Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 236 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The game features the most awesome mercenaries in the galaxy in their fight for territorial supremacy. Awesomenauts brings Russian monkeys with jetpacks, giant robots, and lots of other mighty aliens to the two-dimensional console battlefield. Combining classic platforming-action with modern online multiplayer functionality, the action-packed gameplay offers everything the 16-bit generation and modern gamers love. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 7, 2012
    80
    Awesomenauts has fantastic potential, but is not quite there. Tweaks to the balancing and AI will make this one a star.
  2. 80
    A clever spin on the MOBA genre that strips away the complications and nerdy presentation to create a fast-paced but deceptively complex action strategy game.
  3. Aug 7, 2012
    80
    Awesomenauts is a deep multiplayer battler with the approachability of a Saturday-morning cartoon.
  4. Aug 13, 2012
    78
    Quotation forthcoming.
  5. Aug 3, 2012
    75
    Awesomenauts has a good and effective mix of genres: platformer, strategy and action.
  6. 70
    Splendid multiplayer mayhem contains a strong factor of addictiveness – unusual design and perfect playability will keep you in the game for a long time. [Nov 2012]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 58 out of 71
  2. Negative: 5 out of 71
  1. Dec 23, 2012
    10
    Awesome 2d Moba Platformer. Worth the $10,Only problem is it needs more characters and maps.But still really fun and a different style of moba games because of its platforming and you choose your own loadout for the shop. Expand
  2. Sep 26, 2012
    10
    I have no idea how, but i cant seem to be able to not have fun in this game. The awesomenauts/champions/Heroes are all fun in their own way and each of them bring something unique into every game. being a big fan of the "DOTA clone" genre i cant help but to recommend this to anyone else who enjoys this genre of games. Expand
  3. Oct 14, 2012
    10
    Well worth 10 dollars, there's gonna be a bunch more free skins on the way from what I understand if anyone was interested in that.

    This
    game is a 2D platformer moba without the a-holes from those games, I swear playing dota 2 changed me into an evil person almost, but holy crap this game is so laid back and fun, it's still competitive but fun.

    To me, getting kills isn't nearly as satisfying as getting them in dota 2 but the over all game play just feel so slick.

    Instead of buying items, you buy upgrades, and the abilities are pretty cool the game is well worth 10 dollars.

    It does need a few balances though, but otherwise it's a solid game well worth looking at.
    Expand
  4. Jan 26, 2014
    9
    Awesomenauts is an outstanding game that goes above and beyond expectations of a new take on a MOBA. Lets get one thing straight, if you are one of those people who only like a certain genre of video games like fps this isnt for you. The game is very different compared to anything i've seen in a long time which should be noticed because it seems lately that there are either fps' or zombie games which i am tired of. With new updates and a brand new DLC that is in early access the game has really changed to something you can play for hours on end. Many characters to choose from each with a different advantage and disadvantage keeps you from saying the common phrase "THAT **** IS OP". Limited settings are not bad because the game is simple and there is controller support and local play. These are 2 things i feel that should be implemented into more games. Each time you play a game it tends to go on anywhere from 20 to 40mins which is nice for those times you cant play a most likely 1 hour LoL or DoTA match. The only complaints i have is that when there is clearly a game where you are losing but is gonna go on for too long you can't surrender. The last and possibly best part of the game is how although the game looks simple and easy it is difficult enough that you have to learn things about the game that takes some time to get used to. Maps can be memorized and there is even a level up and prestige system in the game to keep making you want to comeback for more. I have played 200hours of this game and have over 30 other video games. I can personally tell you that this game is well worth the money you pay for it. Expand
  5. Feb 14, 2013
    8
    I had no idea this game existed until I saw it on sale for 3.39$ on steam, I looked up into it to see if i would be interested, I liked what I saw/read so I got it and hoped that I wouldn't regret purchasing it. It was well worth it, turns out I did enjoy it, I played games like Dota 2, and Smite before so I understood the whole objective and to experiance a whole different type of Moba is overwhelming. The gameplay is simple, not so tough, but still gives you a challenge against whoever your facing. Also this game is local co-op so if you always have somebody always wanting a turn to play you can just hand him or her a gamepad and start blasting away. I'm not really finding that much lag well I did play this game for about 2 hours and plan to continue until further notice. Also another problem is whenever my connection will stop since it will do that from time to time, I wouldn't be able to enter that same match I was in, now it should really include a function that will allow you to do that like in the other moba's. I'm having no problems with match making because sometimes the bots will play much better then the player, and when a person does straight up leave the game you get a decent replacement at a close lvl, since this is a moba game where you may have a bad team against a good team so noone should really be complaining about that logic. Expand
  6. Jun 9, 2013
    8
    This is a very good game some character imbalances but overall very nice i didn't actually buy this game my friend gave it to me as a gift and i wouldn't really buy this on my own but its still fun Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2013
    0
    Avoid this game at all costs. The producers are just out to make a buck from some poor, unwitting slob that thinks Saturday Cartoons and MOBA cannot possibly fail.

    Horrible balance.
    Bad latency.
    Rubber banding even!
    Oh, did I mention the bugs and exploits?

    Yeah, glad I didn't spend the money on this game. Got it as a gift, had I purchased it I'd ask for a refund.
    Expand

See all 71 User Reviews