Antichamber PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Antichamber Image
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 517 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Antichamber is a game about discovery, set inside a vibrant, minimal, Escher-like world, where geometry and space follow unfamiliar rules, and obstacles are a matter of perception.

    Journey through the depths of a non-Euclidean labyrinth, as you create, destroy and manipulate matter, and
    Antichamber is a game about discovery, set inside a vibrant, minimal, Escher-like world, where geometry and space follow unfamiliar rules, and obstacles are a matter of perception.

    Journey through the depths of a non-Euclidean labyrinth, as you create, destroy and manipulate matter, and uncover new ways to overcome your surroundings in this mind-bending psychological exploration game.
    Expand

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. Feb 11, 2013
    95
    Alexander Bruce - Antichamber's creator - went out of his way to give us something more than just another first-person Portal-inspired puzzle game that appeals to critics using it's alleged artistic value. Antichamber is an unusual, fresh, intriguing and great experience. A complex mind game that will find fans among art lovers and regular gamers alike. Give your brains a break from regular shooters and give them something more interesting to process. Give them Antichamber.
  2. Feb 2, 2013
    90
    Alexander Bruce's biggest achievement with Antichamber is that he created a game that's brilliant and inviting, something that can rarely be said for a game made entirely of difficult puzzles where what you see isn't always what you get and where the room you're standing in can change at any moment.
  3. Feb 11, 2013
    90
    Challenging, smart, entertaining, extremely immersive, never boring, Antichamber is a stunningly beautiful puzzle game and another deep, original indie title, with a lot of character. If you love the genre, you cannot miss it.
  4. Feb 1, 2013
    85
    Whoever wants to try something new in 2013: Antichamber has got you covered. The psychological journey developer Alexander Bruce takes you on makes you forget everything you know about videogames, and everything about the world around you. There is a chance that your brain isn’t ready for this type of psychological violence, but whoever dares to surrender themselves to Antichamber won’t be disappointed.
  5. Feb 11, 2013
    82
    Antechamber is an original and brilliant puzzle game. A title that constantly surprises you with amazing intellectual challenges in a psychedelic world.
  6. Feb 17, 2013
    80
    While it may occasionally frustrate, Antichamber is a wonderful experience. There are vague hints of a plot, but it's a plot about self-discovery and making progress, about learning how to overcome challenges and find your way through life's confusions.
  7. Apr 1, 2013
    55
    Antichamber is an intriguing little experiment. It is both a humble imitation and an attempt to avoid all the trappings and clichés of the genre. Alas, it fails to excite. Unlike Echochrome and Braid, where we bending realities to our will, in this game its creators simply tease us whenever they feel like it.

See all 50 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 83 out of 115
  2. Negative: 12 out of 115
  1. Feb 10, 2013
    10
    Antichamber is easily the best and most memorable 8-10 hours of gaming I've had in a very, very long time. Incredibly satisfying puzzles,Antichamber is easily the best and most memorable 8-10 hours of gaming I've had in a very, very long time. Incredibly satisfying puzzles, crisp and stark visuals, and some truly innovative game mechanics. It's an abstract and challenging title that demands a bit of lateral thinking and patience, so I wouldn't necessarily recommend it to everyone. However, if you're after a refreshing challenge, and you enjoyed the likes of Portal and Braid, then Antichamber is an absolute must buy. Fantastic to play a game that feels genuinely new! Expand
  2. May 31, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It is really rare that I can say I loved a game this much. A ten of ten? Yes, in fact Antichamber is perhaps now one of my favorite games of all time.

    The game's premise is to put you into a world that follows rules that are nothing like the real universe: simply turning around can show you a new hallway that you didn't come through before. The puzzles slowly grow in complexity, but the gameplay is nevertheless very, very fun.

    As you play, you also find black squares with simple life lessons on them. There a total of 120 to "learn" and they contribute to the game's greatest strength, which I will explain in a second. The graphics are... interesting. The walls and floors are painted with bright, vibrant, and yet simple, elegant colors. The interface in the map room is nice as well, it lets you jump everywhere through the game with the touch of the button.

    Now, as you progress through the game, the morals you've learned start to slowly add up and create a unique picture. But, as you near the end, you finally realize the game's incredibly deep meaning. the simple (spoilers here) version is that you have been placed into a world as if you were a newborn baby, and once you win, you realize that the game is a huge metaphor for life itself.

    Overall, the game is incredibly great. The puzzles may prove challenging, but they are lots of fun to play. I would recommend this game to almost anyone who enjoys video games. The bottom line is: go out and get this game. You won't regret it.
    Expand
  3. Feb 1, 2013
    10
    One of the best puzzle games ever made. In most video games they give you a few options but most of them don't lead anywhere. When the hero isOne of the best puzzle games ever made. In most video games they give you a few options but most of them don't lead anywhere. When the hero is asked "Do you want to save the princess?" It might give you a Yes or No choice but really no matter what you pick, you have to go save the princess. Not in Antichamber. Every decision you make leads somewhere. Turned left instead of right at an intersection? The game will happily let you continue down this path for 20 minutes throwing puzzles at you as you go just to find yourself trapped in a room with no way out. Probably because you missed some really important clue or ignored all the really subtle warnings that you were going the wrong way. This game might just be the most scary games ever made. Its not a fear of something popping out at you and eating your face like most horror games, its a fear of the unknown. Its the same fear you might get before giving a big speech in front of a large audience. What if I make a mistake? What if I forget what I was going to say? What if the audience does not like what I'm about to say? Only now its what if I go down this hallway instead of the other one? What if I close this door behind me and I get trapped? What if this next room has a hidden trap door and I fall into a completely new level? What if I did not find all the items I needed to from the area I can no longer access?
    You can always teleport out by pressing the escape key and start again, but you don't want to. You never want to admit the game beat you or that you fell for such an obvious trap. The game does such an amazing job setting the mood and pulling you in that it almost feels like your trapped for real.
    Overall its one of the best games I have ever played.
    Expand
  4. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    A very interesting game, and done with style. Great puzzles, a really fresh concept. I'm still not giving it a 10 because I somewhat got boredA very interesting game, and done with style. Great puzzles, a really fresh concept. I'm still not giving it a 10 because I somewhat got bored with the writings in the black squares. They seem witty at first, but after a while they look like they pretend to be philosophic or deep but in fact are just banalities dragged in to fit the mechanics of the solved puzzle. I hope that if the developer decides to make a sequel or an update, he/she would maybe add some kind of story to the game so that the puzzles were connected more meaningfully to each other and didn't look just like a mechanical assembly. But anyway, very talented game design. Expand
  5. Nov 9, 2015
    8
    Confusing and tricky, but more of a traditional puzzle game than you might think at first. Much of the fun of Antichamber comes from figuringConfusing and tricky, but more of a traditional puzzle game than you might think at first. Much of the fun of Antichamber comes from figuring out the strange logic that governs things, and using it to make sense out of situations that wouldn't make sense in any other game. It rewards exploration and experimenting more than it does logically deducing the answer on the spot, and fairly often the solution to something can come about by accident while you try everything you can imagine.

    Having a mostly non-linear map that opens up more as you collect new abilities makes it much more fun to progress through than a straight, linear sequence of puzzles and for the most part there is enough direction that the temptation to look at a guide is rarely there. It's an unusual sort of puzzle game that plays smoothly and maintains a certain level of immersion instead of just leaving you wandering in circles in frustration. It can trick you and mess with you, and it is very satisfying to overcome its illusions and quirks.

    On the negative side, your results may vary, but I did find it very hard on the eyes with all the glaring white backgrounds. You may want to turn down your brightness and play in a well-lit room.
    Expand
  6. c3p
    Jan 10, 2014
    7
    While i like the idea, the learning curve is too steep in my opinion. Often i wander around aimless searching for "correct" way to proceed theWhile i like the idea, the learning curve is too steep in my opinion. Often i wander around aimless searching for "correct" way to proceed the game. I also would love a "dark mode" with differently coloured walls. Expand
  7. Feb 8, 2013
    0
    This game is unfinished. You are limited to only using the A, W, S, D keys and the spacebar. You are not allowed to configure your keys. TheThis game is unfinished. You are limited to only using the A, W, S, D keys and the spacebar. You are not allowed to configure your keys. The creator of this game and all of you whom approve this kind of half-az work to be released are asking for the world of pain. What you've shown is it's perfectly okay for people to release games that are not finished. Well Done. Expand

See all 115 User Reviews

Trailers