User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 827 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 68 out of 827
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 28, 2017
    3
    i had good memories of this but i decided to play it now and i got to say that this game NOW! sucks!!
    the parkour is slow and Altair keeps going to place that i don t tell em to go i know that this still happens but less often.
    The story is just bad, you don t care about any of the caracters and after the 3 assassination it just got sow repetetive go up to the towers to find the mission
    i had good memories of this but i decided to play it now and i got to say that this game NOW! sucks!!
    the parkour is slow and Altair keeps going to place that i don t tell em to go i know that this still happens but less often.
    The story is just bad, you don t care about any of the caracters and after the 3 assassination it just got sow repetetive go up to the towers to find the mission sow you can get intel that its always help some guy or interrogate someone. i can tell that you will do this things 9 TIMES!!!!.
    Only buy the end that you`ll do something diferent. And the "TWIST" if you can ever call that a twist it was sow predictable you can spot it from a mile away.
    Now the storie of desmond on Abestergo it allote more interesting and it end all of the sudden...
    but i guess il have to see more on assassin`s creed 2
    Now the combat it great there are various ways to attack and block attacks it makes figthing a joy.
    overwall i didn t liked the game it s a shame and played the recent assassin`s creed syndicate i m glad that ubisoft took a year off to make a new assassin`s creed, this franchise has much potencial and i do not recomend this game skip this one
    Expand
  2. Mar 4, 2017
    7
    Suikastçileri güzelce anlatan, fakat bazı kısımlarında oyuncuyu gerçekten sıkan oyun. Yine de Prince of Persia oyunları oynadıktan sonra bu tarz oyuna hasret olan birisi için, oynaması zevkli bir oyundu.
  3. Feb 16, 2017
    9
    Assassin's Creed is the first entry of the franchise and an unforgettable one. Set during the third crusade, you play as Altair, an arrogant master assassin whose pride almost ruins his order. He get's another chance to redeem himself and that's where you come in. Here are the pros and cons:

    Positives: - Interesting Sandbox assassin game. - Excellent setting during the third crusade.
    Assassin's Creed is the first entry of the franchise and an unforgettable one. Set during the third crusade, you play as Altair, an arrogant master assassin whose pride almost ruins his order. He get's another chance to redeem himself and that's where you come in. Here are the pros and cons:

    Positives:
    - Interesting Sandbox assassin game.
    - Excellent setting during the third crusade.
    - Inventive gameplay and different approaches to take down the targets.
    - Lively cities.
    - Bad ♥♥♥ protagonist.

    Negatives:
    - Extremely repetitive process: go to bureau, climb buildings to get sight of event points, solve events, get information, go to bureau, take down the target, run away, go back to the Mualim.
    - Desmond's story line is completely boring.
    - That ending...

    Verdict: A-
    Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2016
    8
    Un exelente juego en practicamente todos los aspectos. Lo único que me hace bajarle 2 puntos al juego es el hecho de un ambiente tan serio que aveces resulta abrumadoramente aburrido. No obstante, es una exquicites jugarlo.
  5. Jul 22, 2016
    6
    assassins creed 1 is an okay game but its not worth buy at full price but u can buy it now because its very old game let tell why i dont like this game i well start in what the things i like on it and what i dont like first the combat and counter attack are fun and the AI are challenging i lose alot of times u can make viewpoint to let unlock some side mission or quests the openworld isassassins creed 1 is an okay game but its not worth buy at full price but u can buy it now because its very old game let tell why i dont like this game i well start in what the things i like on it and what i dont like first the combat and counter attack are fun and the AI are challenging i lose alot of times u can make viewpoint to let unlock some side mission or quests the openworld is freedom and the graphics is good and there are 8 areas u can free roam on it u can climb up on the building kill enemys and solid stealth mechanic but not the best this what i like in the game now what i hated in these game and that is the story mission are completle repetitive u have win side mission to play the story mission and story is pointless even the side mission are repetitive the game had 4 weapons just 4 **** weapons your sword and hidden blade and throwing knife and the dagger there are no upgrade for them u have finish every **** mission to upgrade your weapons u cannot choose your upgrade the game it self choose u are acculty not feel like an assassin in these game u cannot buy anything no shops no skin u cannot even steel money the gameplay is just killing and combat and climbing these is great but why they didnt make more than that and blending is not great at all u blend with peaples to pass any of those security doors this makes no sense u can hide in haystack but u cannot assassinait your enemy while u hiding or when hold on on the hedge u cant assassnaite your enemy the altair outfit looks like a bathrooms rub this game is one of the dissapointing ubisoft title Expand
  6. Jul 19, 2016
    7
    Interesting idea. This is a sci-fi game set in the modern times about conspiracy disguised as a history game. The philosophy about order vs free will is also quite thought provoking. Unfortunately other than the map, the game didn't make use of the High Middle Ages/Islamic Golden Age setting at all. We didn't even get to see Saladin or the Saracens. Gameplay is so repetitive and theInteresting idea. This is a sci-fi game set in the modern times about conspiracy disguised as a history game. The philosophy about order vs free will is also quite thought provoking. Unfortunately other than the map, the game didn't make use of the High Middle Ages/Islamic Golden Age setting at all. We didn't even get to see Saladin or the Saracens. Gameplay is so repetitive and the kill-everyone-then-kill-your-boss-too plot is so clichéd that I had to force myself through the game. Thankfully developers learned their mistakes and made AC2 into a much better game and one of the best games in recent years. P.S. You need a controller to play this game. Expand
  7. Jul 6, 2016
    8
    Gameplay : 7
    Graphics : 8
    Story : 8
    Sound : 8
    **********************************************************************************
    Overall : 8
  8. Jul 5, 2016
    4
    As much as I liked its story, I cannot recommend this game to anyone who wants to start playing the AC series as I'm sure that they wouldn't bother playing the rest actually good ones after playing this repetition simulator. First of all, the story is somewhat unique and interesting, both the Desmond and Altair parts. Gameplay is not that bad either, but those missions... Holy ****, aren'tAs much as I liked its story, I cannot recommend this game to anyone who wants to start playing the AC series as I'm sure that they wouldn't bother playing the rest actually good ones after playing this repetition simulator. First of all, the story is somewhat unique and interesting, both the Desmond and Altair parts. Gameplay is not that bad either, but those missions... Holy ****, aren't those missions a series of boredom sources... First of all, I must say that the assassination missions/main missions were very interesting and kind of challenging to do it sneakily. But the missions we had to do in order to unlock those missions were nothing but repetitive cancer. Here's a brief summary of the game: eavesdrop, pickpocket, fight some guards, assassinate the significant target. Cool, now all you need to do is to learn about the story and you can start the series from AC 2 ! Expand
  9. Jul 3, 2016
    8
    Before I start, a caveat: If you are a fan of the series, or have played a more recent AC game, and you'd like to check this one out, the one that started it all, please: It IS a cool idea to check it out, but please keep in mind that the game is 9 years old by now.
    It IS showing it's age a bit, and a lot of things that are standard in more modern AC games aren't in this one yet.
    The
    Before I start, a caveat: If you are a fan of the series, or have played a more recent AC game, and you'd like to check this one out, the one that started it all, please: It IS a cool idea to check it out, but please keep in mind that the game is 9 years old by now.
    It IS showing it's age a bit, and a lot of things that are standard in more modern AC games aren't in this one yet.

    The game, to me, still looks pretty good, comparable to the Ezio-ACs. They did a great job capturing the vibe of Jerusalem and the whole area back in the days of the crusades. It's colorful, with lots of detail, and I find that the cities especially do have a lot of atmosphere and do feel kinda alive.

    However, since this one started it all, and the other ACs build on it, there still is quite a lot of stuff missing here:
    - The freeclimbing/parcour is still quite clunky. Yes, mistakes can happen even in Unity, Syndicate and Rogue, but here, you will have accidents, it's guaranteed. The parcour isn't as "safe" and automated as it is in newer ACs, so you will have "misjumps", where you don't reach a ledge and fall. It's not horrible, it's just a bit slower and way less safe than in modern ACs.

    - Combat can be tough especially against a group. Please stay patient. At first, Altair has all abilities, then loses them (because he gets demoted), and gets them back one by one. Once you have counterattack, you will have a much easier time dealing even with groups. Hold the block-button or key, and hit the counter attack at the right moment - instakill.
    Actually... even though I enjoyed the combat in, say, AC III, Rogue and Unity much more than I did enjoy this one, it still is more fun and feels less frustrating than it does in the abomination that is Syndicate with it's horrible, spammy and often unfair combat.

    - Abilites are not in yet. You don't have ropedarts, smoke bombs, firecrackers, mortars etc.
    Basically, you have your wristblade (which you can't fight with once you are in combat, so it's only for assassinations, killing unprepared enemies), a sword, a short blade, and later on a ranged weapon.
    You don't get health potions either (a bit like in AC III). So if you lose health, you can't recover it unless you flee. It recovers while you do, so you can retreat a bit, then turn around and kill your pursuers.

    - It's a bit shorter than modern ACs... but then again, it has less filler. YOu know the deal... tons of side stuff and collectibles. A bit of that is here, too, but not even remotely as much as in Unity or Syndicate.

    - There are a lot of cut scenes, and you can't skip them. Stay patient and enjoy the story.

    While it might feel weird to play this after more recent ACs, it still is a fun game with a great protagonist and a cool, albeit short story. Playing with a controller is very much recommended.
    It still has vibe and atmosphere, and it's great to see the story begin.

    If you're a fan of the franchise, you should at least try it, you can usually get this quite cheap. If you want to get into the series, AC II might be a better start, but this still is a solid, classic game and the start of a great series
    Expand
  10. May 4, 2016
    8
    Este es el inicio de la famosa saga de Assassin's Creed. De la mano de los que trajeron los últimos juegos de Prince of Persia, llega este interesante título sobre un protagonista perteneciente a una hermandad de asesinos en los tiempos de 1191. La historia es muy interesante y atrapante, el cual te tendrá atada/o por continuarla. Lamentablemente, junto con su jugabilidad cae en loEste es el inicio de la famosa saga de Assassin's Creed. De la mano de los que trajeron los últimos juegos de Prince of Persia, llega este interesante título sobre un protagonista perteneciente a una hermandad de asesinos en los tiempos de 1191. La historia es muy interesante y atrapante, el cual te tendrá atada/o por continuarla. Lamentablemente, junto con su jugabilidad cae en lo repetitivo, ya que tendrás que hacer todo lo mismo durante todo el transcurso del juego: encargos de asesinatos, descubrir nuevas ciudades, realizar misiones secundarias, enfrentamiento con un jefe, todo esto esto está metido en un círculo repetitivo hasta el final del juego, lo cual es un poco decepcionante. Gráficamente se ve bien, tampooco es la gran cosa, pero no son nada malos. Tiene una buena ambientacíon de las localizaciones de aquella época. En el apartado sonoro los efectos de sonidos son muy buenos, y el doblaje al español se deja escuchar. Y musicalmente el juego es bueno, aunque hace más presencia en momentos que ponen tenso al jugador. En conclusión puedo decir que es un muy buen juego, pero el único defecto que le veo es lo bastante repetitivo que logra ser. Si para tí esto no es un problema, puede que lo disfrutes aún más. Expand
  11. Apr 16, 2016
    8
    Puede que a algunas personas les parezca aburrido este juego pero vale la pena su compra por unos 5 euros te dará unas buenas horas de diversión y gracias a ello Altair se a convertido en uno de mis personajes favoritos.
  12. Apr 12, 2016
    7
    Aged well. Looks pretty good maxed out. Good gameplay. There is a reason mordor did use it. Okay story. Kinda weak pay-off. Replay value if you are into it.
  13. Feb 26, 2016
    6
    El comienzo de una saga odiada por muchos, veneradas por otros. Un juego bastante decente aunque muy repetitivo en sus mecánicas. Lo mejor sin duda, los escenarios.
  14. Jan 25, 2016
    7
    A good story and a good start for such a great series. First time when i play this game was , nah, it's nothing new. After i played more, he gives me a great story, a great gameplay and a great feeling about this game. One issue i didn't like was the game don't have subtitles.
  15. Dec 8, 2015
    4
    Playing for the first time in 2015, wondering what the hype is about... The graphics and AI all in all (considering 2008 game) are whatever. The problem I had is that everything looks the same, feels the same and basically IS the same: NPCs, hideouts, cities... It gets incredibly boring out of blue when you need to kill someone the exactly same way for the bilionth time. Havent finished.Playing for the first time in 2015, wondering what the hype is about... The graphics and AI all in all (considering 2008 game) are whatever. The problem I had is that everything looks the same, feels the same and basically IS the same: NPCs, hideouts, cities... It gets incredibly boring out of blue when you need to kill someone the exactly same way for the bilionth time. Havent finished. Going for ACII tomorrow. Expand
  16. Sep 30, 2015
    7
    Assassin's Creed seems awesome, stunning and promising at first, but after finishing it, the only thing left in your mind is how repetitive its gameplay can be.
  17. Sep 22, 2015
    3
    The first 3 main missions to the game are on fire but then after then the game just totally goes to dust with the remaining missions as they are far to repetitive and it's like you are restarting the game over and over again by doing the same things the missions have to offer. Most of the side quests are Really boring, bland, the main story is dull and the controls are so out of whack.The first 3 main missions to the game are on fire but then after then the game just totally goes to dust with the remaining missions as they are far to repetitive and it's like you are restarting the game over and over again by doing the same things the missions have to offer. Most of the side quests are Really boring, bland, the main story is dull and the controls are so out of whack. It's actually so disappointing as the game has stunning visuals and the first 3 missions are so good! The open world is awesome but still very restrictive for where you can go as you have to unlock the areas. Overall I would have given a lot higher rating but the repetitiveness and lack of ideas to the game and story is the sole reason of my rate for now. Expand
  18. Jul 1, 2015
    7
    - Good: Story, Concept
    - Mixed: Gameplay
    - Bad: Controls

    Interesting and fresh concept, good story line. Mediocre gameplay with terrible controls. Too much filler content.
  19. Jul 1, 2015
    5
    Assassin creed PC at first glance is beautiful and the main character one of the coolest looking. Assassin creed is fun with it's unique fighting style, art work, mechanics. BUT it has it's flaws from not properly saving to clunky jumping, lack of weapons, attack animations, and terrible repetitive gameplay forcing you to find and do boring things like climbing tall towers, pick pocketingAssassin creed PC at first glance is beautiful and the main character one of the coolest looking. Assassin creed is fun with it's unique fighting style, art work, mechanics. BUT it has it's flaws from not properly saving to clunky jumping, lack of weapons, attack animations, and terrible repetitive gameplay forcing you to find and do boring things like climbing tall towers, pick pocketing that seems so bland and useless, than you realize everything is copy and pasted. The story feels awkward, with no immersion everything you do in the game you do in the first coupe of hours.

    The game sometimes forgets weather you want to jump down or go up and bugs out on some of the simplest climbing movements. Some games didn't save properly, and some broken missions caused me to restart several times.

    Also 4 a Assassin game, no stealth is ever needed for the main missions whats up with that?

    The dialogue beside the main assassinations are all repeats just like the buildings, gets old pretty quick.

    I can see why people like this creed, I do not.

    I like the concept of the game, like most it failed horribly at keeping me entertained.
    Expand
  20. Jun 19, 2015
    6
    This game is good, has a different drive, but confused sometimes had problems with it, has a good gameplay, but the game is pretty repetitive, but worth playing.
  21. Mar 19, 2015
    6
    Visually, Assassin's Creed was way ahead of its time. However, despite its great potential and the revolutionary combat system, the game suffers from VERY repetitive game-play and missions, which are basically the same all the way through, only in different locations. The story is thrilling and delivers an acceptable beginning to the franchise.

    Assassin's Creed grabs ones attention well
    Visually, Assassin's Creed was way ahead of its time. However, despite its great potential and the revolutionary combat system, the game suffers from VERY repetitive game-play and missions, which are basically the same all the way through, only in different locations. The story is thrilling and delivers an acceptable beginning to the franchise.

    Assassin's Creed grabs ones attention well enough to consider playing the sequels, unfortunately it feels more like a prototype than anything else.
    Expand
  22. Dec 26, 2014
    8
    Assassin's Creed is a game published in 2007, developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft. The game puts you in the shoes of Altair Ibn La-Ahad's a membership cards of "The Assassin Brotherhood", which aims to assassinate nine historical figures during the Third Crusade. To achieve this goal, player need to gather some information about tinta.Depsre story can not say anythingAssassin's Creed is a game published in 2007, developed by Ubisoft Montreal and published by Ubisoft. The game puts you in the shoes of Altair Ibn La-Ahad's a membership cards of "The Assassin Brotherhood", which aims to assassinate nine historical figures during the Third Crusade. To achieve this goal, player need to gather some information about tinta.Depsre story can not say anything because the roads to give to some spoilere.Jocul is quite ok, in terms of graphics. The game has little to control the game. Not often I tried to climb the tower and the game does not allow me to not see a window that I can climb. Expand
  23. Dec 21, 2014
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. So, I recently got assassins creed 3 as it was bundled with these new headphones I bought. It was probably one of the best games I had ever played. So I decided to play though from the start of the series and become a dedicated pc fan.

    The story was fairly good in my opinion, great character development with some twists and turns along the way. But the actual gameplay was realy a bad exeriance.

    The game is split into I think 7 total memory blocks, you must go through each one in order to finish the game, the problem is, They're all essentially the same. you talk to a guy, he tells you to do 3 missions before you can assassinate the main bad guy. You have to do this up to three times in each memory block and it really starts to get repetitive.

    Another major flaw with gameplay is the free running system, it's fairly nifty and is actually quite fun..... When it works. I find that I am constantly havering to climb th same wall again because the camera angle was slightly off and the character jumped off the wall only to lose half his health and be killed by the persuing Templars on the ground. The free running in this game was so bad that I found myself rage quitting often just because i couldn't synchronise the surroundings to continue with the game due to the consant falling or slow climbing.

    Some may not agree with the last paragraph, but i can assure my keyboard works perfectly fine with games such as bioshock, team fortress 2 and titanfall. Anyway, the last problem I had with the game is the map. it is really annoying to use as she you select to only see primary objectives, it then switches back to all objectives once you leave the menu, not only that. But in order to progress you must essentially write the entire map of the world on your own, and I'm pretty sure during the game you are given a map of the town you are in multiple times.

    I have played some of the later assassins creed games and they fixed a lot of these problems, but I'm really surprised the franchise has been this successful with this game being the one that started it. It truely was a pain to get through and I am never going to play it again, nor am I recommending to anybody I come across.

    Thank god it's over now, I can start playing assassin's creed 2. XD
    Expand
  24. Dec 8, 2014
    5
    Aún habiéndolo jugado en 2014 creo que puedo hacer una opinión objetiva.

    Gráficamente el juego resulta notable para su época, a pesar de que su edición de PC podría haber sido mejor. Sobre todo dejaban mucho que desear la calidad de las sombras, el AA (mejorable con herramientas externas) y la distancia de renderizado, sobre todo esta última resultaba bastante incómoda para un jugador
    Aún habiéndolo jugado en 2014 creo que puedo hacer una opinión objetiva.

    Gráficamente el juego resulta notable para su época, a pesar de que su edición de PC podría haber sido mejor. Sobre todo dejaban mucho que desear la calidad de las sombras, el AA (mejorable con herramientas externas) y la distancia de renderizado, sobre todo esta última resultaba bastante incómoda para un jugador de PC, nada acostumbrado a que las texturas carguen a cinco metros. Por lo demás el juego puede obtener un 7/10 en calidad gráfica.

    La banda sonora es sublime, ambientando completamente la inmersión en la época a experimentar.

    La jugabilidad es lo más pecaminoso de este juego, no valen excusas del tipo "es un juego de 2008". El juego es de lo más repetitivo que he podido jugar en mi vida, una vez completada la introducción, el juego comienza a repetirse una y otra vez, haciendo siempre lo mismo, solo que con personajes distintos y en un ambiente distinto. A pesar de que la fórmula del sigilo/asesinato resulta novedosa y divertida, cuando comienza a repetirse empiezas a odiarla. Además intentan meter un pequeño sistema de sandbox que por suerte puedes comenzar a saltarte más adelante, porque solo consigue aburrirte y agobiarte aún más. Hay un solo tipo de misión principal, que se va repitiendo, y tres tipos de misiones principales, que se van repitiendo también.

    La historia es lo que salva un poco al juego, es algo nuevo, usar la historia ya contada de la humanidad como herramienta narrativa, quien diría que un juego tipo documental histórico podría ser tan enganchante. Y aunque en este juego no lo veremos en su esplendor, el final nos garantiza que los juegos que vendrán, serán algo mágico.

    En definitiva, es un juego que deseas pasarte rápido para poder llegar al desenlace de la historia y disfrutar de lo único bueno que tiene este juego, su guión. Por suerte, algunos ejecutivos decidieron seguir adelante con el segundo juego, y dar pie a una de las mejores sagas de videojuegos que existen. Porque si por este juego fuera, nadie creería que podría venir lo que después vino, y que mirando a posteriori podemos ver.
    Expand
  25. Nov 20, 2014
    5
    Overall, this game is gorgeous and a true technological feat for its time. The game can be thrilling as you run from guards through the streets of Jerusalem. The stealth aspect of the game is well-done. However, the gameplay is otherwise overly simplistic and repetitive. Combat is particularly dull. The overarching story concerning the main character Desmond detracts from the centralOverall, this game is gorgeous and a true technological feat for its time. The game can be thrilling as you run from guards through the streets of Jerusalem. The stealth aspect of the game is well-done. However, the gameplay is otherwise overly simplistic and repetitive. Combat is particularly dull. The overarching story concerning the main character Desmond detracts from the central character and story of Altaïr. Expand
  26. Aug 11, 2014
    6
    Now that's different. An open world that looks like the middle east in history. I liked the atmosphere. The buildings, dresses, horses and sword fights. And I really enjoyed jumping on rooftops and doing parkour stuff. The control is good. It gives a great experience. But the story was too boring. And this affected the game significantly. I was hardly playing that game and hoping for aNow that's different. An open world that looks like the middle east in history. I liked the atmosphere. The buildings, dresses, horses and sword fights. And I really enjoyed jumping on rooftops and doing parkour stuff. The control is good. It gives a great experience. But the story was too boring. And this affected the game significantly. I was hardly playing that game and hoping for a change. But Al Muallim is such dull man. He keeps giving me the same mission every time I accomplished one. Expand
  27. Jul 28, 2014
    1
    Hack'n'slash creed is a good game. Unfortunately, they called it Assassin's Creed, and if you think you're playing a stealth game, you'll be totally frustrated. By bad controls. By tedious mechanics. By lack of imagination. By stupid AI that can't see you in front of them sometimes and is super reactive other times. There is no cover, there is no hide, you really can't strategize theHack'n'slash creed is a good game. Unfortunately, they called it Assassin's Creed, and if you think you're playing a stealth game, you'll be totally frustrated. By bad controls. By tedious mechanics. By lack of imagination. By stupid AI that can't see you in front of them sometimes and is super reactive other times. There is no cover, there is no hide, you really can't strategize the missions that much. You can just try to "blend" but it doesn't even work that well.

    Ok, it was the first of the franchise.. but it feels really old (the characters, the story.. the mechanics.. it's all so naive and outdated).

    Only good remark: the good graphics, for a 2008 game - but considering I played it with a total retexturing mod, that uses textures from Revelations.
    Expand
  28. Jun 22, 2014
    8
    This game was one of the best games I have played in a long time. Ubisoft did well. The story is great but there are a few flaws. The game is repetitive. You basically have to get a certain same requirement for each chapter. For example, you needed three investigations and they were pretty much the same throughout the whole story. You also needed to do view points and save citizens whichThis game was one of the best games I have played in a long time. Ubisoft did well. The story is great but there are a few flaws. The game is repetitive. You basically have to get a certain same requirement for each chapter. For example, you needed three investigations and they were pretty much the same throughout the whole story. You also needed to do view points and save citizens which pretty much got boring. The game also does not explain well on who the characters and places are. The visuals for its time is astonishing. The game makes you feel and care about certain characters whether good or bad. I would give this game an 85/100. Expand
  29. May 27, 2014
    8
    The beginning of a legend. I liked the first game, even with a median story, but with good graphics. The real innovation became with the second game of the franchise, which is my favorite.
  30. May 15, 2014
    5
    I will sum this game up by describing the most irritating thing about it.
    To quit the game you must first turn off the animus, then open the animus then go to the menu, then go to the main menu.
    It takes a good 1-5 minutes depending on your hard-drive setup. Simply put, really, really annoying. Story itself is good but that one thing really just killed playing it for me enough to not
    I will sum this game up by describing the most irritating thing about it.
    To quit the game you must first turn off the animus, then open the animus then go to the menu, then go to the main menu.
    It takes a good 1-5 minutes depending on your hard-drive setup.

    Simply put, really, really annoying.
    Story itself is good but that one thing really just killed playing it for me enough to not even try playing Assassins Creed II. (for now..)
    Expand
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. PC Format
    84
    Playing as gaming's most agile character is joyous, which outweighs the lengthy cutscenes and disappointing final hour. [Apr 2008, p.38]
  2. Assassin’s Creed for the PC is a pretty compelling action game that benefits from huge environments and an interesting story. While the main campaign can get a bit repetitive, the new Director’s Cut features add some nice variety.
  3. 78
    What you're left with is a repetitive side-quest requirement for completing each primary mission, though the issue is alleviated somewhat with the PC version's additional content.