Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. May 2, 2011
    91
    There's not much to say in summary other than "It's a bargain!"
  2. Aug 11, 2011
    90
    Unless you hate strategy games or don't have a rig powerful enough to run this, you should not pass up Anomaly.
  3. Jun 13, 2011
    90
    One of the best indie games you will play this year for sure. Rivals AAA games.
  4. May 2, 2011
    90
    If you're interested in strategy games, I highly recommend you pick this one up and keep your eyes on 11 bit studios in the future!
  5. Apr 11, 2011
    90
    For the price, Anomaly: Warzone Earth offers a fresh and exhilaratingly fun strategy experience that only few titles can match.
  6. Jun 10, 2011
    88
    A fresh, fun idea, beautifully and expertly made. Any game this inventive and clever is worth your £9.
  7. May 11, 2011
    85
    Despite the hazardous save system, Anomaly: Warzone Earth presents a fresh take on the Tower Defense genre. It's satisfying, but leaves a lingering hunger for a sequel - hopefully with a tighter save system and more units.
  8. Apr 19, 2011
    85
    Going on the offensive for a change makes tower defense hybrid Anomaly: Warzone Earth a real blast.
  9. Apr 18, 2011
    85
    The graphics are smooth and exciting, the action is hectic and well-balanced, and the gameplay is truly like nothing else I've ever seen before. And, as I started out saying, this is a budget title. How much gameplay do you need for $10? I think for the money Anomaly: Warzone Earth is a fine bargain.
  10. Apr 8, 2011
    85
    Exciting, clever and ultimately addictive.
  11. Sep 8, 2011
    84
    The simplicity of the design is where the game really shines. [Oct 2011, p.105]
  12. May 18, 2011
    84
    The TD genre needs more like this. [July 2011, p.77]
  13. Oct 19, 2011
    83
    Proves that tower defence is as much fun in reverse. There's slick gameplay, nice visuals and a nice balance of action and strategy on offer here. Silly dialogues and story aside, the only real fault of the game is that it doesn't have that many missions or units. [June 2011]
  14. Jun 1, 2011
    83
    A pretty challenging strategy game. You are on the road to protect your tanks on a path that features many enemy turrets. The graphics and sounds are neat, whilst the gameplay is really entertaining.
  15. Apr 11, 2011
    83
    Then again, strategy games don't require a good narrative to be enjoyable, and for $10 Anomaly is definitely worth your time. Whether you're a tower defense fan looking for something new or someone intimidated by the world of real time strategy, this game has a lot to offer.
  16. Jun 20, 2011
    80
    One of the more challenging and satisfying titles I've played all year. It cleverly side-steps the tower-defense bottle neck by throwing things into reverse, creating a wholly unique tactical-strategy experience.
  17. 80
    Anomaly inverts the genre of tower defense games upside-down and provides an excellent mix of tactical action and operational management. [Issue#204]
  18. 80
    However, all of this comes under the unpretentious cover of a very self-conscious price: 9,99 Euros. And thanks to it, you can't really hold the length against Anomaly, because cost-efficiency didn't get left out. So I can only encourage its purchase if you're into sweet small deals with sweet small prices in sweet small packages.
  19. May 18, 2011
    80
    Despite several irritations, there's a lot of innovation in this title, and a lot of fun to be had with enough varied mission designs to prevent it from getting stale.
  20. Apr 28, 2011
    80
    The game is a gradual reconnaissance into your capabilities as a leader. The smaller battles hone your self-awareness and prepare you for those glorious life-or-death crucibles – there's at least one per stage – where the screen bursts into a Technicolor fog of war, with glowing power-ups layered on top of energy bars on top of exploding missiles.
  21. Apr 13, 2011
    80
    Aside from the mediocre voice acting and shortness of the game I highly recommend Anomaly: Warzone Earth to everyone with a couple of hours to burn. You won't play through this game just once. You'll keep coming back just to make that one change to your route or upgrade to achieve that perfect score. The mayhem mode is a nice way to let us continue to get our fix after completing Tokyo's city story.
  22. Apr 12, 2011
    80
    The new approach to the stale genre ensures a fun single-player experience, even if it is a bit short-lived.
  23. Apr 12, 2011
    80
    These flaws are mere minor annoyances. Anomaly: Warzone Earth gives you a flexibility I've never encountered with tower-defense games, allowing you to determine the strategy you think is best suited for the situation at hand. The game is a lot of fun--and I hope this isn't the last we've seen of Anomaly from 11 bit studios.
  24. Apr 12, 2011
    80
    Anomaly: Warzone Earth is seriously a great value at $10. You will get more time and enjoyment out of this fun and addictive budget title than you will likely have gotten from many full retail priced games.
  25. Apr 11, 2011
    80
    Considering the value for money, Anomaly: Warzone Earth is without doubt one of the best PC strategy games in recent months. The idea of reversing the classical gameplay of tower defense games works great, the single player campaign is fairly long and the levels are quite challenging. Don't miss it.
  26. Apr 10, 2011
    80
    I wish that the developers' creation becomes popular enough so that they can create a more complex sequel without looking at a budget. It could have some sort of a multiplayer mode - the game is lacking an opportunity to have a two player battle: one makes the turrets, the other tries to get through. But aside from that Anomaly is a very well made single player experience.
  27. Apr 8, 2011
    80
    Anomaly's short length doesn't make the time I spent with it any less amusing. The chance to explore this well-executed unusual concept is well worth its $10 price tag. I look forward to seeing what the future holds for this talented studio.
  28. Apr 8, 2011
    80
    A clever twist on tower defense that will rope back in gamers that think they've had enough of the well-worn formula.
  29. Apr 14, 2011
    78
    With a great design, varied missions and a very addictive gameplay, Anomaly: Warzone Earth is revealed as a great action-strategy title.
  30. May 27, 2011
    75
    Anomaly is, above all, a very fresh and interesting game, with fun mechanics. It is a modest game which hasn't attracted much attention, but we are sure it will surprise many.
  31. May 28, 2011
    74
    Did you spend countless hours with tower defense games? Anomaly: Warzone Earth turns the tables and offers tower offense. Presentation, controls and mission design are well done, so it's well worth the money.
  32. Jun 4, 2011
    71
    Proves there's still plenty of room for innovation in a genre once thought spent. [July 2011, p.87]
  33. Jul 19, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  34. May 31, 2011
    70
    It's impossible to take Anomaly: Warzone Earth seriously. It's a distraction for a couple of evenings at best, and I wish it had more emphasis on interesting gameplay modes than superfluous radio chatter. Alas, as soon you move on to skirmish battles, the game quickly loses its sparkle.
  35. May 8, 2011
    70
    If, like us, you're the kind of nerd who gets worked up by good interface design, Anomaly's swiftly accessed tactical map and upgrade overlays may just leave you misting up your monitor or touchscreen. [June 2011, p.103]
  36. Apr 14, 2011
    70
    Complemented with a solid plot and gameplay that finds a steady medium between strategy and action, Anomaly is a clever game that is sure to draw in tower defense fans. It's a very interesting twist and breathes new life into what was quickly becoming a tired genre.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 144 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 4 out of 38
  1. Dec 24, 2011
    1
    So the basic idea here is a reverse tower-defense, which seems interesting enough. The first level is quite slow, which is understandable,So the basic idea here is a reverse tower-defense, which seems interesting enough. The first level is quite slow, which is understandable, you're trying to build interest. That's not the reason for my particular score. The reason there is that shortly before the end of the first level, a random meteor dropped from the sky onto my caravan and destroyed one of my vehicles, instantly failing the mission for me. Let me explain why this was a game-killer for me. It's not because I lost. It's because of the how. Punishing a player for making bad choices is fine. Giving them obstacles to overcome is fine. Several times before this, my vehicles had been hit, damaged, and I was able to repair them and move on. But this was a one-hit death, in a situation where I had no control whatsoever over what had just happened, or any way to avoid it. Just, BAM, you lose the mission. The amount of terrible game design in this is just staggering, and is enough to make me regret spending any money on this game.

    I realize that this sounds harsh, but I don't want to waste my time playing a game where a player's understanding of the game is completely removed from the equation, unless I've come in knowing that's a possibility. This game presents itself as a strategy game, dumb luck shouldn't be required for success.
    Full Review »
  2. mpr
    Jun 21, 2011
    6
    Decent game. Good graphics, original gameplay: but I got bored with it after a couple hours of play. When I purchased it, I was hoping for aDecent game. Good graphics, original gameplay: but I got bored with it after a couple hours of play. When I purchased it, I was hoping for a game as good as Defense Grid, so I was slightly disappointed. Full Review »
  3. May 7, 2011
    9
    What's a 'reversed' tower defence game? Anomaly: Warzone Earth basically is a tower destroy game, and a very addictive one at that too. YouWhat's a 'reversed' tower defence game? Anomaly: Warzone Earth basically is a tower destroy game, and a very addictive one at that too. You plan your route, destroy enemies' structures while keep on upgrading units in order to stay alive and complete the objective.

    The fresh gameplay mechanics and presentations of this game worth way more than it's initial 10$ price tag. Nice SFX and great (but lack variety) soundtracks
    Full Review »