Battlefield 4 Image
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics What's this?

User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 3577 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Battlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more whileBattlefield 4 is a military blockbuster that aims for unrivaled destruction. Fueled by Frostbite 3, Battlefield 4 allows you to demolish the buildings shielding your enemy. You will lead an assault from the back of a gun boat. Battlefield grants you the freedom to do more and be more while playing to your strengths and carving your own path to victory. Beyond its hallmark multiplayer, Battlefield 4 features an intense, dramatic character-driven campaign that starts with the evacuation of American VIPs from Shanghai and follows your squad's struggle to find its way home. Change the landscape in real-time with interactive environments that react to your every move. Dominate land, air and sea with all-new, intense water-based vehicular combat. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Battlefield 4: E3 2013 Official Commander Mode Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 42 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Oct 28, 2013
    95
    From the levelouted maps to commander mode to the new squad mechanics, Battlefield 4 is a top-to-bottom improved multiplayer experience over Battlefield 3. And Battlefield 3 was damn good, so that’s saying a lot.
  2. Oct 29, 2013
    90
    It's hard to make a judgment on Battlefield 4 because of the large gap of quality between the campaign and the multiplayer mode. Both are absolutely beautiful, but the former has nothing else... Fortunately, a Battlefield game is made to play with some other players. Maps are huge and well-balanced, the "Levolution" feature is kind of cool and vehicles make the experience really enjoyable. If you play alone, forget Battlefield 4. If not, go for it.
  3. Nov 21, 2013
    90
    BF4 gives continuity to what was achieved in the previous chapter, but there is still a long way to go until it reaches the desired quality. Recall that initially BF3 was not what we have today, a game improved to the max with all the updates introduced over two years.
  4. Oct 29, 2013
    85
    Battlefield 4 is an excellent multiplayer game that makes the most of its ambitions, proving once again that destruction is a valuable strategic addition to competitive combat, which reaches its full potential with two killer Commanders are bringing out the best in their squads. On the other hand, its single-player campaign is a disappointing.
  5. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Nov 25, 2013
    80
    In spite of technical shortcomings, Battlefield 4 is a solid continuation of the series and its core content - the multiplayer game - will last you for a long time. [Issue#236]
  6. Nov 3, 2013
    80
    With new game modes, an enhanced interface, evolving maps, and greatly improved small-scale battles, Battlefield 4 continues the franchise’s trend of setting the standard for the squad-based multiplayer shooter.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    50
    Another day, another PC launch riddled with bugs and issues. Battlefield 4 is a perfectly decent game with a crashing client, crashing servers, and a whole host of issues that cause lag, disconnections, graphic and sound glitches, and plenty more. When they get fixed it's easily worth a purchase; right now, it's a frustrating experience.

See all 52 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Oct 29, 2013
    10
    Game looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag whenGame looks to be same as BF3 but in gameplay wise it is very different. you cant just sprint and then shoot. there is noticeable lag when sprint (not bad). Guns mechanics seem to be better. Now you cant snipe guys with a controlled AR rifle. You now actually need a scope to engage at longer range. Now guns just dont lose accuracy after some only 3 bullets. you can fire longer burst. Suppression blur is removed. there is only a gun sway when you are suppressed without any accuracy hit and blur. guns and vehicles are more open to customization like you have more accessory slots for weapons and vehicles. Map design is very good. there are no choke points so far. you can always come back in game with alot of flanking ways. Expand
  2. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Since being patched works brilliantly but if you want to run ultra 1080p full msaa or ultra 1440p no msaa i recommend a strong crossfire/sliSince being patched works brilliantly but if you want to run ultra 1080p full msaa or ultra 1440p no msaa i recommend a strong crossfire/sli set up to get the most of it but now its working brilliant game fun and beautiful to look at, just press h in game to hide chat to avoid the idiots all you will; see is cry more mimimimi and noob from some younger players and imature older ones but not the games fault they play it Expand
  3. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    The Battlefield franchise has it's ups and downs. In this case, for Battlefield 4 has sure pleased me. Battlefield 4 is a "First PersonThe Battlefield franchise has it's ups and downs. In this case, for Battlefield 4 has sure pleased me. Battlefield 4 is a "First Person Shooter (FPS)" and is FILLED with action and pure excitement. I have played this game for around 200 hours and I must say that it is a well-balanced game, but does contain bugs.

    When this game first launched in it's Beta, it had uncountable problems. Network issues, game issues, absolutely terrible service, and overall a bad experience. Now although DICE, the developers of Battlefield 4, has fixed most of these issues after the initial release of the product, it still contains issues to this day.

    DICE is constantly trying to improve, but doesn't allow room for that to happen. Recently, in the upcoming game "Battlefield: Hardline," a new developer team "Visceral" has teamed up with DICE and took control of the new product. They initialized an 'Open Beta' for the game and I got a chance to play it. It is going to be a great game and there were not many bugs, but I will save that review for another time. While DICE is a great team, Visceral beats DICE at least in the support department because they were really open to criticism and suggestions, which DICE is coming shy of.

    So while this game has it's ups and downs, I think it does deserve more attention as they are always improving it. I'd suggest it to a friend.
    Expand
  4. Jan 6, 2014
    5
    Battlefield 4 has two very different sides to it, the multiplayer and the singleplayer. The single player makes me question "why am I playingBattlefield 4 has two very different sides to it, the multiplayer and the singleplayer. The single player makes me question "why am I playing this when I could be having way more fun ripping my toe nail off with a block of Lego." However, the multiplayer is a bucket of fun, especially playing in a squad with friends, but you will need a powerful rig or the game will look like a 5 year old drew a few pictures and is showing you them on ms PowerPoint. Expand
  5. Nov 4, 2013
    3
    battlefield 4 is battlefield 3 nothing more. I'm a big fan of the BF games but now it's just sucking the money and not the promotion ofbattlefield 4 is battlefield 3 nothing more. I'm a big fan of the BF games but now it's just sucking the money and not the promotion of franchise. They better do about WW2 give a fresh breath of air instead they chase to Activision with their CoD insteed (sorry for bad english) Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    1
    Battlefield 4 is an unfinished product.

    Campaign: Straightforward, poor narrative, very buggy--especially if you don't wait in line with
    Battlefield 4 is an unfinished product.

    Campaign: Straightforward, poor narrative, very buggy--especially if you don't wait in line with the AI during many sequences. Unbelievably, even more bland than the bf3 campaign--but a plus for cute chinese waifu.

    Multiplayer is supposed to be the core of the experience, but is literally unplayable(at the moment). The few times it has worked, there have been audio bugs, certain areas not rendering at all, net code issues, frequent server instability, etc.. The server browser is still lacking in basic functionality, such as filtering out full or empty servers and frequently will not display server ping.

    I say "at the moment", but really there is no good reason the game should be unplayable for the majority of people on release. Most bugs are easily reproducible and gamebreaking. If only there'd been a beta test before release, then there wouldn't be the need for one now. Bugguness and rough edges are expected to some extent for a new release, but a product which is unplayable for many users is unbelievable.
    Expand
  7. Oct 10, 2017
    0
    There comes a time where a game is just incapable and is not tested enough to be viable for a release yet, we call those incomplete gamesThere comes a time where a game is just incapable and is not tested enough to be viable for a release yet, we call those incomplete games usually.

    However Battlefield 4 takes it a lot further, i don't understand how anyone can claim this game works for them? Hardware changes, OS changes, driver revisions, from 2015 when i got the game till 2017 i have never had a single good time playing the game because it just will not remain stable and run on any hardware i throw at it, the typical GPU hung or device removed issue happens on both Nvidia and AMD GPU's, played it with a GTX 580, GTX 670, and now an R9 Fury, no difference, the only thing that changed was the ability to run the game at a high graphical preset and that is it... The game is a complete shambles.

    Says a lot when Battlefront II a game in Open Beta as i write this is far more stable than a AAA game that was patched within an inch of it's life.

    A sad story to what could have been a great game, utter trash.
    Expand

See all 955 User Reviews