Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. Mar 13, 2013
    84
    It stays close to its inspirations and risks growing repetitive, but Anodyne’s darkly surreal atmosphere is gripping.
  2. Apr 26, 2013
    80
    Anodyne is a well done Zelda clone with a stunning story. The vintage gaming fan will love it.
  3. Apr 17, 2013
    80
    Anodyne is a game that, despite one very problematic gameplay element, manages to play with a tried and true genre and create something new and exciting.
  4. Apr 7, 2013
    80
    A nice surprise that wants to make the player feel something, no matter what. Except for the platforms, this is a solid proposal RPGs fans should try.
  5. Mar 19, 2013
    80
    A brilliantly designed adventure that translates well-worn mechanics into a package that feels genuinely new and exciting. While an over-reliance on frustrating jumping puzzles keeps it from greatness, it's a remarkable achievement for its tiny team – a freaky, fascinating exploration of the darker side of gamer psychology.
  6. Feb 13, 2013
    80
    This is a game for those who grew up in Hyrule but spent more time in Lordran in recent years. Some finicky platforming also frustrates, but then Link didn’t get an auto-jump until Ocarina Of Time.
  7. Jun 4, 2013
    70
    Anodyne falls between average and perfection, offering a strange, funny, horrifying few hours of old-school action-adventure. [June 2013, p.91]
  8. 70
    Fans of the old school adventure games should definitely enjoy the combination of exploration and puzzles the game offers and Anodyne is a nice throwback to a type of game that you simply can’t find any more.
  9. Feb 13, 2013
    70
    Above all, Anodyne never lets you forget that it's a game more concerned with the journey than with the destination, and at 10 bucks, it's a journey worth taking.
  10. May 3, 2013
    65
    Anodyne’s weaknesses would’ve been greatly justified by a solid narrative. Instead, we’re left with a semi-decent dungeon crawler featuring some rather attractive sprite art and great soundtrack.
  11. 60
    It's one of those games with loads of untapped potential, which is how it ultimately traps itself in the shadow of its big role-model. It manages to create an atmosphere on a comparable level of quality, but lacks in finesse of design. You're only a third of you way through this adventure until you hunger for more skills and weapons, and long exhausting marches regularly get in the way of any real adventuring. Still, Anodyne manages to entertain and displays a level of talent which has you wonder what its creators will be up to next.
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 18
  2. Negative: 7 out of 18
  1. Apr 6, 2013
    4
    I bought this game because people called it "atmospheric". However, I was not captured by it at all-- and I'm the type of person that enjoys these types of games. People need to learn that if you're going to make a game with RPG Maker, you need a good story and music to make it worthwhile. Unfortunately, Anodyne is lacking in both of these areas, at least in my opinion.

    It's not terrible, but it just wasn't good enough to make me play more than an hour.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 15, 2013
    6
    This game is advertised as zelda-esque, atmospheric adventure game. As this game indeed resembles Zelda graphically it's a far cry from an adventure like Zelda. The story itself is one of those 'you don't know why you are here and everything's strange' -types and you have to follow a certain path to advance in it. There's not much room for exploring other than finding the gateway to your next 'dungeon'. These dungeons consist mostly of week enemies, very easy puzzles and a final boss. There are also sort of collectible cards that are required for you to open gates to new areas but besides that do nothing else than provide couple lines of "humour". These "jokes" feel quite ackward in context of rest of the game being "serious". The audio of the game is decent but forgettable. I didn't feel that Anodyne was really a game, it resembles more to "To The Moon" as an interactive story that looks like an old JRPG and should be counted as one when considering a purchase. The price tag of 8€ is a bit steep so I recommend waiting for a sale. Full Review »
  3. Jul 26, 2013
    3
    Just because you can... doesn't mean you should. I really appreciate all the throwbacks to retro gaming that have been coming out lately, but this just didn't do it for me. Maybe it was the awful way I had to use my joysticks as opposed to a d-pad, maybe it was the horrible music, maybe it was the lame story, or the lame combat... or the fact that the game really isn't that puzzling...

    It just didn't take me in. Big let down.
    Full Review »