Batman: Arkham City Image
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 27 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1870 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: DC Comics' Dark Knight clashes with the Joker again in this sequel from Warner Bros. and Rocksteady Games.
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 27 out of 27
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 27
  3. Negative: 0 out of 27
  1. Jan 9, 2012
    100
    Batman: Arkham City is one of those games that rightly garnered much attention with the end of 2011 Game of the Year lists. Maybe it didn't get as much attention from PC gamers, but it should. If you want to have the definitive Arkham City experience, I'd say PC is the way to go.
  2. Nov 23, 2011
    100
    It's tough to sum up everything that makes Arkham City work as well as it does. If Arkham Asylum was a fun-house chock-full of Batman's most famous foes with a decent dose of fanservice for Dark Knight die-hards, this is a sprawling theme park that plumbs the depths of his case files.
  3. Nov 30, 2011
    95
    The voice acting, the challenges, the amazing opening, the unbelievable ending and the feeling of being the Dark Knight -- these are the things that standout looking back. I've beaten this thing twice and still want to call in sick and chase Riddler Trophies.
  4. Dec 7, 2011
    91
    Batman: Arkham City is the best superhero game ever produced and it's a title well earned. It manages to capture the very essence of The Dark Knight and transform not just him, but his entire world into a playable experience.
  5. PC PowerPlay
    Jan 9, 2012
    90
    DX11 and DRM issues aside, Arkham City is not just Batman at his best, it's a brilliant game in its own right. [Jan 2012, p.42]
  6. Dec 1, 2011
    90
    The almost perfect sequel to an almost perfect game.
  7. Dec 13, 2011
    75
    Batman: Arkham City is what you get when a studio isn't trying and is content to rest on its laurels. Other than the half-hearted attempt at an open world setting, nothing stands out as being an improvement on the previous game and many things that Arkham Asylum did well were completely fumbled here.

See all 27 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 43 out of 304
  1. Nov 25, 2011
    10
    I can't believe people voting this a 0, but I guess there are haters everywhere. Yes the game was a month late, yes DX11 features will slowI can't believe people voting this a 0, but I guess there are haters everywhere. Yes the game was a month late, yes DX11 features will slow down your game, when it should, in fact, speed it up, yes there is SecuRom, and yes its on GWFL. However, none of that really matters, a month later? Who fricking cares, yes I had some of it spoiled, but I should have kept away from the batman forums to be sure. Still the story keeps me intrigued, the combat is insanely good, and the atmosphere is amazing. Can't do much about GFWL and SecuRom, they don't make the game worse, they are just bad choiced to safeguard against people playing without paying. The DX11 thing is something that they already are aware of, and they will fix it. So, if your that angered by it, wait before you buy it, or if you already bought it, don't play until the patch is out. Until that patch there are lots of goodies to play meanwhile, like Skyrim and Battlefield 3.
    As stated earlier this games combat is awesome, and works even better on mouse and keyboard than its predecessor. I have had no troubles whatsoever, and the troubles I did have came from me not being used to the combat system, not because it was bad.
    The graphics are gorgeous beyond belief, even in DX9 it looks good, I can also run at almost max with max PhysX on my GTX460, only thing I have turned down is AA at 16x .
    The sound is awesome, including the voice acting, The Joker is especially, like last game, really good. But most all of the voice acting done here is awesome.
    I can't find any fault with this game other than the DX11 problem, and that will be fixed, so a solid 10/10 and this game leaves me wondering what will be GOTY. To me it is between this, battlefield 3 (the MP is sooooo solid), The Witcher 2 and Skyrim. All are 9 or 10 out of 10 in my book.
    Expand
  2. Aug 15, 2012
    10
    Great sequel for a great saga! Batman: Arkham City shows us a complete game with the main Batman´s enemies. The Joker, Two Faces and TheGreat sequel for a great saga! Batman: Arkham City shows us a complete game with the main Batman´s enemies. The Joker, Two Faces and The Penguin are great, but Batman is perfect. The new Batman´s weapons are excellent.
    Simply the best game of 2011
    Expand
  3. May 7, 2012
    10
    One of my favorites; the best ive played in years. Full of rich storylines and areas to explore. Level up
    system enables new weapons and
    One of my favorites; the best ive played in years. Full of rich storylines and areas to explore. Level up
    system enables new weapons and abilities to keep the fun alive even when into the game for 30
    hours. Plus you get to layout the keyboard the way you want it. A feature I dont want to do without.
    Try it; you will love it!
    Expand
  4. Dec 29, 2011
    9
    I have not had a single bug so far in this game after many hours of play. I had to register for GFWL, but honestly, I'm not bothered aboutI have not had a single bug so far in this game after many hours of play. I had to register for GFWL, but honestly, I'm not bothered about that. It certainly hasn't bothered my gaming experience, which so far has been absolutely amazing. It's really a blast of a game. I can understand why people might be put off by overcompensating anti-piracy tools, but again... I've got the impression it's turned into a bit of a mindless crusade for many people, rather than an actual nuisance. At least I've never had problems with these tools. Collapse
  5. May 19, 2012
    9
    Well...I'm lost for words really. This is a true shining example of how to create a sequel. The improvements on Arkham Asylum are almostWell...I'm lost for words really. This is a true shining example of how to create a sequel. The improvements on Arkham Asylum are almost infinite, and while Arkham Asylum is definitely a good game on its own merits, it looks silly compared to this. The amount of time it takes to get 100% complete on Arkham Asylum is only a mater of hours. On Arkham City, it will take days of playtime to fully explore and complete just the campaign, let alone the vast challenge modes. Not only has Arkham City added quantity, but greatly improved the quality of the content too. You get a very well-designed city which is much larger than Arkham Asylum- and a lot more interesting too. There are a load of side missions too which were missing from Arkham Asylum. From minute details to major improvements in level design, story-telling and the additional elements to both the combat system and stealth, Arkham City is more than just Arkham Asylum with a bigger map. It's not just the sheer content here- which, by the way, is EASILY double that of Grand Theft Auto IV excluding challenge modes- but also the way it's been implemented. Every single addition and tweak to virtually all elements of the game have made it far superior to Arkham Asylum which in itslef was already a well-designed game. The result is one of the best open-world action games of this generation. Arkham City is a mixture of Arkham Asylum, Assassin's Creed, GTA IV and some of its own creativity. The boss fights, for instance, are so much more varied and really show that the game's full potential has been used. The characters are nicely done and unique, not to mention that there are so many of them. The combat is brutal, satisfying, skillful and with the addition of new gadgets and enemy counter-measures - greatly varied too. The pacing and mix between stealth and mass brawling is perfectly done and satisfying every time. The game never feels repetitive or boring because of the variety in gameplay. The RPG element of being rewarded for skillful combat (through variation and combo bonuses) also help to keep your interest by allowing you to unlock new gadgets and gear. No open-world game today has a better combat system. No open-world game has better boss fights. That's the thing about Arkham City- it's a sandbox game, whereas Arkham Asylum was a short Action game. My criticisms of this game are in the story and characters, because the two don't seem to connect very well. It's not a story-driven game and doesn't feel engaging or particularly interesting until the very end. However, facial details, motion capture and lip-syncing are of Hollywood standard in some cutscenes. The game isn't particulalry challenging on Hard difficulty either; although this is remedied by the New Game plus mode which is unclocked at the end of the game which is essentially a "Hardcore" version of the campaign. The only real let-down for this game is its astronomical failure of implementing DX11 features. Even if you can get very high framerates with everything maxxed, turning DX11 features on in the slightest will lead to a slideshow. That said, the game is already very impressive graphically even in DX9, and although PhysX is quite demanding in this game, the framerate issues don't occur regualarly enough or last long enough to cause any problems. All in all then, what we have here isn't a beat-em-up game with free roam. Batman Arkham City represents the height of game design for open-world action games. The lack of multiplayer is made up for by the endless, varied, addicting and satisfying challenge modes. Aside from the poor implementation of DX11 and some framerate issues, this is a game which is very difficult to dislike or at least criticise. Arkham City oozes quality in virtually all aspects and is one of the easiest games to recommend to any type of gamer. There's something for everyone here. Expand
  6. Jul 30, 2012
    8
    This was the first Batman game in the Arkham series that I have played and I loved it. I love the slow motion ending to the fights and all theThis was the first Batman game in the Arkham series that I have played and I loved it. I love the slow motion ending to the fights and all the cool gadgets. The main story is good and to my surprise, the side quests keep me wanting more. I should go back and play Asylum, but there is too little time and too many games. I don't have a rig to run this game full blast, but almost and it looks good. I would of given it a higher score, but I felt slightly confined and a "10" is perfect and we all know that there is no perfect game out there. Expand
  7. Feb 24, 2014
    0
    Simply horrible, linear to the extreme, just horrible experience.
    Extremely "stupidified" gameplay for non demanding players.
    This is the
    Simply horrible, linear to the extreme, just horrible experience.
    Extremely "stupidified" gameplay for non demanding players.
    This is the most disappointing game I had ever played.
    Expand

See all 304 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases

    Fall 2011 Videogame Preview: Key Upcoming Releases Image
    Published: September 13, 2011
    We take a look at the biggest games due out between now and the end of the year, from "Uncharted 3" to "Battlefield 3" to "Modern Warfare 3." It looks like three is indeed the magic number.
  2. The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles

    The Most Anticipated Games of 2011, Part 1: Multi-Platform Titles Image
    Published: January 13, 2011
    Our 2011 videogame preview kicks off with a look at the two dozen most-anticipated titles that will be available for multiple platforms, from Portal 2 to Mass Effect 3.