User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1243 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 7, 2011
    10
    An excellent game in all aspects! I'm not a huge Batman fan, but this game was so polished that I could see myself getting into the Batman world. As the name suggests, your Batman at the Arkham Asylum, returning the Joker for the umpteenth time, when he breaks free and all hell breaks loose. The inmates are released and you need to work your way through several notable characters before facing the Joker and his intricate plot. Some of the popular characters like the Penguin, Catwoman, Twoface, and Mr. Freeze are not in the game at all, but this was a great decision as to separate the game from the not so great movies. The story flows and is interesting and I never felt like I was doing meaningless tasks just to advance the story. Everything was connected. The graphics look great and run smoothly, I never got any stuttering even when entering a new level. Audio was just what you would expect from a Batman game, everything sounded in place. From the whiz of the grapple gun to the swish of the cape. They even got some great voice actors for the cast. Batman is Kevin Conroy, Mark Hamill as the Joker, and Arleen Sorkin as Harley Quinn. These actors were from the animated cartoon series I watched from the early to mid 90's and to recognize and hear their voices just as they sounded almost 20 years ago really took me back. Those are the ones that stand out, but all of the voice acting was done well. The gameplay focuses on mostly taking down inmates but there is also a search and explore aspect. When attacking you chain together combo hits as well as countering incoming attacks. You also have several scenarios where you will have to use stealth to incapacitate thugs with guns. You can sneak up from behind and do a silent takedown as well as hang from a statue and do an inverted takedown. The combo system works well and as you gain experience you gain the abilities of an instant takedown or picking up a prisoner and using him as a projectile after connecting 5 combo hits. The controls are a bit of an issue here. When throwing a enemy you have to use the wasd controls to direct him instead of the mouse. So even if you have a shot lined up you have to direct it and it just gets confusing when your in the heat of battle. I wound up not using the throw for most of the game because of this. For the takedown you press shift and right click but you have a pretty short window of opportunity to do so and the right click is also bound as an aiming mechanism for your gadgets. So I when trying to do a takedown or contering a punch, sometimes I would be aiming my batarang for a second and then getting hit messing up my combos. These problems might be solved by using a controller but I don't have the Xbox360 controller listed in the control config and I didn't want to go through the hassle of setting up one with a PS2 controller with an adapter. The explore and collect part of the game is initiated by The Riddler who has hidden question mark trophies and puzzles across the island. The puzzles come in the form of riddles that you take "pictures" of using the detective mode to have a high tech look at your surroundings Collecting these will unlock character bios and detailed character trophies that you can look at from the main menu. There are also Arkham plaques that tell more of the history of the island and how it came to be an institution. All in all, this was a fantastic game and I highly recommend it. Even at full price you get your monies worth which is not something I felt like I have gotten in a long time. Expand
  2. Apr 28, 2011
    9
    I was wary in the buying of this game. Checked some youtube clips... looked interesting... One word, wow!

    I stuck this one out to the end, well, the end of the story that is- and, what a ride! You ARE Batman!

    The one think that grabbed me, was the actual atmosphere. It brought the feeling of the newer Batman movies closer and sucked me RIGHT in! Punch, combo, boom, get the baddies
    from above, glide down THWACK!
    Upgrades are available for better armor, etc.. They didn't really feel like they had much of an effect, but some the weapons that are weened into your inventory as the game progresses kick ass ;>

    Graphic-wise, this game really shines. I'm not too sure how it looks on a non-nvidia card (the game uses the .. uhm Nvidia graphics ... physics thing to enhance smoke and adds tile effects), but even without the extra physics- it plays VERY well.

    As BenW mentioned in his review, "Definitely the best Batman game out there". The others that Ive played outside this one are pretty cack. (not tried the Sun Tzu one tho!)

    + Graphics
    + Plays very well
    + Batman

    - Fights get a little repetitive as the story draws to an end
    Expand
  3. Oct 27, 2010
    10
    This is a fantastic game. I liked every single moment what i`ve spent playing this game!
  4. Sep 29, 2010
    10
    Wow, now this is what a super hero game is supposed to be like (I'm talking to you Spiderman)! The game is likely the best game of the year and if you have not tried it, you really cannot go wrong - just trust me on this!!!
  5. Aug 12, 2010
    10
    As a batman fan i have to say i felt like batman while i was playing this game. It' so obvious that this game has created with batman love. Graphics are extraordinary and voices are brilliant. And game is long enough "of course it's always not enough if you like this game" and you want to play it again. Combat system is different from the arcade games we are used to. It' so fun to kick 8 henchmen's ass at the same time. Beating them in the hard mode without getting a single hit satisfies the player. And this game has given the needed worth to the gadgets. Predator rooms may be boring at the beginning but after some time it complicates and it becomes interesting and fun to play. Riddles expands the games playing time of course and they can become really challenging. Atmosphere of the game can lessen in the middle of the game but the game is interesting enough and something takes your interest somewhere else for sure. And the only downside of the game that i can find are cut-scenes. This game offers you to become batman himself. I can easily say this is the best hero game ever. Expand
  6. Jan 6, 2011
    10
    What can I say? This game brings back nostalgia. The voice acting is perfect, graphics are nice, gamplay is nicely deisgned. I have played this game 4 times because its that good. The only flaw that people would say is Games For Windows Live, as always. A problem that needs to not excist anymore.
  7. Mar 11, 2011
    10
    It's just amazing. I bought it because of a temporary price drop on Steam and it's the best gaming suprise I've ever had. PC is the definitive platform and the gameplay is smooth and satisfying. You'll replay it at least twice. What started as a $10 whim is now on my all time best list and I've pre-ordered Arkham City.
  8. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    What an awesome game! The story is fantastic, the gameplay is really good and you really can feel yourself entering the world of Batman. The villains are really well developed and the combat is very fun. The Riddle quests are really challenging too, and is a good thing to go out of the primary campaign objectives. Besides that is a huge evolution in the games of super-heroes in general.
  9. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    I just want to say that this is easily the best game that has ever been released that features a superhero. The story is incredible, the voice acting is phenomenal, the atmosphere is dark and beautiful and the combat system is unique and challenging. I have played the game 4 times over and received 100% in all of the different challenges, and still I go back and play it every once in a while to beat my already high scores. If you like Batman, if you like games, if you like adventure, if you like incredibly crafted story, or if you are just looking for a good time, I would highly suggest this game since it is hand down the best in its class. Expand
  10. Sep 7, 2010
    10
    Love it. Truly addicting, and not overated. As in, at all. The only people who would say such a thing are those who just don't like Batman or the game for some reason. I was never really a huge Batman fan, I don't read comics, and thought the movies are really good. Well this game is amazing. Even if you don't like Batman, give it a go. It's tons of fun, and addicting. I love the Joker in this as well, while it's no Heath Ledger, he IS played by Mark Hamil from Star Wars, and he does a FANTASTIC job. I use caps there because he really does. There is no excuse, at least get the demo. And also get the PC version, the PhysX are incredible. Dynamic Paper, Dynamic Fog... you can throw your Baterang at hanging banners and piece by piece shred it apart and make pieces fall down. Dynamic Bat Cape, destructible objects etc.... it makes the 360 version look last gen. Conclusion: BUY THIS GAME. 10/10 in my book. Expand
  11. Oct 29, 2010
    10
    Amazing gameplay! Its a must play for any Batman fan! The action is alot of fun and really keeps you going. The flow of the game is perfect! If this game comes on sale you would be insane not to buy it. This has very in depth graphics. The voice acting in it is awesome! The cut scenes are very fun to watch. There are hidden secrets throughout the game that you can get if you so desire. The game has extra things in like like "Challenge mode" were you are challenged with different things to do. This game is a must have if ever loved the comic book character of Batman. It is a 10/10 game! Get it and you wont regret it! Expand
  12. Dec 2, 2010
    9
    This game is **** I can't give it a 10 because of the DRM, but it's still fantastic. Look at those scores, 10's and 9's everywhere, and not just from **** "professional" reviews. I cannot think of a superhero game, ever, that was this good, but this game isn't just good if you compare it to other licensed stuff, this game can stand on it's own, and will certainly go down as a classic. Bravo Rocksteady, you guys really outdid yourselves.. Expand
  13. Sep 28, 2010
    10
    Im still playing it even after end of the storyline. I just cant stop. Its awesome. Excellent mix of splinter cell and street fighter (or something like this) i thought that will never be working before.
  14. Oct 15, 2010
    9
    The best batman game there is, no other game has made you feel more like batman then this game, the combat is smooth and very entertaining. The graphics are great wish the story was longer but it makes me want the next one even more, the boss battles are pretty sweet. I highly recommend getting this game.
  15. Oct 21, 2010
    9
    I generally dislike beat-em-ups but this game was fantastic to me. Very fun and very gorgeous. The only problems I can name are that some boss fights aren't as climactic as I wish they were as a Batman fan but some definitely stand out beautiful. Not only is the gameplay golden, but the cinematic events are very well-done. I played this on PC because there was a sale on Steam but the graphics aren't quite good enough to justify PC vs console since the controls definitely suit a controller better than a mouse and keyboard. Unless you're getting a deal on the PC version or have a controller, I would recommend this on a PS3 or Xbox 360. Expand
  16. Oct 23, 2010
    10
    I think this is very good game to play. But its price is too much 39.99 for this game becoause itis just fan game and if you dont like Batman, you cant enjoy playing. I love this game too much.
    Have fun.
  17. Mar 13, 2011
    10
    As close to a perfect game as you can get. You had stealth elements, perfect combat and fun puzzles. What more could you want? Combat controls are very elegant and simple to grasp, but it is challenging because it is all about timing. It is not a button masher by any means, you have to see your next move, then with one click or key stroke -- execute, then move onto the next. I though it was brilliant and natural. I wish more games approached melee and hand to hand combat in the manner that rockstar did with this game. Graphics were amazing, voice acting was incredible and the art direction added to the atmosphere. I don't usually give out 10's, but this one earned it. Expand
  18. Jun 22, 2011
    10
    An absolute cracker in every respect. Captures the atmosphere of Batman but also the cartoonish fun and weirdness. The story is good, the quests fun, the action varied. There's lots to do besides the main storyline in looking for side achievements and pickups. Cannot wait for the sequel.
  19. Dec 26, 2010
    9
    This is basically the best thing to happen for a fan of the animated series where all the voice actors were from. The game does a superb job at making you feel like you're batman, where stealth is key but combat is fluid enough to where you don't have to avoid every single fight every time. The upgrade path isn't true rpg style, but you can pick from a variety of paths to go with it. Its batman so your gadgets all show up, and with the upgrade system you usually can give most of them extra tricks in combat. What else is there to say? Great game and I'm looking forward to what they do with Arkham City. Expand
  20. Dec 31, 2010
    10
    It's a very good game, exciting atmosphere and nice combat system. If you are a Batman fan and like stealth games, you will enjoy it. Sound and graphics are ok. The weak is the linear gameplay, but its not bad enough to put the game score down.
  21. Jan 31, 2011
    9
    This is the hardest a** Batman I've seen. The controls are quite simple, but the whole presentation is cool. Controls and presentation have a Half Life feel to them while still being completely and uniquely Batman. The Bio's and all of the back info really add to the game as a story. The game is pretty linear, while not totally feeling it, like Half Life's. I haven't gotten far into the game yet, so I'm hoping the combo fighting plays more into it, but we'll see. I got it on Steam and I'm very happy w/ my purchase at $29.99. Expand
  22. Jun 24, 2011
    10
    Batman fan or not, you will enjoy this amazing game if you are a third person fan. The game combines beat'm up style with stealth action like no other game
    lots of riddles to solve, nice action, a good story and nice voice acting will keep you wanting more
  23. Jul 9, 2011
    10
    This game is a case of where the critics loved the game and users loved it too, but are a bit more weird or harsh. People keep calling it "overrated" when really it deserves all the praise it gets.

    As a Batman fan since childhood I can tell you this is a true Batman game that puts you into the caped crusaders wings and lets you soar to your hearts content. It has its flaws like any game,
    but when you look at what it did right and the high quality story, graphics, sounds and gameplay. You can't possibly deny this game is a masterpiece in its own right. Expand
  24. Mar 22, 2011
    10
    This is the most polished and well designed game that I've played in recent memory. Keyboard and mouse controls are amazingly well tuned. Story, voiceover and geek factor are off the charts. My two gripes are no unlockable suits and the menus were taken without any redesign from the console version. The controls and overall quality far overshadow any gripes though.
  25. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    Batman Arkham Asylum opens with several minutes of a glorious cut scene. It can't be skipped. And I've seen it three times and still not been bored. In fact, this reminds me of what makes this game so good; you never have to see the same scene more than three times in a row. As an action adventure, it is so well balanced, I never died more than three times in a scene.

    http://teachergamer.blogspot.com/2011/04/batman-arkham-asylum.html
    Expand
  26. Jul 31, 2011
    10
    One of the best games I've played in a long time. The story is fun, expansive, in-depth, and well crafted. You come in with many encounters from many of DC's most infamous, and unique super villains. The story took me about 12 hours to complete, and I still am having fun beating my scores in challenge mode and finding more secrets. I would defiantly recommend this game to anyone.
  27. Jul 27, 2011
    9
    This game is a classic. It´s a perfect mix of action, stealth, and puzzles. The story is great, graphics are still amazing(speaking july 2011) and gameplay blew me away. Just get this game, you won´t regret it.
  28. Aug 1, 2011
    10
    Il gioco è veramente bello e ben realizzato. Sia il comparto grafico che quello sonoro risultano molto curati. La caratterizzazione dei personaggi è curata fino al più piccolo dettaglio (le battute di joker sono imperdibili).
    Il gioco risulta "massiccio" in ogni sua componente.
    L'unica pecca è che si rischia di passare la maggior parte del
    tempo in modalità "detective" perdendo così buona parte delle bellezze che il motore grafico e gli scenari, interni ed esterni, offrono.
    Da avere nella propria raccolta di giochi.
    Expand
  29. Sep 15, 2011
    9
    What is the best in this game? It's first game that win fight against movie - i mean ,,The Dark Knight" hhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
  30. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    Great graphics. Love the sandbox environment and a strong storyline for the backbone as well. Love the different gadgets and are plenty to actually feel like it's a full utility belt. Also the easter eggs are a big enough bonus to make then worth going after. The only real knock is that I find the fighting system a slight bit cumbersome and sluggish. Maybe it's my system. Maybe not. Once I try it on my new system I will either bump this score to a 10 or leave it at a 9 if nothing changes. Expand
  31. Aug 4, 2012
    9
    Excellent game, brings a lot of innovating aspects for his time in gameplay and many other aspects, interesting idea for a sandbox game and offers a wide range of activities before you can actually san you done it totally.
  32. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    Arkham Asylum is probably the best game I've ever played. I wasn't a Batman fan before I played this, but I am now. It truly makes the player feel like Batman, and brings out everything good about his character. The supervillians, so often portrayed as ridiculous parodies, feel like real people, tragically transformed into horrendous monsters that you must defeat. The gameplay is also amazing, smartly alternating between stealth, brawling, and other paradigms so that the game never gets boring. Fighting feels completely natural and looks beautiful. The game is extremely challenging on the highest difficulty, yet I never felt like I was cheated whenever I died; I only failed when I made a mistake. The game's only two faults are repetitive boss fights and the Windows Live requirement. Besides those two minor gripes, I cannot imagine a better game. Expand
  33. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is one of the best games I have ever played in my entire life! With action, collectibles and challenge stages, this game is packed to the rim with entertainment! No matter where you were in the story, you were always having fun. Whether you were punching criminals, running from Killer Croc, taking out bad guys silently, defeating Poison Ivy or chasing the Joker, you were never bored in this phenomenon of a game! To put it simply, this game is a masterpiece! You ARE Batman in this game! Expand
  34. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    This is by far one of the greatest batman games ever made, with amazing voice action, controls, combat, graphics, music and story, this game is a must for any batman fan. this game truly makes you feel like the dark knight.
  35. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    As a standalone game, it is truly brilliant, although it does have some noticeable flaws. However, I would recommend Arkham City, its successor, over this because it surpasses it on nearly every level.
    I am hardly the world's greatest Batman fan, so I was cautious at first, but I found the game absolutely stunning. It has a very solid overall feel to it in that it is very polished and the
    gameplay is tight. It simply never lets itself up at any point. The story is engaging (though I personally preferred Arkham City's), the stealth mechanics are excellent, the missions are designed very well, and the voice acting is top notch (Star Wars fans should take note that Mark Hamill seems to be speaking half the time you're playing). More importantly, though, it makes you feel like Batman. You can take on loads of enemies in a brawl, use a small variety of gadgets to help you through the levels, yet you are not invincible - this means you have to use Batman's traditional stealth in order to take on armed enemies.
    The combat system, though good, can be frustrating at times, because the counter mechanic feels very broken. Thankfully, it is fixed in Arkham City and your problems of failing to counter when clicking the button are all gone. Another problem I found in this game - though many may not care - is that it is very linear. Another combat problem is that taking on enemies from a high point, or from underground, is broken as a result of this being a PC port - I have the game on PS3 as well, and it works fine on that. Again, this is all fixed in Arkham City, so the cool takedowns where you pop up from underground and grab an enemy, or when you hang an enemy from a ledge, are back in the sequel. There are no side missions at all and there is no open world feel, despite you having the ability to wander around the island as you wish. I guess I'm just a fan of non-linear games, so Arkham City's sidequests and exploration are of much appeal to me.
    Ultimately, this is a fantastic game but has a few important flaws. All is solved in the sequel, so if you must choose between the two I'd go for the second one. Regardless, this game is top quality.
    Expand
  36. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    Just awesome The story is correct, Action, platform, research and all keep the spirit of the comic. Even today, graphisms are totally correct. Fights are incredible. Batman moves are just great. This is a title to get and today for a chip price
  37. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    an excellent game, who does not love to play as a superhero that actually relies on wits and equipments rather than superpowers... well, the graphics are great, and overall presentation is outstanding. from the opening to the end. i have not messed with the 3d vision for this game but thats just another reason to play it some more. even if not a batman fan, it is still an awesome game from a 3rd person action platforming aspect. the combat system is really fun to play with, and the slow motion '300' inspired deaths are cool. the story is obviously about batman, and his capture of the joker, his arch nemesis. mostly the story revolves around those two, and who has the endurance to fight to the end. overall, great game and ranked any lower than 9 would be an insult. Expand
  38. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    The first of an amazing series of batman games. I can say, a family of piece of art.
    Wonderful, the gameplay is simple and smart. You have to be very strategic to achieve the goals.
  39. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing, there is no reason that you shouldn't get it. Its overall an amazing game that takes you by surprise. With the current Humble Bundle, you get this game for as low as a dollar.
  40. Apr 4, 2011
    9
    This is a must have for any Batman fan. It's a fun game with an interesting story and great atmosphere. Fans of the 90s Batman cartoon will even recognize some voices. Only real negative here is GFWL, where it takes 15 minutes of constant logging in and patching (took several times for me) before it's playable. But I don't hold Microsoft's massive failure against the game. Still, hopefully the next one uses Steamworks. Expand
  41. Dec 26, 2011
    9
    Pure perfection on every level. This is a must own for any casual gamer. The only knock I can give it is the controls using my xbox 360 wireless which needed to be modified because the direction stick was backwards. Outside of that, it was a great storyline and one of the funnest games I've ever played.
  42. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    At first i was skeptical and thought that this will be another average heroes game, how wrong i was. Batman Arkham Asylum is the best example of how heroes game should be done or at the very least how a great game should be done. This is the first time that i felt like being Batman, and i can tell you that this feeling is great, The game has everything done perfectly from the gameplay,graphics,enemies,story,sound and everything else that you can think of, Batman Arkham Asylum was so great that even though i finished the game first time by downloading the game from the Internet i couldn't help myself but buying this game and finishing it the second time. Expand
  43. Jan 15, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game, excellent story, very atmospheric and lovely graphics which look good even on a moderate PC. Thankfully we don't have to hear Batman's beginnings for the millionth time, the game starts with Joker in chains in Arkham Asylum and all hell lets loose from there. The fights are challenging if a little basic but do develop as you unlock more powers, great that you can tackle each area in your own way, you can glide kick in from a gargoyle in the ceiling and let the fists fly or take the baddies out one by one, picking them off silently and laying explosive gel on an in-mate so you can blow his buddy when he comes investigating or silent inverted takedowns... the choice is yours. The game of the year version can be picked up very cheaply now making this even more of a bargain. It's not a long game if you just follow the story through on easy/normal but play on hard and try to complete it 100% with all the collectibles/riddles and you have a much more substantial game, plus there are lots of extras, surviving wave after wave of baddies Left for Dead style for high scores is great fun and not something I'd usually bother with. Even if you choose not to dabble with these the game is worth it for the main story alone plus seeing one of the best incarnations of Joker... and Scarecrow is frightening good. It does use Games for Windows Live which we all know sucks but after the initial setup has worked flawlessly so far so can't complain. Not only one of the best Batman games of all time but a really polished affair that shows how superhero games can be tackled in a mature way, well done Rocksteady Studios. Expand
  44. Oct 20, 2011
    9
    The first time I started this game up and played for a few hours (with some problems mind you), I really didn't like it. I had problems with Games For Windows Live, I had problems with PhysX (I have a GTX 460 and NOW it's not a problem, but was back then), and I didn't really like the combat system. In addition I wasn't exactly into the whole super hero thing, let alone batman thing.
    I
    started hearing a little bit about Arkham City and it peaked my interest, so I decided to install this one again and see if I would enjoy it, and thereby see if Arkham City would be something for me. This time aorund, with the latest patches, and latest drivers etc, it blew me away. I find the game to be looking really good (and love the use of PhysX), I find the combat fun and engaging, I liked the story. AND OMG THE JOKER IS SO FRICKIN AWESOME! voice-wise it's on par with Heath Ledger's Joker in Batman - The Dark Knight, I liked the story, although time frame seems a bit off, but no matter. The joker is awesome in this game, I really like how **** up insane this guy sounds and acts, its amazing. I also like Harley Quinn, she acts pretty damn well too, although, as others have pointed out, the lip synch could be alot better.

    There are some misses, some times you die just because something completely silly, like the camera turning the wrong way, or a graphical misshap making the scarecrow see you etc. therefor I cannot give it a 10, but a 9. It has charm, its funny, its witty, and the voice acting is great (the lip synch could be alot better), I like the combat, its flashy, easy to use, hard to master. so a 9/10 from me.
    Expand
  45. Jun 21, 2011
    9
    Captures Batman to the "B"! Excellent game. Great, fluid game play, making this game what games need to be.... enjoyable! Now If I could only do this with a friend, we'd be talking one of the best games around.
  46. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    I'm not really a Batman fan. But this game is AWESOME :-D
    Controls are very intuitive which makes fighting bad guys really fun.
    The game has great graphics and nice slow motion effects when you off badguys in style.
    A solid 9.
  47. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    I am not a Batman fan, nor a comic book movie/game/magazine one, but this is probably one of the best games I've played in the past years. I cannot complain about windows live and other problems because I played this on my MAC. YES, this game is also available on OSX and it runs like a charm if your system not very old or basic.

    I have to say I enjoyed it better than Alice: The Madness
    Returns, although I am deeply unsatisfied with both games' maniacally obsessive compulsive collection of thousands of crap scattered around just to keep you from focusing and enjoying the story line. Expand
  48. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    Probably the best (definitely one of the best) video game based on a superhero character and even if you don't like superhero comics, you still get a great metroidvania game.
  49. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    You can tell a game is amazing when someone who doesn't know anything about Batman or have any interest in action-adventure games manages to play it to 100% completion five times and STILL be prepared to play it through again. Honestly, Arkham Asylum is such a gemstone in video games and almost revolutionary for the genre. The collectibles are not a grind yet provide a challenge WITHOUT requiring you to look them up. The stealth is tactical yet intuitive and skilful without being overcomplicated or difficult. The level design is often unpredictable and is developed at a perfect pace along with the excellent story and superb characters. The storytelling and voice acting and characters are fully developed WITH gameplay, so it's totally immersive. On top of that, it manages to restrict the player to avoid loss of immersion but gives some options throughout for exploration. These options get gradually bigger as you unlock more gadgets and use XP to get some upgrades such as armour and more gadget and combat functionality. The PC version is by far the best. The graphics are amazing and the use of PhysX makes an incredible difference at some points compared to the Xbox 360 version of the game. Also, I found that the graphics in Arkham Asylum are far better than they are on Arkham City! But let's not ignore the main point. Arkham Asylum's combat system is by far the best in the genre. Not only does it work perfectly with a controller due to the right number of gadgets, it's very good with keyboard and mouse too. Essentially a two button rhythm game but it flows NATURALLY. There are no special moves or complicated timing to learn it's all intuitive yet satisfying and rewards variety and style but doesn't punish you heavily for dropping combos. It truly is "Freeflow". The balance between puzzles, platforming, combat and stealth as well as the story development is absolute perfection in this game. Arkham Asylum is a game every gamer needs to play. Expand
  50. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    Pro:
    Great graphics,
    Great soundtrack
    Great story
    unique combat system
    lots of secrets to find

    Cons:
    Repetitive combat
    Weak boss fights
    a little on the short side
  51. Nov 2, 2011
    9
    Great controls, great graphics. The story is a little too linear, but the universe is so immersive and the characters so polished (hello, Joker!), I found it very engaging overall. Fights are very dynamic and controls are so responsive you want to engage everyone.
    Detective mode underdelivers - why bother when you can play the entire game with detective mode ON and detect all hot spots?
    Give it a time limit, or limited use.
    One of the best action/adventure games I've ever played.
    Expand
  52. Nov 9, 2011
    10
    I managed to get this game for £3.75 during a Steam sale. Was expecting good, but I got Awesomely amazing, the game-play is fantastically varied, the combat feels perfect, it runs incredibly smoothly, the graphics are great, the storyline is fantastic. Everything in this game feels so... Batman. Everything. Perfect pacing. There are two faults however, the final boss is a bit of let down, and it's too short. I highly recommend this game to anyone, really, it is that good. Buy it, it won't let you down. Expand
  53. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Walks like a bat-duck, talks like a bat-duck. This is a fantastic trip into the bat-universe and unlike a lot of licensed properties, if you took the license away you'd still have a top notch game. Hightly highly recommended.
  54. Dec 30, 2011
    10
    Ok, hate to jump on the Batman bandwagon....but what a game! So atmospheric, so playable, tough but not unfair and the challenges kept me playing, even after I had completed the main story. If you haven't bought this game, do it....now!
  55. Jul 28, 2014
    9
    Game: Batman Arkham Asylum GOTY Genre: Action Developer: Rocksteady System: Steam (PC) Total Score: 90/100 Value Score: 9/10 • Story: 10/10 • Characters: 9/10 • GamePlay: 10/10 • Graphics: 9/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 7/10 • Length: 7/10 • Replay Value: 8/10 • Player Value: 10/10 Pros +Has all of the DLCs that were released separately on Vanilla Batman Arkham Asylum
    +Great innovative gameplay that mixes puzzle and stealth elements well
    +Memorable iconic characters from the Batman Universe
    +A great new original storyline added to the Batman Universe

    Cons
    -Music is great for atmosphere but not memorable
    -Game's main storyline can be beaten in a few hours
    -Some of the visuals - mainly environment designs look outdated to the rest of the game
    Expand
  56. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    When I first heard about a Batman game, I was not very interested. But, after I saw positive reviews I gave it a try. I was not disappointed. This game is really a good one. graphics, story, voices, atmosphere. Everything is superb. I bought "game of the year" edition, and I did not found a single bug. Only thing I did not like a lot was combat. It is easy to learn, but very hard to master. Sometimes it was frustrating like hell. Especially when game does not respond instantly. That is why I gave it 9/10. In conclusion, I think this is best comic based game I have played, it really deserves your attention if you like Batman. Expand
  57. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    I enjoy this game it's the darker side of Batman. There are not a lot of super hero games out there worth playing so this is going to get a higher rating than perhaps it should. It's an older game and not very open world, but you can explore. You just can't go scaling rocks like you're in Skyrim or taking the wrong path around a tree. There will be none of that. You can't jump at all for some odd reason. The camera has issues at times where it won't be where you desire. Still the environment and graphics are well done. You feel as though you are taking part in the comic book. The main characters are perfect and the people you are fighting are no pushovers. My biggest criticism is that I can't save where I'd like so I have to repeat things that were a chore which I felt should have been a save point. For the price you can get this game it's silly to say anything negative at all, but I'll offset that with a 10. Hopefully this pushes others to try to compete in comic book heroes and we get something amazing. Until then this game is king. Expand
  58. Nov 30, 2011
    9
    The game has outstanding voice acting and story. Stunning visuals. and the bonus to play cat woman is extreamly fun. I think cat women could be a game on her own tbh. The game falls short on controls and the fact that you cannot change them. The windows live is beyond anoying. and some riddler puzzles require certain tools to be able to do them. also you cant go back to some of them later.
  59. Dec 6, 2011
    9
    This is, without a doubt, the best comic book story driven game I have ever played. I could go on and on about the great parts of this game, but you should just buy it and play it now rather than even finishing my recommendation. Oh, wait... you are still reading? Well, how about all the main voice stars from the Batman Animated Series also do the voices in this game? Mark Hamill as the Joker? Yes, please! This is an adult oriented Batman game and I promise that you won't be disappointed. Expand
  60. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    This is not just the "best batman games" or best Super-hero games. it is one best videogames every. The atmosphere and the way it really makes you feel like batman: both the advantages and limitations of the character. And the Joker is the best Villain EVER! it worth it just to hear Mark Hamel's sinister--yet hilarious voice acting! Highly recommended
  61. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    Batman has always been my favorite superhero, and now Arkham Asylum has become my favorite game. Rocksteady did an amazing job with the engine of this game. Everything flows incredibly smoothly. From the combat to the stealth to grappling around all over the place to the detective gadgets, this game just feels amazing. The game is linear, but the world is open enough with plenty to do that this is never a problem. Also, the game lets you decide how you want to play the game. Do you want to be more stealthy and pick off thugs one at a time, do you want to set-up traps and use your gadgets, or do you want to start a huge fist fight and combo the crap out of people? The additional content is all really great too. The Riddler puzzles and hidden trophies give you a challenge to work through and then reward you with nice bonus maps with their own challenges (such as take out 3 thugs with a single charge detonation). I really liked collecting the asylum patient interviews of all the villains as it gave an interesting background for those unfamiliar with some characters. There's just a lot to do, and it's all done very well. It does have some flaws. The story is... well, there as filler. The boss battles are generally poor. No auto-run gets annoying. The writing is less than great. All of these are minor issues though. This game quickly became my favorite game of all time, and I look forward to playing the rest of the trilogy! Expand
  62. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    awesome game!already owned it on 360 but liked it enough to add to my pc library,graphics are great,ran smooth all the way through,story is short but not too bad,hard to stop playing "just one more checkpoint",highly recommended and for the few quid i paid for the goty version in a steam sale you cannot go wrong
  63. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    I just finished the game yesterday, and I have to say it's one of the best computer games I've played in my 28 years. The history was really great, and the game still looks really beautiful three years after it's release.

    I had no plans to play Batman: Arkham City, but after this, I can't wait to play the sequel.
  64. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    Brilliant game that had me hooked untill completion. Great graphics and gameplay, heaps of hidden content. The story and atmosphere are spot on and the gadgets are great. I played with keyboard and mouse, occasionally switching to 360 controller for different combat situations (which the game did on the fly - no menu). I'm not much for sneaking around, but this game made it fun and wasn't overdone. Combat worked very well and Batman seamlessly took on large groups of enemies. Boss battles were challenging and fun. Top game Expand
  65. May 14, 2012
    9
    Batman Arkham Assylum is a GOTY among GOTY.. More like GOTHYC

    The combat system is simple but not as much as you think... HAving a perfect combo needs perfect reflexes and skills.

    The history looks like a mix between the latest movies and the comic books (the music sounds a lot like the actual batman). The interaction Between Joker and batman is priceless. Is so accurate as reading a
    comic.

    Taking the role of batman is just perfect. This game makes you act and behave like batman. You are a hero, but dark, and you don't only are a warrior, you are a detective.

    The history, the ambience ,

    The combat system... All of them perfect.

    But here comes the Letdowns

    Lack of bosses... most of them are clones of the last with better attacks...

    The mobs are fine... But there could be more. The only thing this game needed was more enemies... Especially bosses. But other than that, this game deserves a 9
    Expand
  66. May 19, 2012
    10
    I consider, the best games I have in my hands. A masterpiece. The graphics, music, gameplay is excellent. Compatible with nvidia 3DVision, the game is long, has a history, you can improve the character, has challenges, ... the true gem.
  67. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    I've never considered myself a huge fan of Batman, I've never even read comics about him (just watched the movies), but this game is something incredible. The story is just amazing, the gameplay is the ultimate beat-em up fun, and the voice acting is outstanding. Among other things, it's the only game I've played where I unlocked almost all the achievements (except for the one for completing the game on Hard), I've beaten ALL the challenges on 3 stars and found ALL the Riddler's collectibles. It's the best game of 2009, and is a must-play for, well, any action game fan. Expand
  68. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    Not only the first Batman game which worked, but also borderlined perfection. The plot can be a bit stupid sometimes (the Dark Knight does stuff which is not fitting to the World's Greatest Detective and the game is filled with cheesy lines), but the great graphics and voice acting will certainly make you forget it. The gameplay is awesome too, being rather easy to learn but hard to master, as you may check it yourself on the Challenges the game offers. It has a lot of references to unseen characters from the comics and great setting (the dreaded Arkham Asylum) will make this the most interesting experience to those who never played a Batman game before. It's a must-have for fans. Expand
  69. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    An excellent game. It was such a special thing for me to play as the caped crusader for the 1st time as i am a massive batman fan. The opening sequence was a special gaming moment, and the rest of the game was just an authentic batman experience. The only negative was the repetitive titan boss battles. The game that changed the superhero game genre and has a more coherent plot than arkham city.
  70. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    I am a huge batman fan, and I loved The Dark Knight Trilogy, however even with that, it wouldn't have affected my review since I prefer gaming to watching movies. But either way, this game included hours and hours of fun, the story was great, and facing the challenges proved somewhat difficult, yet I never really got stuck anywhere for too long, and a game that does that, as well as everything I have mentioned, deserved the 'Game of the year' as well as a 10/10 rating too. Expand
  71. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    It was pretty hard to play this game with the raging erection I had the whole time. Batman is a bad ass **** who doesn't give a **** about ANYTHING.
  72. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    This game is phenomenal - it presents a thrilling atmosphere, outside the realm of Nolan's films. It presents an exciting narrative where you see many villains, stylized like you've never seen them. The plus sides to this game are many, including great visuals, great action, challenging gameplay, and immersive atmosphere. The only downsides are how brief this game is (about 12-15 hours, at a leisured pace), repetitive boss battles (most of them follow a similar model), and lower replayability (i'm not a fan of challenge maps myself, so I played the game once on normal and once and hard, and haven't done much with it since). However, it's a fantastic game overall and should be experienced by any batman or video game enthusiast. Expand
  73. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    this was the best game of 2009 but i didnt review it then so i will review it now. arkham asylum is so amazing that i played it something like 30 times and this was between the two games i played in 2009-2010 so lets talk now about the game arkham asylum is the first batman game that take itself seriously the story and the feeling is relly mature and its not an stupid game that batman punch guys in the face.there is a lot of familiar villians,and the combat is great there is a lot of moves so its never stays repiditive.so lets see:awsome,awsome,awsome. and if you loved arkham asylum check is sequel arkham city witch is batter then arkham asylum.(i gess that if you loved arkham asylum you probebly already buy arkham city). Expand
  74. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    I got this game around two years after it came out, the same time I got Arkham City. I chose to play Asylum first, then City on the suggestion of my brother who had played both of them. When you play Asylum before City, you think to yourself, "How could City POSSIBLY improve on this? It's perfect!" If you play City first, you'll feel a little restricted, but it's still an amazing game.

    I definitely recommend this game to all Batman fans.
    Expand
  75. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Arkham Asylum is a game that just does everything right. From the voice acting to the graphics to the attention to detail and respect to the source material to the incredible game play, Arkham Asylum is everything you want to see in a comic book game. I don't for a second understand the negative reviews... as far as I am concerned this game was perfect and a great buy on a steam sale.
  76. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    High quality entertainment. This was the Batman game everyone wished for. The fighting mechanics are the highlight for me in this game. The graphics are beautiful and the setting brings out the mood of Arkham Asylum. The appearance of villains are all well-timed and doesn't feel forced. The voice acting also evokes nostalgia for those who followed the animated series in the 90's. Without this game Arkham City would not be possible. Expand
  77. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    this game is great!! the voice acting and writing are great, especially the joker.the atmosphere is also good. the combat system is one of the best i seen. the graphics are gorgeous and the sequences when batman is druged are really cool. the game isnt perfect. there is a lot of backtracking and the game could have did a better job of where to go, without needing to open the map all the time. the game uses games for windows live, which i personally hate. lip syncing is also not so good.
    overall a great action game and the best superhero game yet!!!!!
    Expand
  78. May 15, 2014
    10
    A really amazing game with loads of replay value in it.
    Amazing storyline, Id say great character development but its a Batman game.
    Batman is already well developed and they captured that perfectly.
  79. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    This game is simply awesome.Every aspect of the game is solid,the mechanics,story,graphics and art style are all astounding and you're batman for gods sake,who doesn't want to be batman.
  80. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    This was truly an amazing piece! A Batman game that will go in the history books as one of the best Batman's of all time! There were a few things here and there that were poor but the other aspects of the game make up for it. The Dark Knight is one of my most favorite super heroes in the DC universe and I enjoyed this game A LOT!

    Story is that Joker has taken over Arkham Asylum and is
    trying to kill the Batman and bring destruction to Gotham City. He and some other super criminals are teaming up to stop you! Pretty simple story but well told with how the characters are portrayed and designed which brings me to my next paragraph.

    The characters.... wow. They were right on the money with them. Perfect. Batman's silent, dark, firm, and serious attitude. The Jokers insane behavior and what he believes as funny. Harley Quinn's absolute loyalty to the Joker and her insanity with it. Everyone was portrayed and designed amazingly well except for how they fight. Their fighting was... well dull. I can understand Scarecrow though there's not much you can do for him except what they put in here. Another point to the Scarecrow though for actually scaring the living s*** out of me.

    Graphics and visuals were all top notch. The character designs were amazingly well done. Batman's suit was fantastic and as well as the carry on scratches and cuts he takes from his battles on Arkham. The prison was dark and gritty and suits the mood to the Batman series.

    Gameplay is fluid and easy but also frustrating. Not frustrating in a bad way mind you frustrating at yourself for messing up the amazing combo you were doing You got to have amazing timing amazing reflexes to press the right key/button at the right time and make sure you don't reset your combo meter. You think "Oh it's gonna be easy then." well it isn't. When you have a bunch of various bad guys that require a certain thing to be able to dodge them disarm them stun them so and and so forth it becomes a lil confusing and a test for you as you have 18 guys surrounding you trying to beat you. It's like Assassin's Creed's combat only done right. It was a good stress pushing me to become better and trying to learn the games controls. The stealth aspect was marvelous. Although I don't quite understand why there are so many gargoyles in the game (possibly a flaw but can be overlooked) the further you go the more of a challenge it becomes. The inmates will start getting Heart meters to know where you take em down. Goggles to see the dark corners where the gargoyles are places. They'll start destroying the gargoyles. I didn't find it all too challenging as I got further unlike the multiple baddy fighting. Guess I have a knack for stealth. If they added a timer though and the Joker released a gas into the room... that would make it a challenge.

    The difficulty of the game is excellent. It gives you a challenge as the further you go the more the AI adapts to your cunning and stealth. The controls are perfect it's so fluid and easy to do. It just requires excellent timing and quick reflexes much like how Batman would require only a lot more simpler and less life threatening. This is where the one flaw comes in to play on the game. Boss battles. WHAT THE F***?! I have never seen such poorly designed boss battles in all my life. Dodge the baddy and let him run into a wall? This is how all boss battles are?! Unless you count Scarecrow as a boss battle but a platform puzzle to dodge the spot light is hardly what I'd call a boss battle.

    Would I recommend this game? YES! GO BUY IT NOW!
    Expand
  81. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    In 2009, Rocksteady Studios, a video game studio with virtually no history restored gamers' hopes all around world with Batman Arkham Asylum. The UK based studio revived a genre long forgotten and delivered a superhero action game which is worth every cent you spend on it.

    Yes, yes, there hasn't been a shortage of superhero games in the 21st century, but none of them really delivered on
    its potential. And there is a bunch like the Iromnan or Superman games that aren't even worth talking about. Batman always had the better track record when it comes to games, but Arkham Asylum fires on all cylinders. Great graphics, incredible sound effects, a mad story and the little details will engage gamers and not only Batman and superhero fans.

    The game takes place on the famous Arkham Island where an Asylum has been build many-many years ago for the worst criminals Gotham can offer. It happens that The Joker has been captured by the Bats and taken in, but the Dark Knight suspects there is something going on in the background and takes his nemesis in himself. Shortly after a riot is started and The Joker gets loose. Now it's clear that the clown has something on his mind and Batman has to stop him. The story is intense and interesting as Bruce Wayne slowly puts together the pieces of Joker's grand plan. As you progress several of Batman's greatest foes will try to stop you, most notably Killer Croc, Poison Ivy or Bane, but others are introduced too. Some of them get bigger space others are bit players, but the point is that they are in the game and by their presence they make it richer.

    The graphics are decent, but there are flaws here and there. Batman and The Joker look superb, but detail of minor characters aren't on that level and some even look ugly. Other than that, the island is looks beautiful and from the distance you can see Gotham, the city of sins. The game is very well optimized on the PC so gamers with older rigs won't have problem running it.

    Even tough the island isn't overwhelmingly large, there is a lot to do. The main campaign will take around 8 hours to finish plus you can solve the puzzles and collect the question marks The Riddler left for you. By doing those you unlock character profiles, concept arts and more, so it's far from time wasting. Also by specific scanning stone tables on the island you can unlock recordings that tell you about the story of Arkham Asylum narrated by Amadeus Arkham himself. Probably the most interesting collectibles are the patient interview tapes that are scattered around the island. Some of the villains were interviewed in the facility and you can listen to these well composed dialogues. If you want to complete the main story with all the collectibles you will spend around 14+ hours on the island. When this is done you can try challenge missions where you have to beat scores by beating thugs. Sounds interesting and it adds to the game. This is the place where you can perfect you combat skills as the challenges get more and more difficult. The other half of them puts you in rooms where you have to complete 3, mostly skill-based tasks.

    With the near perfect free flow combat Arkham City is a near perfect game that finally delivers not only to fans of the genre but also to Batman and superhero fans. In fact, those who are not really in comic books should consider this game for first. It's a joy to play every second of this game. Arkham Asylum set the bar for every single superhero game that comes after 2009. It's a benchmark and an example to follow for every publisher and developer.

    Rating: 90/100; Replay Value: 3/5; To Beat: 8 hours (main campaign), 14 hours (campaign with collectibles); Played on: normal.
    Expand
  82. Aug 31, 2013
    9
    Outstanding game in every way great production values, tight responsive controls, great story and a bunch of challenges to tackle along the way. I'm not a big Batman fan so I didn't recognise half the side characters who made an appearance in various ways, but dealing with the themed fights/puzzles/challenges was a lot of fun.
  83. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    I played through the game in less than 10 hours, but after I passed the last mission which I defeated Joker and resent him back to the asylum, I still want to know more about the next story. The game gives players a film-like impression and the story movie has a high level standard. Combat system and weapon/tool system is designed so perfect that let you interact with environment fluently. It is the combat and weapon/tool make batman be a real batman. Expand
  84. May 22, 2014
    10
    There really is no other score appropriate for this game. I don't hand out many 10's, but this game deserves it. Beautiful textures, smooth gameplay, tight controls, and a good storyline make this a must-buy.
  85. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    Arkham Asylum is definitely one of the best game of this genre. I played it at hard difficulty and it took me more than 15 hours to complete all levels. The gameplay is simple but really funny and except for some boss fights the game is generally pretty easy.
  86. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Batman Arkham Asylum was one of the freshest, most interesting and action packed surprises of my entire gaming life! The fight system used in this game shocked me as to how flawless the movements looked as the combination of attacks used was insanely smooth… Seriously, a truly fantastic combat system… That aside the story was fascinating, the graphics were flawless and the environments were large (but not too large), detailed and well presented! The game as a whole was amazing and was an experience I never expected from a video game under the Batman name! Well worth the play; even if you don’t really care for Batman as a character! Expand
  87. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    This is the best implementation of batman the character I've ever played. The nightmare scenes are a great and unexpected touch to this game. One star off for the game being incapable of loading levels so you can revisit some of the highlight areas (Scarecrow).
  88. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    The first game of the Arkham franchise. Batman Arkham Asylum concentrates on the Asylum and how everything really works there. It's the only place in Batman's universe that is only known as a place where all criminals go when apprehended by Batman. RockSteady Studios decided to have the game take place so all of us gamers and Batman lovers will know what Arkham Asylum is capable of and how the house rules is unique compared to your usual prison. Going straight to the game play, it is an Action Adventure game. You, playing as the Dark Knight himself, will have all of the gadgets to strategically take down thugs and bosses. The game is easy for casual players, even on Hard mode, casual players who are looking for challenges can make it through, especially when you're familiar how the game play goes.

    Note: I will not state specifics here to avoid spoilers so discover it yourselves guys!

    Moving on... the story of the game itself is really detailed, perfectly narrated, and very dark and it points specifically in Arkham Asylum. The Lifespan of the game is somewhat great, you have achievements, riddles, trophies, unlockables and story tapes to find in the game which can make you busy throughout.

    Overall the game itself is great, mechanics wise its simple, audio and voice narration is well-done by Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill, and the story is well polished. A must have!
    Expand
  89. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    He is strong without super powers.That's why we all love him.Top 10 of all times for me is here.Great story,great gameplay,great joker too,what do you want more?PLAY IT!!!!
  90. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    All I really have to say is, and all I REALLY need to say is... This game defiantly deserved its GOTY award. This is one of my favorite series, and this game in particular is my favorite so far.
  91. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is an outstanding game about superheroes. It sticks to the comics, but also create new things in the story. And don't forget about the gameplay, with mind-blowing Freeflow combat systems, heart-breaking stealth feature, and awesome Batman's gadgets. Good story? checked! Great gameplay? Checked! Good graphic and sounds? Checked! Although there're some minor flaws, but don't let them make you forget about this remarkable title. Expand
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. The result is so good that we're declaring it an easy 'Best of' contender for 2009.
  2. I can say with confidence and cannot stress enough, Batman: Arkham Asylum is, without a doubt, the best Batman game ever created. It does more than give you the Batman game you want, it gives you a video game that you could play repeatedly, even if it didn't have the caped and cowled Dark Knight in it.
  3. There isn’t a single element of Arkham Asylum that isn’t polished to the utmost degree.