User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1362 Ratings

User score distribution:

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 25, 2015
    9
    Batman Arkham Asylum-a detailed review

    Plot summary: Joker has took control of Arkham Asylum,releasing murderers freaks and monsters,he is planning something huge,stop him. Batman Arkham Asylum is a dark,gritty take on the dark knight.The good thing is that it stays true to the comics with many familiar villains and a general batman story.But the plot has many twists and turns with
    Batman Arkham Asylum-a detailed review

    Plot summary:
    Joker has took control of Arkham Asylum,releasing murderers freaks and monsters,he is planning something huge,stop him.

    Batman Arkham Asylum is a dark,gritty take on the dark knight.The good thing is that it stays true to the comics with many familiar villains and a general batman story.But the plot has many twists and turns with a variety of challenges along the way.

    The game play is one of the best fighting action games I have ever seen.Its simple attack,combo and dodge. Thats what makes it good, its simple yet incredibly satisfying to punch a thug in the face the fly kick him across the room.You can get upgrades to upgrade certain moves you can do.Like combos and an move called an inverted take down where you can take down a thug from above them.

    The graphics are great,they have a very dark,dirty tone to them.Which sets the mood for Arkham Asylum.The character designs are brilliant-Batman has a bad ass suit.The joker looks like joker but more realistic and dark than ever.And everything just looks great.

    Overall I think Batman Arkham Asylum is a really good game.I thoroughly enjoyed it,I give it a solid 9/10
    Expand
  2. Jan 14, 2015
    8
    Ok... Este juego me sorprendió... No para bien si me lo preguntan. Simplemente no llego a ver el GOTY que todos dicen... Empecemos.

    Para empezar el juego se divide en 3 secciones que usaras constantemente, el combate, el sigilo, y el modo detective. El combate es extremadamente simple, intenso, fluido y algo relajante. Es un combate para raza de los casuales, de eso no ahí duda. Por lo
    Ok... Este juego me sorprendió... No para bien si me lo preguntan. Simplemente no llego a ver el GOTY que todos dicen... Empecemos.

    Para empezar el juego se divide en 3 secciones que usaras constantemente, el combate, el sigilo, y el modo detective. El combate es extremadamente simple, intenso, fluido y algo relajante. Es un combate para raza de los casuales, de eso no ahí duda. Por lo que aun que seas un niño pequeño podrás entrar a este combate. Sin embargo tiene sus defectos, aveces los enemigos te darán golpes aunque sus golpes ni te rocen. Y las paredes son un problema, si te chocas con una pared en el combate, Batman se alterara y no dará golpes donde tu le indiques. Aun así al final es bueno. Sigue el sigilo, es simple y satisfactorio, solo tienes que caminar a espaldas de los enemigos y listo, también puedes usar gárgolas para ir por el techo, usar los juguetes de Batman para distraer o noquear, etc. Pero tiene un problema, solo funciona con enemigos que tengan armas de fuego, por lo que si entras a una sala con 20 personas sin armas no podrás usarlo, te verán de una forma in-humana, como Superman. El modo detective es detectar 1 prueba en una sala, ya esta, no tiene mas utilidad y casi podría ser un cinemática, pero se agradece que nos den el control en estas zonas. Otro problema es la historia, es extremadamente simple, y desaprovechada. Solo ves algunos de los muchos villanos de Batman, y solo peleas con 2 de ellos. Y las batallas de jefe son terribles, son enemigos grandotes con un patrón de ataque igual uno del otro. ahí unas 5 en todo el juego, y no cuento las del Espanta Pajaros por que es mas un escape que una pelea. Huyes hasta encontrar una luz y listo, siempre. El Cocodrilo Asesino tampoco cuenta por que es igual, escapar. Las que no son escape son simples y aburridas, Hiedra Venenosa y el Joker son las únicas diferentes, y de echo son peores que las de Bane y sus clones... Y hablando de el Joker... Es increíble, el actor de voz hace un trabajo increíble, y tiene muy buenos diálogos, aunque no me convence del todo... Aun así esta muy bien, y el juego esta en español, esta traducido con voces de actores y son muy buenas. Y las mejoras... Son muy útiles, cada una mejora a Batman, en especial las de combate. Yo pensaba que serían malas o cambiarían demasiado el combate que ya estaba, pero cuando entre a los retos del juego me costaba mucho, pero cuando decidí desbloquearlos y sutilmente todas las peleas se volvieron fáciles, las habilidades son útiles, hasta la ultima. El diseño de niveles esta... Mediocre. Algunas zonas de el asilo se sienten reales, y otras no tienen sentido, es muy raro. Pero el asilo esta lleno de coleccionables, todos son interesantes, tienes grabaciones de varios villanos de Batman, múltiples dibujos con historia y datos de varios personajes, este juego tiene calidad y contenido. Pero no me duro mucho... Yo suelo re-jugar un juego hasta obtener todos los logros y apenas me duro unas 40 horas para pasármelo con sus logros, mientras que otros juegos me duran el doble. Un hack and slash me dura mas. Y eso que son lineales a mas no poder. Seguro para ti es entretenimiento de sobra, así que al final... El increíble combate, el sigilo simple y divertido, el contenido extra a montones y varios desafíos que completar... Pero sale la patética historia, los problemas no refinados de el combate y sigilo, los mal aprovechados villanos con sus malas peleas de jefe, y un mapa algo complicado al mostrar objetivo... Al final no veo el GOTY, no lo veo, pero aun así es un buen juego que por 19.99 es entretenimiento de sobra, en especial por descuento como yo lo conseguí. Por su precio de 19.99 le doy un 08/10, es un buen juego que si consigues en promoción te hará feliz.
    Expand
  3. Dec 14, 2014
    3
    I tried it because of all the hype, but it's a letdown. The game is completely linear so far, so it's like you're just watching a movie and pressing a button at the right time. (Now press F to glide down and hit that guy...) Click over and over for punch, punch, fancy punch... etc. Bleh. Boring.
  4. Dec 5, 2014
    7
    Showing the fact, what games like this one, can be more for people, what were before "their own try" judging them and after "that try", they realised the real truth!..
  5. Sep 20, 2014
    3
    I really don't get the hype about this game, and I'm a huge Batman fan (and a huge gamer). The combat is horrid... it's just a button masher. It's sooooo easy. I feel like the difficulty is catered to 6-7 year olds... or maybe Dark souls just spoiled me?
  6. Sep 4, 2014
    9
    Excellent is not the best word to describe this game. Epic, on the other hand, is. Great in every aspect, this game will give you a true gaming experience and you will love it even more if you are a Batman fan like me. No negative things to point out really. Best Batman game of all time.
  7. Aug 27, 2014
    9
    The batman game fans always want , with stunning graphics, cool plot, and awesome combat system, this is one of this gen best games.You definitely dont want to miss this one.
  8. Aug 17, 2014
    8
    It's a great game, the ambietation is good, the controls work fine and the challenges work well. The only problem is the really short camapign, but it's preatty fun. Ah, and have I mentioned the giant muscular Joker? Like... what the **** EIDOS? Joker is all about brains, not about sheer force and power.
  9. Aug 13, 2014
    5
    It's good in some ways and a pain in the *** in other ways. Some of the major battles require you to work with the WASD keys in a weird action mode and it makes it even more difficult to accomplish anything, which in turn makes it frustrating. And I'm playing on easy just because I want to get it over with! If you find this game for under $20 it might be worth it, but other than that, theIt's good in some ways and a pain in the *** in other ways. Some of the major battles require you to work with the WASD keys in a weird action mode and it makes it even more difficult to accomplish anything, which in turn makes it frustrating. And I'm playing on easy just because I want to get it over with! If you find this game for under $20 it might be worth it, but other than that, the more recent Batman Gotham City is a much better version of the game series. Expand
  10. Jul 28, 2014
    9
    Game: Batman Arkham Asylum GOTY
    Genre: Action
    Developer: Rocksteady System: Steam (PC) Total Score: 90/100 Value Score: 9/10 • Story: 10/10 • Characters: 9/10 • GamePlay: 10/10 • Graphics: 9/10 • Sound: 10/10 • Music: 7/10 • Length: 7/10 • Replay Value: 8/10 • Player Value: 10/10 Pros +Has all of the DLCs that were released separately on Vanilla Batman Arkham
    Game: Batman Arkham Asylum GOTY
    Genre: Action
    Developer: Rocksteady
    System: Steam (PC)
    Total Score: 90/100
    Value Score: 9/10

    • Story: 10/10
    • Characters: 9/10
    • GamePlay: 10/10
    • Graphics: 9/10
    • Sound: 10/10
    • Music: 7/10
    • Length: 7/10
    • Replay Value: 8/10
    • Player Value: 10/10

    Pros
    +Has all of the DLCs that were released separately on Vanilla Batman Arkham Asylum
    +Great innovative gameplay that mixes puzzle and stealth elements well
    +Memorable iconic characters from the Batman Universe
    +A great new original storyline added to the Batman Universe

    Cons
    -Music is great for atmosphere but not memorable
    -Game's main storyline can be beaten in a few hours
    -Some of the visuals - mainly environment designs look outdated to the rest of the game
    Expand
  11. Jul 27, 2014
    10
    Pro:
    Great graphics,
    Great soundtrack
    Great story
    unique combat system
    lots of secrets to find

    Cons:
    Repetitive combat
    Weak boss fights
    a little on the short side
  12. Jun 13, 2014
    9
    Batman: Arkham Asylum is an outstanding game about superheroes. It sticks to the comics, but also create new things in the story. And don't forget about the gameplay, with mind-blowing Freeflow combat systems, heart-breaking stealth feature, and awesome Batman's gadgets. Good story? checked! Great gameplay? Checked! Good graphic and sounds? Checked! Although there're some minor flaws, butBatman: Arkham Asylum is an outstanding game about superheroes. It sticks to the comics, but also create new things in the story. And don't forget about the gameplay, with mind-blowing Freeflow combat systems, heart-breaking stealth feature, and awesome Batman's gadgets. Good story? checked! Great gameplay? Checked! Good graphic and sounds? Checked! Although there're some minor flaws, but don't let them make you forget about this remarkable title. Expand
  13. May 22, 2014
    10
    There really is no other score appropriate for this game. I don't hand out many 10's, but this game deserves it. Beautiful textures, smooth gameplay, tight controls, and a good storyline make this a must-buy.
  14. May 15, 2014
    10
    A really amazing game with loads of replay value in it.
    Amazing storyline, Id say great character development but its a Batman game.
    Batman is already well developed and they captured that perfectly.
  15. Apr 17, 2014
    6
    In general a good start for a batman series, but the controls in general feels sometimes like playing with broken fingers.
    The area is small and the quest is let you run always across it :-( .Fighting is funny when you are familiar with controls once. Batman looks dangerous but in fact he is a ****
  16. Apr 15, 2014
    7
    Last Played: March 2014 (with XBOX controller)
    PROS: + Who doesn’t want to be Batman? + Fighting system has its moments, though also has frustrating times. + Feels like a Batman movie/comic.
    CONS: -Way shorter than expected (~15 hours first time playthrough). – D-pad inventory selection clunky at best. –Some frustrating sequences. REVIEW: When a game this highly rated goes on sale for
    Last Played: March 2014 (with XBOX controller)
    PROS: + Who doesn’t want to be Batman? + Fighting system has its moments, though also has frustrating times. + Feels like a Batman movie/comic.
    CONS: -Way shorter than expected (~15 hours first time playthrough). – D-pad inventory selection clunky at best. –Some frustrating sequences.
    REVIEW: When a game this highly rated goes on sale for $5, who can resist? I had very high expectations for this game, and looked forward to “being” Batman. And if we are being honest, that is really the main point in playing a Batman game, so the fact that this one does a really good job making you feel like the “caped crusader” is commendable. Since Batman relies on non-lethal force, this game puts an understandable emphasis on hand-to-hand combat, which is for the most part fluid and rewarding (though button-mashers will probably find it hard). Players also get to sneak up on the baddies and knock them out one at a time-it is pretty gratifying to listen to the others get increasingly panicked as you nab them one by one. Also-the story, while patchy, is at least not outrageously dumb (“Injustice”, anyone?), or at least it isn’t too dumb for characters that normally exist in books with fewer than 1,000 words.
    Unfortunately, I still think this game has been overrated-or maybe it was just judged against other independently developed games, I don’t really know. Firstly, unless you insist on getting all of the collectibles (this game has an absurdly large number of them) this game will not take more than 15 hours to beat on a normal difficulty, even on the first run through. The areas are re-visited with different bad guys to help make them seem different, but really the maps are kind of small, so recycling them still gets noticeable by the end. Secondly, some of Batman’s gizmos are kind of useless, but this is actually a good thing, because switching between active gadgets using a poorly integrated D-pad is actually a huge pain, so the less you have to switch, the better. Finally, this game has some frustrating sequences. Not the “man, I’m not good enough and I need to practice to beat this awesome game” kind, the “wtf how did that guy kill me now I have to do the whole 5-minute thing over again” kind. Furthermore, although the sneaking “predator” combat mode is cool at first, there simply aren’t enough options for sneaky takedowns to make the later sequences fun-you can either use the 1-2 vents in a room or the 5-6 ceiling grapples to remain unseen and late in the game one of the options is removed from this list, which makes the exercise kind of a chore.
    I guess what it boils down to are a few questions you need to ask yourself: Do I want a game that will make me feel like Batman? Do I mind a small map if there are new enemies to give it variety? Is this game on sale? Depending on how you answer these, Arkham Asylum may be a good buy.
    Expand
  17. Apr 9, 2014
    10
    All I really have to say is, and all I REALLY need to say is... This game defiantly deserved its GOTY award. This is one of my favorite series, and this game in particular is my favorite so far.
  18. Apr 1, 2014
    10
    He is strong without super powers.That's why we all love him.Top 10 of all times for me is here.Great story,great gameplay,great joker too,what do you want more?PLAY IT!!!!
  19. Feb 24, 2014
    9
    The first game of the Arkham franchise. Batman Arkham Asylum concentrates on the Asylum and how everything really works there. It's the only place in Batman's universe that is only known as a place where all criminals go when apprehended by Batman. RockSteady Studios decided to have the game take place so all of us gamers and Batman lovers will know what Arkham Asylum is capable of and howThe first game of the Arkham franchise. Batman Arkham Asylum concentrates on the Asylum and how everything really works there. It's the only place in Batman's universe that is only known as a place where all criminals go when apprehended by Batman. RockSteady Studios decided to have the game take place so all of us gamers and Batman lovers will know what Arkham Asylum is capable of and how the house rules is unique compared to your usual prison. Going straight to the game play, it is an Action Adventure game. You, playing as the Dark Knight himself, will have all of the gadgets to strategically take down thugs and bosses. The game is easy for casual players, even on Hard mode, casual players who are looking for challenges can make it through, especially when you're familiar how the game play goes.

    Note: I will not state specifics here to avoid spoilers so discover it yourselves guys!

    Moving on... the story of the game itself is really detailed, perfectly narrated, and very dark and it points specifically in Arkham Asylum. The Lifespan of the game is somewhat great, you have achievements, riddles, trophies, unlockables and story tapes to find in the game which can make you busy throughout.

    Overall the game itself is great, mechanics wise its simple, audio and voice narration is well-done by Kevin Conroy and Mark Hamill, and the story is well polished. A must have!
    Expand
  20. Feb 23, 2014
    10
    Arkham Asylum is definitely one of the best game of this genre. I played it at hard difficulty and it took me more than 15 hours to complete all levels. The gameplay is simple but really funny and except for some boss fights the game is generally pretty easy.
  21. Feb 18, 2014
    4
    I have a powerful system with an nVidia card, but technical difficulties with missing PhysX libraries in the current version make the game a slideshow any time there are particles on the screen. Voice acting is a bit wooden from time to time. And gameplay is extremely linear. It's one of those action games where you go from cutscene to cutscene, doing insignificant things and a few fightsI have a powerful system with an nVidia card, but technical difficulties with missing PhysX libraries in the current version make the game a slideshow any time there are particles on the screen. Voice acting is a bit wooden from time to time. And gameplay is extremely linear. It's one of those action games where you go from cutscene to cutscene, doing insignificant things and a few fights in between. I kind of liked the graphics but I've seen much better as well. And going by the Steam statistics, only 33% of players actually finishes the game. To me that means that the high scores and multiple accolades given to this game are not an accurate reflection of it's qualities. I think this was overhyped and I would not recommend it to any of my friends. Expand
  22. Feb 16, 2014
    8
    This is a great game with good graphics and a good story line. The combat is fluid and fun but occasionally will got unresponsive. At first the voice acting is stiff and really is off the mark. This improves during the game and the uniqueness of the challenges make up for the false start.

    Sound is tremendous, atmosphere is superb, and its hard to tear yourself away to do things you
    This is a great game with good graphics and a good story line. The combat is fluid and fun but occasionally will got unresponsive. At first the voice acting is stiff and really is off the mark. This improves during the game and the uniqueness of the challenges make up for the false start.

    Sound is tremendous, atmosphere is superb, and its hard to tear yourself away to do things you really need to do... AFTER the first part is concluded that is.

    I will say that if you don't play this and its superior follow up, City, you are missing a great action/stealth/exploration/combat/gadget series and should really give it a try - even if you are not a Batman fan - which to me is unthinkable!
    Expand
  23. Jan 22, 2014
    8
    Uno de los mejores juegos de la generación, apartado gráfico, historia y jugabilidad impresionantes. Es un juegazo, los combates, la acción y el doblaje hacen de este juego uno de mis favoritos, una joya, lo recomiendo totalmente, imprescindible. Sin lugar a dudas junto al City y al Origins estamos ante para mi una de las mejores sagas de esta generación.
  24. Nov 25, 2013
    8
    I will have to agree that this game is amazing, both from graphical and gameplay standards. Instead of praising it like most reviews do, I will instead focus on some problems I had with it:
    I've tried to play this game on the ps2 controller I've plugged into my pc and I've had so many troubles with it that I've started playing on the keyboard instead (basicly most actions wouldn't work
    I will have to agree that this game is amazing, both from graphical and gameplay standards. Instead of praising it like most reviews do, I will instead focus on some problems I had with it:
    I've tried to play this game on the ps2 controller I've plugged into my pc and I've had so many troubles with it that I've started playing on the keyboard instead (basicly most actions wouldn't work despite being mapped to the propper button).
    The combat is not as fluid as it could have been, the counters sometimes wouldn't work).
    Expand
  25. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    In 2009, Rocksteady Studios, a video game studio with virtually no history restored gamers' hopes all around world with Batman Arkham Asylum. The UK based studio revived a genre long forgotten and delivered a superhero action game which is worth every cent you spend on it.

    Yes, yes, there hasn't been a shortage of superhero games in the 21st century, but none of them really delivered on
    In 2009, Rocksteady Studios, a video game studio with virtually no history restored gamers' hopes all around world with Batman Arkham Asylum. The UK based studio revived a genre long forgotten and delivered a superhero action game which is worth every cent you spend on it.

    Yes, yes, there hasn't been a shortage of superhero games in the 21st century, but none of them really delivered on its potential. And there is a bunch like the Iromnan or Superman games that aren't even worth talking about. Batman always had the better track record when it comes to games, but Arkham Asylum fires on all cylinders. Great graphics, incredible sound effects, a mad story and the little details will engage gamers and not only Batman and superhero fans.

    The game takes place on the famous Arkham Island where an Asylum has been build many-many years ago for the worst criminals Gotham can offer. It happens that The Joker has been captured by the Bats and taken in, but the Dark Knight suspects there is something going on in the background and takes his nemesis in himself. Shortly after a riot is started and The Joker gets loose. Now it's clear that the clown has something on his mind and Batman has to stop him. The story is intense and interesting as Bruce Wayne slowly puts together the pieces of Joker's grand plan. As you progress several of Batman's greatest foes will try to stop you, most notably Killer Croc, Poison Ivy or Bane, but others are introduced too. Some of them get bigger space others are bit players, but the point is that they are in the game and by their presence they make it richer.

    The graphics are decent, but there are flaws here and there. Batman and The Joker look superb, but detail of minor characters aren't on that level and some even look ugly. Other than that, the island is looks beautiful and from the distance you can see Gotham, the city of sins. The game is very well optimized on the PC so gamers with older rigs won't have problem running it.

    Even tough the island isn't overwhelmingly large, there is a lot to do. The main campaign will take around 8 hours to finish plus you can solve the puzzles and collect the question marks The Riddler left for you. By doing those you unlock character profiles, concept arts and more, so it's far from time wasting. Also by specific scanning stone tables on the island you can unlock recordings that tell you about the story of Arkham Asylum narrated by Amadeus Arkham himself. Probably the most interesting collectibles are the patient interview tapes that are scattered around the island. Some of the villains were interviewed in the facility and you can listen to these well composed dialogues. If you want to complete the main story with all the collectibles you will spend around 14+ hours on the island. When this is done you can try challenge missions where you have to beat scores by beating thugs. Sounds interesting and it adds to the game. This is the place where you can perfect you combat skills as the challenges get more and more difficult. The other half of them puts you in rooms where you have to complete 3, mostly skill-based tasks.

    With the near perfect free flow combat Arkham City is a near perfect game that finally delivers not only to fans of the genre but also to Batman and superhero fans. In fact, those who are not really in comic books should consider this game for first. It's a joy to play every second of this game. Arkham Asylum set the bar for every single superhero game that comes after 2009. It's a benchmark and an example to follow for every publisher and developer.

    Rating: 90/100; Replay Value: 3/5; To Beat: 8 hours (main campaign), 14 hours (campaign with collectibles); Played on: normal.
    Expand
  26. Nov 24, 2013
    9
    This is the best implementation of batman the character I've ever played. The nightmare scenes are a great and unexpected touch to this game. One star off for the game being incapable of loading levels so you can revisit some of the highlight areas (Scarecrow).
  27. Nov 20, 2013
    10
    Batman Arkham Asylum was one of the freshest, most interesting and action packed surprises of my entire gaming life! The fight system used in this game shocked me as to how flawless the movements looked as the combination of attacks used was insanely smooth… Seriously, a truly fantastic combat system… That aside the story was fascinating, the graphics were flawless and the environmentsBatman Arkham Asylum was one of the freshest, most interesting and action packed surprises of my entire gaming life! The fight system used in this game shocked me as to how flawless the movements looked as the combination of attacks used was insanely smooth… Seriously, a truly fantastic combat system… That aside the story was fascinating, the graphics were flawless and the environments were large (but not too large), detailed and well presented! The game as a whole was amazing and was an experience I never expected from a video game under the Batman name! Well worth the play; even if you don’t really care for Batman as a character! Expand
  28. Nov 18, 2013
    0
    Batman AA is like every other button smasher I've ever played since the original NES. Kick, punch, roundhouse kick from one badguy to the next. Boring and cookie cutter. What happened to creativity?
  29. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    My only complaint is that the game was too short!

    But what keeps me from giving this game a 10 is the static camera in some parts, I'm ok with Scarecrow levels having static camera (you can't turn with mouse) I think it should be that way, fits well the challenge, however, Ivy and Joker-on-steroids fight could have used the free camera, doesn't feel the same when you not playing with a
    My only complaint is that the game was too short!

    But what keeps me from giving this game a 10 is the static camera in some parts, I'm ok with Scarecrow levels having static camera (you can't turn with mouse) I think it should be that way, fits well the challenge, however, Ivy and Joker-on-steroids fight could have used the free camera, doesn't feel the same when you not playing with a game pad control...

    All in all, great game, Joker does his show apart and the various challenges scattered around the island make the game interesting.

    It's constantly on sale with 75% off on Steam, don't think, just buy it's worth!
    Expand
  30. Nov 9, 2013
    8
    BAA is an amazing game, with AAA voice acting, impressive visuals and addictive gameplay.
    I only have 3 complaints:
    What made this game so addictive to me was the stealth portions, where I was required to dispatch the bad guys silently. But unfortunately, I couldn’t use this approach every time. In most cases you are thrown in to a situation where there is no stealth approach to take. I
    BAA is an amazing game, with AAA voice acting, impressive visuals and addictive gameplay.
    I only have 3 complaints:
    What made this game so addictive to me was the stealth portions, where I was required to dispatch the bad guys silently. But unfortunately, I couldn’t use this approach every time. In most cases you are thrown in to a situation where there is no stealth approach to take. I just think, a Batman game shouldn’t be just a simple beat em up, and at times it felt that way.
    Story mode is a tiny bit too short (completed the story mode in ~12 hours). But you can still squeeze 3 times that amount by gathering all the collectibles, resolving riddles and doing all the challenge modes, but I’m not the kind of person to spend hours searching for extra-stuff in a game. But if you have the time and patience for it...
    The BAA Story, despite being well written, isn’t the most creative for a video game.

    Sound 10
    Presentation 10
    Characters and Story 8
    Gameplay 8
    Value 8
    Expand
  31. Nov 7, 2013
    5
    This game is really fun but Windows Live is terrible to navigate through and because of a glitch in windows live i could never save the game it would always go the beginning so i had to play all in one insane session. Because of that 5/10 otherwise it would have been 9/10.
  32. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    This game is amazing, there is no reason that you shouldn't get it. Its overall an amazing game that takes you by surprise. With the current Humble Bundle, you get this game for as low as a dollar.
  33. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    I got this game around two years after it came out, the same time I got Arkham City. I chose to play Asylum first, then City on the suggestion of my brother who had played both of them. When you play Asylum before City, you think to yourself, "How could City POSSIBLY improve on this? It's perfect!" If you play City first, you'll feel a little restricted, but it's still an amazing game.I got this game around two years after it came out, the same time I got Arkham City. I chose to play Asylum first, then City on the suggestion of my brother who had played both of them. When you play Asylum before City, you think to yourself, "How could City POSSIBLY improve on this? It's perfect!" If you play City first, you'll feel a little restricted, but it's still an amazing game.

    I definitely recommend this game to all Batman fans.
    Expand
  34. Nov 6, 2013
    10
    I enjoy this game it's the darker side of Batman. There are not a lot of super hero games out there worth playing so this is going to get a higher rating than perhaps it should. It's an older game and not very open world, but you can explore. You just can't go scaling rocks like you're in Skyrim or taking the wrong path around a tree. There will be none of that. You can't jump at all forI enjoy this game it's the darker side of Batman. There are not a lot of super hero games out there worth playing so this is going to get a higher rating than perhaps it should. It's an older game and not very open world, but you can explore. You just can't go scaling rocks like you're in Skyrim or taking the wrong path around a tree. There will be none of that. You can't jump at all for some odd reason. The camera has issues at times where it won't be where you desire. Still the environment and graphics are well done. You feel as though you are taking part in the comic book. The main characters are perfect and the people you are fighting are no pushovers. My biggest criticism is that I can't save where I'd like so I have to repeat things that were a chore which I felt should have been a save point. For the price you can get this game it's silly to say anything negative at all, but I'll offset that with a 10. Hopefully this pushes others to try to compete in comic book heroes and we get something amazing. Until then this game is king. Expand
  35. Oct 30, 2013
    9
    Great graphics. Love the sandbox environment and a strong storyline for the backbone as well. Love the different gadgets and are plenty to actually feel like it's a full utility belt. Also the easter eggs are a big enough bonus to make then worth going after. The only real knock is that I find the fighting system a slight bit cumbersome and sluggish. Maybe it's my system. Maybe not. Once IGreat graphics. Love the sandbox environment and a strong storyline for the backbone as well. Love the different gadgets and are plenty to actually feel like it's a full utility belt. Also the easter eggs are a big enough bonus to make then worth going after. The only real knock is that I find the fighting system a slight bit cumbersome and sluggish. Maybe it's my system. Maybe not. Once I try it on my new system I will either bump this score to a 10 or leave it at a 9 if nothing changes. Expand
  36. Oct 24, 2013
    8
    Batman Arkham Asylum is one of the well-polished games back then in 2009/10. This game is definitely worth its price (right now). This game competes well with other games that were released even much later like Skyrim, Dishonored, BioShock Infinite for example.

    The A.I. is pretty decent in all areas, providing a challenge but not also not too hard at the same time. There is very few
    Batman Arkham Asylum is one of the well-polished games back then in 2009/10. This game is definitely worth its price (right now). This game competes well with other games that were released even much later like Skyrim, Dishonored, BioShock Infinite for example.

    The A.I. is pretty decent in all areas, providing a challenge but not also not too hard at the same time. There is very few bugs and glitches here and there but it is still an awesome game.

    The graphics aren't the best, but looks really decent at high resolutions and settings, somewhat similar to some of the games running on UE3.

    Unfortunately, Arkham Asylum's DLCs aren't too good to be honest, no story add-ons but with just a few challenge map-packs.

    I'll recommend gamers playing it in chronological sequence Origins Asylum City, buy the super pack that is currently on sale at GMG (for 62 US) that includes Arkham Origins, Arkham Asylum & Arkham City GOTY bundled together.
    Expand
  37. Oct 22, 2013
    9
    You can tell a game is amazing when someone who doesn't know anything about Batman or have any interest in action-adventure games manages to play it to 100% completion five times and STILL be prepared to play it through again. Honestly, Arkham Asylum is such a gemstone in video games and almost revolutionary for the genre. The collectibles are not a grind yet provide a challenge WITHOUTYou can tell a game is amazing when someone who doesn't know anything about Batman or have any interest in action-adventure games manages to play it to 100% completion five times and STILL be prepared to play it through again. Honestly, Arkham Asylum is such a gemstone in video games and almost revolutionary for the genre. The collectibles are not a grind yet provide a challenge WITHOUT requiring you to look them up. The stealth is tactical yet intuitive and skilful without being overcomplicated or difficult. The level design is often unpredictable and is developed at a perfect pace along with the excellent story and superb characters. The storytelling and voice acting and characters are fully developed WITH gameplay, so it's totally immersive. On top of that, it manages to restrict the player to avoid loss of immersion but gives some options throughout for exploration. These options get gradually bigger as you unlock more gadgets and use XP to get some upgrades such as armour and more gadget and combat functionality. The PC version is by far the best. The graphics are amazing and the use of PhysX makes an incredible difference at some points compared to the Xbox 360 version of the game. Also, I found that the graphics in Arkham Asylum are far better than they are on Arkham City! But let's not ignore the main point. Arkham Asylum's combat system is by far the best in the genre. Not only does it work perfectly with a controller due to the right number of gadgets, it's very good with keyboard and mouse too. Essentially a two button rhythm game but it flows NATURALLY. There are no special moves or complicated timing to learn it's all intuitive yet satisfying and rewards variety and style but doesn't punish you heavily for dropping combos. It truly is "Freeflow". The balance between puzzles, platforming, combat and stealth as well as the story development is absolute perfection in this game. Arkham Asylum is a game every gamer needs to play. Expand
  38. Oct 21, 2013
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. The game builds a very solid atmosphere that can immerse the player very easily. You play along with Joker's schemes throughout the game and you can feel that Joker fights with his intelligence. However the final boss breaks this theme and ends up having to fight a Joker made of pure brawn and strength, breaking the theme. The combat can also feel a bit clunky. Expand
  39. Oct 21, 2013
    9
    I played through the game in less than 10 hours, but after I passed the last mission which I defeated Joker and resent him back to the asylum, I still want to know more about the next story. The game gives players a film-like impression and the story movie has a high level standard. Combat system and weapon/tool system is designed so perfect that let you interact with environment fluently.I played through the game in less than 10 hours, but after I passed the last mission which I defeated Joker and resent him back to the asylum, I still want to know more about the next story. The game gives players a film-like impression and the story movie has a high level standard. Combat system and weapon/tool system is designed so perfect that let you interact with environment fluently. It is the combat and weapon/tool make batman be a real batman. Expand
  40. Oct 16, 2013
    10
    Walks like a bat-duck, talks like a bat-duck. This is a fantastic trip into the bat-universe and unlike a lot of licensed properties, if you took the license away you'd still have a top notch game. Hightly highly recommended.
  41. Oct 11, 2013
    9
    High quality entertainment. This was the Batman game everyone wished for. The fighting mechanics are the highlight for me in this game. The graphics are beautiful and the setting brings out the mood of Arkham Asylum. The appearance of villains are all well-timed and doesn't feel forced. The voice acting also evokes nostalgia for those who followed the animated series in the 90's. WithoutHigh quality entertainment. This was the Batman game everyone wished for. The fighting mechanics are the highlight for me in this game. The graphics are beautiful and the setting brings out the mood of Arkham Asylum. The appearance of villains are all well-timed and doesn't feel forced. The voice acting also evokes nostalgia for those who followed the animated series in the 90's. Without this game Arkham City would not be possible. Expand
  42. sft
    Oct 7, 2013
    8
    Boy, what a wonder!

    There’s much to admire in Rocksteady’s adaptation of the caped crusader’s fight against crime. BAA is atmospheric and engrossing, and the gameplay is varied and well designed, with a good mixture of problem solving and combat. The graphics are very good; the combat animation in particular is excellent. Even the controls of the PC version are well designed, which is
    Boy, what a wonder!

    There’s much to admire in Rocksteady’s adaptation of the caped crusader’s fight against crime. BAA is atmospheric and engrossing, and the gameplay is varied and well designed, with a good mixture of problem solving and combat. The graphics are very good; the combat animation in particular is excellent. Even the controls of the PC version are well designed, which is not something you can often say about games that require a good deal of button mashing. There’s a pretty good storyline too with some sharp dialogue, and the voice acting is strong throughout, especially Mark Hamill as the Joker. My only real gripe is the way the viewpoint changes for the boss fights. It certainly makes them more challenging but it’s also a bit frustrating and, to my mind, unnecessary. But this is an excellent, well-made game and is highly recommended.
    Expand
  43. Aug 31, 2013
    9
    Outstanding game in every way great production values, tight responsive controls, great story and a bunch of challenges to tackle along the way. I'm not a big Batman fan so I didn't recognise half the side characters who made an appearance in various ways, but dealing with the themed fights/puzzles/challenges was a lot of fun.
  44. Aug 4, 2013
    9
    this game is great!! the voice acting and writing are great, especially the joker.the atmosphere is also good. the combat system is one of the best i seen. the graphics are gorgeous and the sequences when batman is druged are really cool. the game isnt perfect. there is a lot of backtracking and the game could have did a better job of where to go, without needing to open the map all thethis game is great!! the voice acting and writing are great, especially the joker.the atmosphere is also good. the combat system is one of the best i seen. the graphics are gorgeous and the sequences when batman is druged are really cool. the game isnt perfect. there is a lot of backtracking and the game could have did a better job of where to go, without needing to open the map all the time. the game uses games for windows live, which i personally hate. lip syncing is also not so good.
    overall a great action game and the best superhero game yet!!!!!
    Expand
  45. Jul 26, 2013
    9
    This was truly an amazing piece! A Batman game that will go in the history books as one of the best Batman's of all time! There were a few things here and there that were poor but the other aspects of the game make up for it. The Dark Knight is one of my most favorite super heroes in the DC universe and I enjoyed this game A LOT!

    Story is that Joker has taken over Arkham Asylum and is
    This was truly an amazing piece! A Batman game that will go in the history books as one of the best Batman's of all time! There were a few things here and there that were poor but the other aspects of the game make up for it. The Dark Knight is one of my most favorite super heroes in the DC universe and I enjoyed this game A LOT!

    Story is that Joker has taken over Arkham Asylum and is trying to kill the Batman and bring destruction to Gotham City. He and some other super criminals are teaming up to stop you! Pretty simple story but well told with how the characters are portrayed and designed which brings me to my next paragraph.

    The characters.... wow. They were right on the money with them. Perfect. Batman's silent, dark, firm, and serious attitude. The Jokers insane behavior and what he believes as funny. Harley Quinn's absolute loyalty to the Joker and her insanity with it. Everyone was portrayed and designed amazingly well except for how they fight. Their fighting was... well dull. I can understand Scarecrow though there's not much you can do for him except what they put in here. Another point to the Scarecrow though for actually scaring the living s*** out of me.

    Graphics and visuals were all top notch. The character designs were amazingly well done. Batman's suit was fantastic and as well as the carry on scratches and cuts he takes from his battles on Arkham. The prison was dark and gritty and suits the mood to the Batman series.

    Gameplay is fluid and easy but also frustrating. Not frustrating in a bad way mind you frustrating at yourself for messing up the amazing combo you were doing You got to have amazing timing amazing reflexes to press the right key/button at the right time and make sure you don't reset your combo meter. You think "Oh it's gonna be easy then." well it isn't. When you have a bunch of various bad guys that require a certain thing to be able to dodge them disarm them stun them so and and so forth it becomes a lil confusing and a test for you as you have 18 guys surrounding you trying to beat you. It's like Assassin's Creed's combat only done right. It was a good stress pushing me to become better and trying to learn the games controls. The stealth aspect was marvelous. Although I don't quite understand why there are so many gargoyles in the game (possibly a flaw but can be overlooked) the further you go the more of a challenge it becomes. The inmates will start getting Heart meters to know where you take em down. Goggles to see the dark corners where the gargoyles are places. They'll start destroying the gargoyles. I didn't find it all too challenging as I got further unlike the multiple baddy fighting. Guess I have a knack for stealth. If they added a timer though and the Joker released a gas into the room... that would make it a challenge.

    The difficulty of the game is excellent. It gives you a challenge as the further you go the more the AI adapts to your cunning and stealth. The controls are perfect it's so fluid and easy to do. It just requires excellent timing and quick reflexes much like how Batman would require only a lot more simpler and less life threatening. This is where the one flaw comes in to play on the game. Boss battles. WHAT THE F***?! I have never seen such poorly designed boss battles in all my life. Dodge the baddy and let him run into a wall? This is how all boss battles are?! Unless you count Scarecrow as a boss battle but a platform puzzle to dodge the spot light is hardly what I'd call a boss battle.

    Would I recommend this game? YES! GO BUY IT NOW!
    Expand
  46. Jul 23, 2013
    8
    Batman Arkham Asylum has one of the best fight systems, which I've ever played. It runs so smoothly! The characters are fantastic and the scenario is atmospheric. If you like Batman, you will like this game.
  47. Jul 21, 2013
    6
    I would like to clarify a few things for potential buyers (only reason you're reading this). This is a campaign/story type game with mild puzzle type elements. If you have played darksiders then you are in the right ballpark. I knew this was a campaign/story type game and I bought it anyway determined to play even though I am a sandbox kind of guy.

    Bottom line, even as a marginal
    I would like to clarify a few things for potential buyers (only reason you're reading this). This is a campaign/story type game with mild puzzle type elements. If you have played darksiders then you are in the right ballpark. I knew this was a campaign/story type game and I bought it anyway determined to play even though I am a sandbox kind of guy.

    Bottom line, even as a marginal batman fan (only batman I ever liked was Frank Millers The Dark Knight Returns graphic novel) you are going to get something out of this. The force that is Batman is communicated here but mostly graphically. For those of us who enjoy sandbox the gameplay is incredibly claustrophobic. But in a puzzle-like way which is why it works. At least for the gazillion people who gave it a 10 here. You get strung along in extremely linear fashion with some gratifying puzzle-like play in your attempts to complete level challenges and bosses. I can't really stress how claustrophobic progression is though. The gratification for completing this game is equivalent to reading a book. You want to complete the story rather than experience the awesome gameplay. And I guess thats what divides us gamers, those who want a mild challenge with more story and those who want an insane challenge with no story. So to sum up my review, if you know what type of gamer you are you should definitively know whether you will enjoy this game to the fullest, or not. If you are man enough to admit you are a softcore gamer and would enjoy this go for it. Otherwise steer clear because you will be filled with mostly, contempt.
    Expand
  48. Jun 29, 2013
    3
    this game is a joke for adult players: The gameplay is so simple: press button and something awesome will happen, haha. KI is intelligence? So a classic console game: simple and easy... There are some good sides of this game: graphic is great and the performance perfect. Anyway it doesnt help the gameplay.
  49. Jun 16, 2013
    8
    i really recommend this game it is really great this is the best superhero game you'll play although am not a big fan of batman but this is a great game with great characters and great voice acting
  50. Jun 5, 2013
    0
    While I've heard and read all the good stories about this game, I have to rate it a 0, the game crashes after one minute, after doing some research I discovered I am by far not alone with this problem.
  51. Jun 4, 2013
    10
    This game is simply awesome.Every aspect of the game is solid,the mechanics,story,graphics and art style are all astounding and you're batman for gods sake,who doesn't want to be batman.
  52. May 9, 2013
    1
    This is a game that I kept hearing great things about for a few years now. I've been meaning to try it. I just recently got around to it, and frankly I am dumbfounded looking at some of the ratings it's gotten. I wanted to like it, I really did but it's been quite some time since a video game has left me so bored, and I don't think I have ever played anything more overrated. (Except maybeThis is a game that I kept hearing great things about for a few years now. I've been meaning to try it. I just recently got around to it, and frankly I am dumbfounded looking at some of the ratings it's gotten. I wanted to like it, I really did but it's been quite some time since a video game has left me so bored, and I don't think I have ever played anything more overrated. (Except maybe the Halo series or Borderlands)

    The level design is bland and uninspired. The combat system is oversimplified. The enemy AI is utterly braindead. Many of the early fights you can win even if you close your eyes and just start tapping the strike and counter buttons randomly, and I'm not exaggerating. Try it and you'll see what I mean.

    All we have here in Batman Arkham Asylum is painfully linear button-masher that has very little real substance. It's a game that younger, casual console gamers will have a blast with. You get non-stop action with no thought required whatsoever. If that's your thing, go for it.

    In all fairness I need to point out that for a 2009 game, most of the visuals are pretty decent. Some of the character models are not that well done, but overall it is not a bad looking game. The voice acting for Batman and Joker are excellent, but most of the other voices aren't anything special.

    I'm glad I was able to get my copy of this for free, I would have been pretty upset if I had to spend money on this turd. Like I said, I wanted to like it and I really tried but it's just not a very good game IMHO. I ended up deleting it to save some hard drive space, because I know for sure that I will never be playing this one again.
    Expand
  53. Apr 26, 2013
    9
    The first of an amazing series of batman games. I can say, a family of piece of art.
    Wonderful, the gameplay is simple and smart. You have to be very strategic to achieve the goals.
  54. Mar 28, 2013
    1
    GFWL entering the game key several times poor controller support no way to restore your saved game files if you reinstall windows. This is a good game but it comes with too many unnecessary DRM crap, starting with GFWL. This game was deliberately designed to lesson the PC gamer experience.
  55. Mar 13, 2013
    6
    Before I played this game, I had a really high expectation. But it soon turned out to be a pretty disappointing game. Fight scenes are brief and easy, even in hard difficulty. Sneak behind the enemies is too easy, and not critical. I can go in to a fight without need to sneak in two or three. In other games of this genre if you don't sneak, you die!
    The graphics are ok, and the story is
    Before I played this game, I had a really high expectation. But it soon turned out to be a pretty disappointing game. Fight scenes are brief and easy, even in hard difficulty. Sneak behind the enemies is too easy, and not critical. I can go in to a fight without need to sneak in two or three. In other games of this genre if you don't sneak, you die!
    The graphics are ok, and the story is nice. but the lack of possibilities and the absurd amount of gadgets are a some of the reasons I don't love this game. But hey! It's a Batman game, which is the best thing in the game! But if you're not a batman fan, you probably won't like it very much.
    Expand
  56. Mar 9, 2013
    10
    Arkham Asylum is a game that just does everything right. From the voice acting to the graphics to the attention to detail and respect to the source material to the incredible game play, Arkham Asylum is everything you want to see in a comic book game. I don't for a second understand the negative reviews... as far as I am concerned this game was perfect and a great buy on a steam sale.
  57. Mar 9, 2013
    0
    This over rated piece of crapp deserves zero only. This game is no way to play without X360 controller, i didn't see so lazy and poor console port before and i don't see any reason to port games from console, if you have to use console controller to play. Optimization is poor as well. There is no balancing, simple thugs kick makes more damage than these ones of Bane. You can't skipThis over rated piece of crapp deserves zero only. This game is no way to play without X360 controller, i didn't see so lazy and poor console port before and i don't see any reason to port games from console, if you have to use console controller to play. Optimization is poor as well. There is no balancing, simple thugs kick makes more damage than these ones of Bane. You can't skip annoying cut scenes and there is no normal save system. I did buy Steam version, but still i had to install over 500MB of software to play Games for Windows Live nVidia Physx SecuRom What a joke. Expand
  58. Feb 12, 2013
    10
    an excellent game, who does not love to play as a superhero that actually relies on wits and equipments rather than superpowers... well, the graphics are great, and overall presentation is outstanding. from the opening to the end. i have not messed with the 3d vision for this game but thats just another reason to play it some more. even if not a batman fan, it is still an awesome game froman excellent game, who does not love to play as a superhero that actually relies on wits and equipments rather than superpowers... well, the graphics are great, and overall presentation is outstanding. from the opening to the end. i have not messed with the 3d vision for this game but thats just another reason to play it some more. even if not a batman fan, it is still an awesome game from a 3rd person action platforming aspect. the combat system is really fun to play with, and the slow motion '300' inspired deaths are cool. the story is obviously about batman, and his capture of the joker, his arch nemesis. mostly the story revolves around those two, and who has the endurance to fight to the end. overall, great game and ranked any lower than 9 would be an insult. Expand
  59. Feb 11, 2013
    4
    Simply a masterpiece,how can you not enjoy this at £2.49 on Steam.A total givaway.The controller works brilliantly and the missions are just right and a bit of eye candy if you run DX11 what a game awesome.
  60. Feb 7, 2013
    10
    Just awesome The story is correct, Action, platform, research and all keep the spirit of the comic. Even today, graphisms are totally correct. Fights are incredible. Batman moves are just great. This is a title to get and today for a chip price
  61. Jan 14, 2013
    8
    This was as good as a Batman movie. Many say no actor can rival Ledger in the role of the Joker and I agreed with them, but after seeing Joker in Arkham asylum it forced me to reconsider. The characters are captivating and have benefited from 50 or so years of festering in the Batman universe. I am far from being a Batman fan but this is simply a great game in too many ways to ignore.This was as good as a Batman movie. Many say no actor can rival Ledger in the role of the Joker and I agreed with them, but after seeing Joker in Arkham asylum it forced me to reconsider. The characters are captivating and have benefited from 50 or so years of festering in the Batman universe. I am far from being a Batman fan but this is simply a great game in too many ways to ignore. Using the myriad of gadgets is fun as is the combat that is very responsive and allows you to string together combos with many moves. The stealth sequences where you have to take down armed thugs strategically especially impressed me. The game was however quite short (10 hours), there is DRM in the form of Windows Live, and progressing through the game's "puzzles" (i.e. rooms) is too easy. An all around extremely polished game that sets the bar high. Expand
  62. Jan 2, 2013
    10
    this was the best game of 2009 but i didnt review it then so i will review it now. arkham asylum is so amazing that i played it something like 30 times and this was between the two games i played in 2009-2010 so lets talk now about the game arkham asylum is the first batman game that take itself seriously the story and the feeling is relly mature and its not an stupid game that batmanthis was the best game of 2009 but i didnt review it then so i will review it now. arkham asylum is so amazing that i played it something like 30 times and this was between the two games i played in 2009-2010 so lets talk now about the game arkham asylum is the first batman game that take itself seriously the story and the feeling is relly mature and its not an stupid game that batman punch guys in the face.there is a lot of familiar villians,and the combat is great there is a lot of moves so its never stays repiditive.so lets see:awsome,awsome,awsome. and if you loved arkham asylum check is sequel arkham city witch is batter then arkham asylum.(i gess that if you loved arkham asylum you probebly already buy arkham city). Expand
  63. Dec 31, 2012
    9
    As a standalone game, it is truly brilliant, although it does have some noticeable flaws. However, I would recommend Arkham City, its successor, over this because it surpasses it on nearly every level.
    I am hardly the world's greatest Batman fan, so I was cautious at first, but I found the game absolutely stunning. It has a very solid overall feel to it in that it is very polished and the
    As a standalone game, it is truly brilliant, although it does have some noticeable flaws. However, I would recommend Arkham City, its successor, over this because it surpasses it on nearly every level.
    I am hardly the world's greatest Batman fan, so I was cautious at first, but I found the game absolutely stunning. It has a very solid overall feel to it in that it is very polished and the gameplay is tight. It simply never lets itself up at any point. The story is engaging (though I personally preferred Arkham City's), the stealth mechanics are excellent, the missions are designed very well, and the voice acting is top notch (Star Wars fans should take note that Mark Hamill seems to be speaking half the time you're playing). More importantly, though, it makes you feel like Batman. You can take on loads of enemies in a brawl, use a small variety of gadgets to help you through the levels, yet you are not invincible - this means you have to use Batman's traditional stealth in order to take on armed enemies.
    The combat system, though good, can be frustrating at times, because the counter mechanic feels very broken. Thankfully, it is fixed in Arkham City and your problems of failing to counter when clicking the button are all gone. Another problem I found in this game - though many may not care - is that it is very linear. Another combat problem is that taking on enemies from a high point, or from underground, is broken as a result of this being a PC port - I have the game on PS3 as well, and it works fine on that. Again, this is all fixed in Arkham City, so the cool takedowns where you pop up from underground and grab an enemy, or when you hang an enemy from a ledge, are back in the sequel. There are no side missions at all and there is no open world feel, despite you having the ability to wander around the island as you wish. I guess I'm just a fan of non-linear games, so Arkham City's sidequests and exploration are of much appeal to me.
    Ultimately, this is a fantastic game but has a few important flaws. All is solved in the sequel, so if you must choose between the two I'd go for the second one. Regardless, this game is top quality.
    Expand
  64. Dec 29, 2012
    5
    The story and combat mechanics are excel greatly, but I was let down by how repetitive the boss fights were. You go through each fight at least 3 times, each getting increasingly boring and tedious. The only downfall to an otherwise excellent game.
  65. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    I am a huge batman fan, and I loved The Dark Knight Trilogy, however even with that, it wouldn't have affected my review since I prefer gaming to watching movies. But either way, this game included hours and hours of fun, the story was great, and facing the challenges proved somewhat difficult, yet I never really got stuck anywhere for too long, and a game that does that, as well asI am a huge batman fan, and I loved The Dark Knight Trilogy, however even with that, it wouldn't have affected my review since I prefer gaming to watching movies. But either way, this game included hours and hours of fun, the story was great, and facing the challenges proved somewhat difficult, yet I never really got stuck anywhere for too long, and a game that does that, as well as everything I have mentioned, deserved the 'Game of the year' as well as a 10/10 rating too. Expand
  66. Dec 27, 2012
    10
    What an awesome game! The story is fantastic, the gameplay is really good and you really can feel yourself entering the world of Batman. The villains are really well developed and the combat is very fun. The Riddle quests are really challenging too, and is a good thing to go out of the primary campaign objectives. Besides that is a huge evolution in the games of super-heroes in general.
  67. Nov 16, 2012
    8
    A very good game of action and platforming adventure making the rare transition to PC. A great atmosphere and enjoyable combat make this a must have for any Batman fan.
  68. Nov 13, 2012
    9
    This game is phenomenal - it presents a thrilling atmosphere, outside the realm of Nolan's films. It presents an exciting narrative where you see many villains, stylized like you've never seen them. The plus sides to this game are many, including great visuals, great action, challenging gameplay, and immersive atmosphere. The only downsides are how brief this game is (about 12-15 hours, atThis game is phenomenal - it presents a thrilling atmosphere, outside the realm of Nolan's films. It presents an exciting narrative where you see many villains, stylized like you've never seen them. The plus sides to this game are many, including great visuals, great action, challenging gameplay, and immersive atmosphere. The only downsides are how brief this game is (about 12-15 hours, at a leisured pace), repetitive boss battles (most of them follow a similar model), and lower replayability (i'm not a fan of challenge maps myself, so I played the game once on normal and once and hard, and haven't done much with it since). However, it's a fantastic game overall and should be experienced by any batman or video game enthusiast. Expand
  69. Oct 29, 2012
    10
    This is by far one of the greatest batman games ever made, with amazing voice action, controls, combat, graphics, music and story, this game is a must for any batman fan. this game truly makes you feel like the dark knight.
  70. Oct 17, 2012
    10
    An excellent game. It was such a special thing for me to play as the caped crusader for the 1st time as i am a massive batman fan. The opening sequence was a special gaming moment, and the rest of the game was just an authentic batman experience. The only negative was the repetitive titan boss battles. The game that changed the superhero game genre and has a more coherent plot than arkham city.
  71. Oct 14, 2012
    8
    I'll be honest. The game is good, a bit overrated... sorry to drop the rating from 8.8 to 8.7.

    The story was good but the game was too long and repetitive, you kept fighting the same foes over and over again, with the exception of the boss fights who were very diversified and well thought, you were just fighting the same guy a million time, some had guns, but that's about it. The
    I'll be honest. The game is good, a bit overrated... sorry to drop the rating from 8.8 to 8.7.

    The story was good but the game was too long and repetitive, you kept fighting the same foes over and over again, with the exception of the boss fights who were very diversified and well thought, you were just fighting the same guy a million time, some had guns, but that's about it. The gameplay was very locked and linear during fight. Sure, chaining combos was still fun, but they could've improved the fighting system, it's a bit bland just to press the mouse button over and over again, maybe add more skills!

    On the other hand, the boss fights were just fine, excellent I must say (except Killer Croc, who was far too easy to beat), I was expecting a boss fight with the riddler, my favorite villain.
    Expand
  72. Sep 10, 2012
    7
    This game has only a few unique bosses. The others are the same boss about 5-6 times, just harder each time. Lots of luck needed on any mode but easy. You can't change difficulty mid-game so when your luck runs out, just quit and write a mediocre review on here like I did.
  73. Aug 12, 2012
    10
    It was pretty hard to play this game with the raging erection I had the whole time. Batman is a bad ass **** who doesn't give a **** about ANYTHING.
  74. Aug 5, 2012
    10
    Arkham Asylum is probably the best game I've ever played. I wasn't a Batman fan before I played this, but I am now. It truly makes the player feel like Batman, and brings out everything good about his character. The supervillians, so often portrayed as ridiculous parodies, feel like real people, tragically transformed into horrendous monsters that you must defeat. The gameplay is alsoArkham Asylum is probably the best game I've ever played. I wasn't a Batman fan before I played this, but I am now. It truly makes the player feel like Batman, and brings out everything good about his character. The supervillians, so often portrayed as ridiculous parodies, feel like real people, tragically transformed into horrendous monsters that you must defeat. The gameplay is also amazing, smartly alternating between stealth, brawling, and other paradigms so that the game never gets boring. Fighting feels completely natural and looks beautiful. The game is extremely challenging on the highest difficulty, yet I never felt like I was cheated whenever I died; I only failed when I made a mistake. The game's only two faults are repetitive boss fights and the Windows Live requirement. Besides those two minor gripes, I cannot imagine a better game. Expand
  75. Aug 4, 2012
    9
    Excellent game, brings a lot of innovating aspects for his time in gameplay and many other aspects, interesting idea for a sandbox game and offers a wide range of activities before you can actually san you done it totally.
  76. Aug 2, 2012
    9
    I'm not really a Batman fan. But this game is AWESOME :-D
    Controls are very intuitive which makes fighting bad guys really fun.
    The game has great graphics and nice slow motion effects when you off badguys in style.
    A solid 9.
  77. Jul 27, 2012
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is one of the best games I have ever played in my entire life! With action, collectibles and challenge stages, this game is packed to the rim with entertainment! No matter where you were in the story, you were always having fun. Whether you were punching criminals, running from Killer Croc, taking out bad guys silently, defeating Poison Ivy or chasing the Joker, you were never bored in this phenomenon of a game! To put it simply, this game is a masterpiece! You ARE Batman in this game! Expand
  78. Jul 14, 2012
    9
    Not only the first Batman game which worked, but also borderlined perfection. The plot can be a bit stupid sometimes (the Dark Knight does stuff which is not fitting to the World's Greatest Detective and the game is filled with cheesy lines), but the great graphics and voice acting will certainly make you forget it. The gameplay is awesome too, being rather easy to learn but hard toNot only the first Batman game which worked, but also borderlined perfection. The plot can be a bit stupid sometimes (the Dark Knight does stuff which is not fitting to the World's Greatest Detective and the game is filled with cheesy lines), but the great graphics and voice acting will certainly make you forget it. The gameplay is awesome too, being rather easy to learn but hard to master, as you may check it yourself on the Challenges the game offers. It has a lot of references to unseen characters from the comics and great setting (the dreaded Arkham Asylum) will make this the most interesting experience to those who never played a Batman game before. It's a must-have for fans. Expand
  79. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    I've never considered myself a huge fan of Batman, I've never even read comics about him (just watched the movies), but this game is something incredible. The story is just amazing, the gameplay is the ultimate beat-em up fun, and the voice acting is outstanding. Among other things, it's the only game I've played where I unlocked almost all the achievements (except for the one forI've never considered myself a huge fan of Batman, I've never even read comics about him (just watched the movies), but this game is something incredible. The story is just amazing, the gameplay is the ultimate beat-em up fun, and the voice acting is outstanding. Among other things, it's the only game I've played where I unlocked almost all the achievements (except for the one for completing the game on Hard), I've beaten ALL the challenges on 3 stars and found ALL the Riddler's collectibles. It's the best game of 2009, and is a must-play for, well, any action game fan. Expand
  80. May 19, 2012
    10
    I consider, the best games I have in my hands. A masterpiece. The graphics, music, gameplay is excellent. Compatible with nvidia 3DVision, the game is long, has a history, you can improve the character, has challenges, ... the true gem.
  81. May 14, 2012
    9
    Batman Arkham Assylum is a GOTY among GOTY.. More like GOTHYC

    The combat system is simple but not as much as you think... HAving a perfect combo needs perfect reflexes and skills. The history looks like a mix between the latest movies and the comic books (the music sounds a lot like the actual batman). The interaction Between Joker and batman is priceless. Is so accurate as reading a
    Batman Arkham Assylum is a GOTY among GOTY.. More like GOTHYC

    The combat system is simple but not as much as you think... HAving a perfect combo needs perfect reflexes and skills.

    The history looks like a mix between the latest movies and the comic books (the music sounds a lot like the actual batman). The interaction Between Joker and batman is priceless. Is so accurate as reading a comic.

    Taking the role of batman is just perfect. This game makes you act and behave like batman. You are a hero, but dark, and you don't only are a warrior, you are a detective.

    The history, the ambience ,

    The combat system... All of them perfect.

    But here comes the Letdowns

    Lack of bosses... most of them are clones of the last with better attacks...

    The mobs are fine... But there could be more. The only thing this game needed was more enemies... Especially bosses. But other than that, this game deserves a 9
    Expand
  82. May 14, 2012
    8
    Playing this game is a huge success, if you ever wanted to act like the Dark Knight and wondered how it's gonna feel. You can do almost everything - you will experience Batman's perfect martial skills, use his arsenal of gadgets, jump through obstacles, cliffs and rails, you will glide over the Arkham island, you have the 'detective mode' as seen in the "The Dark Knight' movie. ByPlaying this game is a huge success, if you ever wanted to act like the Dark Knight and wondered how it's gonna feel. You can do almost everything - you will experience Batman's perfect martial skills, use his arsenal of gadgets, jump through obstacles, cliffs and rails, you will glide over the Arkham island, you have the 'detective mode' as seen in the "The Dark Knight' movie. By progressing the game and picking up various items you also learn a lot about the Batman universe, about its characters, villains, Batman's background and tons of other data. I would think of this game as an encyclopedia of the whole Batman universe, with the addition you can deal with the bad guys yourselves, including Joker, Poison Ivy, Bane and many others. However, what I did not enjoy about the game was the combat system. To be more specific, I do not consider myself a hardcore player and the electric rod and knives guys really drove me insane, mostly during the final battle. I just needed more training I guess. But despite of this, Batman: AA is a huge success in converting the Dark Knight into a very enjoyable and interactive experience. Expand
  83. May 12, 2012
    2
    Played this game for about 3 hours and was having a blast but then, when I came back the next day to play some more, my save was corrupted... You see, a game has to **** work for it to be fun
  84. May 6, 2012
    5
    This game is in the vein of Alice, and Madness Returns, and Psychonauts. Better graphics than any of them with less style (same recycled style of recent Batman movies.) Simplified controls with in game tutorial prompts and solid response. This game would be a solid 9 (10 if you like Batman). I personally have to drop the score as I constantly found myself looking to recoup enjoyment sinceThis game is in the vein of Alice, and Madness Returns, and Psychonauts. Better graphics than any of them with less style (same recycled style of recent Batman movies.) Simplified controls with in game tutorial prompts and solid response. This game would be a solid 9 (10 if you like Batman). I personally have to drop the score as I constantly found myself looking to recoup enjoyment since install required FIVE different non game software packages (Steam, SecuROM, Windows Games, Nvidia Phsyx requiring brand specific card for full features, and XNA, plus DirectX and Game itself), three separate logins, two cd key entries, and SIX firewall exemptions, all for a game that you MUST be connected to save or access content. This game is seriously a needed boost for the dark humor action vain that always recieves attention for it's rarity and it does not disappoint. As a purchase It's hard to recommend if you are not a serious gamer who already has gone through every hoop already and don't love the Bat, since Alice, Riddick and a couple others can do the same.

    If this is just adding to your library then it is a wild and flowing ride that certainly delivers entertain dollar.
    Expand
  85. Apr 30, 2012
    10
    Brilliant game that had me hooked untill completion. Great graphics and gameplay, heaps of hidden content. The story and atmosphere are spot on and the gadgets are great. I played with keyboard and mouse, occasionally switching to 360 controller for different combat situations (which the game did on the fly - no menu). I'm not much for sneaking around, but this game made it fun and wasn'tBrilliant game that had me hooked untill completion. Great graphics and gameplay, heaps of hidden content. The story and atmosphere are spot on and the gadgets are great. I played with keyboard and mouse, occasionally switching to 360 controller for different combat situations (which the game did on the fly - no menu). I'm not much for sneaking around, but this game made it fun and wasn't overdone. Combat worked very well and Batman seamlessly took on large groups of enemies. Boss battles were challenging and fun. Top game Expand
  86. Apr 25, 2012
    10
    I just finished the game yesterday, and I have to say it's one of the best computer games I've played in my 28 years. The history was really great, and the game still looks really beautiful three years after it's release.

    I had no plans to play Batman: Arkham City, but after this, I can't wait to play the sequel.
  87. Apr 21, 2012
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A long night inside the biggest and dangerous prison of the world, the Arkham Asylum !
    Fight against Joker, Ivy poison and all the rest of villains !
    Beat Dr. Nigma and his questions also !
    Expand
  88. Mar 18, 2012
    10
    At first i was skeptical and thought that this will be another average heroes game, how wrong i was. Batman Arkham Asylum is the best example of how heroes game should be done or at the very least how a great game should be done. This is the first time that i felt like being Batman, and i can tell you that this feeling is great, The game has everything done perfectly from theAt first i was skeptical and thought that this will be another average heroes game, how wrong i was. Batman Arkham Asylum is the best example of how heroes game should be done or at the very least how a great game should be done. This is the first time that i felt like being Batman, and i can tell you that this feeling is great, The game has everything done perfectly from the gameplay,graphics,enemies,story,sound and everything else that you can think of, Batman Arkham Asylum was so great that even though i finished the game first time by downloading the game from the Internet i couldn't help myself but buying this game and finishing it the second time. Expand
  89. Mar 13, 2012
    7
    Good
    - Great atmosphere with great level design, good cut scenes and nice narrative.
    - Good extras
    Bad
    - Few identical boss fights
    - Final boss fight is just bad
    - Console port with console controls
  90. Mar 7, 2012
    8
    POW! BAM! Batman never looked so good! Cool gadgets, a great variety of bad guys, and a diverse story line keep this game enjoyable throughout. The character models on this game are sick--such intricate detail. Although there aren't too many fighting moves, the game play is still fun plus the gadgets and stealth kills make up for it. Even non Batman fans will have no problem enjoying thisPOW! BAM! Batman never looked so good! Cool gadgets, a great variety of bad guys, and a diverse story line keep this game enjoyable throughout. The character models on this game are sick--such intricate detail. Although there aren't too many fighting moves, the game play is still fun plus the gadgets and stealth kills make up for it. Even non Batman fans will have no problem enjoying this game, however I definitely recommend a gaming controller for the best experience. Good stuff. Expand
  91. Feb 17, 2012
    10
    awesome game!already owned it on 360 but liked it enough to add to my pc library,graphics are great,ran smooth all the way through,story is short but not too bad,hard to stop playing "just one more checkpoint",highly recommended and for the few quid i paid for the goty version in a steam sale you cannot go wrong
  92. Feb 12, 2012
    10
    I am not a Batman fan, nor a comic book movie/game/magazine one, but this is probably one of the best games I've played in the past years. I cannot complain about windows live and other problems because I played this on my MAC. YES, this game is also available on OSX and it runs like a charm if your system not very old or basic.

    I have to say I enjoyed it better than Alice: The Madness
    I am not a Batman fan, nor a comic book movie/game/magazine one, but this is probably one of the best games I've played in the past years. I cannot complain about windows live and other problems because I played this on my MAC. YES, this game is also available on OSX and it runs like a charm if your system not very old or basic.

    I have to say I enjoyed it better than Alice: The Madness Returns, although I am deeply unsatisfied with both games' maniacally obsessive compulsive collection of thousands of crap scattered around just to keep you from focusing and enjoying the story line.
    Expand
  93. Jan 29, 2012
    9
    When I first heard about a Batman game, I was not very interested. But, after I saw positive reviews I gave it a try. I was not disappointed. This game is really a good one. graphics, story, voices, atmosphere. Everything is superb. I bought "game of the year" edition, and I did not found a single bug. Only thing I did not like a lot was combat. It is easy to learn, but very hard toWhen I first heard about a Batman game, I was not very interested. But, after I saw positive reviews I gave it a try. I was not disappointed. This game is really a good one. graphics, story, voices, atmosphere. Everything is superb. I bought "game of the year" edition, and I did not found a single bug. Only thing I did not like a lot was combat. It is easy to learn, but very hard to master. Sometimes it was frustrating like hell. Especially when game does not respond instantly. That is why I gave it 9/10. In conclusion, I think this is best comic based game I have played, it really deserves your attention if you like Batman. Expand
  94. Jan 15, 2012
    8
    I'm not usually a big Batman fan, and the combat seemed a little simple at first. But I ended up really liking this game. The graphics are fantastic. The combat ends up being great, complex and challenging. I usually hate stealth games but really liked this one.
  95. Jan 15, 2012
    9
    Fantastic game, excellent story, very atmospheric and lovely graphics which look good even on a moderate PC. Thankfully we don't have to hear Batman's beginnings for the millionth time, the game starts with Joker in chains in Arkham Asylum and all hell lets loose from there. The fights are challenging if a little basic but do develop as you unlock more powers, great that you can tackleFantastic game, excellent story, very atmospheric and lovely graphics which look good even on a moderate PC. Thankfully we don't have to hear Batman's beginnings for the millionth time, the game starts with Joker in chains in Arkham Asylum and all hell lets loose from there. The fights are challenging if a little basic but do develop as you unlock more powers, great that you can tackle each area in your own way, you can glide kick in from a gargoyle in the ceiling and let the fists fly or take the baddies out one by one, picking them off silently and laying explosive gel on an in-mate so you can blow his buddy when he comes investigating or silent inverted takedowns... the choice is yours. The game of the year version can be picked up very cheaply now making this even more of a bargain. It's not a long game if you just follow the story through on easy/normal but play on hard and try to complete it 100% with all the collectibles/riddles and you have a much more substantial game, plus there are lots of extras, surviving wave after wave of baddies Left for Dead style for high scores is great fun and not something I'd usually bother with. Even if you choose not to dabble with these the game is worth it for the main story alone plus seeing one of the best incarnations of Joker... and Scarecrow is frightening good. It does use Games for Windows Live which we all know sucks but after the initial setup has worked flawlessly so far so can't complain. Not only one of the best Batman games of all time but a really polished affair that shows how superhero games can be tackled in a mature way, well done Rocksteady Studios. Expand
  96. Jan 13, 2012
    0
    I like this game... i do. But when you can't save without windows live, and the patch system i so broken, that the word broken can't be used, i can only give it zero! basically its unplayable without windows live, therefor its completely broken, and can only be given a zero.

    Windows live is a bad attempt from microsoft to be a part of the gaming industry, and forcing PC players to become
    I like this game... i do. But when you can't save without windows live, and the patch system i so broken, that the word broken can't be used, i can only give it zero! basically its unplayable without windows live, therefor its completely broken, and can only be given a zero.

    Windows live is a bad attempt from microsoft to be a part of the gaming industry, and forcing PC players to become part of their **** broken, buggy, utterly completely pointless gaming gimmick!
    from now on, i might never buy another game with "windows live" on the cover.
    I really do, day for day, get a better understanding for pirates, less problems then actually buying a game!
    Expand
  97. Jan 10, 2012
    9
    Probably the best (definitely one of the best) video game based on a superhero character and even if you don't like superhero comics, you still get a great metroidvania game.
  98. Jan 10, 2012
    10
    Batman has always been my favorite superhero, and now Arkham Asylum has become my favorite game. Rocksteady did an amazing job with the engine of this game. Everything flows incredibly smoothly. From the combat to the stealth to grappling around all over the place to the detective gadgets, this game just feels amazing. The game is linear, but the world is open enough with plenty to do thatBatman has always been my favorite superhero, and now Arkham Asylum has become my favorite game. Rocksteady did an amazing job with the engine of this game. Everything flows incredibly smoothly. From the combat to the stealth to grappling around all over the place to the detective gadgets, this game just feels amazing. The game is linear, but the world is open enough with plenty to do that this is never a problem. Also, the game lets you decide how you want to play the game. Do you want to be more stealthy and pick off thugs one at a time, do you want to set-up traps and use your gadgets, or do you want to start a huge fist fight and combo the crap out of people? The additional content is all really great too. The Riddler puzzles and hidden trophies give you a challenge to work through and then reward you with nice bonus maps with their own challenges (such as take out 3 thugs with a single charge detonation). I really liked collecting the asylum patient interviews of all the villains as it gave an interesting background for those unfamiliar with some characters. There's just a lot to do, and it's all done very well. It does have some flaws. The story is... well, there as filler. The boss battles are generally poor. No auto-run gets annoying. The writing is less than great. All of these are minor issues though. This game quickly became my favorite game of all time, and I look forward to playing the rest of the trilogy! Expand
  99. Jan 1, 2012
    10
    This is not just the "best batman games" or best Super-hero games. it is one best videogames every. The atmosphere and the way it really makes you feel like batman: both the advantages and limitations of the character. And the Joker is the best Villain EVER! it worth it just to hear Mark Hamel's sinister--yet hilarious voice acting! Highly recommended
  100. Apr 28, 2011
    0
    I was wary in the buying of this game. Checked some youtube clips... looked interesting... One word, wow!

    I stuck this one out to the end, well, the end of the story that is- and, what a ride! You ARE Batman! The one think that grabbed me, was the actual atmosphere. It brought the feeling of the newer Batman movies closer and sucked me RIGHT in! Punch, combo, boom, get the baddies
    I was wary in the buying of this game. Checked some youtube clips... looked interesting... One word, wow!

    I stuck this one out to the end, well, the end of the story that is- and, what a ride! You ARE Batman!

    The one think that grabbed me, was the actual atmosphere. It brought the feeling of the newer Batman movies closer and sucked me RIGHT in! Punch, combo, boom, get the baddies from above, glide down THWACK!
    Upgrades are available for better armor, etc.. They didn't really feel like they had much of an effect, but some the weapons that are weened into your inventory as the game progresses kick ass ;>

    Graphic-wise, this game really shines. I'm not too sure how it looks on a non-nvidia card (the game uses the .. uhm Nvidia graphics ... physics thing to enhance smoke and adds tile effects), but even without the extra physics- it plays VERY well.

    As BenW mentioned in his review, "Definitely the best Batman game out there". The others that Ive played outside this one are pretty cack. (not tried the Sun Tzu one tho!)

    + Graphics
    + Plays very well
    + Batman

    - Fights get a little repetitive as the story draws to an end
    Collapse
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 29 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 29
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 29
  3. Negative: 0 out of 29
  1. The result is so good that we're declaring it an easy 'Best of' contender for 2009.
  2. I can say with confidence and cannot stress enough, Batman: Arkham Asylum is, without a doubt, the best Batman game ever created. It does more than give you the Batman game you want, it gives you a video game that you could play repeatedly, even if it didn't have the caped and cowled Dark Knight in it.
  3. There isn’t a single element of Arkham Asylum that isn’t polished to the utmost degree.