Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 98 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Oct 28, 2012
    100
    The pinnacle of full-scale multiplayer warfare, Armored Kill is Battlefield perfected. [Nov 2012, p.85]
  2. Jan 2, 2013
    93
    All in all the maps offer a nice diverse package with plenty of tactical possibilities.
  3. Oct 17, 2012
    90
    Finally, BF3 gets some DLC emphasizes everything that makes the series great. With a focus on maps and new game modes that enhance both the team-based and vehicle gameplay, this pack does exactly what every DLC release should do: makes the base game better. This should pull those who have drifted away from the game in recent months back into the battle!
  4. Nov 6, 2012
    83
    After some missteps, it's Battlefield back to focusing on what it does best. [Holiday 2012, p.73]
  5. Oct 15, 2012
    80
    A well-made DLC bringing fights with ground/air machines on large maps for all the fans. Here and there you may get into infantry encounters, but that is not the point. Battlefield 3 successfully expands its possibilities and gaming styles portfolio.
  6. Oct 11, 2012
    80
    A few nitpicks aside, Armored Kill is the best Battlefield 3 expansion so far.
  7. Sep 20, 2012
    70
    Armored Kill add-on doesn't change the basics of Battlefield 3 in such a way, that we'd want it to. Quality of new maps is uneven, and there are no massive vehicle based battles (even though the title can suggest it). There is some disappointment spread around this DLC - most importantly the new Tank Superiority game mode is not as interesting as one might think. But all in all, fans of Battlefield 3 should consider buying this expansion - for them it'll be worth it.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 8
  3. Negative: 2 out of 8
  1. Oct 7, 2012
    9
    Huge, beautiful and very well designed maps. New and interesting vehicles like the tank destroyer or the AC-130. The best DLC for Battlefield 3 so far in my opinion. Expand
  2. Sep 20, 2014
    9
    The maps in this expansion pack are the perfect example of how some Battlefield maps should be. Enormous with a lot of vehicles. If you want a true Battlefield experience you should try it. Expand
  3. Oct 9, 2012
    9
    I really like this expansion over B2K and CQ. I bought Battlefield for the epic battles with tanks, jets, choppers, and the like. BFBC2 ruined some of the fun I had going with each expansion in the series, and 2142 is no different. BF3 brings it all back, although, if anything the maps still feel too small. How about a jet only map similar to Coral Sea and really expand the fighting area. I love the fact that uncap areas are off limits. My only gripe is that the AA/Tunguska is no where to be found in most games. It spawns, but it's either the favorite target of everyone or I just cannot ever find except when I'm in a jet of course.

    I'll admit, my skill in this game is terrible. And yet, one game I'll be in the top 3, the next dead last. Balancing the game is more important in this DLC with teams. It really is evidenced when you are at a flag in one tank and the rest of your team is AFK, charging off alone in random jeeps, or waiting for the helicopter/jet. Meanwhile, I'm a sitting duck for the coordinated tank army fast approaching. And the AC-130, I love it. I hate it when I get shot capping a flag, but it adds an element that is super fresh and fun. I find myself only joining servers with this DLC or have this DLC in constant rotation. I have no major complaints. If anything it is still too small. This is coming from someone who plays flight simulators (ironic that I would play arcade); if anything I would like to see double or triple the size. Have us in what they call a furball with guns blazing, missles flying, and even have crazy stuff like battleships with AA, emulate real Tunguskas, and dare I say terrifying things like S300s. Bring in things like flying under the radar, loft bombing, and other cool things. Keep it arcade, but add in more elements and bigger areas so I do not feel like my role is to do 8G turns the whole time.
    Expand
  4. Sep 26, 2012
    9
    Fantastic Expansion for Battlefield 3. Brings in some massive maps with exciting vehicle warfare. Each map has a unique look and feel and bring a new level of combat to the game. They are beautifully designed and fit in perfectly with the maps already included in the game. Tank superiority is a bit disappointing as it can be fairly boring but every other game mode is exciting and a lot of fun to play on these maps. This expansion is well worth purchasing on its own or with the Premium package. Collapse
  5. Nov 13, 2012
    8
    So far this is my favorite expension pack for BF3. The new vehicles are a great addition and provide some added variety to the roster. The maps are obviously huge and on the hole are generally well designed and provide a step forward for the BF3 game. My only gripe is that because the maps are so big if there are a lack of vehicels about (which does sometimes happen) there is a long walk ahead of you to the next checkpoint or to pick up a ride. This asside i have and will spend many more hours on this expension pack Expand
  6. Nov 18, 2012
    3
    In Battlefield I love using tanks on maps such as Caspain Border, I expected this to be fun as such and it just wasn't. What a complete let down and waste of money, the maps are absolutely terrible. If you love Battlefield tanking I would avoid the expansion and instead play normal maps with tanks on, because it's a lot more fun than what this expansion offers. Expand
  7. Oct 28, 2012
    3
    As this was the only DLC I was waiting for, there was great disappointment. With it's COD styled DLC approach. you get 4 generic maps and little more. The new vehicles don't bring much, except for the mobile artillery. As for the maps, only 1 has an actual good design and that is Alborz Mountains. It brings some refreshing play with it's vertical approach. the other 3 maps brings nothing new and doesn't bring much fun with it. The anticipated "biggest map in BF history" is horrible with 3 capture points next to each other where all the action is and the others are just 1000 meters away over some desert. This DLC confirms how EA destroyed DICE entirely. And I think back how great their DLC was in the past with BF2 and BC2. It's such a shame it has turned to this Expand

See all 8 User Reviews