Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 91 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: 11 Bit's Secret Game is an unannounced title from 11 bit that is scheduled to be announced on February 28th.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 27
  2. Negative: 1 out of 27
  1. May 15, 2013
    90
    Although Anomaly 2 is a sequel there isn't anything else quite like it. The game still feels fresh and its multiplayer is a blast to play. We therefore would recommend the game to everyone.
  2. May 20, 2013
    81
    Anomaly 2 is the perfect sequel for a great game, an exciting proposal in the tower defense genre.
  3. May 15, 2013
    80
    Anomaly: Warzone Earth was a well-designed and entertaining alternative to typical tower defence games, and Anomaly 2 is its bigger, badder sibling. Levels are better designed and more varied, you have more unique units and abilities at your disposal, towers are generally even bigger bastards than they were before, and the dev team’s experience means that the basic mechanics are generally more polished.
  4. May 17, 2013
    80
    Anomaly 2 is the perfect sequel for a great game, since it brings a series of new features, units, enemies and modes. Those who enjoyed the first episode will not be disappointed, definitely.
  5. Jun 25, 2013
    80
    In the same way I've appraised Anomaly: Warzone Earth with score of eight for its unique approach to a tower defense style, I must highlight Anomaly 2 for taking the idea to perfection. Even with its relatively short gameplay, authors' thoroughness and diligence mirror in their impressive game.
  6. May 21, 2013
    75
    While Anomaly 2 will be easy enough for people who have played the original, it can be a challenge to pick-up and play for newbies - especially once you advance onto the later levels where things heat up.
  7. 40
    Here Anomaly 2 is trying to reinvent its own wheel with little tiny incremental upgrades instead of taking the same drastic approach that gained it such praise in the first place. The result isn’t something groundbreaking; the result is a confused and missed opportunity that has more in common with RTS games in every wrong way possible.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 12
  2. Negative: 2 out of 12
  1. May 21, 2013
    10
    What a great game, Its truly different making such a refreshing title, great game play crystal clear graphics and Intense online player.

    What else could you want
    Collapse
  2. Oct 13, 2013
    9
    Actually manages to do what the original did but better in every way. I gave the original a 9 which by rights means this should be a 10, but it's not absolutely perfect. It is however head and shoulders over anything else attempting to do similar things with reverse tower defence. In fact... scratch that, nobody else has even used this method of reverse tower defence before anomaly 1. Expand
  3. May 16, 2013
    9
    This is a wonderful sequel. Not only does the single-player campaign feel more organic and approachable, with a much more involved tutorial segment, but the voice acting and storyline are both vastly improved. The addition of multiplayer is just garnish, although it is fun. Expand
  4. May 15, 2013
    7
    Short answer, is it worth your money? If you like tower defense, yes. If you don't, I'd try the dirt cheap (and very good) mobile version first.

    Long answer, it's the first game, with a pithy little story, hilarious voice acting, gorgeous graphics, and nicely polished gameplay over the first. Each unit actually feels useful, the transformations are genuinely good, the maps are challenging and reward twitch gameplay. The not so good would be that the game can move faster than you can move your character around. More than once I dropped a repair node or decoy to dart back for a powerup, only to have my squad plow into death. the ability to stop your units seems like it would help tremendously. I also just don't feel like it has much replay value. Something needs to be done with regard to multiple game modes and assault types. If you want a tower defense game with huge replay value, defense grid is probably a better choice.

    That said, it was $15 and it entertained me for about as long as an average AAA shooter does these days, so I'd still give it a passing grade.
    Expand
  5. May 29, 2013
    7
    Anomaly 2 is a solid game. It has fantastic graphics, sounds, and the story, for a tower defense (offense) game, is actually relatively interesting. The voice acting is still a bit comical as it was in the original game. Anomaly 2 sought to reinvent their own game with new additions such as morphing units. This effectively makes it easier to manage your units since you have a smaller number to think about, but each unit morphs into a completely different version. This was definitely a big improvement and I enjoyed it. There is also a host of new enemies, each of which i thought was a great addition, and also two of the commander powers from the previous game have been replaced. I also thought that this was a good change. Unfortunately, where Anomaly 2 falls short is that if offers a smaller and overall less engaging singleplayer experience because it tacked on a multiplayer mode. Most Anomaly fans have no interest in playing this game MP and I am one of them. I did try it and I was underwhelmed. There are only 4 maps, 1 gamemode, and a very limited playerbase. I don't expect the MP in this game to last very long at all so if you want to play it, i suggest finding a friend with the game. Overall Anomaly 2 isn't as great as the original game, hopefully 11bit will stick to SP experiences in the future. Expand
  6. Oct 14, 2013
    5
    Pros: The graphics are even nicer than in the original. Morphing adds some interesting tactical variation. Cutscenes and tutorials are less annoying because they're skippable now.

    Cons: Enemies spawn ridiculously close to you. And when they're dead, they respawn even closer. As a consequence the pace is frantic pretty much all the time. When you hear one of your units asking for help and you're not standing next to it, you may savely assume it's dead before you get there. And so you will find yourself restarting at the checkpoint again and again. And that's on normal difficulty. Higher difficulties are not manageable without meta-gaming: You will have to memorize when and where the enemies spawn.
    Expand
  7. Jun 13, 2013
    3
    This game is a failure of genre.

    Anomaly 2 is an attempt to turn the tower-based strategy genre on it's head by putting you in charge of
    the creeps instead of the towers. The problem is, the creeps in Anomaly 2 are idiots who blindly plow into the teeth of the enemy because they don't know any better. In this game, you are the commander of a group of tanks who don't have any breaks. It makes no sense.

    The game is saved by it's multiplayer game which, quite frankly, could become something special if enough people got good at the game. It's very chess-like except faster paced.

    In terms of pros, the graphics are gorgeous and most of the levels are well designed. The ability to change paths is both important and fun encouraging you to flex your strategic thinking skills.

    In terms of cons, the entire premise is absurd. I'm a tank commander I've been trained by people not to blindly press forward just because. Why can't they stop? Why can't they regroup? Why can't they, say, line up side-by-side.

    While the game is faithful to the genre and of good quality in both graphics and programming, the game itself is flawed in it's design. For me, this one was a pass.
    Expand

See all 12 User Reviews