Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures PC

Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures Image
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 108 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures makes it way on to Nintendo consoles.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 26, 2013
    85
    As a pseudo NES-era throwback, it nails the careful balance between cruel and inviting. As a tribute to the Nerd, it does a decent job covering his entire career, although repetitive dialog lessens the humorous impact on repeated playthroughs. As an authentic Nerd "experience"... well... your mileage may vary, but I'd like to think it is.
  2. Sep 30, 2013
    80
    Even though AVGNA doesn't add anything new to the platform genre, this game can count on very well crafted gameplay that can and will delight any gamer who doesn't fear real challenges. It is hard, it is not forgiving, but it is also tremendously rewarding. You definitely won't regret buying it if you've grown up during the '80s, just keep in mind it ends, and it ends damn soon. It's up to you to decide if two hours of very good gameplay are worth your 15 bucks.
  3. Oct 16, 2013
    80
    Connoisseurs of "fine humor" and fans of the Angry Nerd need not think twice about spending those 14 Euros. Go get it! It's a surprisingly solid, profanity-filled and feces-fixated chaos of a game. Hard, but fair, you'll find yourself flinging obscenities at the screen on a regular basis.
  4. Oct 2, 2013
    78
    Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures is a solid action/platforming throwback, but it’s held back by the subpar games it lampoons. It plays well and packs a challenge, but the by-the-numbers level design detracts from the fun. I recommend AVGNA for fans of the show and anyone looking for straight-up punishment without much substance.
  5. Sep 25, 2013
    76
    This retro platformer is as short as it ridiculously difficult, as cool as it is wacky. Nice!
  6. Dec 31, 2013
    70
    AVGN Adventures is a great platform, hard to play but funny, designed for the fans of the show and for those who love real challenges in videogames.
  7. Sep 24, 2013
    60
    All in all, Angry Video Game Nerd Adventures is a fun throwback to the NES days, but with more violence and toilet humor. Fans of the Nerd will lap it up, and its intense level of difficulty certainly provides a challenging distraction for a couple of hours, but at its current price point you may want to wait until it inevitably goes on sale.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 27
  2. Negative: 3 out of 27
  1. Oct 2, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers. controls suck but are consistent. you get to play through a myriad of game throwback spoofs. Its exactly what you want to see from the AVGN. This is literally the type of game he reviews as he (you) is sucked into this game and must play his way through it to get out of the game world. I get bad reviews on bad games but this game was designed to be and anger you and that is what it does. Collapse
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Quem diria um jogo da geração 8 bits estourar tanto quanto esse. Sou muito fã do Nerd e sempre acompanho ele em seu canal no youtube, por issoQuem diria um jogo da geração 8 bits estourar tanto quanto esse. Sou muito fã do Nerd e sempre acompanho ele em seu canal no youtube, por isso sou suspeito para fazer essa avaliação, mas, contudo, porém, entretanto, defino e avalio este game em apenas uma palavra: NOSTALGIA! Expand
  3. Oct 23, 2013
    9
    The game is cute and everything expected from the author. It is by no mean some super serious game that has meaning to revolutionize anything.The game is cute and everything expected from the author. It is by no mean some super serious game that has meaning to revolutionize anything. What I noticed from the game in my view is that it takes a ton of old game elements that worked and makes them feel interactive and fun again. The humor of course is directly from the act put on by the author. This game is everything it should be and stands for. Expand
  4. Nov 28, 2016
    8
    This game is very fun but very hard to beat i made it to the final boss but i just couldn't beat him.I know people hate this game because itThis game is very fun but very hard to beat i made it to the final boss but i just couldn't beat him.I know people hate this game because it is very hard but that's the whole point of the game its supposed to be hard. Overall this game is good Expand
  5. Jan 9, 2016
    8
    AVGN Adventures is designed for fans of old school 2D NES games and the fans of the show, and it delivers.
    The graphics are great and because
    AVGN Adventures is designed for fans of old school 2D NES games and the fans of the show, and it delivers.
    The graphics are great and because the game is pixelated, it dosent take up alot of space on your PC, and that in turn, makes the game playable even on the slowest of PCs.
    AVGN Adventures captures the humor of the show, has lots of cameos, most witch are from the makers itself.
    The game is challenging and for me, its really hard, but I knew it was going to be hard, so I will accept this.

    With full controller compadability, achievements and the Nerd, it is worth buying, but wait, is there any bad sides to this game? Yes, its not worth replaying. Theres not enought variety for you to replay it.
    Expand
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. If you're a fan of AVGN, you'll love all the references and hidden secrets, and thats what this game shines as, a little AVGN extravaganza. As a game itself....it's merely ok. I found myself rather liking the retro graphics and the music was actually rather good. The controls however are iffy at times, and given how precise the game demands you to be, it can sometimes be more frustrating then it's worth. The levels are also hit or miss. All are visually unique from one another, and while about half of them I would say were well done and extremely fun to play, the other half quickly became a chore and sucked all the fun from the game(case in point, whoever designed the BOO! level should have their hands chopped off in public, it is the laziest, most uninspired and boring level layout I have ever seen, the entire thing was the same long annoying gimmick for the entire trek). However it was never aneurysm inducing enough to make me stop playing(though I did have to knock the difficulty down a peg), and upon completing it I found myself smiling, it was a Nerd experience, for worse, and thankfully, for the better aswell. Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2014
    0
    Had to help even out the score with a zero! I probaly would of gave it a 4 but its obvious fans of AVGN have gave the game high scores for noHad to help even out the score with a zero! I probaly would of gave it a 4 but its obvious fans of AVGN have gave the game high scores for no other reason then being AVGN Fanbrats! The game itself is not impressive, there are loads of re-skinned enemies/bosses, cheap deaths and pointless cameo's! AVGN's adventures is your basic run-of-the-mill platform game, the price is unjust (£12)! Just a quick cash grab in my opinion. Expand

See all 27 User Reviews