Antichamber PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Antichamber Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 533 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Antichamber is a game about discovery, set inside a vibrant, minimal, Escher-like world, where geometry and space follow unfamiliar rules, and obstacles are a matter of perception.

    Journey through the depths of a non-Euclidean labyrinth, as you create, destroy and manipulate matter, and
    Antichamber is a game about discovery, set inside a vibrant, minimal, Escher-like world, where geometry and space follow unfamiliar rules, and obstacles are a matter of perception.

    Journey through the depths of a non-Euclidean labyrinth, as you create, destroy and manipulate matter, and uncover new ways to overcome your surroundings in this mind-bending psychological exploration game.
    Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    95
    Alexander Bruce - Antichamber's creator - went out of his way to give us something more than just another first-person Portal-inspired puzzle game that appeals to critics using it's alleged artistic value. Antichamber is an unusual, fresh, intriguing and great experience. A complex mind game that will find fans among art lovers and regular gamers alike. Give your brains a break from regular shooters and give them something more interesting to process. Give them Antichamber.
  2. Feb 2, 2013
    90
    Alexander Bruce's biggest achievement with Antichamber is that he created a game that's brilliant and inviting, something that can rarely be said for a game made entirely of difficult puzzles where what you see isn't always what you get and where the room you're standing in can change at any moment.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    90
    Challenging, smart, entertaining, extremely immersive, never boring, Antichamber is a stunningly beautiful puzzle game and another deep, original indie title, with a lot of character. If you love the genre, you cannot miss it.
  4. Feb 1, 2013
    85
    Whoever wants to try something new in 2013: Antichamber has got you covered. The psychological journey developer Alexander Bruce takes you on makes you forget everything you know about videogames, and everything about the world around you. There is a chance that your brain isn’t ready for this type of psychological violence, but whoever dares to surrender themselves to Antichamber won’t be disappointed.
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    82
    Antechamber is an original and brilliant puzzle game. A title that constantly surprises you with amazing intellectual challenges in a psychedelic world.
  6. Feb 17, 2013
    80
    While it may occasionally frustrate, Antichamber is a wonderful experience. There are vague hints of a plot, but it's a plot about self-discovery and making progress, about learning how to overcome challenges and find your way through life's confusions.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    55
    Antichamber is an intriguing little experiment. It is both a humble imitation and an attempt to avoid all the trappings and clichés of the genre. Alas, it fails to excite. Unlike Echochrome and Braid, where we bending realities to our will, in this game its creators simply tease us whenever they feel like it.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 82 out of 114
  2. Negative: 12 out of 114
  1. Jun 11, 2014
    10
    This game doesn't rely on excellent graphics or innovative story, but instead brings 8 hours of pure fun. You get the best experience, whenThis game doesn't rely on excellent graphics or innovative story, but instead brings 8 hours of pure fun. You get the best experience, when you jump into the game with no expectations on what the game has to offer. In return, you get rewarded with clever puzzles with satisfying solutions, constant mind-benders and -twisters, and generally an adventure you will never quite forget. The puzzles are one of the most satisfying in the world, and finding all the secrets can sure be a thing to brag about. I enjoyed every second of it. Expand
  2. Jan 31, 2013
    10
    This game is about walking in corridors and finding rooms and entering said rooms only to find out that there is no corridor anymore to thenThis game is about walking in corridors and finding rooms and entering said rooms only to find out that there is no corridor anymore to then turn around and be in a different room.

    Tenouttaten.
    Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    One of the best puzzle games ever made. In most video games they give you a few options but most of them don't lead anywhere. When the hero isOne of the best puzzle games ever made. In most video games they give you a few options but most of them don't lead anywhere. When the hero is asked "Do you want to save the princess?" It might give you a Yes or No choice but really no matter what you pick, you have to go save the princess. Not in Antichamber. Every decision you make leads somewhere. Turned left instead of right at an intersection? The game will happily let you continue down this path for 20 minutes throwing puzzles at you as you go just to find yourself trapped in a room with no way out. Probably because you missed some really important clue or ignored all the really subtle warnings that you were going the wrong way. This game might just be the most scary games ever made. Its not a fear of something popping out at you and eating your face like most horror games, its a fear of the unknown. Its the same fear you might get before giving a big speech in front of a large audience. What if I make a mistake? What if I forget what I was going to say? What if the audience does not like what I'm about to say? Only now its what if I go down this hallway instead of the other one? What if I close this door behind me and I get trapped? What if this next room has a hidden trap door and I fall into a completely new level? What if I did not find all the items I needed to from the area I can no longer access?
    You can always teleport out by pressing the escape key and start again, but you don't want to. You never want to admit the game beat you or that you fell for such an obvious trap. The game does such an amazing job setting the mood and pulling you in that it almost feels like your trapped for real.
    Overall its one of the best games I have ever played.
    Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    A very interesting game, and done with style. Great puzzles, a really fresh concept. I'm still not giving it a 10 because I somewhat got boredA very interesting game, and done with style. Great puzzles, a really fresh concept. I'm still not giving it a 10 because I somewhat got bored with the writings in the black squares. They seem witty at first, but after a while they look like they pretend to be philosophic or deep but in fact are just banalities dragged in to fit the mechanics of the solved puzzle. I hope that if the developer decides to make a sequel or an update, he/she would maybe add some kind of story to the game so that the puzzles were connected more meaningfully to each other and didn't look just like a mechanical assembly. But anyway, very talented game design. Expand
  5. Feb 4, 2013
    8
    As a "all-around" gamer, (RTS, RPG, FPS, casual, indie, etc.), i felt this game brought something new to the table set for 2013. Sure, itsAs a "all-around" gamer, (RTS, RPG, FPS, casual, indie, etc.), i felt this game brought something new to the table set for 2013. Sure, its very similar play style to Portal, without the witty conversations and perhaps even characters, but this game is meant for exploration, rather than the story. (if there even is one). Sure it is lacking in the replayability, unless you and some friends just play again for a race to the actual finish, but it makes up for it in its original content, and graphics. Just another thing, why are all the games starting to gain this "high-psychedelic" look? Just wondering, because it does the game wonders, and yes a little on your eyes after a few fours of gameplay. Collapse
  6. Feb 9, 2013
    8
    As most positive reviews will tell you, this game especially shines through it's puzzle designs and what makes those puzzles so good is thatAs most positive reviews will tell you, this game especially shines through it's puzzle designs and what makes those puzzles so good is that they require you to go beyond the simple, intuitive answer and think of something new. What's even more appreciable, is that the puzzles progressively build on your previous solutions and explorations, twisting them in some unexpected ways. Now while that's all excellent, in my opinion, there are some serious flaws that should be addressed. I've completed the game in around 5 hours, divided in 3 small gaming sessions and each time I wished to take up where I left, I spent many frustrating minutes trying to remember in which room I last was. Sure, I like open world games but this one has a progression path and unless you make it one long gaming session, it's really easy to lose it. The next big flaw is rather a matter of taste but I'm pretty sure some people will agree with me: this game seriously lacks some personality this is mainly why I wasn't compelled to play more than one or two hours at a time. Compare this to Braid, Portal or Limbo, aside from it's very peculiar puzzles, Antichamber feels sterile (sure the little advice panels were fun but sadly not enough to make the game really compelling). In anyways, if you liked Portal (I II) or if you're just fond of puzzles, this is a game you should definitely give a few hours of your time. Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    This game is unfinished. You are limited to only using the A, W, S, D keys and the spacebar. You are not allowed to configure your keys. TheThis game is unfinished. You are limited to only using the A, W, S, D keys and the spacebar. You are not allowed to configure your keys. The creator of this game and all of you whom approve this kind of half-az work to be released are asking for the world of pain. What you've shown is it's perfectly okay for people to release games that are not finished. Well Done. Expand

See all 114 User Reviews

Trailers