Avencast: Rise of the Mage Image
Metascore
68

Mixed or average reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.3

Mixed or average reviews- based on 33 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Avencast: Rise of the Mage is a Role Playing Game set in a perilous fantasy world. The player begins his journey as an adept attending the renowned magic academy – AVENCAST – a place of learning in a world of wizardry, wonder and untold mystery. When Avencast is descended upon by demonicAvencast: Rise of the Mage is a Role Playing Game set in a perilous fantasy world. The player begins his journey as an adept attending the renowned magic academy – AVENCAST – a place of learning in a world of wizardry, wonder and untold mystery. When Avencast is descended upon by demonic hordes the very survival of his world is at stake. While the hero grows in power and becomes a battle scrarred mage, he must fight off nightmarish creatures and transcend dimensions into the past to track down his own destiny. Avencast: Rise of the Mage is a game accessible to both novice RPG players while still challenging core RPG and Action fans with a variety of skills and strategies. [LightHouse Interactive] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 11
  2. Negative: 1 out of 11
  1. 81
    If you're looking for a short, fun, single-player romp through magical realms on your PC, this game is a great choice to satisfy that urge.
  2. PC Gamer
    78
    These concerns aside, Clockstone Software has crafted a magically entertaining spell-casting experience--and an unexpectedly decent game. [Apr 2008, p.67]
  3. This is a single-player title that would do well to introduce newer players to the genre, but will give veterans a nice old-school experience.
  4. Pelit (Finland)
    70
    Technically Avencast got everything right: fighting is fun, interface is functional and the game has beautiful graphics; especially the spell effects are great. But the game itself is too simple, it’s almost completely hack’n slash. The action gets repetitive pretty fast, storyline is horrible collection of clichees and most of the spells are unnecessary. Still, if you’re a huge Diablo, Nox, Sacred, etc. fan, you might find Avencast attractive. [Jan 2008]
  5. 70
    With so many typical fantasy RPGs coming out all the time, it’s nice to see something a little different in Avencast Rise of the Mage. Despite the cliché setting and plot, it manages to differentiate itself well by incorporating environmental puzzles and an action-oriented control system.
  6. At the end of the day Avencast is a solid action role-playing game with some great puzzles and a combat system that tries to do things differently.
  7. PC Zone UK
    34
    There are bigger, better and cheaper RPGs out there. [Jan 2008, p.87]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 9
  2. Negative: 2 out of 9
  1. Jun 9, 2013
    10
    Great game, much under appreciated. Such a hidden gem, i recommend it to anyone for its great fun, interesting combat system. Its one of thoseGreat game, much under appreciated. Such a hidden gem, i recommend it to anyone for its great fun, interesting combat system. Its one of those games you didn't expect to be much but then you are surprised. Expand
  2. Nov 1, 2014
    10
    I believe that this game is the very definition of a hidden gem. The combat is fun, pretty and your different spells have different effects.I believe that this game is the very definition of a hidden gem. The combat is fun, pretty and your different spells have different effects. The story is great since you are starting of small and then it just keeps growing and into something epic. To many games undervalue the mage but this one gives you a glimpse of what they can be. Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2012
    9
    I personally loved the game. The scenario is very good but rather typical, the gameplay adds action and rpg elements to create something mostI personally loved the game. The scenario is very good but rather typical, the gameplay adds action and rpg elements to create something most entertaining and the graphics are sooo awsome ! The only drawback is that I found it TOO hard, even on normal difficulty. Anyway, I would recommend it to any guy who likes fantasy stories and has a lot of patience Expand
  4. May 15, 2012
    8
    I say that this is a game very difficult to play for the first time, and is very scary!
    Still, you have an arsenal of spectacular spells and
    I say that this is a game very difficult to play for the first time, and is very scary!
    Still, you have an arsenal of spectacular spells and the graphic makes this beautiful.
    But it's too short, once you have done everything, to replay the game is boring.
    But it works!
    Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2015
    6
    Avencast is a good way to the RPG genre, with its nice story line (till what I have reached), nice graphics and reminds me the times when IAvencast is a good way to the RPG genre, with its nice story line (till what I have reached), nice graphics and reminds me the times when I was a young child reading the Harry Potter series of books and imagining myself in Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry which I feel the developer done a good job on

    But I was put off very quickly (30 minutes into the game) but its awkward control scheme, voice acting that made me feel like the game was treating me like a child rather than a normal person playing a good RPG game and the "fetch quests" like "Oh I need this, but before I tell you where it is, you must go and get me a special potion", which really bugs me and I hate that in RPG games, I would like an RPG game where like in Enclave by Starbreeze Studios that make it all linear and to the story rather than fetching something so that the guy who asked to go and fetch it can actually tell you then when you traveled far and wide, the next person does the same thing! For me developers who do this just make it like that so that the can extend the story rather than let's say 6-8 hours of gameplay they extend it to 10-15 hours of gameplay, and me personally I do not like really long games

    Now you might say "Oh, so if you don't like fetch quests than that means you don't play RPG games at all", no, not as such, I do play some RPG games that have only one or two fetch quests in the whole game, that for me is fine, but where you see a game where it is mostly 10-15 hours long, expect loads of fetch quests, which really makes me bored and sad that I cannot enjoy these great/good RPG games

    Overall, I am giving this game and not recommended NOT because it is not playable or is glitchy as hell and you can't play it, but because of its awkward control scheme and because of its ridiculous amounts of side quests and fetch quests

    BUT, if you like a nice game (like this) that reminds me that I am in Hogwarts, then this is the game for you, not kidding, it is actually a very good well presented RPG game, but puts ME off for its other features that most RPG games have
    Expand
  6. Oct 16, 2013
    5
    Sadly this didn't do much for me at all. Sure, there are worse RPGs out there, but you know... there are SO many better ones, and given theSadly this didn't do much for me at all. Sure, there are worse RPGs out there, but you know... there are SO many better ones, and given the wealth of games on the market, I'd say there's a lot more on your list before you get down to this one. Expand
  7. Dec 23, 2015
    3
    Avencast has nothing to offer that is noticeably good or original, nothing to give it a more than average note.

    On the other hand, its
    Avencast has nothing to offer that is noticeably good or original, nothing to give it a more than average note.

    On the other hand, its combat system is so bad that I started getting bored with it right in the fighting tutorial. Ouch !

    And finally, something very puzzling: the camera is so limited that I can never see high enough to make my vision comfortable. Hard to explain, but it's strangely and psychologically unbearable.
    Expand

See all 9 User Reviews