Baldur's Gate: Enhanced Edition Image
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 39 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 347 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Baldur's Gate: Enhanced Edition includes the entire Baldur's Gate adventure, the Tales of the Sword Coast expansion pack, and some never before seen content as well.

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 39
  2. Negative: 1 out of 39
  1. Dec 11, 2012
    100
    Overhaul Games has succeeded in making one of the big RPG classics available on modern machines. The infinity engine looks great in HD and all the esthetics are well preserved. The new stuff is okay, but most importantly Baldur's Gate can now be fully enjoyed again, as it deserves.
  2. Dec 7, 2012
    89
    The game may not be perfect, and it may not be particularly easy, but that doesn't mean it isn't a fantastic game that RPG fans of all shapes shouldn't try.
  3. Dec 8, 2012
    85
    With this renewed edition, the first chapter of the Baldur's Gate saga revives of a new life, thanks to the original expansion pack "Tales of the Sword Coast" and the new original adventure "The Black Pit" made by Overhaul Games.
  4. Dec 4, 2012
    80
    The classics never die. Baldur's Gate still is awesome. A must have for anyone that not played the original, but less recommendable for the veterans of the saga.
  5. Dec 12, 2012
    80
    Should you buy Baldur's Gate: Enhanced Edition if you own it on GOG? Probably not. A few optional characters, a Horde mode, and a few built-in modifications do not a Really Special Edition make. You should absolutely play Baldur's Gate if you don't mind isometric RPGs that give you a real challenge, since the writing is still amazing and both the world and combat system are still really deep and engrossing.
  6. Dec 17, 2012
    79
    All in all, you'll have to make that decision for yourself. If you want to play the game as it originally looked, or if you want to pay the barrel bottom price, pick the GoG version, but if you think the game is worth a bit of money, want to play the game with a bit of tweaks to make it more usable, or want access to the excellent new content, be sure to at least give the Enhanced Edition a look.
  7. Jan 24, 2013
    40
    The unfortunately named Enhanced Edition fails to make a compelling case for its existence in any meaningful way, especially when you consider its asking price of twenty bucks can net you both the original Baldur's Gate and the far-superior sequel from a site like GOG, and downloading a few free mods that make them really shine takes mere minutes of your time. I would highly recommend that course of action instead.

See all 39 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 92
  2. Negative: 24 out of 92
  1. Dec 16, 2012
    10
    I will give this a 10 just because they are bring the best game series of all time back to life. It's freaking Baldur's Gate. The best gameI will give this a 10 just because they are bring the best game series of all time back to life. It's freaking Baldur's Gate. The best game I've ever played! I can't wait for the following releases especially BG2 and finally BG3. I feel like a kid again :) Expand
  2. Jan 18, 2013
    10
    Based on read user reviews ppl are rating this game based on how much it cost (which ofc will drop) and thats not fair in my opinion becauseBased on read user reviews ppl are rating this game based on how much it cost (which ofc will drop) and thats not fair in my opinion because in this case most good AAA games at its release would be rated much lower. To counter this im giving it 10/10 although otherwise i would rate it 9/10. BGEE is a great game it doesnt spoil anything that is in vanila game and it just adds higher resolution and few new quest connected with new NPCs that are added in this game and not to mention hundreds of bugfixes.
    Overhaul did what they wanted and that is to bring this great game to new generations and pll who dont bother spending hours with installing dozens of mods before actually playing this great game.
    Expand
  3. Jan 30, 2013
    9
    Quite a treat for us infinity fans, the franchise is just the best out there, BG was, is and will be the epitome of rpg story driven adventureQuite a treat for us infinity fans, the franchise is just the best out there, BG was, is and will be the epitome of rpg story driven adventure of all time.

    At this point - several major patches have arrived making the rather unpolished initial release quite impressive.

    Simply a must for any fan or newcomer of strategy rpg.

    Oh yea almost forgot, ad&d 2nd edition is just spot on.
    Expand
  4. Sep 12, 2013
    7
    Having owned the original version of this game with several discs, it must be said that the main reason for obtaining this game isHaving owned the original version of this game with several discs, it must be said that the main reason for obtaining this game is convenience. The enhanced edition adds a few extra characters and quests here and there, but it is largely the same as the original. There have been a number of issues with bugs in the steam edition, but these are fixable and hopefully updates are on the way now that contractual issues have been resolved. Worth a positive score simply because the original game was that good, but this port has not enhanced the game in any particular way. Definitely worth playing if you enjoy RPG's, it's the most in depth game of it's time. Expand
  5. Dec 11, 2012
    5
    I had great hopes, becausei absolutely loved and adored baldur's gate 2.. and having never played BG1, i was very excited..turns out, it didI had great hopes, becausei absolutely loved and adored baldur's gate 2.. and having never played BG1, i was very excited..turns out, it did not hold up for me.. you would have a better experience with the game when using the Gog edition.. with all the community content.. Expand
  6. Dec 3, 2012
    3
    Gave it 3/10
    The original game is a legend, no scratch that it beyond legend.
    BUT dont look at this as the golden BG we all know and love
    Gave it 3/10
    The original game is a legend, no scratch that it beyond legend.
    BUT dont look at this as the golden BG we all know and love this is a half baked version so filled with bugs that I actually wanted to cry. Its also overpriced, has day one dlc and the dev's attidute is smugness with them treating paying customers as beta testers. And lets face it they can - the game is sold thru their own launcher and was denied steam acess so good luck trying to get your money back.
    Expand
  7. Jan 17, 2013
    0
    I made an account on this website just to say this: Stay away from this game if you love baldurs gate. They **** the game up, it was a bigI made an account on this website just to say this: Stay away from this game if you love baldurs gate. They **** the game up, it was a big waste of money. The new interface is so ulgy, the only thing they did was merge all the community content. Which was FREE to begin with. Seriously the company that made this should go broke and be forgotten. 20 Euro's ?? YOU KIDDING ME? Expand

See all 92 User Reviews