Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    84
    Battlefield goes Call of Duty and does it actually pretty well! [Aug 2012]
  2. Jun 22, 2012
    83
    Battlefield 3 Close Quarters does its job well. Expanding on an already excellent game and bringing a different flavor to it. The expanding of the Battlefield and situations keep things fresh and interesting and things look like they can only get better with even more expansions coming down the pike.
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    If you love with Battlefield's team deathmatch mode, you must get this DLC. [August 2012, p.76]
  4. Jun 26, 2012
    76
    The die-hard Battlefield 3 maybe feel disappointed with Close Quarters: a short range action packed DLC with constricted maps and two new gameplay modes.
  5. Jul 3, 2012
    70
    You no longer have to worry about that Battlefield 3 along with its Close Quarters has become a better copy of the Modern Warfare 3. Close Quarters brings a very different gaming experience that is not for everyone, but the fact that the game's massive multiplayer now possess more of its pleasant possibilities is undeniable. Those of you addicted to tanks and planes should pass Close Quarters and await more open-ended maps in the upcoming additions.
  6. Jun 28, 2012
    65
    Close Quarters was definitely made for fans of Call of Duty – it offers everything that Modern Warfare had from the beginning. Smart tactics is thrown out the window and replaced by confined spaces and fast-paced shootouts.
  7. Aug 8, 2012
    64
    It's worth buying if you're sick of getting shot by premium players' overpowered new weapons on regular servers and want to equip the new arsenal yourself, but Battlefield 3's hectic fighting fails at CoD's smaller scale. [Oct 2012, p.71]
  8. Jun 22, 2012
    60
    Close Quarters isn't able to stir up the same emotions as BF3 did, and turns it into a simple arcade shooter, similar to many other first person shooters out there. I won't deny, that an occasional match on Ziba Tower will happen for me, but my thoughts will stay with the original Battlefield 3.
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 115 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 28
  2. Negative: 4 out of 28
  1. Jun 14, 2012
    2
    Anyone hoping for more maps akin to Metro, Seine, or Bazaar, like I was, will be sorely disappointed by Close Quarters. I don't think trailers and gameplay videos really convey just how hectic these maps are. Small maps combined with tight spaces, random spawns, and fast-capping flags make for sheer chaos. Some may enjoy that in their shooter experience, but unfortunately I'm not one of those people. I love Battlefield because it allows for a degree of teamwork and tactical play. Here, however, all that's been done away with. Close Quarters' Conquest Domination mode is mostly about running and gunning and racking up kills. It's a glorified deathmatch with capture points. If that's your cup of tea, your mileage will vary accordingly. If, however, you're easily bored of that kind of gameplay, it's little more than a diversion, fun perhaps for a round or two after which you'll find yourself craving the slower, more deliberate pace of classic BF3 maps. The Gun Master mode is, again, fun on occasion, but tiresome before long. Both seem to cater to the CoD crowd, perhaps aiming for broader appeal. Sadly, to me at least it seems antithetical to past Battlefield experiences. Full Review »
  2. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    Meets in a excellent way the goal of any DLC, "add what is missing in the game and make it better" (even better than it already is), it offers what the game needed, small spaces, faster action, another level of strategy compared with the big ones, new and beautiful improvements in both modes as graphical improvements. Now BF3 have the whole package to offer about maps & selection of fun.

    The bad thing is that you can't play all mods in this small maps, but BF3 offer bigger maps for that and, in the future, new DLC will be added to make this game better and better. No doubt that this DLC make it jobs and works very well.
    Full Review »
  3. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    I mistakingly forgot to enter my score for my review. Don't worry though it is definitely not a "0".....LOL I give this 9 out of 10 just because nothing is perfect though this game is about as near perfect as I have seen to date in a shooter. Kudos to Dice for not just going the money grab route and actually giving us some real substance. Full Review »