User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1452 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    This game is really fun but Windows Live is terrible to navigate through and because of a glitch in windows live i could never save the game it would always go the beginning so i had to play all in one insane session. Because of that 5/10 otherwise it would have been 9/10.
  2. BenW
    Nov 15, 2009
    7
    Definitely the best Batman game out there. I was lured by the high scores this game achieved in the reviews as I normally avoid syndicated games like the plague. However this game is good, the graphics and atmospherics as exciting and very DC comics. The animations are excellent and the backdrop enguaging. The game play however is good, but inflexible and linear. Once youve played the Definitely the best Batman game out there. I was lured by the high scores this game achieved in the reviews as I normally avoid syndicated games like the plague. However this game is good, the graphics and atmospherics as exciting and very DC comics. The animations are excellent and the backdrop enguaging. The game play however is good, but inflexible and linear. Once youve played the game for a few hours, you get the idea. The setup with its central area and riddler clues to pick up is a bit like Tony Hawks skating for Batman fans. Its good, but its not Half-life 2. Expand
  3. ColbyA.
    Jan 6, 2010
    7
    I have a hard time rating this game, because I find it utterly boring - like most console games. But, in all honestly, it's good for what it is. Graphics are good, it's true to Batman as a character (i.e. he doesn't kill anyone, just KO's them), and it has a bunch of fun gadgets to use. My complaints with the game, however, are that it focuses to much on boring, I have a hard time rating this game, because I find it utterly boring - like most console games. But, in all honestly, it's good for what it is. Graphics are good, it's true to Batman as a character (i.e. he doesn't kill anyone, just KO's them), and it has a bunch of fun gadgets to use. My complaints with the game, however, are that it focuses to much on boring, repetative collection side-quests (that are often ridiculously difficult to solve), some of the boss fights are unfair and unbalanced (and often tricks aren't explained until you miraculously figure them out after dying 20 times), and regular combat is reptative and you are forced into VERY unbalanced fights with no weapons other than your fists against 5 or more enemies. There are a number of choke points I ran into where I simply couldn't get past 5 to 8 enemies that all attacked me at once because mastering the fighting system is a challenge for all but the most veteran of players with all but the fastest reflexes. Difficulty curve was, simply, a little to challenging. I also really, really, really hate completing a section and being forced to revisit it for an old gadget that was impossible to access the first time through, or simply to try and track down a boss for a third time. Revisiting old sections is really boring, and you have to do it ALOT with this game. Expand
  4. JeffA
    Nov 27, 2009
    7
    Great looking, but I got bored with it. Totally linear, repetetive - buttom mashing dumb but cool looking combat. Overrated. Very consoley!
  5. Sep 5, 2011
    7
    Batman Arkham Asylum is a fun and worth while single player game managing to make good use of the Batman francise. The game play is fairly fun but eventually becomes too much of a button masher, while it does look cool to bash the crap out of a mob of bad dudes it unfortunately runs on autopilot most of the time. The story is pretty basic but works decently, the main problem I have with itBatman Arkham Asylum is a fun and worth while single player game managing to make good use of the Batman francise. The game play is fairly fun but eventually becomes too much of a button masher, while it does look cool to bash the crap out of a mob of bad dudes it unfortunately runs on autopilot most of the time. The story is pretty basic but works decently, the main problem I have with it is the same problem I have with most comic book 'franchises' in that as it is a franchise there never seems to be an end, we know that batman is never going to die (if he did they will just bring him back to life), he will never totally defeat his enemies either, they will always come back again and again which does water down the story's significance. Recommened. Expand
  6. Jul 21, 2013
    6
    I would like to clarify a few things for potential buyers (only reason you're reading this). This is a campaign/story type game with mild puzzle type elements. If you have played darksiders then you are in the right ballpark. I knew this was a campaign/story type game and I bought it anyway determined to play even though I am a sandbox kind of guy.

    Bottom line, even as a marginal
    I would like to clarify a few things for potential buyers (only reason you're reading this). This is a campaign/story type game with mild puzzle type elements. If you have played darksiders then you are in the right ballpark. I knew this was a campaign/story type game and I bought it anyway determined to play even though I am a sandbox kind of guy.

    Bottom line, even as a marginal batman fan (only batman I ever liked was Frank Millers The Dark Knight Returns graphic novel) you are going to get something out of this. The force that is Batman is communicated here but mostly graphically. For those of us who enjoy sandbox the gameplay is incredibly claustrophobic. But in a puzzle-like way which is why it works. At least for the gazillion people who gave it a 10 here. You get strung along in extremely linear fashion with some gratifying puzzle-like play in your attempts to complete level challenges and bosses. I can't really stress how claustrophobic progression is though. The gratification for completing this game is equivalent to reading a book. You want to complete the story rather than experience the awesome gameplay. And I guess thats what divides us gamers, those who want a mild challenge with more story and those who want an insane challenge with no story. So to sum up my review, if you know what type of gamer you are you should definitively know whether you will enjoy this game to the fullest, or not. If you are man enough to admit you are a softcore gamer and would enjoy this go for it. Otherwise steer clear because you will be filled with mostly, contempt.
    Expand
  7. Darkplace
    Oct 1, 2009
    7
    Only played the demo thru Steam, so have limited exposure...however this game is almost brilliant. The one thing and IMHO means I will not be buying this game is the camera controls are terrible. Many times I ended up looking the wrong way and fighting the wall! This is really frustrating I even tried messing around with the settings - something I never normally need to do - to no avail. Only played the demo thru Steam, so have limited exposure...however this game is almost brilliant. The one thing and IMHO means I will not be buying this game is the camera controls are terrible. Many times I ended up looking the wrong way and fighting the wall! This is really frustrating I even tried messing around with the settings - something I never normally need to do - to no avail. I guess if you can handle the camera this would be a 9 however I can't. 7. Expand
  8. Mar 29, 2011
    7
    I wanted to give this game a go because I love adventure/action games and this has had great reviews and a GOTY status. I have to say that this is a good game because of the stealth sections and memorable scarecrow sections. The combat flows smoothly and is kept interesting with having a few different guards with varying weapons and ways to deal with them. However, I felt that the bossesI wanted to give this game a go because I love adventure/action games and this has had great reviews and a GOTY status. I have to say that this is a good game because of the stealth sections and memorable scarecrow sections. The combat flows smoothly and is kept interesting with having a few different guards with varying weapons and ways to deal with them. However, I felt that the bosses were poor as most of them just looked down from their ivory tower while you just deal with more guards. Only one of them didn't follow this trend, which is disappointing as I would have liked more variety. At the games current price it is worth a try, but I would have been hesitant to recommend it at full price. Expand
  9. Apr 1, 2011
    7
    Best superhero game ever, there was a lot of gameplay variety, and it was not too difficult. it was fun to try to get all challenges. the graphics were not the best I've ever seen, but it was not very bad to see. I think the bigger monsters / bosses were the best since a long time in game everytime. Now I expect many of the successor of this game.

    (Sorry for bad English)
  10. Apr 17, 2014
    6
    In general a good start for a batman series, but the controls in general feels sometimes like playing with broken fingers.
    The area is small and the quest is let you run always across it :-( .Fighting is funny when you are familiar with controls once. Batman looks dangerous but in fact he is a ****
  11. CraneC
    Sep 27, 2009
    6
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is pretty much the same as Batman: The Rise of Sun Tzu, except it adds other types of fights and the whole detective interface. The game has alot of interesting concepts like the whole enemy blood pressure and fear levels, but they don't really affect the gameplay. The whole gliding system is great, as well as the grapple system. The gme isn't fluid enough Batman: Arkham Asylum is pretty much the same as Batman: The Rise of Sun Tzu, except it adds other types of fights and the whole detective interface. The game has alot of interesting concepts like the whole enemy blood pressure and fear levels, but they don't really affect the gameplay. The whole gliding system is great, as well as the grapple system. The gme isn't fluid enough in my opinion though, whenever you fight the venom soldiers, you are in an arena type place, and you always kill them the same way, whenever you are fighting armed enemies, you are in a large room with gargoyles on the roof. Whenever you fight unarmed enemies, it becomes more of a button masher than a gadget game. The storyline is total garbage. It uses GFWL, but has no multiplayer, which is just retarded. They tried to use the scarecrow to add a FEAR, type gameplay, but then they just turned the scarecrow levels into a minigame which is really boring. The game could have been aot better if they had thought it through a little more. Expand
  12. brads
    Oct 3, 2009
    5
    I am not a Batman fan; I am playing this game just as is with no baggage attached. Detectective mode requires no detective work. Some weird design decisions drag this game down for me.The story is not egaging enough to hide just how linear the game play is. Graphics are ok with out being anything special. The fight animations are fantastic. I am uninstalling it at 43% as I am finding it tedious.
  13. Aug 13, 2014
    5
    It's good in some ways and a pain in the *** in other ways. Some of the major battles require you to work with the WASD keys in a weird action mode and it makes it even more difficult to accomplish anything, which in turn makes it frustrating. And I'm playing on easy just because I want to get it over with! If you find this game for under $20 it might be worth it, but other than that, theIt's good in some ways and a pain in the *** in other ways. Some of the major battles require you to work with the WASD keys in a weird action mode and it makes it even more difficult to accomplish anything, which in turn makes it frustrating. And I'm playing on easy just because I want to get it over with! If you find this game for under $20 it might be worth it, but other than that, the more recent Batman Gotham City is a much better version of the game series. Expand
  14. StevenH
    Sep 15, 2009
    6
    This is probably the most overrated game this year. This Batman game takes the implausibility and inaccuracy of the cartoon and does it up in the "adult" visuals of the new Batman movies. In the most contrived story yet, Joker springs many of the major supervillains from Arkham, forcing Batman to pit himself against the Joker, Harley Quinn, Killer Croc, Bane (whom he hardly landed a This is probably the most overrated game this year. This Batman game takes the implausibility and inaccuracy of the cartoon and does it up in the "adult" visuals of the new Batman movies. In the most contrived story yet, Joker springs many of the major supervillains from Arkham, forcing Batman to pit himself against the Joker, Harley Quinn, Killer Croc, Bane (whom he hardly landed a successful punch on in the comic), Zsasz, Scarecrow, Poison Ivy, and hundreds of muscular armed thugs and men pumped up with super soldier serum all in the same night. Never mind the fact that Bruce Wayne nearly died after putting the same number of petty criminals away over the course of 3 weeks back in 1993 (when his back was broken by Bane, who is more like 6'2" and 250 pounds than the 5'6" 140 pounds the game lists him as). Gameplay consists of Assassin's Creed in a Batman setting with limited God of War upgrades and boss battles. In other words it's like every other beat 'em up/adventure game in the past 5 years. The graphics are okay, not pressing the envelope by any circumstances, since its development was stunted by multi-console development. Lip synching is truly terrible and many of the models look like they stepped out of Doom 3 (2004). Music consists of orchestral hits and people thrumming back and forth on string ensemble constantly. The story is terrible, the gameplay is derivative, the graphics are nothing special, the music is boring, but throughout it all Eidos has managed to put together an actual functional Batman game and let hype and tasteless masses fill in the blanks. There is fun to be had here... For about 12 hours. I got the game this morning and beat it this evening, 75% complete. I could probably spend about 5 or 6 more hours collecting the remaining Riddler trophies and challenges, but micromanagement for "achievements" is not my idea of fun (especially on PC where "gamer point" systems are less visible). Your mileage may vary if you enjoy running around empty landscapes and watching the same animations over and over in an attempt to gain virtual credentials. Overall, the experience was not completely awful, and made today barely more entertaining, but it was nothing groundbreaking, hardly worthy of the hype it's receiving, and I probably won't pick it up again. Expand
  15. Nov 11, 2011
    6
    "Batman: Arkham Asylum" is a better-than-average action game that really is just...solid. The graphics and textures are sweet and cool, but the basic controls are not. Unlike the xbox 360, free flow combat is quite harder due to the idiotic keyboard settings the game has. The story is solid, which is pretty good and fine to me, but the campaign is too linear. After all the setting's"Batman: Arkham Asylum" is a better-than-average action game that really is just...solid. The graphics and textures are sweet and cool, but the basic controls are not. Unlike the xbox 360, free flow combat is quite harder due to the idiotic keyboard settings the game has. The story is solid, which is pretty good and fine to me, but the campaign is too linear. After all the setting's limited to an asylum, right? In conclusion B:AA is a solid game that can either be a masterpiece to Batman fans or mediocre. Expand
  16. Oct 12, 2011
    6
    Bought this game on the strength of reviews. It's another total console port - you really need a gamepad to play it correctly, and if that's what you want, a button-mashing console port on your PC, you'll probably be quite happy with this.

    If you're not looking for console-style play, look elsewhere.
  17. Nov 23, 2011
    6
    It's not a bad game, but there was just something about it that couldn't help keep my attention span on it. The fighting system is pretty good, the graphisc are actually decent and the camera angles and various puzzles are interesting, but there is something lacking in this game that I have had trouble putting my finger on for quite some time. I have never understood how everyone rantsIt's not a bad game, but there was just something about it that couldn't help keep my attention span on it. The fighting system is pretty good, the graphisc are actually decent and the camera angles and various puzzles are interesting, but there is something lacking in this game that I have had trouble putting my finger on for quite some time. I have never understood how everyone rants and raves about this game, other than assuming there are a tonne of batman fans out there. After trying it myself (7.50 on Steam, midweek sale baby!) I definitely got my 7.50 worth but would have never gotten my 60 dollars worth. Here's hoping everyone enjoyed Arkham City and it was a bit more expansive. Expand
  18. MaxD
    Jan 2, 2010
    6
    The game is ok, but tbh i prefer FPS or MMORPG over this style of game. The checkpoint system sucks if you die in a room where you cleared 7/8 of the henchman, making you repeat the whole stage again from the start including the cut scene which you already watched. The story does not last that long, which is true for most new games with great graphics and tbh its part of the reason i The game is ok, but tbh i prefer FPS or MMORPG over this style of game. The checkpoint system sucks if you die in a room where you cleared 7/8 of the henchman, making you repeat the whole stage again from the start including the cut scene which you already watched. The story does not last that long, which is true for most new games with great graphics and tbh its part of the reason i don't play console ported to PC games normally. I only got this one because it was cheap to buy from Steam, turns out i only got a weekends worth of entertainment out of it so it was quite expensive. Expand
  19. Sep 10, 2012
    7
    This game has only a few unique bosses. The others are the same boss about 5-6 times, just harder each time. Lots of luck needed on any mode but easy. You can't change difficulty mid-game so when your luck runs out, just quit and write a mediocre review on here like I did.
  20. Nov 22, 2011
    7
    This game clearly sets a standard for Arkham City to expand upon. The gameplay is near perfect with great controls. The problem is it's too short and whole game feels too restricted. You spend all your time in this one asylum and while it is a very intriguing location, the game just needs more: more locations, more stuff to do and more gadgets. From what I've heard, all these problems willThis game clearly sets a standard for Arkham City to expand upon. The gameplay is near perfect with great controls. The problem is it's too short and whole game feels too restricted. You spend all your time in this one asylum and while it is a very intriguing location, the game just needs more: more locations, more stuff to do and more gadgets. From what I've heard, all these problems will be fixed with Arkham City and will make this game look more like a blueprint for great things to come just like the original Portal. Expand
  21. Dec 14, 2011
    5
    I feel kind of bad for giving such an average score to a game that so many people seem to relish, but the fact of the matter is that this game really didn't grab me. At all. The beginning did get me interested for a little while, but after my first hour or so I found myself becoming less and less interested. The story isn't all that exciting (just another typicalI feel kind of bad for giving such an average score to a game that so many people seem to relish, but the fact of the matter is that this game really didn't grab me. At all. The beginning did get me interested for a little while, but after my first hour or so I found myself becoming less and less interested. The story isn't all that exciting (just another typical superhero-must-defeat-the-supervillain-who-is-doing-something-evil scenario), and I found the characters impossible to become emotionally attached to. When I'm tasked with saving the world, I would like a game to give me a reason to save it, which usually comes in the form of immersing myself in the world and with my companions. Unfortunately, Arkham Asylum does neither. I will point out one pro; however, and that is the combat system. It's simple, intuitive, and unbelievably smooth (Assassin's Creed could learn a thing or two, here). Combat was an aspect of the game that I never got bored with, despite its repetitive nature. Perhaps the hype surrounding the game simply placed my hopes too high, but I found my interest quickly waning within the first few hours. And then, in those first few hours, the game was over. Two casual sit-downs was all it took to finish Batman. It was a letdown for me, personally. Expand
  22. Dec 30, 2011
    5
    The voice acting is fantastic...especially the joker. The scenery is beautiful. The game looks good. The story is ok, but it could have been longer and more in depth. I really liked the sneaking around concept. I really felt like I was batman. My biggest issue was the lack of different types of enemies. The first boss is Bane, and every other boss in the game is exactly the same as BaneThe voice acting is fantastic...especially the joker. The scenery is beautiful. The game looks good. The story is ok, but it could have been longer and more in depth. I really liked the sneaking around concept. I really felt like I was batman. My biggest issue was the lack of different types of enemies. The first boss is Bane, and every other boss in the game is exactly the same as Bane except for poison Ivy. Scarecrow was creepy but not fun at all. Killer Croc wasnt even a boss....you just ran around in circles. Boss fights for me are what make super hero games great, and this one absolutely sucked. If it had good ones, I would have given it a 9. Even the Joker boss fight was Bane 5.0. Not to mention, there was no variety in the types of enemies you fought. They were all pretty much thugs with different types of weapons. The only cool part of the game was the poison ivy fight. Expand
  23. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    Good
    - Great atmosphere with great level design, good cut scenes and nice narrative.
    - Good extras
    Bad
    - Few identical boss fights
    - Final boss fight is just bad
    - Console port with console controls
  24. May 6, 2012
    5
    This game is in the vein of Alice, and Madness Returns, and Psychonauts. Better graphics than any of them with less style (same recycled style of recent Batman movies.) Simplified controls with in game tutorial prompts and solid response. This game would be a solid 9 (10 if you like Batman). I personally have to drop the score as I constantly found myself looking to recoup enjoyment sinceThis game is in the vein of Alice, and Madness Returns, and Psychonauts. Better graphics than any of them with less style (same recycled style of recent Batman movies.) Simplified controls with in game tutorial prompts and solid response. This game would be a solid 9 (10 if you like Batman). I personally have to drop the score as I constantly found myself looking to recoup enjoyment since install required FIVE different non game software packages (Steam, SecuROM, Windows Games, Nvidia Phsyx requiring brand specific card for full features, and XNA, plus DirectX and Game itself), three separate logins, two cd key entries, and SIX firewall exemptions, all for a game that you MUST be connected to save or access content. This game is seriously a needed boost for the dark humor action vain that always recieves attention for it's rarity and it does not disappoint. As a purchase It's hard to recommend if you are not a serious gamer who already has gone through every hoop already and don't love the Bat, since Alice, Riddick and a couple others can do the same.

    If this is just adding to your library then it is a wild and flowing ride that certainly delivers entertain dollar.
    Expand
  25. Mar 13, 2013
    6
    Before I played this game, I had a really high expectation. But it soon turned out to be a pretty disappointing game. Fight scenes are brief and easy, even in hard difficulty. Sneak behind the enemies is too easy, and not critical. I can go in to a fight without need to sneak in two or three. In other games of this genre if you don't sneak, you die!
    The graphics are ok, and the story is
    Before I played this game, I had a really high expectation. But it soon turned out to be a pretty disappointing game. Fight scenes are brief and easy, even in hard difficulty. Sneak behind the enemies is too easy, and not critical. I can go in to a fight without need to sneak in two or three. In other games of this genre if you don't sneak, you die!
    The graphics are ok, and the story is nice. but the lack of possibilities and the absurd amount of gadgets are a some of the reasons I don't love this game. But hey! It's a Batman game, which is the best thing in the game! But if you're not a batman fan, you probably won't like it very much.
    Expand
  26. Dec 29, 2012
    5
    The story and combat mechanics are excel greatly, but I was let down by how repetitive the boss fights were. You go through each fight at least 3 times, each getting increasingly boring and tedious. The only downfall to an otherwise excellent game.
  27. Dec 5, 2014
    7
    Showing the fact, what games like this one, can be more for people, what were before "their own try" judging them and after "that try", they realised the real truth!..
  28. Apr 15, 2014
    7
    Last Played: March 2014 (with XBOX controller)
    PROS: + Who doesn’t want to be Batman? + Fighting system has its moments, though also has frustrating times. + Feels like a Batman movie/comic.
    CONS: -Way shorter than expected (~15 hours first time playthrough). – D-pad inventory selection clunky at best. –Some frustrating sequences. REVIEW: When a game this highly rated goes on sale for
    Last Played: March 2014 (with XBOX controller)
    PROS: + Who doesn’t want to be Batman? + Fighting system has its moments, though also has frustrating times. + Feels like a Batman movie/comic.
    CONS: -Way shorter than expected (~15 hours first time playthrough). – D-pad inventory selection clunky at best. –Some frustrating sequences.
    REVIEW: When a game this highly rated goes on sale for $5, who can resist? I had very high expectations for this game, and looked forward to “being” Batman. And if we are being honest, that is really the main point in playing a Batman game, so the fact that this one does a really good job making you feel like the “caped crusader” is commendable. Since Batman relies on non-lethal force, this game puts an understandable emphasis on hand-to-hand combat, which is for the most part fluid and rewarding (though button-mashers will probably find it hard). Players also get to sneak up on the baddies and knock them out one at a time-it is pretty gratifying to listen to the others get increasingly panicked as you nab them one by one. Also-the story, while patchy, is at least not outrageously dumb (“Injustice”, anyone?), or at least it isn’t too dumb for characters that normally exist in books with fewer than 1,000 words.
    Unfortunately, I still think this game has been overrated-or maybe it was just judged against other independently developed games, I don’t really know. Firstly, unless you insist on getting all of the collectibles (this game has an absurdly large number of them) this game will not take more than 15 hours to beat on a normal difficulty, even on the first run through. The areas are re-visited with different bad guys to help make them seem different, but really the maps are kind of small, so recycling them still gets noticeable by the end. Secondly, some of Batman’s gizmos are kind of useless, but this is actually a good thing, because switching between active gadgets using a poorly integrated D-pad is actually a huge pain, so the less you have to switch, the better. Finally, this game has some frustrating sequences. Not the “man, I’m not good enough and I need to practice to beat this awesome game” kind, the “wtf how did that guy kill me now I have to do the whole 5-minute thing over again” kind. Furthermore, although the sneaking “predator” combat mode is cool at first, there simply aren’t enough options for sneaky takedowns to make the later sequences fun-you can either use the 1-2 vents in a room or the 5-6 ceiling grapples to remain unseen and late in the game one of the options is removed from this list, which makes the exercise kind of a chore.
    I guess what it boils down to are a few questions you need to ask yourself: Do I want a game that will make me feel like Batman? Do I mind a small map if there are new enemies to give it variety? Is this game on sale? Depending on how you answer these, Arkham Asylum may be a good buy.
    Expand
  29. Jun 29, 2015
    7
    - Good: Atmosphere, Pacing
    - Mixed: Story, Gameplay, Setting, Soundtrack
    - Bad: ---

    If you are not Batman fan this game is nothing special, slightly above average.
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. The result is so good that we're declaring it an easy 'Best of' contender for 2009.
  2. I can say with confidence and cannot stress enough, Batman: Arkham Asylum is, without a doubt, the best Batman game ever created. It does more than give you the Batman game you want, it gives you a video game that you could play repeatedly, even if it didn't have the caped and cowled Dark Knight in it.
  3. There isn’t a single element of Arkham Asylum that isn’t polished to the utmost degree.