• Publisher: Demruth
  • Release Date: Jan 31, 2013
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    95
    Alexander Bruce - Antichamber's creator - went out of his way to give us something more than just another first-person Portal-inspired puzzle game that appeals to critics using it's alleged artistic value. Antichamber is an unusual, fresh, intriguing and great experience. A complex mind game that will find fans among art lovers and regular gamers alike. Give your brains a break from regular shooters and give them something more interesting to process. Give them Antichamber.
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    92
    Antichamber is the film "Cube" sans horror, the threat of death, and poor acting. It's insanely hard and painfully simple, just like any expertly crafted puzzle. Bruce has created one of the finest and most challenging puzzle games I have ever experienced.
  3. In its own way, Antichamber serves as an antithesis to modern day video game design. Just to experience solving a puzzle by thinking outside of the box makes Antichamber a must play for anyone looking to be challenged.
  4. Mar 7, 2013
    90
    Don't play it as a puzzle game. Play it as a way of recalibrating your perception of reality. [March 2013, p.96]
  5. Feb 12, 2013
    90
    Antichamber requires you to realign your thinking, and there’s little that’s more satisfying than breaking through the mental barrier you’ve erected for yourself to discover a solution.
  6. Feb 11, 2013
    90
    The feeling of accomplishment in this game is one of the most gratifying I’ve ever felt, and the few hours I spent inside Antichamber’s world felt like interacting with someone’s bizarro art exhibit.
  7. Feb 11, 2013
    90
    Challenging, smart, entertaining, extremely immersive, never boring, Antichamber is a stunningly beautiful puzzle game and another deep, original indie title, with a lot of character. If you love the genre, you cannot miss it.
  8. Feb 8, 2013
    90
    This is a rare gem among modern-day games. It proves that even the simplest concept can be pushed beyond the limits few people dare to explore. It’s a valiant experiment and one that has brought some truly satisfying results.
  9. 90
    If you open your eyes, ears and brain for Antichamber, Alexander Bruce' mufti-dimensional labyrinth is a sublime experience without compare.
  10. Feb 6, 2013
    90
    Playing Antichamber is like entering in a museum of contemporary art: you have to leave every assumption outside if you want to understand what is inside.
  11. Feb 4, 2013
    90
    Antichamber may very well be one of the best puzzle games in a long, long time. Artistically, in terms of game design, and atmosphere, the purity of the logic and the humbling approach to teaching you to trust your brain, almost everything in it is a bliss.
  12. Feb 4, 2013
    90
    Antichamber is a giant, brilliant, stripped-down shot of pure mental exercise, delivered with a stark but colorful style and wrapped in an accessible FPS shell.
  13. Feb 2, 2013
    90
    Alexander Bruce's biggest achievement with Antichamber is that he created a game that's brilliant and inviting, something that can rarely be said for a game made entirely of difficult puzzles where what you see isn't always what you get and where the room you're standing in can change at any moment.
  14. Jan 31, 2013
    90
    Even Antichamber's most punishing designs can't bring you down if you've got a sense of good humor, which its dramatic, shifting world instills in you at every turn.
  15. Jan 31, 2013
    90
    Gamers would be hard pressed to find a more unique, engaging puzzle game.
  16. Feb 14, 2013
    88
    Antichamber is so much more than a first-person puzzle game. It’s indie development at its best. It’s simple in premise but it makes you question everything you know. It tells its entire story and expresses its entire theme through gameplay and gameplay alone. This is art—admittedly abstract art, but art nonetheless.
  17. Feb 12, 2013
    87
    While the more obvious gating puzzles aren’t as charming, Antichamber still manages to craft its conclusion to a crescendo, with the swelling geometry taking on a personality, successfully building a narrative despite a lack of story.
  18. Feb 9, 2013
    87
    Antichamber reminds me, why I love games: Because they can still surprise me. This surreal labyrinth doesn’t bend to convention, it questions it with every move. The puzzles ooze creativity and variety.
  19. Feb 6, 2013
    87
    A new experience in puzzle games that will keep us playing for a long while. There's a whole new way of solving enigmas while we learn some things about real life thanks to the philosophical clues the game gives us.
  20. Jan 31, 2013
    86
    Antichamber has some of the more clever puzzles of any game I've played. It doesn't have much in the way of personality, and its bizarre ending left me wondering why it was included at all, but it makes the act of exploration utterly thrilling.
  21. Apr 5, 2013
    85
    I just finished Antichamber. I feel satisfaction I haven’t experienced after completing any game in many years and for the first time in ages I learned something about myself while playing. It’s hard for me to expect anything more from a game. [CD-Action 04/2013, p.82]
  22. Feb 26, 2013
    85
    It's not fair to say that Antichamber is a Portal clone, but it's safe to say that it is indeed one of the finest puzzle games we've seen since Valve's masterpiece.
  23. Feb 22, 2013
    85
    If you like a good puzzle or just want to try something new, Antichamber will stretch your mind and twist your perception, and it’s definitely worth checking out.
  24. Feb 20, 2013
    85
    Antichamber is a wonderful puzzle game set in a psychedelic labyrinth made ​​of colors and geometrical shapes, a mental trip with clear references to famous works of MC Esher.
  25. Feb 12, 2013
    85
    Antichamber will turn your brain inside out and then ask you to reach inside your own head and turn it back the right way. It’s quite unlike anything else I’ve ever played, and it simultaneously made me feel like an idiot and a genius. It’s daring, confident, original and enjoyable, not to mention ridiculously smart. Just make sure you’ve got some paracetamol handy before you start playing.
  26. Feb 1, 2013
    85
    Whoever wants to try something new in 2013: Antichamber has got you covered. The psychological journey developer Alexander Bruce takes you on makes you forget everything you know about videogames, and everything about the world around you. There is a chance that your brain isn’t ready for this type of psychological violence, but whoever dares to surrender themselves to Antichamber won’t be disappointed.
  27. Jan 31, 2013
    85
    Antichamber looks great, is confusing in all the right ways, and may change the way people approach not only videogame puzzles, but real life obstacles as well.
  28. Jan 31, 2013
    85
    Antichamber bends the rules of space and time with challenging puzzles and a fantastic sense of atmosphere.
  29. Feb 11, 2013
    84
    Quotation forthcoming.
  30. Feb 11, 2013
    83
    Antichamber impressed me from start to finish with the variety and complexity of its puzzles. I never felt like I had to repeat the same tasks over and over, and my mind was always being engaged.
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 467 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 87 out of 108
  2. Negative: 11 out of 108
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    2
    I'm not as charmed with this game as others have been. The basics are you move from one room to the next solving puzzles in a minimalistic 1st person world. There's no goal other than connecting the different rooms and seeing all the hint messages along the way. After "beating" an area you'll find yourself either in a new room or right back where you started. After failing a room, the same thing will happen, making it unclear when you should feel like you've accomplished anything. Sometimes the reward is a dead end. Or maybe it's not. Who knows? The controls and physics within the game often lead you to wonder if you passed an area the way you were supposed to or if you stumbled on some exploit they didn't consider or correct. This also robs you of your sense of accomplishment. Most of the puzzles don't take thought or planning, rather experimentation. You just do things until something works and move forward. Sometimes you'll reapply what you stumbled on previously, but most of the puzzles are just mindless poking around. As soon as you understand, the game will move on and introduce something else that will be equally confusing on first inspection. These cheap tricks are what passes for difficulty. The mind-bending stuff is hardly ground breaking. I mean, the original zelda and super mario had repeating mazes. You're not going to mouth the word "wow" unless you're easily impressed and have already prepped by others who swear this is a mind-blowing work of art. I can assure you it's not. The end game plays like an empty/texture-less Doom level. You just stroll along an ill-defined catwalk for 5 minutes and watch an end sequence that nowadays could have been animated by a 10 year old. It is an addicting game. I'll give that. I didn't put it down until I beat it but the same could be said for most browser games. Was it fun? Not really. I feel like most that recommend do so because they think it validates their intelligence and because calling games where nothing happens "art" is in fashion. It feels like someone entirely foreign to video games had a cool idea but lacked basic video game theory to make it rewarding or enjoyable. Everything in the game is smeared with vagueness to cover its shortcomings. It sounds like a bunch of reverse-engineered cop-outs when I hear the game designer explain what's going on. I would recommend if it were a free browser game (because all they need is the addiction part) but as it's not, I cannot. Sorry guys. Full Review »
  2. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    One of the best puzzle games ever made. In most video games they give you a few options but most of them don't lead anywhere. When the hero is asked "Do you want to save the princess?" It might give you a Yes or No choice but really no matter what you pick, you have to go save the princess. Not in Antichamber. Every decision you make leads somewhere. Turned left instead of right at an intersection? The game will happily let you continue down this path for 20 minutes throwing puzzles at you as you go just to find yourself trapped in a room with no way out. Probably because you missed some really important clue or ignored all the really subtle warnings that you were going the wrong way. This game might just be the most scary games ever made. Its not a fear of something popping out at you and eating your face like most horror games, its a fear of the unknown. Its the same fear you might get before giving a big speech in front of a large audience. What if I make a mistake? What if I forget what I was going to say? What if the audience does not like what I'm about to say? Only now its what if I go down this hallway instead of the other one? What if I close this door behind me and I get trapped? What if this next room has a hidden trap door and I fall into a completely new level? What if I did not find all the items I needed to from the area I can no longer access?
    You can always teleport out by pressing the escape key and start again, but you don't want to. You never want to admit the game beat you or that you fell for such an obvious trap. The game does such an amazing job setting the mood and pulling you in that it almost feels like your trapped for real.
    Overall its one of the best games I have ever played.
    Full Review »
  3. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    I thought after the Portal era, that the first person puzzle genre would be left unexplored for many years to come. I thought I was smart. I thought that they didn't make games hard anymore. Antichamber has gently relieved me of these delusions. I've been playing for hours and I don't even think I'm past the first level yet. It seems so abstract, but after grinding away you eventually find the clues cleverly woven into walls, or skillfully hidden in the cryptic language of the signs located throughout. There is no one solution, no single correct way to proceed. You must try and remember everything, and once you devise a possible solution it will no doubt take technical execution.

    I highly recommend this game, but come prepared. I didn't think a game could mentally toy with me like this one has, or be capable of downright stumping me in a manner that ridicules my intelligence. It's challenging and frustrating, but at the same time lots of fun. Games have veered away from the model presented in Antichamber, which is why I believe I like it so much.
    Full Review »