Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 950 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Batman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notoriousBatman: Arkham Origins features an expanded Gotham City and introduces an original prequel storyline set several years before the events of Batman: Arkham Asylum and Batman: Arkham City, the first two games in the franchise. Taking place before the rise of Gotham City’s most notorious criminals, the game showcases a young, unrefined Batman as he faces the defining moment of his early career and sets his path to becoming the Dark Knight. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Nov 27, 2013
    90
    There's definitely some re-tread going on with Batman: Arkham Origins, but the combat, the relatively good story (B-list villain aside), the powerful feeling of being Batman in video game form has only muted my enthusiasm for the franchise by the smallest of margins.
  2. Oct 28, 2013
    85
    The PC version of Batman: Arkham Origins is absolutely the best in terms of detail, smoothness, drawing distance and particle effects, though it suffers from a series of annoying glitches.
  3. Oct 30, 2013
    80
    If you’re a Batman fan you should already have Batman: Arkham Origins, but anyone else might want to hold off a couple of weeks for some patches to come through.
  4. Nov 6, 2013
    74
    An OK effort for an Arkham game, Batman Arkham Origins feels too similar to Arkham City and there are a few game breaking bugs that prevent it from being worthy to stand with the other two.
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    70
    The story is the best in the series but, when it comes to gameplay, Warner Bros. Montreal seem to have taken the “if it ain’t broke, don’t fix it” mantra and done the exact opposite.
  6. Oct 31, 2013
    50
    Uninventive, but still enjoyable thanks to the quality of the basic mechanics on offer. Unfortunately, the PC version's bugs make it a much harder sell than it should be.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 44 out of 243
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    10
    Played 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it mayPlayed 1.5 hours so far. There are a few minor glitches, but it doesn't detract from the game (if you use a controller and have Synergy it may behave weirdly, just disable synergy or put the other computer to sleep my mouse only went off the left screen). Still set in Arkham City, plus a bit more across the bridge, and the Batcave is there. Still has the same combat. Thus far, they seem to have done well. It's very fun to play and has very good dialogue and story.

    I do find it weird having Batman ask who certain villains are, or anyone being like "who's the Batman? You made him up!" or "you're just seeing things!", since we obviously know who Batman is as well as several of the villains that Batman doesn't know yet...

    Very glad I got it. You won't be disappointed. Put your fears to rest, they didn't produce a half-assed game.
    Expand
  2. Nov 2, 2013
    10
    Very very great game i don't understand people saying it ruined the sequel! I recommend it to everyone interested in batman and who enjoyedVery very great game i don't understand people saying it ruined the sequel! I recommend it to everyone interested in batman and who enjoyed arkham city. Expand
  3. Nov 3, 2013
    9
    i don't understand the amount of hate to this game every one is giving this game bad credits only for lack of innovation a game like arkhami don't understand the amount of hate to this game every one is giving this game bad credits only for lack of innovation a game like arkham city was so perfect that i can't think of anything to add to it because of its perfection i only need a solid story and that's what i found in this game yes there was some few glitches but they're not big deal as you soon will be consumed in the amazing graphics amazing story outstanding sound tracks and i must say that Batman'c character in this game is the BEST he is a total badass i hope to see more from the series in the future Expand
  4. Dec 27, 2013
    8
    If you have played either of the two previous arkham games you are going to feel at home with arkham origins, it still has the same fantasticIf you have played either of the two previous arkham games you are going to feel at home with arkham origins, it still has the same fantastic combat system and predator rooms however they added a fantastic new addition to game play with the added feature of detective mode even though the game could of done with more of this feature if im honest A brilliant game and one of the better games of 2013 Expand
  5. Oct 6, 2014
    7
    Alright, so the new WB studio didn't do a very good job with this game. The animations are unpolished, and the game doesn't flow as well asAlright, so the new WB studio didn't do a very good job with this game. The animations are unpolished, and the game doesn't flow as well as Arkham City did. This is NO REASON to give the game a 0. It was disappointing, sure! But Arkham City was NEAR PERFECT. Notice that this is Arkham Origins, and superhero origin stories are almost always the weakest of them all. None of this changed the fact that this is still a great game! They weren't very original in terms of gameplay, so I won't be able to bring this up to an 8/10. Aside from this they still managed to capture each of the characters in the game very well, the voice actors did amazing jobs, and the game really does feel like you're going back in time.
    The game by far doesn't live up to its predecessors but fact is, its still a great game.
    Expand
  6. Oct 30, 2013
    5
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Two reviews:

    One, the gameplay: Just as great as Arkham City. It's grittier, Batman is a hothead, earlier versions of criminals. I love it. The characterizations are great, especially the Joker. A couple new enemies, a couple new gadgets. It's a blast to play and viscerally satisfying to be the Batman. The holiday atmosphere is a nice addition. I think it's a worthy addition to the Arkham games and captures the philosophy, style, and play of the other two very well.

    Two, the technical stuff: Unlike the other two games, this game was released with game-stopping bugs, glitches, poor AI, and idiotically obvious problems that HAD to be fixed before releasing. I would absolutely not buy this game until they release at least one patch. Maybe two. The only redeeming things I can say about this is that 1.) you can _generally_ fix whatever glitch you encounter by restarting the last save and 2.) the main story doesn't seem to hit a glitch wall. With restarts you can finish it. Forget about the sidequests; from broken comm towers to bugged out disruptor you'll have a tough time finishing the Riddler or Penguin sidequests.

    I have a great time playing this game, right up until I hit one of the many glitches. Then I get frustrated and turn it off and resolve to wait until the patch. Then I convince myself it's worth playing because it's still a blast and try it again. Rinse and repeat. Going to be a great game when they get things fixed. Until then, stay away.
    Expand
  7. Jul 14, 2014
    0
    Perfect storyline, a much more menacing joker, surprising electrocutioner death. You would think this would be the best game ever...right?Perfect storyline, a much more menacing joker, surprising electrocutioner death. You would think this would be the best game ever...right? Wrong. The windows in this game shined waaaayyyy too much and one of Anarchy's eyes was darker than the other. WTF rocksteady? you did great in arkham city and gtav but what was this? It was also stupid how they said that they would be giving everyone a stimulus package because of all the glitches, but yet there was no 500,000$ put in my warner bros account. i could've used that money to buy the noel suit. nice job rocksteady. Expand

See all 243 User Reviews