within it, if only we all the had the time to enjoy it properly without the need for work, study or sleep getting in the way!
  3. Provides an important alternative to fantasy MMORPGs, and is designed well enough to warrant a look from anyone interested in the genre.
  4. If you can brave being part of this polish stage in exchange for being part of something that’s new and a little bit of a break from the norm, then give AO a try.
  5. If it can conquer its technical problems, Anarchy Online will be the very best online role-playing game around.
  6. 72
    It's a brilliant, engaging, profound MMORPG, but with enough atrocious technical problems to make you scream more obscenities than a French truck driver.
  7. It features great graphics, a slightly modified version of "EverQuest's" gameplay model, and lots of frustrating problems. True to its theme, you should only consider playing it in the future.

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 12
  2. Negative: 4 out of 12
  1. Jan 29, 2014
    10
    My second favorite game of all time.

    There is no other game out there like AO. Nothing comes close. I'd get into its pros and cons, but
    My second favorite game of all time.

    There is no other game out there like AO. Nothing comes close.

    I'd get into its pros and cons, but suffice it to say that its the most atmospheric and otherworldly gaming experience I've had in an MMO. I still love it after 10 years of play.

    Be warned: It does have a steep learning curve and its not for the impatient. But, on the flip-side it has the most intelligent and mature playerbase of any online game in the world. Trust me on this.

    The best part? Its free to try up to the first 200 levels (out of 220). However, I HIGHLY recommend spending 5 dollars for the shadowlands expansion at least.
    Expand
  2. RachelL.
    Dec 12, 2004
    10
    It's definitely got a bunch of mistakes, but the game has enough patches to fix them. It's graphix are so beautiful that I It's definitely got a bunch of mistakes, but the game has enough patches to fix them. It's graphix are so beautiful that I can't bare to give it a 9 and the content is extroadinary! It'll keep you on your toes all day by whatever interests you may have! Collapse
  3. Jun 25, 2015
    10
    Game has a brand new engine and it just makes this game 1000x better! The community on this game is so mature and kind. I am putting this gameGame has a brand new engine and it just makes this game 1000x better! The community on this game is so mature and kind. I am putting this game in my top 5 favorite of all time. Expand
  4. Trajan
    Jul 5, 2002
    7
    This is a pretty good and addictive game. As of July 2002 the bugs are gone and the game plays smoothly. One remaining problem is the lack of This is a pretty good and addictive game. As of July 2002 the bugs are gone and the game plays smoothly. One remaining problem is the lack of content for higher level characters. But since it takes a month or so of continuous playing (not powergaming!) to reach level 100 (out of 200) you can waste many weeks of your life before you get bored. Plus you can always start a new character with a different race and class and play for another month. Overall the game is worth the cost of admission and will get even better once the storyline begins. Expand
  5. Oct 14, 2011
    6
    I tried it out for a while but it just couldn't hold my interest for that long. It's not a horrible MMO, but it's just not quite as good asI tried it out for a while but it just couldn't hold my interest for that long. It's not a horrible MMO, but it's just not quite as good as some of the other titles out there. The gameplay was just a bit too generic. I haven't tried playing it in years though, so my review is solely based on my experiences when the game was relatively new. Expand
  6. Sep 5, 2016
    4
    Attention: There is a chance Funcom will freeze your account and demand image files of yourself, your credit card, and your ID (passport ifAttention: There is a chance Funcom will freeze your account and demand image files of yourself, your credit card, and your ID (passport if you have nothing else) as the only solution for you to get your account back, even if there is no issue with your credit card and no suspicious activity on the account. If you're not willing to trust Funcom with your identity, they will keep the account frozen forever with no alternate solutions. All your time invested in the free account will be lost. There are several discussion threads about this, on Reddit and elsewhere if you want to look them up.

    Some of you may not realize what a huge deal it is to send that kind of personal information to a third party in a foreign country - a company that recently had their forums hacked and is struggling financially. Don't do it. Sending that kind of information to a third party is illegal (for good reason) in some countries, and even if it's not illegal in yours - your proof of identity is more valuable than any game account, and the fact that Funcom wants it so badly even though they could verify your ID in other ways should give you pause.

    For the record: this happened to me, and others. I've had no issues with my credit card ever, I had a different account that was paid without issues with the SAME credit card as the frozen account, and I didn't share the account with anyone nor was there suspicious activity. The fact that one account (by the same player) gets frozen but the second account, played at the same time and paid with the same card, does not, should tell you all you need to know about Funcom's 'security' system.

    Avoid this game if you don't want to risk losing all the time you invested.
    Expand
  7. Sep 29, 2014
    0
    i cant understand how this game hasnt died yet, realy bad looking, and too grindy. filled with bugs. repetitive missions, boring raids,i cant understand how this game hasnt died yet, realy bad looking, and too grindy. filled with bugs. repetitive missions, boring raids, probably wont get the graphics update Expand

See all 12 User Reviews