Auto Assault PC

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Auto Assault Image
Metascore
72

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 43 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Combine fast-paced vehicular combat with high-tech, futuristic weaponry and hundreds of intense skills and you get Auto Assault -- a unique departure from traditional Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Games (MMORPGs). Hop in your own customized cars, semis, and motorcycles andCombine fast-paced vehicular combat with high-tech, futuristic weaponry and hundreds of intense skills and you get Auto Assault -- a unique departure from traditional Massively Multiplayer Online Role Playing Games (MMORPGs). Hop in your own customized cars, semis, and motorcycles and prepare to fight the mutated creatures and bandits of Auto Assault's post-apocalyptic world. Battle other players both in arenas and in epic race vs. race wars for control of the regions in a devastated Earth. Auto Assault uses the power of the Havok physics engine to let you make insane jumps, send obstacles flying and even blast bridges, buildings, fences and trees with your car-mounted rockets. Anything you can hit, you can destroy. [NCsoft] Expand
Buy On
  • Developer: NetDevil
  • Genre(s): Role-Playing, Massively Multiplayer Online, Massively Multiplayer, Sci-Fi, Sci-Fi
  • # of players: Massively Multiplayer
  • Cheats: On GameFAQs
  • Rating: T
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 12 out of 34
  2. Negative: 0 out of 34
  1. Pelit (Finland)
    86
    Mad Max brought to MMORPG world, finally! Too bad that action-packed fighting is almost the only thing the excellent setting is used for, at least for now. Luckily the action is all good and enjoyable. [Apr 2006]
  2. Is it fun? Yes. Is it graphically pleasing? Yes. If Auto Assault suffers from any problems they would be a repetitive influence in missions, and a lack of players, giving the sparse world an even sparser feel.
  3. Such potential is marred by a lack of polish and care- there is simply too much that is flawed or missing to place this game in the "great" category, despite the noble ambition of delivering a unique MMO experience.
  4. If you like the idea of driving while firing machine guns and rocket launchers from your mobile death machine in a post-apocalyptic wasteland in a fully-destructible environment, this is the place to do it.
  5. Combines the vehicular glee of Jayce and the Wheeled Warriors with the ultraviolence of Rambo or Carmeggedon. What lets it down is ugliness, its hunger for power (and the corresponding technical issues), and the knowledge that this would be much better and more coherent as a purely single-player game.
  6. AceGamez
    70
    For now it feels too much like a single player game with some nice multiplayer options, and there's no real incentive for you to invest much time or money in it once the free trial has ended.
  7. Edge Magazine
    50
    The short-term gratification is gradually diminished by too-obvious regeneration of the damage you cause, and there's not enough variety of experience to sustain a monthly subscription. [June 2006, p.90]

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 21
  2. Negative: 2 out of 21
  1. Oren
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    Phew, this game is amazing. It has everything a serious MMORPG player would want! Great PvP? Check! Multi-layered PvP (areans, free-roaming Phew, this game is amazing. It has everything a serious MMORPG player would want! Great PvP? Check! Multi-layered PvP (areans, free-roaming and more)? Check! An extremely deep crafting system? Check! Tons of customizations? Check! Economy? Check (auction houses are forthcoming)! Housing? Check! Auto Assault includes some revolutionary mechanics as well, including destructible world and random loot (meaning that hardly ever two drops will be the same). In addition, the countless missions are full of lore, and the setting itself is refreshing. I was never attracted to car games, but Auto Assault just grabbed me and wouldn't let me go. It will happen to you as well, if you just give it a try. Highly recommended! Expand
  2. YTurnipsRgood
    Apr 13, 2006
    10
    All I can say is it's really unique and a blast. It's good to see that someone other than Nintendo cares about innovating in this All I can say is it's really unique and a blast. It's good to see that someone other than Nintendo cares about innovating in this stagnant market. Been playing in beta for a while and can't go back to other mmos after playing. I tried, didn't work. Everything feels so slow and cliche afterwards, the game truly is a riot. Expand
  3. RodLong
    Apr 14, 2006
    10
    Good game. I love the freedom the game has and the huge feel. It is fun even getting around going from mission to mission. Many other MMOs Good game. I love the freedom the game has and the huge feel. It is fun even getting around going from mission to mission. Many other MMOs lose me here. Great genre. Don't base the game on experiences you may have had early in beta. The game has come a long way since then! Expand
  4. SteveC.
    Apr 9, 2006
    9
    I've been on the beta test for a long time--- this game is great. It's got all the best parts of an MMO while still feeling very I've been on the beta test for a long time--- this game is great. It's got all the best parts of an MMO while still feeling very actiony and unique. It's awesome, fast-paced action that feels like Twisted Metal or something but has full RPG stats, elements, and leveling. No death penalty, and the combat feels great! The graphics are excellent with lots of cool weather and stuff going on, there are big duststorms and snowstorms, and excellent weapons and explosion effects also. If you're the kind of person that wouldn't normally play a massively multiplayer game you should definitely give this a try, I think you'll love it as much as I do. Great game. Expand
  5. MichaelN.
    Apr 29, 2006
    9
    If you love speed and things that go KABLOOSH!!, then this is the game for you.
  6. Daniel
    Apr 15, 2006
    9
    I love this game! Just so you know, I'm the type of gamer who always wanted to get into Everquest and WoW, but I just didn't enjoy I love this game! Just so you know, I'm the type of gamer who always wanted to get into Everquest and WoW, but I just didn't enjoy the combat in them enough to stick it out. Auto Assault is the first MMO that is actually fun for me to play. It's got all the stuff you'd expect, with character classes, skills, and equipment, but playing the game is much more fast-paced and fun! Expand
  7. SeanRodman
    Apr 13, 2006
    1
    I was a beta tester for a long time on this game. The control scheme is so terrible as to make the cars virtually undrivable. A great I was a beta tester for a long time on this game. The control scheme is so terrible as to make the cars virtually undrivable. A great idea...but an awful game in execution. Expand

See all 21 User Reviews