• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
83

Generally favorable reviews - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.9

Mixed or average reviews- based on 433 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Developed by Related Designs in collaboration with Blue Byte, Anno 2070 takes place in a near-future environment where climate change has forced humanity to adapt to rising sea levels that have left stretches of once-fertile land completely inhospitable. Players need to master newDeveloped by Related Designs in collaboration with Blue Byte, Anno 2070 takes place in a near-future environment where climate change has forced humanity to adapt to rising sea levels that have left stretches of once-fertile land completely inhospitable. Players need to master new technologies while facing numerous ecological challenges to build their empires. Anno 2070 offers players the ability to be architects of the future and create the world of tomorrow. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Nov 16, 2011
    93
    ANNO 2070 is the perfect game for everyone who loves to tweak an economy and build large scale cities. Especially the endgame is really complex with many things to do. A must have for every ANNO-Player.
  2. Nov 16, 2011
    90
    Quotation forthcoming.
  3. Dec 5, 2011
    90
    The developers have succeeded in creating a game faithful to the tradition and at the same time a game full of new elements and mechanics, that make it feel fresh. All that, plus a great campaign and a variety of multiplayer options make Anno 2070 an excellent game and even some technical issues can't change that.
  4. Dec 16, 2011
    85
    The sci-fi city building of Anno 2070 is a fresh take on a familiar genre. Expect to get hooked, and stay hooked.
  5. 84
    Putting aside minor hindrances, the game is a pleasant revival of the legendary franchise, displaying high replayability, relative to recent games. [February 2012]
  6. 80
    Going green has never been so entertaining, with the only game this Christmas where brain not brawn will save the world.
  7. Nov 21, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 79 out of 143
  2. Negative: 49 out of 143
  1. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Furistic game doesn't mean you will find aliens and uber fantasy weapons. Anno 2070, as the name suggests, is about a near future where youFuristic game doesn't mean you will find aliens and uber fantasy weapons. Anno 2070, as the name suggests, is about a near future where you must know how to manage cities and resources. This game made me spent hours of gameplay and I don't intend to stop playing. The big difference of this game compared to its predecessors is the multiplayer. The community is able to vote on global matters, choose a new president for the council, etc. Gameplay is fantastic, sound is overwhelming and campaign is quite interesting. You will find some minor problems such as voice acting doesn't seem to be good and some small typos in the text. However, I'm pretty sure such things will get fixed on future patches. This is a must buy game if you enjoy city management. Congratulations to Blue Byte! Expand
  2. Mar 17, 2013
    10
    There is no such thing as a perfect game but Anno 2070 comes very close. I have played the previous installment "anno 1404" and am familiarThere is no such thing as a perfect game but Anno 2070 comes very close. I have played the previous installment "anno 1404" and am familiar with 1701. 2070's focus lies not so much in your connection with the population but rather in technology and economic views. You either play as the eco's or global trust (industrials) and have S.A.A.T at your side as a technological faction. You can slo choose to play with a mix of these. Truly, the world is in your hands and prepare to spend days on end perfecting your economy and building the cities of your dreams. There is no "end-game" if you want but you can set victory conditions if you so desire. The replayability is mind boggling and this will get you immersed for years to come! Nothing in my game list is so addictive. Expand
  3. Dec 20, 2011
    9
    I don't usually enjoy games in the simulation category but anno 2070 hooked me, great graphics sound with very approachable and easy to learnI don't usually enjoy games in the simulation category but anno 2070 hooked me, great graphics sound with very approachable and easy to learn mechanics a senate and world council voting system brings a sense of community and bonuses based on player votes the world over and to top it all your "ark" allows enduring bonuses to be carried from one game to another connecting your many empires to each other. Expand
  4. Jan 9, 2012
    7
    Slightly disappointed but overall it's a good game. The graphics are excellent and the gameplay is true to it's predecessor's form. SomewhereSlightly disappointed but overall it's a good game. The graphics are excellent and the gameplay is true to it's predecessor's form. Somewhere along the way they forgot that part of what made the series so successful in the past was the allure of history and meeting the needs of your people. Instead they chose to focus on the industrial/environmental arenas and while that is not too bad of an idea it leaves you feeling a bit detached from any sense of connection with the population in general. Everything seems a bit rushed and hectic with bells going off, indicators flashing, message tabs etc and you feel pressured to constantly advance technology. Still a worthy game if you like city builders entwined with a bit of rts and economic management but it's not as fun as some of the previous installments. Expand
  5. Jan 5, 2012
    5
    Stunning visuals, but I wouldn't reccomend it to people who have played anno 1404, the user interface is very much the same. There are justStunning visuals, but I wouldn't reccomend it to people who have played anno 1404, the user interface is very much the same. There are just way too many different resources to get to make stuff that the people want. I know what your'e gonna say, it's what makes the game difficult and fun to play, but it's just too difficult and has average gameplay. Going under water is a wonderful edition to the game, but all in all, it just doesn't improve the game, not for me anyway. Expand
  6. Jul 10, 2012
    2
    Wasted so many hours in this game hoping to get something in return for my 10$ but received nothing. Everything in this game except graphicsWasted so many hours in this game hoping to get something in return for my 10$ but received nothing. Everything in this game except graphics is terrible. Interface is an unintuitive mess. There is no tutorial. Campaign is buggy and boring. Quests are simplier then in any free MMORPG. I had to repeat two missions because of bugs. Gameplay is repetive, linear and overcomplicated(resources and trade routes!) without a reason. I I do not recommend this game to anyone because there are far better games out there like civilization or total war. Expand
  7. Aug 2, 2014
    0
    I normally don't give bad reviews, but this game was infuriating.

    I'm an avid gamer, but Anno 2070 is an INSULT to gaming. It is so buggy
    I normally don't give bad reviews, but this game was infuriating.

    I'm an avid gamer, but Anno 2070 is an INSULT to gaming. It is so buggy and half-finished that the first campaign doesn't even work properly and the DRM is INCREDIBLY frustrating to deal with.

    Once you manage to work your way past the massive amounts of bugs and get through the DRM, HOURS later you finally figure out that the game has no real tutorial, so you stuck just clicking around randomly.

    Sad, sad, sad, example of a game that could have been great but FTW.
    Expand

See all 143 User Reviews