Area 51 PC

  • Publisher: Midway
  • Release Date: Jun 8, 2005
User Score
5.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 41 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 41
  2. Negative: 14 out of 41
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 2, 2010
    4
    The graphics of this game are totally outdated.The gameplay lacks intensiti the enemies are stupid and the weapons boring.The only thing that seems a new and welcome addition to the game is the alien mode.I give it a 4 for my friend Remus.
  2. TerryD.
    Jun 28, 2005
    9
    One of my all-time favorite shooters is Halo. Mainly because of the outstanding combat that few other games have come close to matching. However, Area 51 does a very good job at coming close which is why I rate it as high as I do. Yeah, sure the graphics, sound, story aren't breaking any new ground, but so what? The Area 51 is a blast to play!
  3. MarinoV.
    Jun 14, 2005
    9
    Excellent Game.
  4. JimB.
    Jun 8, 2005
    10
    U get to shoot stuff a lot.
  5. JoshuaK.
    Mar 23, 2005
    7
    It was a pretty good game.
  6. AterrT.
    Jun 11, 2005
    3
    Despite all the Hype, I was not Impressed. Bought game and literally ran through the first 9 levels. Boring. This is a kiddie game. For those of us who played Doom and Duke Nukem, this is nothing but pretty pictures. It's just a new package on an Old Idea. "This" was the NEW Halo? Thank Heavens I didn't buy that as well. The 3 that I gave the game is for Graphics and Despite all the Hype, I was not Impressed. Bought game and literally ran through the first 9 levels. Boring. This is a kiddie game. For those of us who played Doom and Duke Nukem, this is nothing but pretty pictures. It's just a new package on an Old Idea. "This" was the NEW Halo? Thank Heavens I didn't buy that as well. The 3 that I gave the game is for Graphics and Cinematography. Other than that... Pure waste of my money and time. Expand
  7. PaulT.
    Jun 14, 2005
    3
    I read the Player Aterr T.s comments and have to agree. Graphics were Great. BUT the actual Game Play was Pathetic. Nothing New, Play one FPS, played'em all mentality. If you think this was a great game, then you probably are still in Grade School, or never played a really kewl FPS. Programmers ... you need to go and Play Unreal!!! THEN Try Again. I give it a 3 for the Pretty Pictures.
  8. FredM.
    Sep 22, 2005
    6
    This game is...ok. The graphics are very impressive and I liked how the storyline progressed...beyond that, however, it way questionable. The battles are fierce in this - you'll find yourself holed up for extended periods of time, holding off hordes of enemies, and the weapons, though a little uninspired, are good nonetheless. Unfortunately, there were a number of issues that got me This game is...ok. The graphics are very impressive and I liked how the storyline progressed...beyond that, however, it way questionable. The battles are fierce in this - you'll find yourself holed up for extended periods of time, holding off hordes of enemies, and the weapons, though a little uninspired, are good nonetheless. Unfortunately, there were a number of issues that got me down. First is the fact that you can never keep a team for more than a short while...I really wanted to fight alongside teammates in large battles, but every person you meet ends up dying within a level or two...sometimes within the cutscene you met him in. There are two or three large fights between humans and aliens, but they just weren't enjoyable since you were always forced to do something else (like find something or fix something) while they were fighting. Second is the alien-hybrid thing that you get later that allows you to change...yeah. I never used it once. It was really pretty clunky and I always found that bullets were better than those weird alien attacks you had. Lastly, the combat is good, but many times it forces you to charge head-first into battle, as standing still and planning attacks will only get you viciously mauled. This wouldn't be so bad if these battles weren't also hopelessly difficult... It seems that there are two kinds of reviews for this one - 10 (omfg amazing-zors) and 3 (crap). The 10s come from people who still drool over Halo, and just want mindless combat dumped into a game engine. Halo was indeed a very good game, but it certainly wasn't the pivotal, all-time most amazing sci-fi FPS out there. As for the 3s, this game deserves more than that, but I still agree that it is lacking overall. Expand
  9. JaredJ
    Dec 3, 2009
    0
    I received a lot of positive comments on this game and later found out it is now a free download. I was more then shocked when the game started, the graphics took me off guard, they are that bad. There are games from the mid 90's with five times better graphics. The voice acting is at it's worst and gameplay is beyond boring. I didn't even finish it, in fact I don't I received a lot of positive comments on this game and later found out it is now a free download. I was more then shocked when the game started, the graphics took me off guard, they are that bad. There are games from the mid 90's with five times better graphics. The voice acting is at it's worst and gameplay is beyond boring. I didn't even finish it, in fact I don't think I even made it half way but I do know that by level six I was gone and this was off my computer. There is not one good thing about this at all. Expand
  10. DeviantH.
    Jun 13, 2005
    10
    Hmm im iffy about this one, automatic 10 for the story-line and graphics but the gameplay was a little off in some parts, i alwasys felt myself reaching for the escape key, but then the intriguing storyline and interesting enemys would force me to put my fingers back on the W - A - S - D keys, hmm the gameplay reminds me alot of Red Faction 2 and i highly recomend this to anyone who wants Hmm im iffy about this one, automatic 10 for the story-line and graphics but the gameplay was a little off in some parts, i alwasys felt myself reaching for the escape key, but then the intriguing storyline and interesting enemys would force me to put my fingers back on the W - A - S - D keys, hmm the gameplay reminds me alot of Red Faction 2 and i highly recomend this to anyone who wants to play a very decent shooter, waiting for F.E.A.R or if u havent already bought HL2. All in all its a buyer and shouldnt be over looked!!! Expand
  11. Oct 17, 2013
    0
    Garbage for the console masses back in 2005. The Playstation 2 was not a powerhouse visually speaking, but the fact that the PC release looks nearly identical is just criminal. Gameplay wise? Nothing special. Weapon designs? Fairly generic. Voice acting? A few notable names in there, but not particularly "great" performances either. Its also fairly obvious when looking at theGarbage for the console masses back in 2005. The Playstation 2 was not a powerhouse visually speaking, but the fact that the PC release looks nearly identical is just criminal. Gameplay wise? Nothing special. Weapon designs? Fairly generic. Voice acting? A few notable names in there, but not particularly "great" performances either. Its also fairly obvious when looking at the Playstation 2 metacritic page- that this game was given some pretty overwhelmingly positive reviews for nonsensical reasons. The game is unanimously somewhere between "bottom of the barrel" and a rip-off of much better sci-fi concepts. Note some of the other reviews in the lower numbers on here when they mention "the graphics were shockingly bad." Even for 2005 its ugly. We're talking uglier than Operation Flashpoint: Cold War Crisis. Its almost amazing that the game came out in 2005, I mean it is that difficult to swallow on a graphical level. Very linear, very generic, and is apparently now freeware. Expand
  12. Dec 24, 2014
    9
    Very good game for fans of UFO:Enemy Unknown and X-files. If you love UFO, and cospiracy theories this game is for you. I like this game-it has great plot for fpp game. Very good game and it deserrves for better scores.
  13. May 10, 2017
    8
    Its a fun little shooter with interesting story, good voice acting, decent gunplay and good graphics (for a console game) that runs very well on the PC.
  14. Jan 25, 2016
    6
    Yeah, this game is outdated. Graphics are so, so outdated. Gameplay is boring in and nothing is wow. One major issue is the game haven't subtitles. So unoriginal.
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 27 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 27
  2. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Play Magazine
    70
    But here again, another fun idea inevitably joins what feels like a game thrown together out of genre spare parts. [May 2005, p.39]
  2. 65
    If nostalgia for the original arcade light-gun game, or fascination with the myth of the Mid-West has you by the cockles, then this game may give you a day or two's worth of good times. But anyone with a stricter criteria than that would be hard-pressed to find real satisfaction in what's offered here.
  3. 75
    Unfortunately experienced FPS players may find they aren’t being offered anything new in the game.