Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 265 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game features the most awesome mercenaries in the galaxy in their fight for territorial supremacy. Awesomenauts brings Russian monkeys with jetpacks, giant robots, and lots of other mighty aliens to the two-dimensional console battlefield. Combining classic platforming-action with modernThe game features the most awesome mercenaries in the galaxy in their fight for territorial supremacy. Awesomenauts brings Russian monkeys with jetpacks, giant robots, and lots of other mighty aliens to the two-dimensional console battlefield. Combining classic platforming-action with modern online multiplayer functionality, the action-packed gameplay offers everything the 16-bit generation and modern gamers love. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    Awesomenauts has fantastic potential, but is not quite there. Tweaks to the balancing and AI will make this one a star.
  2. 80
    A clever spin on the MOBA genre that strips away the complications and nerdy presentation to create a fast-paced but deceptively complex action strategy game.
  3. Aug 7, 2012
    80
    Awesomenauts is a deep multiplayer battler with the approachability of a Saturday-morning cartoon.
  4. Aug 13, 2012
    78
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Aug 3, 2012
    75
    Awesomenauts has a good and effective mix of genres: platformer, strategy and action.
  6. 70
    Splendid multiplayer mayhem contains a strong factor of addictiveness – unusual design and perfect playability will keep you in the game for a long time. [Nov 2012]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 77
  2. Negative: 7 out of 77
  1. Apr 26, 2015
    10
    Awesomenauts is a 2D MOBA that is... well AWESOME!

    The game is a take on 80s cartoons and in space, this means there are a lot of
    Awesomenauts is a 2D MOBA that is... well AWESOME!

    The game is a take on 80s cartoons and in space, this means there are a lot of references including He-man, Terminator and more! The gameplay is simple, but a lot of fun and addicting!

    All of the nauts are unique from eachother and they all standout on their own, plus if theres one you don't like, there will be another naut who you might enjoy! We got Leon who is an Assassin, Lonestar a Cowboy pusher, Scoop an Ice cream knight and much more!

    The game is a must have for platformer gamers and MOBA lovers, it's easily one of a kind and does it's job well, plus the kickass soundtrack helps this game A LOT!

    Only downside is the balance is a bit messy, however Ronimo (The devs) are fixing these as we speak! Every patch someone becomes balanced, Over or Underpowered and it's actually really funny.
    Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    I have no idea how, but i cant seem to be able to not have fun in this game. The awesomenauts/champions/Heroes are all fun in their own wayI have no idea how, but i cant seem to be able to not have fun in this game. The awesomenauts/champions/Heroes are all fun in their own way and each of them bring something unique into every game. being a big fan of the "DOTA clone" genre i cant help but to recommend this to anyone else who enjoys this genre of games. Collapse
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Well worth 10 dollars, there's gonna be a bunch more free skins on the way from what I understand if anyone was interested in that.

    This
    Well worth 10 dollars, there's gonna be a bunch more free skins on the way from what I understand if anyone was interested in that.

    This game is a 2D platformer moba without the a-holes from those games, I swear playing dota 2 changed me into an evil person almost, but holy crap this game is so laid back and fun, it's still competitive but fun.

    To me, getting kills isn't nearly as satisfying as getting them in dota 2 but the over all game play just feel so slick.

    Instead of buying items, you buy upgrades, and the abilities are pretty cool the game is well worth 10 dollars.

    It does need a few balances though, but otherwise it's a solid game well worth looking at.
    Expand
  4. Jun 9, 2014
    9
    Moba + Platformer? Why not! Awesomenauts has an incredible unique touch that doesn't take itself seriously! With ridiculous characters andMoba + Platformer? Why not! Awesomenauts has an incredible unique touch that doesn't take itself seriously! With ridiculous characters and also the soundtrack, the game is quite charming! The community is different than most moba as there is less competition and more fun! Not expensive, easy to play and very enjoyable I recommend it for everyone! Expand
  5. May 24, 2013
    8
    This game is worth the money as its got really good gameplay, graphics and sound! Also love the humour and style of the game. I also can'tThis game is worth the money as its got really good gameplay, graphics and sound! Also love the humour and style of the game. I also can't believe that someone actually made a Dota Platforming game which blown my mind! Expand
  6. May 9, 2013
    8
    Got to say, 2D MOBA really works for me. I mean, I really don't like games like Dota 2 or LoL, played both, and tried to learn them, butGot to say, 2D MOBA really works for me. I mean, I really don't like games like Dota 2 or LoL, played both, and tried to learn them, but pretty much got the feeling that there is no fun to be had with these games, but Awesomenauts is really fun and I like it, and my girlfriend likes it too. One thing that's bad about it is that there are only 4 maps, and I feel it could use a lot more.
    Character selection is good, fits mine and my girlfriends play-styles (mine more agile, her raw power).
    The game seems a little bit unfair with the kills, as the last shot gets all the credit, and the one who might have taken off all the damage, gets no credit at all, not even an assist. But I guess thats the case with all MOBAs, which is another part I don't like about them.
    If you're just starting to play with friends, I would recommend playing a private game, with bots, so you could adjust the difficulty level and learn. Going straight to play against real people will be hard.
    So in conclusion, I would totally recommend this game even to people who are not MOBA lovers.
    Expand
  7. Jan 25, 2015
    0
    Do NOT buy this game! just don't!
    The devs are moneyseekers, they want you to pay WAY too much money for stupid skins, which have a horrible
    Do NOT buy this game! just don't!
    The devs are moneyseekers, they want you to pay WAY too much money for stupid skins, which have a horrible design. Then there is the game itself, which is even more bad then their sales model. It's full of toxic players, they insult you every match. Ronimo only bans nice people and lets the ragers play. Then ther's the matchmaking, which is also HORRIBLE, you get paired with league 1 players while you are in league 9, so when you stat your first match ever, you're gonna be up against the best. Impossible to play. Then there's the lag, this game has P2P connections, that is horrible. There is ALWAYS someone teleporting from one side to the other and hitting you through walls. Then there is character balance, which is also HORRIBLE, as some characters are superOP and others are useless. Also the starstorm dlc isn't even finished, and it features PAY2WIN characters with superpowers. They had A LOT of money through crowdfunding, because players wanted the devs to work on connections, instead they wasted the money and just kept making more dlc to steal even more money from players! The game is soooo broken, unplayable. the devs should be ashamed. Also, the forums are corrupted, because when you say 1 bad word about the game you get an IP-ban. This game needs to die.
    Expand

See all 77 User Reviews