User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 80 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 57 out of 80
  2. Negative: 13 out of 80

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 25, 2010
    9
    An excellent, fully fledged sequel to the original trilogy. I just got through the first episode, and was thoroughly amused with the voice acting, writing, and story progression. This could easily have been a fourth movie, especially considering the story takes off six months after Back to the Future Part III ended, when Doc got himself lost in time, yet again.

    I only have two
    complaints, the first of which is the MSRP of $25. The game only took me three hours to complete, which is very short compared to most games. Out of a $50 game, people generally expect at least 20 hours. So to only get three from a $25 game is a big let down. However, since the release I have seen some stores price it at $20, which is a tad more reasonable.

    My second complaint is that I'm going to have to wait until near the end of next year to play part five, and the conclusion of this awesome game! I'm already ecstatic for part two, coming in February!
    Expand
  2. Dec 25, 2010
    8
    Great game for fans of the series who've always imagined where a fourth movie would go. The only problem some might have with the game is that those who buy it now are only getting 2-4 hours worth of gameplay. THE PRICE INCLUDES EVERY EPISODE! So you will get a notification whenever the second is available and be able to download it without any further cost. Also, some might be turned-off by the point and click adventure format. Again; if you're not a die hard BTTF fan the game will probably underwhelm you. All that said, the story is excellent, and it is very rewarding to put together the actions to complete each task. The voice acting from Lloyd is great as expected and the Fox sound-a-like is outstanding. If you love the series and bought the new blu-ray (which will give you the first episode for free in Feb.) this is a perfect companion piece. Expand
  3. Jan 4, 2011
    10
    I absolutely loved this game - it really is like Back to the Future Part 4!

    Here's my Top 50 games of all time:

    The Legend of Zelda a Link to the Past
    Super Metroid
    The Legend of Zelda
    Metroid Prime (Trilogy)
    Banjo-Kazooie
    Resident Evil 4
    Tetris DS
    Words with Friends (Scrabble)
    Super Mario Galaxy
    Mike Tysonâ
  4. Feb 5, 2011
    3
    An extremely disappointing experience. The game play is very sad and the graphics leave much to be desired. I highly doubt I will play any of the additional free "chapters", when they come out. This game enforces the stereotype that Hollywood can not make games. A 25 dollar lesson learned; never buy movie titled games until they are on sale AND average 75% or better from atleast 3 or 4 game critics (user scores preferred, with no less than 30 reviews). Expand
  5. Aug 8, 2012
    6
    Made my way through 2 out of 5 episodes. Not a bad game. It has the right atmosphere (even if somewhat cliched). Story is ok (even if a little repetitive). I liked the characters and voice acting. Gameplay-wise it's a run-of-the-mill point and click adventure, no surprises. It's mildly entertaining, but feels a bit too mechanical to me. Characters often lack context and motivation. Puzzles are hit and miss. All in all, the game is enjoyable if you have reasonable expectations.

    Now, what I want from a game like that is a lot of polish; solid, 100% frustration-free gameplay. Unfortunately it's not always the case. First, movement is screwed up. On occasion it feels like walking through a maze with invisible walls that you need to "feel" your way around. E.g., can't cross the street here, need to walk a bit to the left and cross there, although there is no visible obstacle of any kind. Why!? Camera adds to the confusion. Important locations can be hard to spot, because camera provides no clue. E.g., need to walk straight to the camera to suddenly find yourself in some alley that was completely invisible before. This is what I call "frustrating". Shame on you, Telltale.

    On a few occasions I failed to figure out puzzles, not because they were too hard, but because I failed to trigger some arbitrary game event. Not good either.

    Also, why there are so many "action" sequences? I get it, it's an adventure. But they're all kinda samey and lack tension. Monkey Island had sword fights and they were fun. Action sequences - not so much.

    Overall, meh+. I still plan to try the 3rd episode. Should be ok. I am not terribly excited about it though.
    Expand
  6. Zan
    Jan 18, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Before I get into my assessment of the game, a quick response to mentions of the price in other comments: The current price of $25 US or 15 British pounds (according to Grey1972) includes all 5 episodes of Season 1 in that price, but episodes 2-5 won't be available until February, so you're getting 10-20 hours of game play for that price, not just 3. This is the same scheme they used for Sam and Max and Monkey Island. Episode 1 will be available for individual purchase around the time Episode 2 comes out, probably for about $7-8. Until then you can only pre-purchase the entire season, but it will save you money in the long run.

    Now onto the game review: Overall, a satisfying experience for Back to the Future fans, and fans of other TellTale games. The puzzles take some thought but none are too difficult to solve on your own. The built in hint system, if you choose to use it, gives enough info without giving it away. I saw a few glitches pop-up but nothing serious (although I did here a report of one possible game breaking bug, so be sure to save on a regular basis) All of the Back to the Future cliches are there-- ancestors of George McFly and Biff Tannen, a Manure incident, the clock tower/courthouse, as well as connections to some other side characters. As for things that are missing - there's no explanation yet as to where Clara is (this is supposed to be 6 months after BttF III), and no one from Marty's mother's family has shown up yet, but that may come in a later episode. Anyway, it's a fun casual game that you can play in one sitting if you have a few hours, or wait you can play it in short spurts. If I had any wish for future episodes, its that they will be a little longer and have a few more challenging (but not insane) puzzles. The one thing I've always found lacking in Telltale games is multiple ways to get to the same point, sometimes with different endings as a result (See King's Quest 5 for a game that did this really well), but they are one of the very few companies keeping the adventure game genre alive so I still love them.
    Expand
  7. Jun 25, 2011
    10
    Best game of this type. You will enjoy it if you are a fan of the movies
  8. Jan 2, 2011
    8
    As a fan of both Telltale Games and the Back to the Future trilogy, I've been very excited about this release. And it was worth it. What Telltale delivered was a smart game that stays true to the Back to the Future story, has the same talent behind the script, and lots of easter eggs for the hardcore fans. Now, the game isn't perfect, obviously. The episode is short (it took me only a little under 2 hours) and the puzzles aren't challenging, that's a shame coming from Telltale. My second complaint is that the setting you're in feels very stale. Maybe it's just the time period, but it bored me. The voice work in this game is fantastic, and a special nod to Christopher Lloyd and AJ LoCasio for their stellar performances. If you're a telltale fan, you'll love it for the (light) gameplay. If you're a Back to the Future fan, you'll play it for the story that continues the saga without causing any time paradoxes. If you're a fan of both...well, you're in for a treat. Expand
  9. Jan 31, 2014
    8
    One of Tell Tale games intermediate releases (after Sam & Max and before the rise of the Walking Dead), "Back to the Future" progresses the story of Marty McFly after the third movie (and suggests a sequel). Having grown up on the movies, I loved just playing around in the world. A lot of the graphics and puzzles are really engaging, at the end of the day the game feels like it was put together on something of a tight budget and that shows in the levels/settings (which get re-used over and over with touch ups as you travel back and forth in time). Now balance that with the fact that Christopher Lloyd reprises his role as Emmett Brown? Thumbs up, especially if you like adventure games! Expand
  10. Feb 25, 2011
    8
    Great game , Story seems a little silly and the game play can be a little frustrating at times but it is fun to see the back to the future story line continue on. For the price I would say buy it
  11. Jan 2, 2011
    1
    top game but i finished this in under an hour shame on u 15 pound may be cheap but theres 5 coming at 15 = 75 pound for 3 hours AVOID such a shame ill wait for ps3 one hopefully will have all instalments on one game then
  12. Feb 15, 2011
    9
    Amazingly fun game! Remember that people? Fun? Best I can describe this game is classic back to the future feel and story mixed with monkey island. Now the graphics are kinda sub par but they're clean, the controls are a bit off, but the story is awesome, witty, and convoluted time paradox mess! The explanations doc brown gives are classic back to the future. The voice acting for Marty is amazing. I laughed more than a few times, and there is one particular scene in which I actually thought I experienced something truly original in a gaming experience that stretches back to the early 80's I won't give anything away but it has something to so with making something.

    It's a very easy game as far as the puzzles, however I truly had fun with it and was only disappointed in the length, FAR too short! I was finished under 2 hours but man what a good time! I'm really quite eager for the next episode!
    Expand
  13. Feb 23, 2011
    1
    I will use this game as a tool to measure what each of the "official critics" has as a lowest grade available to them. Because frankly, the most accurate description of this game was made by "PC Gamer UK".
    -"A waste of time; dull and shoddy, Back to the Future fails to deliver on anything that made the movies so much fun."

    As someone who actually grew up watching these the brilliant
    movies, I can only say that I wouldn't play this game even if it was free... The game might, (and this is the biggest bone I can throw at this "game"), be somewhat appealing to kids that have yet to learn how to click about on the screen, because the game plays like a childrens pop-up book. Expand
  14. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    As a huge fan of the original movie trilogy, this game really does an amazing job of bringing back that feeling of wonder and excitement that Doc Brown and his Delorean inspired.

    The game itself is simple enough to master without reading a manual or playing tutorials. The interface leaves a little to be desired as sometimes getting where you want to go can be less than perfect, but these
    minor annoyances are more than made up for by the game's intelligent puzzles and genuinely entertaining story.

    In fact the story feels much like the movie, but with a completely original plot that introduces some new characters (such as a young Emmitt Brown) and of course old favourites like George McFly and the Tannens.

    Probably my favourite aspect of the game, though, is how accurate the model of the Delorean is. Every detail is made to look exactly like the movies, even down to the (less than obvious) "shield eyes from light" embossed tape stuck to the flux capacitor.

    No hoverboards yet, but I'm hoping they'll make an appearance before the end. Currently awaiting episode 3 with much anticipation!
    Expand
  15. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    this games story line is awesome.... Bang for the buck I love it game play is excellent work buying very time comsumingand the story is great
    i recommend this game to anybody of all ages
  16. Jun 6, 2011
    0
    "Back to the Future: The Game" is not only easily the worst thing I have ever played, I'm not sure I even played it. When I went back and tried to do anything other than what the "correct"(and, frankly, stupidly obvious) solution was to these badly-made puzzles, the game hit me with a vague "I can't do that with that" dialog. There are points when things happen in the story for no reason, they're just triggered by entirely unrelated and arbitrary triggers. There are times when entire sections of the game world are cut off from you for no reason, including one point where an invisible wall is put up in front of an OPEN FENCE that you're normally allowed to walk through. You don't PLAY this game, you watch a badly-animated movie and then click on something to continue.

    Insipid and intellectually insulting, don't bother with this piece of garbage. Avoid at all costs.
    Expand
  17. Jun 29, 2011
    10
    I just got this game yesterday, since all the Episodes are available and this game captures the essence of Back to the Future from the musical score, atmosphere and the feeling of you being Marty McFly.

    Granted I am only in Episode I, but having a AWESOME time reliving this movie in a video game. I was 14 years old when this movie was released and saw it with my parents and little brother
    at the time.

    So if your a TRUE FAN of all the Back to the Future movies, you won't be disappointed .
    Expand
  18. Jul 25, 2011
    7
    A great first installment that stays true to the Back to the Future feel and characters, however it is very simple and provides more questions than answers (perhaps a good thing). Very enjoyable, but short and somewhat disjointed. I want to play the second episode now, for the story, but also in the hope that it gets even better.
    Read my full review on http://scarecrowssong.tumblr.com
  19. Oct 28, 2013
    5
    Back to the Future is full of wasted potential. It's a shame they wasted such a good license on a point & click game. It's a plus, however, to see that the voice acting in the game is superb, however the lip syncing is beyond terrible and the character animations are bad as well. The story, which should be the star of the game, is often confusing and always uninteresting. It continually drags and you will have no interest in seeing what happens next. The biggest problem, however, is that the game just isn't that fun. It has a couple spots, brief spots, where you want to play. Other than that, the game is just a complete drag. It's only worth it if you're a huge fan of the movies and need to see more of the franchise. Expand
  20. Apr 20, 2012
    7
    Episode one debuts approximately six months after the events of the third 'Back to the Future' film and doesn't waste any time delving into what's been happening in Hill Valley since the final movie concluded. Strong points are the voice acting, notably the actor who portrays the character of Marty McFly whose voice bears an uncanny resemblance to that of Michael J. Fox. Although the controls feel a little clunky and the graphics aren't the finest around the storyline is fantastic and lives up to the amazing legacy of the flicks we all love. Expand
  21. Dec 31, 2011
    7
    Interactive Cinema, that's what this game is. That isn't a bad thing either. This Marty sounds very much like early 80's Michael J Fox. I'm a big fan of the trilogy, but this was one of the weaker of the game episodes
  22. Aug 26, 2012
    9
    I took it for what it is and had a lot of fun with it. Gameplay is NOT the core, its a simple point and click adventure, the fun is meant in the figuring out the situations and following the plot. I really liked the movie, and this little game did not disappoint, it has the feeling and humor of it.
  23. May 4, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed it very much. I would have preferred to have skipped a few of the WASD sections where you walk around, but it doesnt overly bother me too much. There were no notable performance issues that i experienced. Voice acting was very good i thought, the actor sounded very much like Marty, i wasnt as impressed with the graphics styles though
  24. Jun 3, 2013
    9
    Excellent old school adventure!

    In the game you can feel same spirit that you felt when you where watching the original movies. Graphics is 100% fit this kind of game!
  25. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    A solid point and click game, with a few annoying puzzles. The story is superb, it actually feels like a fourth movie. Voice acting is also extremely good, especially Christopher Lloyd does a great job, and Michael J. Fox even appears in the last episode. There is a lot of references from the movie trilogy, which are really cool and I laughed out loud often. I wouldn't recommend this game to anybody that hasn't seen or doesn't like the movies though. The game is not very challenging, especially when you have a hint system that doesn't punish you in any way. There's also a number of problems with the game engine, since every now and then the screen freezes for a second, and I know that I am not the only one with this problem. That problem doesn't break the game though, but can be a little annoying at times. Expand
  26. Mar 9, 2014
    9
    If you're a BTTF junkie, it's a must have.
    It has the same flavour as the movies, even that little things.
    The story is fun but the puzzles are rather easy.
    Just enjoy the ride.
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. Mar 21, 2011
    75
    A solid start for the series, though a little too short and easy to complete. Telltale, please, we want more! [Feb 2011, p.105]
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    Generally speaking, Back to the Future: The Game is still worth some attention for fans of the movies. Its appropriate choices in art and audio, along with its 200% dedication to the films, will definitely keep Future fanatics off the manure. However, when it comes to the gameplay, my advice would be to try and not take it too seriously.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    80
    Too easy and too short...but sparkling dialogues and a brilliant interpretation will move every Back to the Future fan.