Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1212 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of Connor, the son of a Native American mother and English father. As a revolution is imminent, your people are threatened by a powerful movement aiming to quell the American revolution and seize control the colonies. After your village is decimated, you bind yourself to theAssume the role of Connor, the son of a Native American mother and English father. As a revolution is imminent, your people are threatened by a powerful movement aiming to quell the American revolution and seize control the colonies. After your village is decimated, you bind yourself to the cause of freedom, and set out on a decades-long quest to achieve it. Your predatory instincts, developed through years of hunting in rough tundra, enable you to pursue and kill your targets in silence. When overt combat becomes necessary, you can uncork a myriad of weapons including tomahawks, darts, and guns. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    100
    The PC version of Assassin's Creed III has been injected with eye-popping enhancements that bring its compelling story to life. It's like personally participating in the American Revolution without the consequences of death. The ticket price of traveling back to the fascinating period of America's battle for independence, and the fictional story that Ubisoft Montpellier has layered within it, is just a copy of Assassin's Creed III and a high-end PC. Just remember that you'll have to leave your social life behind.
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    92
    The best version so far. It solves many issues and keeps some others, and, even though it doesn't make the most of current PCs, we still think it's the best way to enjoy this outstanding game.
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    90
    If you're looking for the best platform to play Assassin's Creed III, well, take a look at the PC version and you won't be disappointed.
  4. Dec 6, 2012
    85
    Assassin's Creed III rekindled my love for the series. The new setting and characters were a great welcome for me, and the story was well told through some great writing and voice acting. There are some complications here and there that can bog the player down, but for the most part, the amount of content you get in this game is a steal for the price. The PC version is by far the best way to go if you have the rig for it, and the options for the PC players are satisfying.
  5. Jan 6, 2013
    85
    Although it's hard not to appreciate the story (the line between the good and the evil was never this thin in any previous Assassin's Creed) numerous technical issues prevent you from forgetting it's just a game. In addition controls are not very intuitive and low resolution textures occur far too often. Still it's definitely worth playing. [1/2013, p.52]
  6. 80
    Assassin’s Creed III proves to be, despite its promises, a rather indecisive game. It comes with so many strong elements, that it could have been the best Assassin’s Creed ever, but it fails to harmonically balance those elements. [January 2013]
  7. Dec 30, 2012
    40
    Bloated and hubristic, Assassin's Creed III is a shocking disappointment. If you adored Assassin's Creed II, you would be better served replaying that and forgetting this even exists. [Jan 2013, p.77]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome :P I really enjoy myself during my game-play. Although there are some bugs or glitches but they don't effect my gameThis game is awesome :P I really enjoy myself during my game-play. Although there are some bugs or glitches but they don't effect my game experiences. I believe assassin's creed 3 is worth a 10 score Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    Lot of fun, very solid port, the controls are much better than the previous games, combat still feels a bit awkward but I will probably getLot of fun, very solid port, the controls are much better than the previous games, combat still feels a bit awkward but I will probably get used to it, the graphics are a big step up, the people look almost real, the environments lush and full of detail, and in the frontier there are wild animals that you can hunt and skin, adding further into the depth, trees and rocks are fully climbable, and adds a lot to exploration, the voice work is really high quality, and you meet a lot of founding fathers like Ben Franklin, Sam Adams, and George Washington. My only issue is that Connor is kind of boring as a character, he doesn't have the charm that Ezio had, but he's still pretty cool. Good game over all, worth buying if you're a fan of the series. Expand
  3. Jan 28, 2014
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is honestly not as bad as everyone makes it out to be. Sure half the game is a tutorial, sure Connor is a little bland as a character. But the upsides of this game includes; The amazing music, the amazing graphics, the tight gameplay(If at times a bit glitchy). The only things that really pissed me off during the game is that half the time you played as either a young Connor, or Haythem. Don't get my wrong, those parts were okay, but then again a grown up Connor is on the cover, not Haythem, nor a little Connor. From my count, it takes at least 3 hours to even see the games actual protagonist. But other than that. This game is fine, you should get it, now that its like, $20 dollars at Gamestop. Expand
  4. Jan 18, 2013
    6
    Amazing graphics but cutscene after cutscene after cutscene after cutscene just destroyed what should have been a great game. Have played andAmazing graphics but cutscene after cutscene after cutscene after cutscene just destroyed what should have been a great game. Have played and enjoyed all the series but I am forcing myself to carry on to the end of this one. Less then half way there and I don't think I can take another guess what! ya a cutscene. What a pity. Expand
  5. Nov 28, 2012
    4
    Good: Pretty good story line, not a common scenario that you would see in other games. Graphics are good. Cities look realistic, definitelyGood: Pretty good story line, not a common scenario that you would see in other games. Graphics are good. Cities look realistic, definitely captures the feel of the era. Weapons are pretty cool. Fast travel has been added in more places than just the tunnels. The money systems have been revised, it takes a little more effort to make cash now. Haytham is a very well done character and really good voice acting. The naval battles are awesome, easily the most enjoyable part of the game for me.

    Bad: Very linear, yet jumpy story. There isn't a lot of creativity involved in what you do. Combat is great if you love cinematic kill shots, not so much if you enjoy honing your skills to get better. It's basically block when the warning thing pops up and mash the mouse button. It's often hard to pick up dropped weapons while in combat. There are some higher level AI that you fight that seem to just headbutt you and reverse your blocks making you just want to shoot them to end the hand to hand combat. Crafting seems very scattered and doesn't make much sense, why am I crafting barrels again? You will probably get stuck in the crafting menu until they get it patched. Lock picking... wtf. Doesn't make any sense at all. Your horse will likely get stuck inside of things frequently, but no big deal you can just call another. Better make sure you setup your shortcut key to the horse whistle though because your equipped weapons change by themselves. You may try to call a horse and wind up shooting a patrolling redcoat in the face. You can't just blindly jump from a viewpoint because it doesn't automatically line you up with the soft haystack at the bottom, this becomes annoying when you do the tree viewpoints and can't see the ground. Remember all those amazing underground puzzles in the past AC's? Yeah, none of that here. The main character isn't very likable. He's kind of an arrogant dick head to everyone. Achilles's story doesn't really end with a bang. Seems like they just ran out of time and forgot about that part. The story outside of the Animus is just out of control. It's not immersive and mostly leaves you with more questions than answers. The thing that frustrated me the most I'd say was the movement. The cities are designed to look more realistic, but unfortunately that means that rooftops are harder to traverse. Everything is very spread out, and it's hard to stay in the air for very long. The climbing seems to have been dumbed down a bit, when you want to climb it works nicely. If you're just trying to run away on the ground you will probably end up trying to climb the food cart or tree that's vaguely close to you, causing you to be surrounded. Graphics look nice, but aren't quite optimized. I have a decent rig, but there are lots of stutters especially when entering the big cities. At the end of the game, I'm very disappointed. I'd consider this the worst game in the series. So much potential, but not properly utilized.
    Expand
  6. Jun 28, 2014
    3
    Really disappointing. The game looks gorgeous but there is so little real game play. I feel like I am just running between objectives,Really disappointing. The game looks gorgeous but there is so little real game play. I feel like I am just running between objectives, walking if it is a stealth level.
    Even the combat is boring. X to attack, B to block. I had not played an Assassins creed game since 2 and I had hoped they would have improved the combat by now. It seems to have sped up a little bit, but it is still just attack, attack, counter, repeat. The controls are very over simplified, I tried playing with a keyboard and also a gamepad, but the controls seem way too dumbed down.
    I thought firing muskets would be satisfying, but they only have the range or a throwing knife and dont feel good to shoot. Climbing the ships mast at the beginning could have been an exciting moment, but I climbed up the wrong side of the mast, so I had to climb down and go up the side they wanted me to climb to continue.
    It is also the glitchiest game I have played in years. During the first sword fight in the game my enemy got stuck in a wall and I had to restart from checkpoint. When first arriving in Boston before even let off the leash enough to sprint I saw a frozen towns person and a dog stuck inside a pile of barrels. There are frequent ragdoll and other physics glitches.
    I only payed $5 for it in the steam sale and I still feel disappointed.
    Expand
  7. Dec 7, 2014
    0
    Utter **** the PC version is a disgrace to PC games, of course we;re talking about Goobysoft.

    The game is a bug festival, if you want to
    Utter **** the PC version is a disgrace to PC games, of course we;re talking about Goobysoft.

    The game is a bug festival, if you want to open a Quality Control business, you need to show this to your employees as a reference.
    Expand

See all 330 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.