Anomaly: Warzone Earth PC

Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 36 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 36
  2. Negative: 0 out of 36
  1. May 28, 2011
    74
    Did you spend countless hours with tower defense games? Anomaly: Warzone Earth turns the tables and offers tower offense. Presentation, controls and mission design are well done, so it's well worth the money.
  2. Games Master UK
    Jun 4, 2011
    71
    Proves there's still plenty of room for innovation in a genre once thought spent. [July 2011, p.87]
  3. Jul 19, 2011
    70
    Quotation forthcoming.
  4. May 31, 2011
    70
    It's impossible to take Anomaly: Warzone Earth seriously. It's a distraction for a couple of evenings at best, and I wish it had more emphasis on interesting gameplay modes than superfluous radio chatter. Alas, as soon you move on to skirmish battles, the game quickly loses its sparkle.
  5. Edge Magazine
    May 8, 2011
    70
    If, like us, you're the kind of nerd who gets worked up by good interface design, Anomaly's swiftly accessed tactical map and upgrade overlays may just leave you misting up your monitor or touchscreen. [June 2011, p.103]
  6. GamesRadar+
    Apr 14, 2011
    70
    Complemented with a solid plot and gameplay that finds a steady medium between strategy and action, Anomaly is a clever game that is sure to draw in tower defense fans. It's a very interesting twist and breathes new life into what was quickly becoming a tired genre.
User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 166 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 41
  2. Negative: 5 out of 41
  1. Dec 24, 2011
    1
    So the basic idea here is a reverse tower-defense, which seems interesting enough. The first level is quite slow, which is understandable,So the basic idea here is a reverse tower-defense, which seems interesting enough. The first level is quite slow, which is understandable, you're trying to build interest. That's not the reason for my particular score. The reason there is that shortly before the end of the first level, a random meteor dropped from the sky onto my caravan and destroyed one of my vehicles, instantly failing the mission for me. Let me explain why this was a game-killer for me. It's not because I lost. It's because of the how. Punishing a player for making bad choices is fine. Giving them obstacles to overcome is fine. Several times before this, my vehicles had been hit, damaged, and I was able to repair them and move on. But this was a one-hit death, in a situation where I had no control whatsoever over what had just happened, or any way to avoid it. Just, BAM, you lose the mission. The amount of terrible game design in this is just staggering, and is enough to make me regret spending any money on this game.

    I realize that this sounds harsh, but I don't want to waste my time playing a game where a player's understanding of the game is completely removed from the equation, unless I've come in knowing that's a possibility. This game presents itself as a strategy game, dumb luck shouldn't be required for success.
    Full Review »
  2. mpr
    Jun 21, 2011
    6
    Decent game. Good graphics, original gameplay: but I got bored with it after a couple hours of play. When I purchased it, I was hoping for aDecent game. Good graphics, original gameplay: but I got bored with it after a couple hours of play. When I purchased it, I was hoping for a game as good as Defense Grid, so I was slightly disappointed. Full Review »
  3. May 7, 2011
    9
    What's a 'reversed' tower defence game? Anomaly: Warzone Earth basically is a tower destroy game, and a very addictive one at that too. YouWhat's a 'reversed' tower defence game? Anomaly: Warzone Earth basically is a tower destroy game, and a very addictive one at that too. You plan your route, destroy enemies' structures while keep on upgrading units in order to stay alive and complete the objective.

    The fresh gameplay mechanics and presentations of this game worth way more than it's initial 10$ price tag. Nice SFX and great (but lack variety) soundtracks
    Full Review »