User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 113 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 77 out of 113
  2. Negative: 25 out of 113

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 26, 2012
    8
    The first thing I should mention about this expansion is that, like most people who bought it, I expected Call of Duty gameplay without killstreaks. In a sense it's not far off, but it's not quite so simple. The maps are by no means small- they're practically the same size as every other map in BF3 on TDM, just with more layers. They've split the levels up and stacked them on top of each other. At times it feels like playing Crysis 2 or F.E.A.R. but nevertheless manages to feel unique. The graphics on Ziba tower are mind-blowing. I've always wanted a multiplayer map which closely resembles Kaffarov's villa. Operation 925 is good as well. However, Scrapmetal is hideous. It's far too confusing, and the graphics on it are worse than they are on Half Life 2. I literally thought I was playing Red Faction Guerrilla! Anyway, in terms of the "peic, fast-paced action", well that's not really there. The HD destruction and levels are good for sure, but even with a full 16 player lobby my Score Per Minute went down even compared to playing a 24 man TDM on any other regular BF3 map. The action is so difficult to find due to the many vertical levels, regardless of game mode. I found Domination to be the best though, since you are constantly capping flags; which netralize and capture insanely quick- much faster than CoD even. The Gun Game is pretty good. The choice of weapons and attachments they have picked are well-varied. And because knifing is balanced in BF3, you won't be hearing "Humiliation" as was the case in Black Ops. Unlike Black Ops, however, you will not be able to spawn and immediately find an enemy to shoot. Often the action is limited to one particular spot at any point, and given the large surface area of the maps, it can be easy to run around for minutes with not a single enemy in sight. If you get to know the maps well though this may not be an issue. Overall I expected much more "in-your-face" action i.e. to spawn and immediately see an enemy, since this was the case in maps like Operation Métro in all game modes. The Close Quarters maps are however much, much larger than the TDM counterparts of the regular maps, or it feels that way at first anyway. It's a worthy purchase, but it's not as hectic or fast-paced as it initially appears. But when you find a server where people do the objective, it doesn't matter how many players there are. You can constantly get points by capping flags and because the positions your team holds always changes every second, you will run into enemies more often. That's when it's fun. And for that special moment, which may not occur when you want it the most; I have to recommend this for objective players. It makes for a nice break from non-stop explosions and deaths. Expand
  2. Jun 17, 2012
    6
    Close Quarters adds, as the name suggests, maps featuring close quarters combat. They are of varying quality, Donya Fortress is more or less a 'run around with a shotgun/smg loadout' map, but Scrapmetal is a lot more varied, allowing snipers and other classes to do well. The third map falls somewhere in the middle. Overall, the maps feel like just a quick way to level up. The new game mode of Gun Master plays like similar modes on other titles, but in a confusing move, you start with pistols, and move on to rifles - meaning that if you begin a match late, or fall behind, you will become essentially a free kill to those with more powerful weapons. Close Quarters would be a decent expansion to just about any other FPS title out there, but this being Battlefield, you are left wanting more than simple run 'n gun gameplay. Hopefully the next expansion, Armored Kill, will bring BF3 back to its roots. Expand
  3. Jun 12, 2012
    0
    I already tried to think positive about this DLC and completely ignored the dubstep music in the trailers, but I should have listened to my gut and follow my intuitions. See for yourself if these few maps and assignments will make you entertain you for a while. They certainly didn't entertain me. Bottom line: Skip this DLC, wait for quality.
  4. Jun 6, 2012
    10
    Epic! Good added value. Incredible inhouse fights, great entertainment. Faster access to servers is also very much appreciated. PLatoon ranking i am still missing but overall i am happy. USD 50 is not cheap but acceptable. Looking forward for the next DLCs to come........
  5. Jun 12, 2012
    8
    Fantastic DLC for an already amazing game. The new maps are gorgeous, the new modes are very fun, and the tight, mostly indoors map provide some variety to Battlefield 3. Well worth buying on its own or as part of the Premium package.
  6. Jun 28, 2013
    8
    Altrough small and tight maps more like CoD maps and do not match to Battlefield, the DLC is pleasent. Is a nice change the gameplay, the game is much more dynamic. The perfect addition for the people who like quick and short infantry battle.
  7. Nov 13, 2012
    6
    There are a few words that come to mind as i randomly spawn, take a few steps forward and get shot in the back by someone else who has spawned near by......but in this review i will only use one and that is frustrating! That is my general feeling of close quarters. I admit i am not the best BF3 player out there by a long shot but usually i still get a fair amount of enjoyment out of BF3 and it's DLC, however, i have had to replace my keyboard after playing close quarters due to pounding it took from my frustration. On the occasion i have lasted longer than 20 seconds i have generally found the maps to be adequate and the play modes engaging but these are few and far between. Shotgun loving players will like the close level design and hectic game play but for those that enjoy a couple of breaths between each bout of conflict steer clear of close quarters. Collapse
  8. Mar 15, 2013
    7
    It's a decent expansion pack, the maps are good and the game modes are decent (they could have been more and better though). If you want the exact opposite experience of a Battlefield game then you should try it.
  9. Jun 29, 2012
    6
    even tho its kinda lame to even sell 4 maps for 10ish euros i think maps overally arent that bad and weapons are good...but still if i want some hardcore close quarter i play deathmatch on canals or kha. island .. but overally the whole pay for each new rock we add system is kinda lame.. why dont they add monthly subscription if they are that lame ;D
  10. Jul 7, 2012
    4
    Since it was essentially free I accept the offering of Close Quarters. But it is so definitely very not representative of the experience which is attracting me to Battlefield games over all the competition.

    CQ exists to placate the broader audience EA aimed to draw with crappy maps like Operation Metro. Not that these maps are necessarily also crappy, but they're also very restrictive
    in the type of gameplay you can extract from them. The entire point of Battlefield as far as I'm concerned is the dynamic gameplay created by players having plenty of various tools, weapons, vehicles etc. to choose from, and map designs which accommodate for it.

    Operation Metro is basically the anti-thesis of Battlefield in that regard. Close Quarters maps aren't literally a tunnel, but they suffer from a similar repressive design conceit. There is only hectic close quarters run n gunning type gameplay. That's the entire point of this themed expansion pack
    Expand
  11. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    I find the new DLC very entertaining, I especially enjoy new destruction system and very well designed new maps and gunplay gamemode. Destruction just looks amazing and also introduces completely new play styles that i didn't experience in any fps multiplayer before. In my opinion this DLC alone introduced much more innovations to battlefield franchise than any annual Call of duty game introduces innovations to call of duty franchise. After playing for sometime Operation 925 map Modern warfare 3 looks like a retro game. Expand
  12. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Absolutely love this new DLC I'm a huge metro fan and this DLC with the extra destruction and small maps I'm racking up over 100 kills a game on Ziba tower and I love the graphics, the guns, and the new game modes.. It's just awesome!
  13. Jun 27, 2012
    10
    Can it get any better than this? The Graphics are absolutely awesome! The Shadows and Physix Particle perfect! Even the sounds... every few steps the sounds change to the environment - one second you hear a working machine, next second you hear glass breaking, then you step outside a building and hear a smooth wind rush followed by outside sound feeling. this is all so realistic and the gun game mode is as good as known from counter strike. But these maps are much bigger and nearly everything can be destroyed. BUT this is just an add-on to Battlefield, which in the normal game, is not so fast paced. Dice wants to fullfill every kind of shooters wishes with these addons. It iscalled CLOSE QUARTERS, because it´s playing mostly in short ranged combat. I don´t understand why people rate this game bad, because of the fact that they obviously are to stupid to understand that. Battlefield 3 is the perfect shooter experience to date and with these addons, dice is really stepping the game up every time! it´s 30 euros and it´s worth every cent or buy the premium package and save on the other upcoming addons. There will be one focused on vehicles and a lot of new maps and so on... if you are a real soldier - this is your place to fight! kids and retarded people who play shooters with pads, like in mw3 , better not touch this manly weapon :) Expand
  14. Jul 16, 2012
    8
    This DLC is a nice addition to BF3. To sum up simply: Pros - TIghter maps for run and gun gameplay, a welcome change of scenery, new well-balanced guns, nice wall destruction Neutral - Gunmaster mode: It's good, but needs variation in loadouts and resets the last kit you used to default on your next non gunmaster game. Cons - Conquest domination game mode is extremely average and feels more like TDM (PTO is a little lame), C4 abuse on flags, spawn points are disgraceful -too easy to spawn camp Expand
  15. Sep 4, 2012
    5
    Any way I look at it, I can't help but notice how EA/Dice cheaped out on this one. I mean TDM on the other maps is just as good or better if you do need 64 player close quarters carnage. It looks like they would have only put half as much effort into these small maps than the big ones. so they should only cost half as much. Unless you like Call of Duty. Yes I had to mention it :?
  16. Jul 3, 2012
    9
    The Battlefield 3 Close Quarters DLC is a must have for all Battlefield fans. I love the way they amped up the graphics and destruction. This DLC is just breathtaking and to me is even better than the multiplayer experience of the B2K DLC.
  17. Jul 25, 2012
    8
    "Close Quarters" is exactly what the name implies, bringing four brand new in your face maps to those seeking some tender loving CQB. It's chaotic and hectic, and with very little breathing room, especially with 64 players running around. Though "Close Quarters" might imply smaller maps, DICE has built vertically instead, adding plenty of room to snipe and perform some decent 'strategery' on. That being said, the "random" fixed spawn points do allow for spawn camping however on more horizontally confined maps. On it's own, "Close Quarters" is definitely more Modern Warfare than Battlefield, but as an addition, provides a much more rounded experience as a whole for a player. Expand
  18. Dec 18, 2012
    1
    EA and DICE are called "пидорасы" at Russia after release of BF3 and it's model of distribution that means that they are betrayers. A lot of people excepted for a tactics-main thing that made BF important for our hearts. But now when you buying a BF3 (and especially Close Quarters) it means "Welcome to Call of Duty".
  19. Jun 13, 2012
    10
    Words cannot not even describe how awesome this expansion is. I personally prefer fast-paced close-quarters combat so this expansion was right up my ally. Competitive players from all FPS realms (Quake, Half-Life, Unreal, etc...) will love this. The maps are thoroughly built, extra destructive, and just look amazing. Gameplay is a blast and it's much quicker to earn points and awards. If you have the money get this...no questions asked. Expand
  20. Jun 29, 2012
    7
    Close Quarters ads variety to the Battlefield 3 franchise at the cost of tactical game play. The new maps look gorgeous and are well made. However, they could use additional areas to allow for a more tactical mode like Rush or Squad Rush, which is the biggest drawn back of this expansion. The new Conquest Domination is fun but it gets boring after a while and so does the Gun master mode, which lacks variety in guns. It's mostly run and gun with these modes as defending key points is challenging on these maps, especially with the crazy spawn system.

    The new guns are nice and most of them have a use. The new mini map system is useless though as it lacks any vertical indication. Destructibility on these maps looks cool but is not as big and doesn't have the impact on game play I was hoping for.

    So should you buy this expansion? As part of their Premium service, which gives you all the expansions, this is a good deal, so yes. Also, if you are a Call of Duty player who wants to get your feet wet on Battlefield game play, this expansion is great to start with. Seasoned BF 3 veterans that want to buy this as a single DLC should be warned though: Don't expect any of the BF 3 game play here you are used to.
    Expand
  21. Sep 7, 2012
    8
    I think Close Combat is a good addition to Battlefield 3. The maps and modes offer a new way of playing much more akin to Call of Duty than to traditional BF3. Of course I play BF3 for it's unique gameplay and wide open maps, but this expansion provides a nice change of pace every once in awhile. It gave me a reason to use different weapons and freshens things up a bit overall. I really like the Gunmaster mode and I think that this was really well done. There are a few hang-ups of course, but overall I think they delivered pretty much exactly what they said they would and it has provided for an extra bit of variety to the other maps. These aren't the kinds of maps I want to play over and over again, I play one or two rounds and move on to the older maps. Now I am very much looking forward to the Armored Kill expansion! Expand
  22. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    Meets in a excellent way the goal of any DLC, "add what is missing in the game and make it better" (even better than it already is), it offers what the game needed, small spaces, faster action, another level of strategy compared with the big ones, new and beautiful improvements in both modes as graphical improvements. Now BF3 have the whole package to offer about maps & selection of fun.

    The bad thing is that you can't play all mods in this small maps, but BF3 offer bigger maps for that and, in the future, new DLC will be added to make this game better and better. No doubt that this DLC make it jobs and works very well.
    Expand
  23. Jun 16, 2012
    10
    I didn't know what to expect of this DLC. Overall though, I knew that it wouldn't affect the quality of the game, even if it sucked, as it was just an add on to an already great game (that goes to you haters & complainers). This is an honest rating of 10, for those of you who gave it a 0, shame on you as the quality of this release based on my last few days of playing is unparalleled. The maps although quite small (but not too small) are detailed and very well designed; the new modes, although completely different to what battlefield is, add a breath of fresh air and some good breaks in between the main games. Yes they have introduced similarities to the Modern Warfare games, but they have done it in a way that does not take away the feeling that you are still playing Battlefield. In some ways, it incorporates the best things about Call of Duty, and leaves behind all those annoying grievances such as bad spawns, the need to camp, overpowered kill streaks, arcade gun fights, an old engine, repetitive maps, corner jumping, **** maps... etc you get the gist. This add on is awesome, and I would recommend for people who don't mind something different, and not to those who want to just play Battlefield for exactly what they already offer... Expand
  24. Apr 1, 2013
    10
    Close Quarters is usually recognised as a bad expansion. But I disagree, Close Quarters is an amazing expansion at what it is meant to do, get up close and personal. And it does this extremely well. It does have traces of Call of Duty, but I don't find this bad; I find it interesting. Interesting to see what Battlefield could be like. I think DICE had a full intention of doing this when they released this. Close Quarters is not horrible, it is quite the opposite, and I encourage people to play it. Expand
  25. Jun 19, 2012
    9
    I mistakingly forgot to enter my score for my review. Don't worry though it is definitely not a "0".....LOL I give this 9 out of 10 just because nothing is perfect though this game is about as near perfect as I have seen to date in a shooter. Kudos to Dice for not just going the money grab route and actually giving us some real substance.
  26. Jun 14, 2012
    2
    Anyone hoping for more maps akin to Metro, Seine, or Bazaar, like I was, will be sorely disappointed by Close Quarters. I don't think trailers and gameplay videos really convey just how hectic these maps are. Small maps combined with tight spaces, random spawns, and fast-capping flags make for sheer chaos. Some may enjoy that in their shooter experience, but unfortunately I'm not one of those people. I love Battlefield because it allows for a degree of teamwork and tactical play. Here, however, all that's been done away with. Close Quarters' Conquest Domination mode is mostly about running and gunning and racking up kills. It's a glorified deathmatch with capture points. If that's your cup of tea, your mileage will vary accordingly. If, however, you're easily bored of that kind of gameplay, it's little more than a diversion, fun perhaps for a round or two after which you'll find yourself craving the slower, more deliberate pace of classic BF3 maps. The Gun Master mode is, again, fun on occasion, but tiresome before long. Both seem to cater to the CoD crowd, perhaps aiming for broader appeal. Sadly, to me at least it seems antithetical to past Battlefield experiences. Expand
  27. Jun 19, 2012
    10
    I'm not a huge fan of Team Deathmatch in any game and didn't enjoy it in Battlefield either - give me large maps and a tank anyday. I always do Conquest or the like because it didn't feel like I was trapped within four walls. I was planning on passing this expansion and get back to the vehicle maps with my buddies but decided to give it a shot via Premium since I'd probably like some of the expansions.

    Wow. It is as if the TDM maps were layered and seamed together to make a great sandwich. The level design is beautiful and the destruction is amazing but the reason I keep going back for more is the play style - it's original. There's no place to hide. There's no place to camp. You can and will be flanked wherever you are. The best you can do is check as many corners as you can and keep moving.

    It's an evolution of the tactical shooter. My squad (real life buddies) move around a map as one unit - front checks ahead, second checks one side, third the other side, last watches our six. We are unstoppable because we work as a team and work with each other's strengths. What a rush. Again, TDM bores me but I can play the new maps all day long because it feels like a dungeon crawl rather than two sides of a small map. Gun Master is a good time too because it is different. We've had a lot of fun with that one. If you don't like fast paced action, play a different game. This one is fast and ferocious - you'll be out of breath and hungry for more at the end of the match.
    Expand
  28. Aug 31, 2012
    8
    This is a new gaming experience in BF3, this add-on completely changes the pace of the game, it is faster, more intense and suddenly he gave a new interest in the game for some who are too static, else find less interesting with this rhythm game there.
  29. Nov 13, 2012
    0
    There are a few words that come to mind as i randomly spawn, take a few steps forward and get shot in the back by someone else who has spawned near by......but in this review i will only use one and that is frustrating! That is my general feeling of close quarters. I admit i am not the best BF3 player out there by a long shot but usually i still get a fair amount of enjoyment out of BF3 and it's DLC, however, i have had to replace my keyboard after playing close quarters due to pounding it took from my frustration. On the occasion i have lasted longer than 20 seconds i have generally found the maps to be adequate and the play modes engaging but these are few and far between. Shotgun loving players will like the close level design and hectic game play but for those that enjoy a couple of breaths between each bout of conflict steer clear of close quarters. Collapse
Metascore
73

Mixed or average reviews - based on 8 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Oct 13, 2012
    84
    Battlefield goes Call of Duty and does it actually pretty well! [Aug 2012]
  2. Aug 8, 2012
    64
    It's worth buying if you're sick of getting shot by premium players' overpowered new weapons on regular servers and want to equip the new arsenal yourself, but Battlefield 3's hectic fighting fails at CoD's smaller scale. [Oct 2012, p.71]
  3. Jul 6, 2012
    80
    If you love with Battlefield's team deathmatch mode, you must get this DLC. [August 2012, p.76]