Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures PC

Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures makes it way on to Nintendo consoles.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    85
    As a pseudo NES-era throwback, it nails the careful balance between cruel and inviting. As a tribute to the Nerd, it does a decent job covering his entire career, although repetitive dialog lessens the humorous impact on repeated playthroughs. As an authentic Nerd "experience"... well... your mileage may vary, but I'd like to think it is.
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    Even though AVGNA doesn't add anything new to the platform genre, this game can count on very well crafted gameplay that can and will delight any gamer who doesn't fear real challenges. It is hard, it is not forgiving, but it is also tremendously rewarding. You definitely won't regret buying it if you've grown up during the '80s, just keep in mind it ends, and it ends damn soon. It's up to you to decide if two hours of very good gameplay are worth your 15 bucks.
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    Connoisseurs of "fine humor" and fans of the Angry Nerd need not think twice about spending those 14 Euros. Go get it! It's a surprisingly solid, profanity-filled and feces-fixated chaos of a game. Hard, but fair, you'll find yourself flinging obscenities at the screen on a regular basis.
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    78
    Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures is a solid action/platforming throwback, but it’s held back by the subpar games it lampoons. It plays well and packs a challenge, but the by-the-numbers level design detracts from the fun. I recommend AVGNA for fans of the show and anyone looking for straight-up punishment without much substance.
  5. Sep 25, 2013
    76
    This retro platformer is as short as it ridiculously difficult, as cool as it is wacky. Nice!
  6. Dec 31, 2013
    70
    AVGN Adventures is a great platform, hard to play but funny, designed for the fans of the show and for those who love real challenges in videogames.
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    60
    All in all, Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures is a fun throwback to the NES days, but with more violence and toilet humor. Fans of the Nerd will lap it up, and its intense level of difficulty certainly provides a challenging distraction for a couple of hours, but at its current price point you may want to wait until it inevitably goes on sale.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 24
  2. Negative: 3 out of 24
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers. controls suck but are consistent. you get to play through a myriad of game throwback spoofs. Its exactly what you want to see from the AVGN. This is literally the type of game he reviews as he (you) is sucked into this game and must play his way through it to get out of the game world. I get bad reviews on bad games but this game was designed to be and anger you and that is what it does. Collapse
  2. Jul 31, 2014
    10
    i love this game it fells like an old nes , snes , sega gen
    Game and this game is pretty hard and that is why i love nes , snes , sega gen
    i love this game it fells like an old nes , snes , sega gen
    Game and this game is pretty hard and that is why i love nes , snes , sega gen etc games of that time as they were hard and they would really test youre skill level if you enjoy the AVGN On youtube and if you enjoy nes,snes,sega gen etc games then do youre self a favor and pick this game up its a very good game and i am in love with this game
    100 / 100
    this game is preferct with what it is trying to do and trying to be Its a buy all the game pick it up its a very good game.
    Expand
  3. Sep 24, 2013
    9
    oh my god, this game is so rewarding and hard at the same time and the homage's to the show on youtube is amazing! the difficulty isoh my god, this game is so rewarding and hard at the same time and the homage's to the show on youtube is amazing! the difficulty is castlevainia and mega man combined, and is just plain fan service :D Expand
  4. Nov 22, 2013
    8
    Before I say anything else, I want to say that I am a HUGE AVGN fan. I believe James Rolfe is a genius with his well-informed opinions heBefore I say anything else, I want to say that I am a HUGE AVGN fan. I believe James Rolfe is a genius with his well-informed opinions he shares on his shows: Monster Madness, Board James, James and Mike, etc.

    Anyways, about the game, if you love side-scrolling games and have been playing them for a while, this may a good game for you to pick up. If you're new to the side-scrolling genre, this game may be a little difficult for you as it is relentlessly hard. You have the choice to pick between 8 worlds, so if one level is giving you too much trouble, you can move on to the next one.

    My major complaints about the game are minor, but they need to be mentioned. The number one complaint with the game is the jumping mechanic. Almost every single side-scrolling game I have ever played allows you to move a little farther after you let go of the jump button. With AVGN Adventures, the character stops immediately after you let go of the jump button. If you're used to Super Mario Bros., this will really throw you off and give you a hard time.

    Another complaint with the game is the death screen you have to see every time you die. They are funny to read for the first 5-10 minutes, but get old real quick. You can't even skip past them, you have to wait 10 seconds for each one to pass. I find myself repeatedly pressing the A button to skip past it, even though I know it does nothing.

    Other than those, this game is exceeds my expectations. There's tons of content for any AVGN fan to enjoy. Although this game is incredibly difficult, you'll find yourself smiling throughout each level.
    Expand
  5. Oct 1, 2013
    8
    Hard, fun, it has tons of jokes, and references also it's rewarding. AVGN Adventures is a pretty solid platformer. Sometimes it's frustrating,Hard, fun, it has tons of jokes, and references also it's rewarding. AVGN Adventures is a pretty solid platformer. Sometimes it's frustrating, but it's a fair game. It needs patience and skills. There are unlockable characters, good references to the show, and the level design is pretty much fun!
    Fortunately, there are lots of checkpoints and the player starts with high amount of lifes. Also there are lots of secrets for a good replayablity value too. Old school NES style graphics are nice, and the music is also very good. It runs fluidly, and the controls are also right even playing it with a keyboard.

    Only drawback is the difficulty, it's almost "NES hard", and mainly it's pricetag. Other then that, it's a highly recommended, well crafted platform game!
    Expand
  6. Feb 25, 2015
    8
    I'm not gonna take you back to the past to play some funky games that sucked gas. But one thing is for certain, I'd rather play this game thanI'm not gonna take you back to the past to play some funky games that sucked gas. But one thing is for certain, I'd rather play this game than have a buffalo take a diarrhea dump in my ear. And I'd rather play this game over having to eat the rotten butt-hole of a road-killed skunk and then down it with a beer. Does this game make me the angriest gamer you've ever heard? Well no. Am I an angry Steam nerd? No! Because this is just a great platformer created for the sole purpose of pissing off James Rolfe, better known as the 'Angry Video Game Nerd'. And if you happen to be a big fan of the nerd, like myself, then this game is a must play.

    Taking everything the nerd has complained about over the years, one fan decided to take all of his negativity and transform it into an entertaining and often frustrating platformer. Insulting you with a barrage of disparaging remarks each time you die, I found myself getting just as angry at this game as the nerd does to the games in his videos, which surprisingly made the experience even more enjoyable to me on some sadistic level. Other than that though, there really aren't any negative things for me to say about this game. It's addicting, the controls work perfectly with a controller, the music is great, there's plenty of levels and bosses, it's funny, it's entertaining, it's great. Definitely worth the price and I don't say that often. Rob not included.
    Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2014
    0
    Had to help even out the score with a zero! I probaly would of gave it a 4 but its obvious fans of AVGN have gave the game high scores for noHad to help even out the score with a zero! I probaly would of gave it a 4 but its obvious fans of AVGN have gave the game high scores for no other reason then being AVGN Fanbrats! The game itself is not impressive, there are loads of re-skinned enemies/bosses, cheap deaths and pointless cameo's! AVGN's adventures is your basic run-of-the-mill platform game, the price is unjust (£12)! Just a quick cash grab in my opinion. Expand

See all 24 User Reviews