Assassin's Creed II PC

User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1589 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    7
    Enjoyable from 0.5 hours in to finish. The start of the game is woeful. Apart from that, the feeling of speed, motion and exploration are rendered well in a rich historical backdrop. I found the storyline attempted to be too grand and a bit silly at times, and despite best efforts the repetitive missions are still a bugbear. The gameplay makes up for it however, and judged on it's merits,Enjoyable from 0.5 hours in to finish. The start of the game is woeful. Apart from that, the feeling of speed, motion and exploration are rendered well in a rich historical backdrop. I found the storyline attempted to be too grand and a bit silly at times, and despite best efforts the repetitive missions are still a bugbear. The gameplay makes up for it however, and judged on it's merits, make this a good bit of light fun. Expand
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    5
    Less repetitive than the first game, lots of content, a good story and nicely routed in history. There are now some nice pure puzzle platformer parts that bring tomb raider gameplay to mind. Sadly the horrible interface prevents this game from being great. This is a badly done port with severe consolitis interface not optimised for mouse+keyboard, severe mouse acceleration, generally tooLess repetitive than the first game, lots of content, a good story and nicely routed in history. There are now some nice pure puzzle platformer parts that bring tomb raider gameplay to mind. Sadly the horrible interface prevents this game from being great. This is a badly done port with severe consolitis interface not optimised for mouse+keyboard, severe mouse acceleration, generally too arcade, low detail graphics due to xbox RAM limits etc. Expand
  3. Mar 10, 2013
    6
    Assassins creed does a lot of thing right. The cities are beautiful and they really feel alive. The medieval theme looks and feels really nice. There is quite a load of content in this game with plenty of things to do besides the pretty long main quest. Managing your estate is a fun but shallow distraction. The vehicle sections are pretty fun. The acrobatics looks cool and feels fluidAssassins creed does a lot of thing right. The cities are beautiful and they really feel alive. The medieval theme looks and feels really nice. There is quite a load of content in this game with plenty of things to do besides the pretty long main quest. Managing your estate is a fun but shallow distraction. The vehicle sections are pretty fun. The acrobatics looks cool and feels fluid when everything works. The game feels overall really competent and you get a a nice amount of content for your money.. But sadly it does have some problems. The combat is quite awful and feels static, repetitive and boring. The ridiculous amount of healing items you can carry around also makes it extremely unchallenging and tedious. The climbing and acrobatics in this game works for the most part quite well and it really fun to use. The one-button for everything system in the game is however not flawless and sometimes the game will misinterpret your actions which is never any fun. A long campaign is always nice and this games have one. What is less nice however is that the campaign contains a lot of really boring filler missions that only serve to drag out the game a hour or two. Some other annoyances are bad jumping puzzles, lack of interesting side characters, strange difficulty-curve, terrible stealth-missions, terrible stealth-mechanics, unsatisfying assassinations and lets not forget everything Desmond related. I might sound really negative but i did enjoy my time with the game and i would definitely recommend buying this game for a cheap price if you think the concept sounds interesting. Expand
  4. Aug 30, 2012
    7
    The main story outside the animus is more extended as in the first game. Ezio is a good character. Good storytelling inside the game.

    But the DRM is ...
  5. Sep 29, 2011
    7
    Assassin's Creed II is very slow at the start. I remember I was finding myself rather bored during the first 4-5 memories (out of 14). The missions weren't interesting, the areas were bland and the story was taking too long to get started. However it does pick up eventually and gets much better and incredibly fun. There are about 5 cities in this game, which is slightly more than the firstAssassin's Creed II is very slow at the start. I remember I was finding myself rather bored during the first 4-5 memories (out of 14). The missions weren't interesting, the areas were bland and the story was taking too long to get started. However it does pick up eventually and gets much better and incredibly fun. There are about 5 cities in this game, which is slightly more than the first game, and it also made improvements on many aspects from the first game, like the climbing and stealthy combat. The face-on combat is pretty much the same (it was already great to begin with, so I guess no improvements were needed), except fist fighting has gotten significantly improved. The game is also a lot more diverse. There are a lot of areas to explore, a lot of side quests to do, and even various mini-tasks such as refurbishing one of the cities to the full. One could probably spend many hours playing this game. So AC2 is better than the first in many areas, including graphics, storyline, gameplay and perhaps even the background music too. But it has some drawbacks however. The controls for example, which were already one of the biggest flaws of the first game, are even harder now. I had to go back to the controls menu to check up on some of them even in late stages of the game. They are hard to memorise and they are also very inconvenient, forcing you to hold like 3-4 buttons at the same time just to run after someone, making chase parts of the game rather difficult. I was also not too fond of many of the side quests and such. They were bland and so I ended up mostly just playing the main story. AC2 is a good game. I am guessing because of controls issues it's not supposed to be played on PC, but on a console. My bro has it on Xbox360 and the controls issues are virtually non-existent, so I'd probably advise you to get it on Xbox360 or PS3, not on PC, not to mention the killer graphics requirements the game has on PC. Expand
  6. Nov 8, 2011
    6
    Ubisoft's "Assassin's Creed 2" looks beautiful with its architecture and buildings and all those thieves and prostitutes. However, the single player makes you kinda boring as time passes by; too repetitive of what it's doing as well as a long, monotonous story with linear assassinations (But it's fun). The crucial component of AC2 that disappointed me was the controls. It's TOO difficultUbisoft's "Assassin's Creed 2" looks beautiful with its architecture and buildings and all those thieves and prostitutes. However, the single player makes you kinda boring as time passes by; too repetitive of what it's doing as well as a long, monotonous story with linear assassinations (But it's fun). The crucial component of AC2 that disappointed me was the controls. It's TOO difficult and the counter-attacks are nearly impossible to use on the **** keyboard. Sure, you can fix it, but it's not gonna feel like the typical assassination games like "Hitman: Blood Money". Nevertheless, if you're interested in the game, try for it; Maybe you might like it.â Expand
  7. Oct 19, 2010
    7
    Pros: Graphics, Story line, combat.
    Cons: Logic.
    I also have been seeing countless responses to the DRM, i am not sure what it is or why people are annoyed with it but my experience with AC2 on pc and on ps3 was flawless from a technical perspective.
    7/10
  8. Nov 16, 2011
    7
    First of all, you need a gamepad, second, you need to stuff around with some control settings, after that the game itself is absolutely fantastic. Great story, graphics could be better but they are still very nice. Gameplay is terrific, very addictive and a decent challenge. This game is miles ahead of the first one.
    If you can ignore the DRM and solve the control issues you are in for a
    First of all, you need a gamepad, second, you need to stuff around with some control settings, after that the game itself is absolutely fantastic. Great story, graphics could be better but they are still very nice. Gameplay is terrific, very addictive and a decent challenge. This game is miles ahead of the first one.
    If you can ignore the DRM and solve the control issues you are in for a treat. I would give it a 9 if it werent for these issues.
    Expand
  9. stevek
    Jun 5, 2010
    6
    great graphics, ok gameplay, doesn't let you roam and play as you want - desynchronises when u kill civilians. Also, too easy - still giving game hints "press so and so to jump back etc etc" 20 hrs into the game. Surely you should just be told the controls - and, is this a shock? - work it out yourself! A game that holds your hand every step of the way isn't a game, it's an great graphics, ok gameplay, doesn't let you roam and play as you want - desynchronises when u kill civilians. Also, too easy - still giving game hints "press so and so to jump back etc etc" 20 hrs into the game. Surely you should just be told the controls - and, is this a shock? - work it out yourself! A game that holds your hand every step of the way isn't a game, it's an interactive movie - not what i wanted. Expand
  10. Jan 4, 2013
    6
    The graphics are good, the story is good, everything is good but one thing: the controls. They have frustrated me a lot, especially in tombes and other 'Jumping Puzzle' styled things where they try to help you with a forced camera, but no, this pissed me off greater than it helped me.
  11. Jan 31, 2012
    5
    This game was ported extremely badly. The keymap FOR AN XBOX CONTROLLER ON THE PC is extremely screwed up. There is no excuse. This is obviously the interface the game was designed for, as the keyboard controls are clumsy. The DRM is laughable. I bought this game on steam. I have to still sign up for a ubiplay account in order to access this game I bought. I can't stand a businessThis game was ported extremely badly. The keymap FOR AN XBOX CONTROLLER ON THE PC is extremely screwed up. There is no excuse. This is obviously the interface the game was designed for, as the keyboard controls are clumsy. The DRM is laughable. I bought this game on steam. I have to still sign up for a ubiplay account in order to access this game I bought. I can't stand a business model that encourages piracy. It's stupid. Also, this game is disgustingly casual. You have to TRY to die. For a game that's pretty much about running away, the enemies are laughable. Why do I CARE that I'm infamous. I can kill the armored axemen with my wristblade. Oh, you wanna fight? That's cute. The enemies often WON'T EVEN TRY TO HIT YOU unless you taunt them. It's silly. That said, the art is fantastic and combined with decent voice acting the game is surprisingly cinematic. This game is a tragedy of an amazing idea executed poorly. They were SO CLOSE to awesome it makes me sad. But Ubisoft dropped the ball on the INVASIVE drm and the terrible port. Also make games difficult my lord I don't feel like I've accomplished anything when with the single weakest weapon in the game I can kill most enemies with pretty much no effort (counter, laugh). Averages as tragically mediocre. Expand
  12. Nov 17, 2011
    6
    The main character doesn't seem as believable as Altair. He wears heavy armor and only have months of training, yet he is supposed to be a infamous assassin. The story overall is not a breathtaking as assassins creed 1 and it seems like Ubisoft spent a week tops adjusting controls to computer. I'm sure it's a great game for PS3 or Xbox, but on PC it's just a pain in the ass.
  13. Apr 26, 2012
    7
    My original review: 4/10 Bought the game on April 19, 2012, expecting most of the issues to be fixed and based on generally positive reviews for the series. I thought it would be a good place to start that's not too far back while still being relatively modern. I can see the appeal of the game immediately: it's an immersive, very beautiful game with a funky UI and great story-telling. I'veMy original review: 4/10 Bought the game on April 19, 2012, expecting most of the issues to be fixed and based on generally positive reviews for the series. I thought it would be a good place to start that's not too far back while still being relatively modern. I can see the appeal of the game immediately: it's an immersive, very beautiful game with a funky UI and great story-telling. I've played it for about 2 hours now. HOWEVER, it gets MASSIVE low points for VERY VERY VERY bad control set-up. I'm not against innovative controls, or controls that work both on the PC and on consoles. Skyrim is a good example of that - you feel that the controls were made to be console-friendly, but they're never inhibiting your game play. This game, however, made controls not only un-intuitive, but also very difficult to understand, having to go through menus to understand which button is the 'Head', the 'Open Hand', the 'Armed Hand', and the 'Feet'. None of this is explained in the game itself. NONE. The color-coding presumably makes it easier for console players to understand, but doesn't work at all for the PC. Do yourself a favor and buy the console version of this title. This is a bad port.

    After finishing the game: 8.5/10. You basically have to memorize the different key bindings and get through the first bit to learn the controls. Don't be mislead by my high score - the controls are the single most annoying thing in this game. It's a set of 4 basic controls, which change if you right click the mouse, and then you have to execute sequences of them to do many things... and the game decides that it would be fun to make you do some harder sequences as the game goes on. If you look past that, however, the game is very deep, has multiple meaningful side quests, and is generally a fantastic game. Music is phenomenal. If it's possible, I would recommend you play this with a controller.
    Expand
  14. May 7, 2013
    5
    Awesome Game, beautiful artwork and game design but holy crap the controls are just rock bottom.
    It would be a 9 out of 10 if it wasn't for the bad controls.
  15. Jan 29, 2013
    6
    I like this game, but the wooden voice acting, alien character models and lacluster story (apart from the setup) weigh this game down. Saving issues with UPlay don't help at all, and the simple length of this game from simple quests without much variation in between could be counted as vast improvents over the original game, but are still annoying. It's a good game, but I never felt likeI like this game, but the wooden voice acting, alien character models and lacluster story (apart from the setup) weigh this game down. Saving issues with UPlay don't help at all, and the simple length of this game from simple quests without much variation in between could be counted as vast improvents over the original game, but are still annoying. It's a good game, but I never felt like the gameplay style aided the narrative significantly. Why tell us to sneak past when we've no way of doing so? All in all, it's fun, but only for the first few hours. Expand
  16. Mar 14, 2016
    6
    I have mixed feelings about this. I had only played Black Flag and Unity before and thought it would good idea to play the entry many consider one the best of the series. I can’t say it was a disappointment but I regret wasting my time on it. My biggest problem are the controls and the quest design. Far too often I jumped not where I wanted or I thought I would jump. Too many quests wereI have mixed feelings about this. I had only played Black Flag and Unity before and thought it would good idea to play the entry many consider one the best of the series. I can’t say it was a disappointment but I regret wasting my time on it. My biggest problem are the controls and the quest design. Far too often I jumped not where I wanted or I thought I would jump. Too many quests were timed races/platforming or worse escort missions. Combine this with not-too-perfect controls and frustration or even a rage quit is guaranteed. Since most enemies can counter yours counter attacks as well as yours disarm attempts combat drags on forever. And there's way too much combat in this game mostly caused by overabundance of hypersensitive guards patrolling the streets. Stealth is almost not an option here. Most quests inevitably end up in combat. The very few missions with forced stealth are poorly done and irritating. The game is agonizingly long. Half way through I started praying for the game to end. Expand
  17. Jun 20, 2013
    7
    The story kept me interested, but the gameplay was not interesting enough to keep me wanting to play more of it, meaning, the controls worked really hard against me, even using a controller, and the camera aswell. Other than that, it sometimes felt the story stretched on a bit too much, it could have been shorter, and so would have been better.
  18. Aug 27, 2012
    7
    OK it sucks that you have to be connected to Ubi to play, but I've not had any technical problems with the game yet and overall it's not a bad game. Combat is unchanged, if not worse than the first Assassin's Creed, so it's still by far the worst combat I've come across in this genre. Free running is stupidly boring and unsatisfying, never mind how little to no skill there is in holdingOK it sucks that you have to be connected to Ubi to play, but I've not had any technical problems with the game yet and overall it's not a bad game. Combat is unchanged, if not worse than the first Assassin's Creed, so it's still by far the worst combat I've come across in this genre. Free running is stupidly boring and unsatisfying, never mind how little to no skill there is in holding down two buttons. However, if you can ignore the pointless complications of the modern day story which confused us all at the end of the first game you'll find an open-world adventure game which unlike the first game, packs the content to be classed as a GTA clone done properly. Side missions are not as repetitive, collectibles are far more rewarding and satisfying to get, let alone more varied. There are more RPG elements but without the unnecessary complications which accompany them. The devolpers haven't made stupid decisions with this game, but they have made it a proper free-roam game with a decent story, good length and side missions and well-designed towns. The graphics aren't anything special even when maxxed out, but they are still pretty good and stand up to inspection. All in all Assassin's Creed II has the credentials of a solid action-adventure free roam game, but unfortunately the gameplay mechanics are archaic and outdated, sometimes even buggy. If you want gameplay and level design consider Arkham Asylum, but if you want an immersive game Assassin's Creed II is better in every way. It's just a shame that it excels in everything but the most important element of a game- the GAMEPLAY. That said though, it's targeted towards a more casual audience who want more of a cinematic experience rather than intense and skillful gameplay as seen in Arkham Asylum. I guess this is more for the passive gamer rather than someone who really appreciates a solid combat system and will analyse every inch of level design. If you are a hardcore gamer chances are you won't enjoy this game very much because it's quite boring to play. A nice break though if you want something which is effortless and almost not even a game. Expand
  19. Jul 23, 2012
    5
    Charles Dickens said it best:

    "It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all
    Charles Dickens said it best:

    "It was the best of times, it was the worst of times, it was the age of wisdom, it was the age of foolishness, it was the epoch of belief, it was the epoch of incredulity, it was the season of Light, it was the season of Darkness, it was the spring of hope, it was the winter of despair, we had everything before us, we had nothing before us, we were all going direct to heaven, we were all going direct the other way - in short, the period was so far like the present period, that some of its noisiest authorities insisted on its being received, for good or for evil, in the superlative degree of comparison only."

    To summarise, this game is a juicy T-Bone steak.....With a sticky cat poo on top! Good game with a broken DRM system (Broken save sync). System lock every time i played, and missing game save progress wore me down until i was utterly sick of replaying what started out as a enjoyable game with good story line.

    It doesnt matter how good the steak is. Its impossible for the cat poo not to ruin what should have been a gaming feast.
    Expand
  20. Nov 10, 2013
    6
    In a couple ways this was better than the first AC. I liked the additional combat mechanics, the graphics seemed like they were a notch higher, there wasn't as much time out of the animus and it seemed less repetitive, better locations. I started out very excited, especially after the strong finish of the first one. I jumped right into this one. About 2/3 the way through though, IIn a couple ways this was better than the first AC. I liked the additional combat mechanics, the graphics seemed like they were a notch higher, there wasn't as much time out of the animus and it seemed less repetitive, better locations. I started out very excited, especially after the strong finish of the first one. I jumped right into this one. About 2/3 the way through though, I encountered the timed platforming challenges. Make it through a platforming puzzle before the gate closes. Usually fun, and challenging. Fighting with the controls and the fixed control camera, is not fun. The combat started getting more heavy, as you'd expect and this issue started to rear it's ugly head more, as my timing was confounded by a cinematic swing that ended up behind a bush, tree or NPC. I can only assume this is a terrible PC port. I'm guessing the console folks had better control of the camera. Had to take quite a few points off, because I had to quit the game a couple times out of frustration, and started becoming eager for the end of the game. That being said, the game did finish off strongly, with an intriguing addition to the story line for the series. Expand
  21. Aug 5, 2012
    5
    Superior to the original, picturesque, and has an intriguing story, but is inaccessible through the weird memory system and combat is as easy as using the toilet
  22. Aug 13, 2012
    7
    Assassin's Creed 2 on PC haves stunning graphics, and It stands with It's positives, but the problematic controls and the disappointing DRM just make the PC version even worse than console version. Still, PC version isn't bad, and It's fun for a while. 78 out of 100.
  23. Dec 13, 2012
    7
    Would've been great if they cut down on the recycling of areas and timeline leaps. More of Desmond and more present day non-combat storytelling would've helped to break things up. Overall though it's a lot better than the original. Requiescat in pace.
  24. Mar 17, 2013
    7
    Even today, this remains one of the best assassin's creed games ever, I love this game, and everything about it. The only thing that disappoints me is the controls, I have played AC3 on PC, and loved the controls, I hoped that the controls on this game would be the same, if not at least similar. However, these were completely different, and so awkward, it took me a good 10 minutes or soEven today, this remains one of the best assassin's creed games ever, I love this game, and everything about it. The only thing that disappoints me is the controls, I have played AC3 on PC, and loved the controls, I hoped that the controls on this game would be the same, if not at least similar. However, these were completely different, and so awkward, it took me a good 10 minutes or so to fix the stupid thing (and it still wasn't perfect). I have had NO COMPLAINTS with the Uplay DRM, I really don't see what the trouble is, my only issue is the controls, otherwise it is an incredible game! Thats why I give it a 7 and not an 8 or 9. Expand
  25. Jul 1, 2013
    5
    Though enjoyable for a while, Assassin's Creed 2 prolongs its main story for way too long. The game mechanics really get repetitive and offer little more during the main story. At the end of the game you are forced to seek out collectables to advance in the main story, and I don't even want to think about playing all the side missions.

    Ezio is a great character and the gameplay is
    Though enjoyable for a while, Assassin's Creed 2 prolongs its main story for way too long. The game mechanics really get repetitive and offer little more during the main story. At the end of the game you are forced to seek out collectables to advance in the main story, and I don't even want to think about playing all the side missions.

    Ezio is a great character and the gameplay is somewhat enjoyable and the setting nice to look at, for some time. Should the main story take several hours less to complete and expand on its working gameplay mechanics, Assassin's Creed 2 doesn't really inspire me to check out any of the other games.

    I don't see the charm in the underlining scifi story with Desmond and Animus. Most of the time it only distracts you from the characters and environments you actually care about and even restricts the openness of the game: you cannot enter this area because Ezio doesn't remember this area or Ezio had these collectables when this memory occured. When the scifi story is actually developed, it is rushed and feels like a forced cliffhanger so that the Assassin's Creed games have some continuity. I decided not to care about the scifi story and enjoy assassinating people as Ezio. If only it could have ended sooner (and had a better ending, for that matter).
    Expand
  26. Jun 19, 2014
    6
    Not bad. Not great. Was fun at first but got a little repetitive. I liked the having your own town concept, but that too could have been a bit more developed.

    The port and UI wasn't that great, though. Obvious they didn't care much about the PC. You got used to it after playing for a while, though. The storyline started off good with the concept of revenge. They should have fleshed
    Not bad. Not great. Was fun at first but got a little repetitive. I liked the having your own town concept, but that too could have been a bit more developed.

    The port and UI wasn't that great, though. Obvious they didn't care much about the PC. You got used to it after playing for a while, though.

    The storyline started off good with the concept of revenge. They should have fleshed it out more deeply and kept that going, but instead, kinda just put it on the back burner.
    Expand
  27. May 22, 2015
    7
    This sequel is pretty good. Since most people liked to complain about the lack of variety in missions from the first one I'm reluctant to say it hasn't improved a lot. You have mostly assassinations, a few races and collectibles to find. What shines much more than its predecessor is the story, it flows much better, the narrative evolves more linearly, but in a cleaner pace. The controlsThis sequel is pretty good. Since most people liked to complain about the lack of variety in missions from the first one I'm reluctant to say it hasn't improved a lot. You have mostly assassinations, a few races and collectibles to find. What shines much more than its predecessor is the story, it flows much better, the narrative evolves more linearly, but in a cleaner pace. The controls are a mess but completely bindable, just go adjusting to whatever feels better and you should be fine. Expand
  28. Feb 21, 2015
    7
    It's a beautiful game, with great story and great action. But I have found it too easy on many occasions and as far the story goes it didn't give me a satisfying ending.
  29. Jul 1, 2015
    7
    - Good: Story, Concept, Parkour, Locations
    - Mixed: Gameplay
    - Bad: ---

    Better than Assassin Creed I but still lacking in gameplay department. Combat system is mediocre again and controls are pretty bad with M/K.
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Assassin’s Creed II is a gem, a truly masterpiece also on PC. Developing a new economic system, and bringing more attention to combats, notoriety and context-script, Ubisoft achieves an awesome and epic experience. This sequel is far better than the first one.
  2. The PC version of last year's beautiful action adventure is lots of fun, but you'll have to overcome its online-only copy protection and high price point.
  3. Two years later, Assassin's Creed tries again to make real those promises from Ubisoft, and prove itself as a better game than it was. The truth is that, despite the Renaissance setting, the vivid locations and the historical landmarks, the new features added don't really improve the sequel: the same repetitive mechanics remain, as the flawed enemy AI, a rough combat system and moments of frustration coming from issues with the camera and the control response in the platform sections. Assassin's Creed II it's still a good game but far from the masterpiece Ubisoft has been promising.