BattleBlock Theater PC

BattleBlock Theater Image
Metascore
85

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 194 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Shipwrecked. Captured. Betrayed. Forced to perform for an audience of cats? Wait, what?? You've just unlocked the door to BattleBlock Theater! There's no turning back once you've started on your quest to free your imprisoned friends from evil technological cats! Immerse yourself in this mindShipwrecked. Captured. Betrayed. Forced to perform for an audience of cats? Wait, what?? You've just unlocked the door to BattleBlock Theater! There's no turning back once you've started on your quest to free your imprisoned friends from evil technological cats! Immerse yourself in this mind bending tale of treachery as you battle your way through hundreds of levels in order to discover the puzzling truth behind BattleBlock Theater. Expand

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 17
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 17
  3. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. May 14, 2014
    90
    BattleBlock Theater doesn’t do anything particularly new, but that’s perfectly okay, because everything it does do it does without a hitch to speak of.
  2. May 15, 2014
    90
    Fun, humorous and challenging. Battleblock is an excellent platforming game by The Behemoth team.
  3. Games Master UK
    Jun 29, 2014
    90
    An exceedingly charming package. [Aug 2014, p.79]
  4. May 15, 2014
    85
    As the landscape of these types of games becomes increasingly bigger, it’s nice to see a game strive so hard for innovation.
  5. May 16, 2014
    82
    A well made port for a multiplayer game that's still fun and very good looking.
  6. May 14, 2014
    80
    BattleBlock Theater’s second opening night (this time on PC,) is just as crude, unhinged and delightful as its first. Come for the platforming, stay for the absurdity.
  7. May 27, 2014
    80
    There isn’t a great deal of variety in the environments as they all tend to stick to the same techno-theatre setting, but there’s plenty of fun to be had with BattleBlock Theatre especially when playing with a friend.

See all 17 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26
  1. Jun 29, 2015
    10
    Questo è stata la mia migliore spesa al mondo! In solo 10 ore è diventato il mio gioco preferito! Super Meat Boy è come il "padre" di questoQuesto è stata la mia migliore spesa al mondo! In solo 10 ore è diventato il mio gioco preferito! Super Meat Boy è come il "padre" di questo capolavoro! Expand
  2. EMG
    May 16, 2014
    10
    Cats don't like it. Timmy is a cat, he ate my face and chose a morally questionable life. Cats don't like it. But i do. IGN - "almost found aCats don't like it. Timmy is a cat, he ate my face and chose a morally questionable life. Cats don't like it. But i do. IGN - "almost found a face" 6/9 Expand
  3. Jun 24, 2014
    10
    “Get the best time and I’ll give you a kiss because I love you!” so says the narrator
    behemoth u hv created yet another master piece for
    “Get the best time and I’ll give you a kiss because I love you!” so says the narrator
    behemoth u hv created yet another master piece for gamers. alien homid, castle crashers, and now battle-block theater.
    personally i hate platformers to the core. i just cant stand them running jumping cloncky mechanics in some and sliding mechanics in others ewww.
    but battle block is somehow different is it the narrator or is it because i love behemoth games.
    battle block puts you through rage inducing heart aching, vein popping sitiuations (online mode).
    battleblock it just insanely fun but without a companion it can become dull. but thats like after you 14hous into the game so it doesnt effect the score at all. its just truly a great game all together. thanks for reading
    Expand
  4. Nov 9, 2015
    9
    Legitimately funny on its own, with plenty of content both official and community-contributed, but it becomes a thing of hilarious beauty whenLegitimately funny on its own, with plenty of content both official and community-contributed, but it becomes a thing of hilarious beauty when played with a friend, especially for local co-op. Screw each other over in the most amusing ways you can think of, or just by accident, it calls to mind Portal 2 for the kind of co-op shenanigans you can get up to. Eventually you'll have to call a truce as you traverse the increasingly difficult levels, set to silly, catchy tunes and delightfully narrated by the silliest of people who may or may not be even following the script. Expand
  5. Jul 26, 2016
    8
    A solid modern platformer that offers a lot of fresh content and a solid technical execution.

    + Lots of content, Steam Workshop +
    A solid modern platformer that offers a lot of fresh content and a solid technical execution.

    + Lots of content, Steam Workshop
    + Graphical and auditive aspects were done fine
    + Smooth to control, good performance

    - Lack of communication possibilities online (no text-based chat)
    - A bit expensive for what it offers (30 Euros are a bit too much if you ask me)

    Get it if you like platformer games!
    Expand
  6. Jul 2, 2014
    8
    Battleblock Theaters offers fun gameplay and online play. Throughout the game, you'll find yourself laughing at the tremendous narrator andBattleblock Theaters offers fun gameplay and online play. Throughout the game, you'll find yourself laughing at the tremendous narrator and the music that perfectly fits the atmosphere of the game. The character customization is great, but not perfect, weapons if also great, but still not perfect. Online play is awesome, you can create your own level, plays others' creation or play with your friends throughout the singeplayer. Overall, the game is a fun experience for only $15. Expand
  7. Jul 22, 2014
    3
    Wow! I'm actually angered that people are comparing this to the likes of Super Meat Boy. This game doesn't even deserves to drink the meatWow! I'm actually angered that people are comparing this to the likes of Super Meat Boy. This game doesn't even deserves to drink the meat drippings left behind. This game is an overly bloated pile. I love 2D platformers, and for people to give this a 10, it's just a bad move. Get ShovelKnight and save our money. Castle Crashers was a deeply rich and amazingly fun game, this game is not. It's like a crap follow up to an epic album. The "platformer" feels wonky and it's just boring... very very boring. I made these thoughts in a Steam forum and I had a few people get mad at me, and even someone from the company addressed my concerns. I remember back when this game was in development way back in the day.... even bought a shirt... now that shirt will go to the Goodwill. Behemoth is better than this, this is a huge letdown. It tries to be funny, it's not... the characters have no soul and the story is incredibly uninteresting. Drop your Ambien and play this game instead if sleep is something you need. Expand

See all 26 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings