User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 19 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 19
  2. Negative: 5 out of 19

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlexQ.
    Oct 6, 2007
    10
    Exquisitely crafted with exceptional beauty and easy flow of Graphics. Although it may be a little hard to follow at first, and the overwhelmingly customizable might shook some people. But it is over all a solid RTS Old-places game.
  2. SamA.
    May 2, 2007
    8
    I found it very enjoyable but some aspecs will anoy everyone except the most avid RTS fan. Not for everyone but it is a fairly solid RTS game.
  3. AaronP.
    May 8, 2007
    10
    This game is awesome. You get to have naval battles and you get to equip your troops with custom weopons. This game is a must buy for rts fans
  4. stum
    May 12, 2007
    3
    This is an extremly poor RTS with a number of huge flaws.
    The most irritating of these is the voice acting which is appaling i personally could not cope with listening to the voices in the cut seen so i skipped every single one. Secondly if you are a fan of ancient history this is not a game for you the flaws in the story line or so astronomical as to make it entirely pathetic it looks
    This is an extremly poor RTS with a number of huge flaws.
    The most irritating of these is the voice acting which is appaling i personally could not cope with listening to the voices in the cut seen so i skipped every single one. Secondly if you are a fan of ancient history this is not a game for you the flaws in the story line or so astronomical as to make it entirely pathetic it looks like someone with the most basic and limited knowledge of the eras invovled took a stab at making up their own storyline. Third the human controlled AI is sometimes so stupid its rediculous walking into walls rather than arround them you sometime have to lead them round to areas bit by bit very annoying to say the least. Other lesser problems include the insane economy everythings so over priced the only way to build an army is by collecting arms not in itself a bad concept but theres little differences between the different sides weapons and theres no bonuses or limitations from using a differents sides weapons to your own troops. Which seems like its lacking. To put the economy in perspective workers harvest gold at a similar rate to those on age of empire games perhaps a little bit faster yet the average decent unit costs 600 gold each and before you can build it you have to build barracks and archery ranges and a forge and a workshop and buy all the upgrades each building costing 1500 gold a 1000 wood and each upgrade costing between 600-1000 gold so as you can imagine it takes time. Aside from these economic problems the campaigns are reasonable but boring you just come away feeling this is a very basic game that got pushed through to try and make money off the back of the 300 any way its not good and anyone who thinks it is chould play c&c3 or supreme commander
    Expand
  5. TristanH.
    Aug 27, 2007
    1
    It Sucks. The graphics is nice, the Requirments to get up the Tech tree are Lame. The Plot could use some work, bigger maps. and better work on the economy, i spent 9/10 of my time Collecting Resources then marching over enemies.
  6. MazLaghos
    Jun 15, 2008
    1
    The game is entirley un-original and all the aspects can be traced back to one game or another.

    I.E The warcraft interface/rescource collection, preatorian design/dawn of war combat/gladiator unit customization. Yeah thats right, the exact interface and options for unit customization were used on a 2001 game called gladiator. Its not an rts, its a "mine gold for three hours untill
    The game is entirley un-original and all the aspects can be traced back to one game or another.

    I.E The warcraft interface/rescource collection, preatorian design/dawn of war combat/gladiator unit customization.

    Yeah thats right, the exact interface and options for unit customization were used on a 2001 game called gladiator.

    Its not an rts, its a "mine gold for three hours untill we have enough to produce twenty decent men, then throw ourselves at the enemy and watch give minutes of combat.

    But the worst thing is - That when i invade an enemy base i fuind my self chasing builders who are trying to rebuild the town centre, or having to destroy every pathetic little building like a granarey in order to win.
    Expand
  7. JoeM.
    Apr 27, 2007
    3
    This game just isn't very fun. It seriously looks like a game you would buy 10 years ago. The graphics are nothing special, and the characters just look weird. The whole feel to the game is just way overused. Theres nothing new added to the RTS genre, it just uses old school ideas.
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 21 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 21
  2. Negative: 5 out of 21
  1. Instead of the kind of solid, varied combat which the RTS genre has been steadily evolving towards over the years, Ancient Wars: Sparta falls back on resource management for its core gameplay. Distressingly, this is a sub-"Age Of Empires" affair which rapidly becomes a chore.
  2. Don't expect any grand, over-the-top treatment of Spartan history, as Sparta: Ancient Wars is a very generic real-time strategy game.
  3. 60
    None of the presentation, unit design, tactical options, or factions were interesting enough to capture my attention and when an RTS junkie like me doesn't want to jump back in for another skirmish, there's definitely a lack of substance, style, or both.