User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 95
  2. Negative: 14 out of 95

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 8, 2012
    6
    Made my way through 2 out of 5 episodes. Not a bad game. It has the right atmosphere (even if somewhat cliched). Story is ok (even if a little repetitive). I liked the characters and voice acting. Gameplay-wise it's a run-of-the-mill point and click adventure, no surprises. It's mildly entertaining, but feels a bit too mechanical to me. Characters often lack context and motivation.Made my way through 2 out of 5 episodes. Not a bad game. It has the right atmosphere (even if somewhat cliched). Story is ok (even if a little repetitive). I liked the characters and voice acting. Gameplay-wise it's a run-of-the-mill point and click adventure, no surprises. It's mildly entertaining, but feels a bit too mechanical to me. Characters often lack context and motivation. Puzzles are hit and miss. All in all, the game is enjoyable if you have reasonable expectations.

    Now, what I want from a game like that is a lot of polish; solid, 100% frustration-free gameplay. Unfortunately it's not always the case. First, movement is screwed up. On occasion it feels like walking through a maze with invisible walls that you need to "feel" your way around. E.g., can't cross the street here, need to walk a bit to the left and cross there, although there is no visible obstacle of any kind. Why!? Camera adds to the confusion. Important locations can be hard to spot, because camera provides no clue. E.g., need to walk straight to the camera to suddenly find yourself in some alley that was completely invisible before. This is what I call "frustrating". Shame on you, Telltale.

    On a few occasions I failed to figure out puzzles, not because they were too hard, but because I failed to trigger some arbitrary game event. Not good either.

    Also, why there are so many "action" sequences? I get it, it's an adventure. But they're all kinda samey and lack tension. Monkey Island had sword fights and they were fun. Action sequences - not so much.

    Overall, meh+. I still plan to try the 3rd episode. Should be ok. I am not terribly excited about it though.
    Expand
  2. Jul 25, 2011
    7
    A great first installment that stays true to the Back to the Future feel and characters, however it is very simple and provides more questions than answers (perhaps a good thing). Very enjoyable, but short and somewhat disjointed. I want to play the second episode now, for the story, but also in the hope that it gets even better.
    Read my full review on http://scarecrowssong.tumblr.com
  3. Apr 20, 2012
    7
    Episode one debuts approximately six months after the events of the third 'Back to the Future' film and doesn't waste any time delving into what's been happening in Hill Valley since the final movie concluded. Strong points are the voice acting, notably the actor who portrays the character of Marty McFly whose voice bears an uncanny resemblance to that of Michael J. Fox. Although theEpisode one debuts approximately six months after the events of the third 'Back to the Future' film and doesn't waste any time delving into what's been happening in Hill Valley since the final movie concluded. Strong points are the voice acting, notably the actor who portrays the character of Marty McFly whose voice bears an uncanny resemblance to that of Michael J. Fox. Although the controls feel a little clunky and the graphics aren't the finest around the storyline is fantastic and lives up to the amazing legacy of the flicks we all love. Expand
  4. Dec 31, 2011
    7
    Interactive Cinema, that's what this game is. That isn't a bad thing either. This Marty sounds very much like early 80's Michael J Fox. I'm a big fan of the trilogy, but this was one of the weaker of the game episodes
  5. May 4, 2012
    7
    I enjoyed it very much. I would have preferred to have skipped a few of the WASD sections where you walk around, but it doesnt overly bother me too much. There were no notable performance issues that i experienced. Voice acting was very good i thought, the actor sounded very much like Marty, i wasnt as impressed with the graphics styles though
  6. Jun 18, 2013
    7
    A solid point and click game, with a few annoying puzzles. The story is superb, it actually feels like a fourth movie. Voice acting is also extremely good, especially Christopher Lloyd does a great job, and Michael J. Fox even appears in the last episode. There is a lot of references from the movie trilogy, which are really cool and I laughed out loud often. I wouldn't recommend this gameA solid point and click game, with a few annoying puzzles. The story is superb, it actually feels like a fourth movie. Voice acting is also extremely good, especially Christopher Lloyd does a great job, and Michael J. Fox even appears in the last episode. There is a lot of references from the movie trilogy, which are really cool and I laughed out loud often. I wouldn't recommend this game to anybody that hasn't seen or doesn't like the movies though. The game is not very challenging, especially when you have a hint system that doesn't punish you in any way. There's also a number of problems with the game engine, since every now and then the screen freezes for a second, and I know that I am not the only one with this problem. That problem doesn't break the game though, but can be a little annoying at times. Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2013
    5
    Back to the Future is full of wasted potential. It's a shame they wasted such a good license on a point & click game. It's a plus, however, to see that the voice acting in the game is superb, however the lip syncing is beyond terrible and the character animations are bad as well. The story, which should be the star of the game, is often confusing and always uninteresting. It continuallyBack to the Future is full of wasted potential. It's a shame they wasted such a good license on a point & click game. It's a plus, however, to see that the voice acting in the game is superb, however the lip syncing is beyond terrible and the character animations are bad as well. The story, which should be the star of the game, is often confusing and always uninteresting. It continually drags and you will have no interest in seeing what happens next. The biggest problem, however, is that the game just isn't that fun. It has a couple spots, brief spots, where you want to play. Other than that, the game is just a complete drag. It's only worth it if you're a huge fan of the movies and need to see more of the franchise. Expand
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 39 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 39
  2. Negative: 3 out of 39
  1. PC Games (Russia)
    Mar 21, 2011
    75
    A solid start for the series, though a little too short and easy to complete. Telltale, please, we want more! [Feb 2011, p.105]
  2. Mar 16, 2011
    70
    Generally speaking, Back to the Future: The Game is still worth some attention for fans of the movies. Its appropriate choices in art and audio, along with its 200% dedication to the films, will definitely keep Future fanatics off the manure. However, when it comes to the gameplay, my advice would be to try and not take it too seriously.
  3. Mar 9, 2011
    80
    Too easy and too short...but sparkling dialogues and a brilliant interpretation will move every Back to the Future fan.