Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 21 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 1174 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Assume the role of Connor, the son of a Native American mother and English father. As a revolution is imminent, your people are threatened by a powerful movement aiming to quell the American revolution and seize control the colonies. After your village is decimated, you bind yourself to the cause of freedom, and set out on a decades-long quest to achieve it. Your predatory instincts, developed through years of hunting in rough tundra, enable you to pursue and kill your targets in silence. When overt combat becomes necessary, you can uncork a myriad of weapons including tomahawks, darts, and guns. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 21
  2. Negative: 1 out of 21
  1. Nov 30, 2012
    100
    The PC version of Assassin's Creed III has been injected with eye-popping enhancements that bring its compelling story to life. It's like personally participating in the American Revolution without the consequences of death. The ticket price of traveling back to the fascinating period of America's battle for independence, and the fictional story that Ubisoft Montpellier has layered within it, is just a copy of Assassin's Creed III and a high-end PC. Just remember that you'll have to leave your social life behind.
  2. Nov 25, 2012
    92
    The best version so far. It solves many issues and keeps some others, and, even though it doesn't make the most of current PCs, we still think it's the best way to enjoy this outstanding game.
  3. Dec 10, 2012
    90
    If you're looking for the best platform to play Assassin's Creed III, well, take a look at the PC version and you won't be disappointed.
  4. Dec 6, 2012
    85
    Assassin's Creed III rekindled my love for the series. The new setting and characters were a great welcome for me, and the story was well told through some great writing and voice acting. There are some complications here and there that can bog the player down, but for the most part, the amount of content you get in this game is a steal for the price. The PC version is by far the best way to go if you have the rig for it, and the options for the PC players are satisfying.
  5. Jan 6, 2013
    85
    Although it's hard not to appreciate the story (the line between the good and the evil was never this thin in any previous Assassin's Creed) numerous technical issues prevent you from forgetting it's just a game. In addition controls are not very intuitive and low resolution textures occur far too often. Still it's definitely worth playing. [1/2013, p.52]
  6. 80
    Assassin’s Creed III proves to be, despite its promises, a rather indecisive game. It comes with so many strong elements, that it could have been the best Assassin’s Creed ever, but it fails to harmonically balance those elements. [January 2013]
  7. Dec 30, 2012
    40
    Bloated and hubristic, Assassin's Creed III is a shocking disappointment. If you adored Assassin's Creed II, you would be better served replaying that and forgetting this even exists. [Jan 2013, p.77]

See all 21 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Nov 21, 2012
    10
    This game is awesome :P I really enjoy myself during my game-play. Although there are some bugs or glitches but they don't effect my game experiences. I believe assassin's creed 3 is worth a 10 score Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2012
    9
    Lot of fun, very solid port, the controls are much better than the previous games, combat still feels a bit awkward but I will probably get used to it, the graphics are a big step up, the people look almost real, the environments lush and full of detail, and in the frontier there are wild animals that you can hunt and skin, adding further into the depth, trees and rocks are fully climbable, and adds a lot to exploration, the voice work is really high quality, and you meet a lot of founding fathers like Ben Franklin, Sam Adams, and George Washington. My only issue is that Connor is kind of boring as a character, he doesn't have the charm that Ezio had, but he's still pretty cool. Good game over all, worth buying if you're a fan of the series. Expand
  3. Jun 15, 2014
    8
    Quite a nice game.Yes,the AC story has nearly every one possibility to be imagined or designed in story background setting.
    I see that many
    who played through its story and replied with words like Berserker Connor,Barbarian RadoonXXXdoon,and some other,with a global in-game synchronization of 40% or less.
    The berserk ones are you,not the game's character.
    Enough good words for the game.I know that the word "Assassin" doesn't stand for its literal meaning in the game,while the naval part is a bit robbing the place of the "basic" part:stealth and open combat in civilized land areas.Just like the tower defense part in Revelations,as a sole one,it's a good one.But in the other hand,it is better than that tower defense:the naval game doesn't disturb players' gaming fluency,and it gives the players opportunity to experience it when they are willing to.
    Climbing becomes too much easier,as we can just hold a forward key on the keyboard or pad and just wait for Connor climbing up the cliff or a large house.
    I've encountered some glitches,including the interaction flaw in the last part of the Infamy part of Washington DLCs and reported to UBI's support team and replied without absolute resolving.Some people suggest that manually editing or changing the files to correct it,which means to replay the Infamy story.I just waited until the new edition released and found that the glitch was still there,this reminds me those annoying glitches in Revelations got reported but still existing today.
    I suspect that there are some designers who are homo in UBI and they used the games of AC series to express and hype their intention to get involved.
    Doesn't sound like positive comment?But it is.It deserves the try.
    Expand
  4. Jan 27, 2013
    6
    A game that just doesn't stand up to the hype. Assassin's Creed 3 is slow to start up and drags its tail throughout the rest of the game. The music is highly unremarkable, notably so during segments between missions, where you are supposed to look for the bits and bobbles scattered around (feathers and viewpoints, mostly) as no music plays at all. The dead silence dulls the game and gives it a very tedious feel. Connor is incredibly bland as a character. His motives are very unclear, and his lack of characterization might as well place him as a silent protagonist. A definite step down from the wonderful Ezio (in 2 and Brotherhood).
    The only thing that really saves AC3 is its attention to detail, as it has thousands of location-specific animations and beautiful scenery (as long as you aren't in the underground tunnels, where quite a bit of pixelization and color messups reside).
    Would not recommend. If you want the best game in the series, play Assassin's Creed 2.
    Expand
  5. Dec 23, 2012
    4
    Honestly, I could almost copy my Far Cry 3 review over here since this game suffers from the same issues. AC3 as well is a prime example of mass produced casual garbage. It also suffers from a complete lack of creativity and vision, not to mention the same dreadful casualisation that aims to take all challenge out of the game and make everything so simple that even a monkey who fell as baby from a tree and badly hit it's head could do it. Why I'm giving it a higher rating than Far Cry 3 (Rating 1)? It's because the world is a little more immersive and you at least don't see blinking weapon and ammunition vendor machines in this game. Expand
  6. Mar 5, 2013
    3
    This game is a real dud of a game. The only two interesting game features in the game are the ship battles and the decent combat. All story and side missions suck and the game is full of bugs, waiting around and meaningless drivel. I am fan of AC2 and Revelations but this installment is completely skippable and uninteresting. Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2014
    0
    Absolutely abysmal. If you want to actually program your keyboard so that you can use the keys that make sense to you, forget about it. Except for really primitive games, where it isn't an option, I never use the WASD keys to maneuver, but this game forces you to, because the designers were too lazy to bother with a user friendly game. I tried for a while, but it was just too uncomfortable to play.

    And to add insult to injury, the game made me create a Uplay account, despite the fact that I had purchased it on Steam.

    I certainly won't be buying another of this series.
    Expand

See all 327 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2012 Games Preview: Notable Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2012
    You might have to wait until next year to play GTA V or BioShock: Infinite, but there are still plenty of major games arriving over the next few months, including a new Assassin's Creed, the latest Call of Duty, and the beginning of a new Halo trilogy.