Antichamber PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Antichamber Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 542 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Antichamber is a game about discovery, set inside a vibrant, minimal, Escher-like world, where geometry and space follow unfamiliar rules, and obstacles are a matter of perception.

    Journey through the depths of a non-Euclidean labyrinth, as you create, destroy and manipulate matter, and
    Antichamber is a game about discovery, set inside a vibrant, minimal, Escher-like world, where geometry and space follow unfamiliar rules, and obstacles are a matter of perception.

    Journey through the depths of a non-Euclidean labyrinth, as you create, destroy and manipulate matter, and uncover new ways to overcome your surroundings in this mind-bending psychological exploration game.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    95
    Alexander Bruce - Antichamber's creator - went out of his way to give us something more than just another first-person Portal-inspired puzzle game that appeals to critics using it's alleged artistic value. Antichamber is an unusual, fresh, intriguing and great experience. A complex mind game that will find fans among art lovers and regular gamers alike. Give your brains a break from regular shooters and give them something more interesting to process. Give them Antichamber.
  2. Feb 2, 2013
    90
    Alexander Bruce's biggest achievement with Antichamber is that he created a game that's brilliant and inviting, something that can rarely be said for a game made entirely of difficult puzzles where what you see isn't always what you get and where the room you're standing in can change at any moment.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    90
    Challenging, smart, entertaining, extremely immersive, never boring, Antichamber is a stunningly beautiful puzzle game and another deep, original indie title, with a lot of character. If you love the genre, you cannot miss it.
  4. Feb 1, 2013
    85
    Whoever wants to try something new in 2013: Antichamber has got you covered. The psychological journey developer Alexander Bruce takes you on makes you forget everything you know about videogames, and everything about the world around you. There is a chance that your brain isn’t ready for this type of psychological violence, but whoever dares to surrender themselves to Antichamber won’t be disappointed.
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    82
    Antechamber is an original and brilliant puzzle game. A title that constantly surprises you with amazing intellectual challenges in a psychedelic world.
  6. Feb 17, 2013
    80
    While it may occasionally frustrate, Antichamber is a wonderful experience. There are vague hints of a plot, but it's a plot about self-discovery and making progress, about learning how to overcome challenges and find your way through life's confusions.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    55
    Antichamber is an intriguing little experiment. It is both a humble imitation and an attempt to avoid all the trappings and clichés of the genre. Alas, it fails to excite. Unlike Echochrome and Braid, where we bending realities to our will, in this game its creators simply tease us whenever they feel like it.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 115
  2. Negative: 12 out of 115
  1. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    Antichamber is easily the best and most memorable 8-10 hours of gaming I've had in a very, very long time. Incredibly satisfying puzzles,Antichamber is easily the best and most memorable 8-10 hours of gaming I've had in a very, very long time. Incredibly satisfying puzzles, crisp and stark visuals, and some truly innovative game mechanics. It's an abstract and challenging title that demands a bit of lateral thinking and patience, so I wouldn't necessarily recommend it to everyone. However, if you're after a refreshing challenge, and you enjoyed the likes of Portal and Braid, then Antichamber is an absolute must buy. Fantastic to play a game that feels genuinely new! Expand
  2. Sep 13, 2013
    10
    As the game's name very well suggests, Antichamber is a game that sets out to do the unorthodox. The entire premise of the game focuses on twoAs the game's name very well suggests, Antichamber is a game that sets out to do the unorthodox. The entire premise of the game focuses on two aspects: exploring a series of rooms and halls featuring impossible geometry, such as a box that's longer on the inside than on the inside, along with a 'gun' that manipulates small cubes in order to solve puzzles. Antichamber makes a point to have players think outside the box with both how one travels from point A to point B, as well as how one approaches a puzzle logically. This is accompanied by a slew of fun little philosophical tidbits that also connect, to some extent, to real life.

    There are many reasons to love Antichamber. Perhaps most blissful is the unusual aspect of enjoying getting lost in the game's strange layout (and lost you will get), supported by the game's also unusual graphics consisting of thickly outlined simple mesh polygons that are mostly white with splashes of highly saturated colors. Gone are textures, and shadows are lighting are very minimal. Even stranger is the fact that all of this is set to a variety of nature based ambiance rather than any sort of musical score, making the experience all that much more relaxing even in the face of a dead end, a perplexing puzzle, or realizing that you are going in circles.

    The puzzles put forth in Antichamber are also a delight, teasing those with preemptive puzzle game solving knowledge and providing a new outlook on the genre for the new and veteran alike. Puzzles are mostly in the form of performing various actions involving small colored cubes, the cube colors correlating to what gun power is required to solve the puzzle. Actions boil down to essentially just moving the cubes, but this can range from sucking up cubes and then placing them to block motion sensing laser paths, to moving a trail of cubes that pull along any trail of cubes adjacent, and more.

    Many people might compare Antichamber to Portal, and there are certainly some similarities. However, where Portal is a linear puzzle solver accompanied by dark humorous banter by the antagonist, Antichamber is more of an open ended journey into expanding one's perspective. To this end Antichamber has very little in terms of narrative (just a minute amount towards the end), but this helps free the game to its open-endedness and surrealistic experiences. Antichamber does what it sets out to do sublimely, but unfortunately it's mission is a tad niche and simply will not be for everyone. Even some avid puzzle enthusiasts might have some trouble sinking into Antichamber if they are not charmed by it's unconventional artistry, and those seeking simply to explore a virtual gallery of geometric (and philosophical) musings might find the puzzle aspects to be too frustrating.

    All in all Antichamber is a crowning achievement for avant-garde game design, and a wonderful journey for those with an open curious mind. Highly recommended for those seeking something challenging and soothing with an unusual design perspective, but probably not for classic action gamers or those who want clear cut objectives in their games.

    10/10 despite lacking a bit in terms of optimization and far from being universally appealing, this game's artistic achievement is one the best I've experienced.
    Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    One of the best puzzle games ever made. In most video games they give you a few options but most of them don't lead anywhere. When the hero isOne of the best puzzle games ever made. In most video games they give you a few options but most of them don't lead anywhere. When the hero is asked "Do you want to save the princess?" It might give you a Yes or No choice but really no matter what you pick, you have to go save the princess. Not in Antichamber. Every decision you make leads somewhere. Turned left instead of right at an intersection? The game will happily let you continue down this path for 20 minutes throwing puzzles at you as you go just to find yourself trapped in a room with no way out. Probably because you missed some really important clue or ignored all the really subtle warnings that you were going the wrong way. This game might just be the most scary games ever made. Its not a fear of something popping out at you and eating your face like most horror games, its a fear of the unknown. Its the same fear you might get before giving a big speech in front of a large audience. What if I make a mistake? What if I forget what I was going to say? What if the audience does not like what I'm about to say? Only now its what if I go down this hallway instead of the other one? What if I close this door behind me and I get trapped? What if this next room has a hidden trap door and I fall into a completely new level? What if I did not find all the items I needed to from the area I can no longer access?
    You can always teleport out by pressing the escape key and start again, but you don't want to. You never want to admit the game beat you or that you fell for such an obvious trap. The game does such an amazing job setting the mood and pulling you in that it almost feels like your trapped for real.
    Overall its one of the best games I have ever played.
    Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    A very interesting game, and done with style. Great puzzles, a really fresh concept. I'm still not giving it a 10 because I somewhat got boredA very interesting game, and done with style. Great puzzles, a really fresh concept. I'm still not giving it a 10 because I somewhat got bored with the writings in the black squares. They seem witty at first, but after a while they look like they pretend to be philosophic or deep but in fact are just banalities dragged in to fit the mechanics of the solved puzzle. I hope that if the developer decides to make a sequel or an update, he/she would maybe add some kind of story to the game so that the puzzles were connected more meaningfully to each other and didn't look just like a mechanical assembly. But anyway, very talented game design. Expand
  5. Feb 4, 2013
    8
    As a "all-around" gamer, (RTS, RPG, FPS, casual, indie, etc.), i felt this game brought something new to the table set for 2013. Sure, itsAs a "all-around" gamer, (RTS, RPG, FPS, casual, indie, etc.), i felt this game brought something new to the table set for 2013. Sure, its very similar play style to Portal, without the witty conversations and perhaps even characters, but this game is meant for exploration, rather than the story. (if there even is one). Sure it is lacking in the replayability, unless you and some friends just play again for a race to the actual finish, but it makes up for it in its original content, and graphics. Just another thing, why are all the games starting to gain this "high-psychedelic" look? Just wondering, because it does the game wonders, and yes a little on your eyes after a few fours of gameplay. Collapse
  6. c3p
    Jan 10, 2014
    7
    While i like the idea, the learning curve is too steep in my opinion. Often i wander around aimless searching for "correct" way to proceed theWhile i like the idea, the learning curve is too steep in my opinion. Often i wander around aimless searching for "correct" way to proceed the game. I also would love a "dark mode" with differently coloured walls. Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    This game is unfinished. You are limited to only using the A, W, S, D keys and the spacebar. You are not allowed to configure your keys. TheThis game is unfinished. You are limited to only using the A, W, S, D keys and the spacebar. You are not allowed to configure your keys. The creator of this game and all of you whom approve this kind of half-az work to be released are asking for the world of pain. What you've shown is it's perfectly okay for people to release games that are not finished. Well Done. Expand

See all 115 User Reviews

Trailers