User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1441 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 6, 2011
    2
    This is a very visually unpleasant game to play. Blowing snow, blowing sand, smoke or haze obliterates what must be some good graphics behind the scenes but you can't see anything. The multiplayer action must be awesome for the game to get such good reviews. I wouldn't know about that as online gaming is not for me any more. Singleplayer action is confined to just one linear thread throughThis is a very visually unpleasant game to play. Blowing snow, blowing sand, smoke or haze obliterates what must be some good graphics behind the scenes but you can't see anything. The multiplayer action must be awesome for the game to get such good reviews. I wouldn't know about that as online gaming is not for me any more. Singleplayer action is confined to just one linear thread through the game with almost no variability. Many missions are just plain stupid like running from building to building to keep from freezing, really? There is absolutely no replay potential for me in this game. Expand
  2. Jul 31, 2011
    0
    No immersion, very little teamwork (everyone is just running around doing their "thing"), weapons are unrealistic (nothing but giant, over embellished chunks of metal with exaggerated functions), player team models make no sense (a mix of future U.S. Army soldiers, English soldiers, terrorists with masks, and this ape thing) -- the enemy has the same models too, too many screen markersNo immersion, very little teamwork (everyone is just running around doing their "thing"), weapons are unrealistic (nothing but giant, over embellished chunks of metal with exaggerated functions), player team models make no sense (a mix of future U.S. Army soldiers, English soldiers, terrorists with masks, and this ape thing) -- the enemy has the same models too, too many screen markers (forget using the map environment tactically and taking cover and knowing you're safe -- the enemy knows you're their because of a giant red marker on their screen), the buildings make no sense (a maze of identical, empty, box houses with that goofy Victorian wallpaper), tanks and vehicles always getting stuck on objects (a tank can't move an empty blue container or knock down a wooden post?), what's the point of breaking down those wooden doors?, etc... The list goes on -- but the graphics were nice (the developers should try doing cgi for Hollywood instead). Expand
  3. Apr 17, 2011
    3
    EA must be using shills because the game's drop in player activity should tell you by now how much players enjoy it. It basically has inherited all the players who finally let BF2 die. Connection issues, server performance and the Frostbite's handling of the destructible environments SUCK! You freeze in 1/2 the servers you play in as soon anything explodes in front of you (even an RPG missEA must be using shills because the game's drop in player activity should tell you by now how much players enjoy it. It basically has inherited all the players who finally let BF2 die. Connection issues, server performance and the Frostbite's handling of the destructible environments SUCK! You freeze in 1/2 the servers you play in as soon anything explodes in front of you (even an RPG miss which keeps you from returning fire even though your opponent has already switched weapons and is still firing on you). The sniper kit!?!?!
    That's why 80% of the people playing are choosing. Oh!, and you can snipe with a shotgun. 2 actually. No kidding, 2 shotguns can shoot across the map and people camp with them to the point the gameplay is flawed. You can also destroy targets in rush from areas you cannot be seen or found (usually called glitching) but this game seems designed for it. VOIP does not work and 50% of the players a year later still lose connection sometimes if using the friends list.
    Expand
  4. MaxD
    Mar 13, 2010
    3
    This game has huge imbalances and major bugs and clunky UI to search for multi player games. Really not impressed with this game, its just simply not fun. Gone are the days when a game got polished before it was released, this is just another re-hash of previous games already released, there's nothing special about this game at all. Don't waste your time if you already have MW2 This game has huge imbalances and major bugs and clunky UI to search for multi player games. Really not impressed with this game, its just simply not fun. Gone are the days when a game got polished before it was released, this is just another re-hash of previous games already released, there's nothing special about this game at all. Don't waste your time if you already have MW2 or TF2 installed. Expand
  5. BradB.
    Mar 5, 2010
    3
    It has been a long time since i got angry about a game, but i cant believe i wasted my money on this steaming pile of ****. It has a lot of cool concepts, but its gameplay mechanics are terrible, punkbuster is a pos, it has massive fps issues, and takes 10 mins to find a server that will let you connect to. go get MW2.
  6. Sep 4, 2010
    3
    This game was that terrible I actually disregard that it exists as it tarnishes the Battlefield franchise too much. The Singleplayer campaign was terrible, linear, repetitive with painstakingly dreadful and unplayable AI. Multiplayer had horrible bullet mechanics, broken hitboxes and poor weapon balancing design. Even vehicles don't work as when you try to run over your enemies they justThis game was that terrible I actually disregard that it exists as it tarnishes the Battlefield franchise too much. The Singleplayer campaign was terrible, linear, repetitive with painstakingly dreadful and unplayable AI. Multiplayer had horrible bullet mechanics, broken hitboxes and poor weapon balancing design. Even vehicles don't work as when you try to run over your enemies they just pass straight through your jeep.

    The Frostbite 2.0 engine was either poorly implemented or it is a piece of **** The graphical art style was painful to look at with blinding HDR and over contrasting until grass looks like green goo poured over asphalt. The audio engine is broken as surround sound did not work and the game offers absolutely NO options in regards to audio settings, except for a **** sound equaliser which I don't need.

    My point of advice? Avoid this game like the plague along with Modern Warfare 2 and the new Medal of Honor. They are all pieces of **** and a burden on society. If you want to find a real shooter try ARMA 2, even though it is poorly optimised it is an amazing game and is less than half the price of all of these **** overpriced 'blockbuster' games.

    - Kingo64
    Expand
  7. LukeM.
    Mar 5, 2010
    2
    The graphics are good, the physics are good - and vehicles! However there's little in that which distinguiches it above other modern shooters like Modern Warfare 2 and Crysis. Also the button configuration for pc is messed up. No toggle crouch option and prone is entirely removed. Prone being a key feature to any truely great shooter. Frankly compared to it's forefathers - such The graphics are good, the physics are good - and vehicles! However there's little in that which distinguiches it above other modern shooters like Modern Warfare 2 and Crysis. Also the button configuration for pc is messed up. No toggle crouch option and prone is entirely removed. Prone being a key feature to any truely great shooter. Frankly compared to it's forefathers - such as battlefield 2, an utter let down. Expand
  8. Aug 18, 2011
    2
    One of the least enjoyable FPS games I've played in a while. Graphics and sound were okay, but the campaigns themselves were terrible, and controls were almost unbearable. Really wish I had saved my money for something not made by EA.
  9. Oct 26, 2011
    0
    I've been playing the game for 20 hours, it's very hard to control, it's so unbalanced as it can be, starters can meet people at the highest lvl, so you just keep running around and getting 0 points. There is no such thing as teamwork in this game, it's like CS;S people just think about their kills. It deserves it's 0 points, because the campaign is short and boring, the online gameplay isI've been playing the game for 20 hours, it's very hard to control, it's so unbalanced as it can be, starters can meet people at the highest lvl, so you just keep running around and getting 0 points. There is no such thing as teamwork in this game, it's like CS;S people just think about their kills. It deserves it's 0 points, because the campaign is short and boring, the online gameplay is so unbalanced and well, I thought that vehicles would be awesome! It's not, if you're not an engineer, and you meet a tank, you're done for sure, and in most maps people only use tanks. I can only recommend this to people, who got so much money that they just want to trow them in the garbage. Expand
  10. Aug 12, 2010
    3
    Not as good as I expected... I was very excited about this game and waited for it to come out but when I bought it, it just simply wasn't fun. I guess all the variety of weapons and vehicles was just too compicated for me since im a counter strike fan. Also the single player was disappointing too because I guess I played it right after COD:MW2, it seem even less fun.
  11. JohnH
    Mar 12, 2010
    2
    DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. If you have ever fired a weapon before. Most of the other games out there are pretty unrealistic but this one defies beleief, It should be called HALO in military costumes, you have to shoot anything and everything as if they had steel skin. It's infuriating to get the drop on someone and let loose PB with an assault rifle only for them to look around liek what DO NOT BUY THIS GAME. If you have ever fired a weapon before. Most of the other games out there are pretty unrealistic but this one defies beleief, It should be called HALO in military costumes, you have to shoot anything and everything as if they had steel skin. It's infuriating to get the drop on someone and let loose PB with an assault rifle only for them to look around liek what was that? and then knife you or use a nade launcher. Half teh tiem it feels liek you must unload a complete clip into anything to kill it. Like sniping? Well as much as it would be nice to get excited by the games "bullet drop" aspect, you can hit someone in the head and they simply shrug it off, it takes two to pretty much do them in. Of course there's unrealistic run speeds but then that's most games out there. I have a machine that runs this like a dream, and it DOESN't cost that much to build a machien to run it well despite other reviews I'd read, but ultimately the feeling of firing 22 rounds against people all in bfull body armor just takes away from any remotely realistic feeling.....this has more in common with HALO, or team fortress, cosole games may like it.....but the fact it has gotten so many good reviews, has me questioning if anyone in teh industry have ever fired a weapon, gone hunting, much less ever been in the military. This makes MW2 look like a realistic shooter.......and I'm not a fan of that either. Expand
  12. Jan 12, 2011
    4
    As with many of the previous titles this one falls prey to the same problem:
    great game - too many hackers...

    Until they find (or willing to find) a solution to this problem, it too frustrating to waste your time and money on.
  13. JohnS.
    Mar 5, 2010
    0
    You know that feeling, when you spent 50 bucks on a piece of shit? I hate that feeling, so if you hate it too, please avoid this game at all costs. Multiplayer is a joke, you can't tie your key with steam, you'll find glitches and issues up your ass each time you start up this game. garbage.
  14. CarlE.
    Mar 7, 2010
    2
    Could have been cool, but it is way too buggy. Singleplayer feels "average" so far. Multiplayer is where I think this game could really shine, but it does not work (I cannot connect at all)! Graphically the game is uneven, at times the performance is bad and sometimes it is very hard to see anything due to all the effects. When in fullscreen my mouse is offset in UI making some buttons Could have been cool, but it is way too buggy. Singleplayer feels "average" so far. Multiplayer is where I think this game could really shine, but it does not work (I cannot connect at all)! Graphically the game is uneven, at times the performance is bad and sometimes it is very hard to see anything due to all the effects. When in fullscreen my mouse is offset in UI making some buttons unavailable! Lots of other minor bugs as well. I wish I had gotten the PS3 version instead... this is a very poor port. Expand
  15. DaveC
    Apr 21, 2010
    2
    The game has the look and feel of a beta test. Shadows are jagged and glitchy, even with 8x and 4x filtering and anti-aliasing turned on. That would be forgivable by itself, but the game also will just crash randomly to the desktop; sometimes after 5 minutes, sometimes after 50 minutes. The EA forums are full of people with the issue. Those whose PCs are up to standards but just will not The game has the look and feel of a beta test. Shadows are jagged and glitchy, even with 8x and 4x filtering and anti-aliasing turned on. That would be forgivable by itself, but the game also will just crash randomly to the desktop; sometimes after 5 minutes, sometimes after 50 minutes. The EA forums are full of people with the issue. Those whose PCs are up to standards but just will not play the game. However while the game is running, it's one of the more entertaining titles since Modern Warfare 2. Sadly, the lack of support and response from EA makes me give this game a 2. Expand
  16. Trevor
    Mar 3, 2010
    1
    Do NOT buy unless you have a 2-3 thousand dollar computer. I have a fairly powerful computer consisting of 3GB memory, 2.4gH processing speed, and a 256 MB video card (NVidia GT8600),running windows 7, and I CAN'T even play this game on the lowest settings. DICE did a horrible job of optimizing this game, DO NOT believe the minimum requirements. The only reason I give it a 1 is Do NOT buy unless you have a 2-3 thousand dollar computer. I have a fairly powerful computer consisting of 3GB memory, 2.4gH processing speed, and a 256 MB video card (NVidia GT8600),running windows 7, and I CAN'T even play this game on the lowest settings. DICE did a horrible job of optimizing this game, DO NOT believe the minimum requirements. The only reason I give it a 1 is because i managed to play about an hour online, before video lag got the best of me. Expand
  17. Sep 14, 2011
    1
    This game is the worst battlefield experience i have ever had. Battlefield 2 was awesome. It had the original CS experience out of the box with kickass vehicles that felt like vehicles. Dont ever buy this game, its bugged, its filled with exploits, and the helicopter can move less then in a simulator. Crap game - dont buy.
  18. Oct 17, 2010
    2
    Nice graphics..Average sound..but over all a total piece of crap...poor physics...seriously glitched hit markers..head shots don't = a kill but foot shots do??? No ability to go prone..... Seriously if I wanted another piece of garbage that I cant go prone with, and score a kill with a foot shot I would play halo !!! Seriously after Bad Company 1 I thought you have learned to take itNice graphics..Average sound..but over all a total piece of crap...poor physics...seriously glitched hit markers..head shots don't = a kill but foot shots do??? No ability to go prone..... Seriously if I wanted another piece of garbage that I cant go prone with, and score a kill with a foot shot I would play halo !!! Seriously after Bad Company 1 I thought you have learned to take it back to BF2 PC style!!! Expand
  19. ShannonP
    Mar 6, 2010
    4
    Strictly a PC Version Review: This game looks good, and plays good.. WHEN you can play it. EA launched it with a ton of bugs and Multiplayer is almost impossible right now! It does take a beast of a machine to run on higher settings as it has been very poorly optimized and does feel a bit like a console port. If you can run the game, it looks great, if not.. it has been reported to be Strictly a PC Version Review: This game looks good, and plays good.. WHEN you can play it. EA launched it with a ton of bugs and Multiplayer is almost impossible right now! It does take a beast of a machine to run on higher settings as it has been very poorly optimized and does feel a bit like a console port. If you can run the game, it looks great, if not.. it has been reported to be very sluggish and painful. The worst part of the PC Experience has been the poor release that EA has allowed. There are currently numerous disconnect and punkbuster issues, once those are cleared up the game seems like it will be pretty good. Right now, its way to difficult to connect to waste your cash on it. Give it a week or so and let DICE fix their bugs. It seems like they really stuck it to the pre-orders. Expand
  20. Sep 10, 2010
    0
    Bought this game on steam a week ago for online play only. In a full week, i have NEVER been able to loin to multiplayer. I have asked steam for a refund. Here is why. After buying the game, i sent EA a support ticket telling them that I have never been able to play online. They replied saying that there was on going server upgrades and capaicity problems that may be finished in the nearBought this game on steam a week ago for online play only. In a full week, i have NEVER been able to loin to multiplayer. I have asked steam for a refund. Here is why. After buying the game, i sent EA a support ticket telling them that I have never been able to play online. They replied saying that there was on going server upgrades and capaicity problems that may be finished in the near future. There was no mention on steam or on BBC2 website before I bought the game that it was impossible to play online. . In my opinion, that is no where near good enough! I have asked Steam for the refund so i can buy a ready game.

    shane
    Expand
  21. Dec 25, 2010
    1
    Alright I'm gonna be blunt here because it's 10 to 4 and I feel like it... this game is terrible. the first few missions are great and examples of how this game really should've been made, and there's some pretty funny dialogue between characters, but the rest of the game is utter trash. If you enjoy being killed repeatedly with absolutely no warning whatsoever, and being unable to evenAlright I'm gonna be blunt here because it's 10 to 4 and I feel like it... this game is terrible. the first few missions are great and examples of how this game really should've been made, and there's some pretty funny dialogue between characters, but the rest of the game is utter trash. If you enjoy being killed repeatedly with absolutely no warning whatsoever, and being unable to even play multiplayer because Punkbuster kicks you at total random, this game is for you. Oh, and the bugs - fire RPG at havoc, havoc completely vanishes into thin air, where does it go? Oh yeah, it's behind you, shooting you up the ass. That's just how bad this game is. Expand
  22. Jan 3, 2011
    4
    If you want the best example of a console port, here it is. Battlefield: Bad Company 2 was the game that made me give up on my days of PC gaming. To start, if you don't have a computer that is prepared to handle top-notch graphics, you might as well look for another FPS. For a computer that runs Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 smoothly on the highest settings, you would think I'd be able toIf you want the best example of a console port, here it is. Battlefield: Bad Company 2 was the game that made me give up on my days of PC gaming. To start, if you don't have a computer that is prepared to handle top-notch graphics, you might as well look for another FPS. For a computer that runs Call of Duty: Modern Warfare 2 smoothly on the highest settings, you would think I'd be able to do the same with a game that came out only months after. Apparently not. It is an outrage that the average person that has an average computer cannot enjoy this game. Moving on, the campaign was decent, but was short and made about as much sense as the sequel to the movie Transformers. Multiplayer is not even close to what the experience is like on the consoles, and the poor quality of the servers often overshadow any gameplay enjoyment. DICE even admitted that they had somehow confused the terms "latency" and "ping," and did not fix this for a while. I've been inexplicably been disconnected from servers almost as many times as I've had to wait more than 5 minutes to connect to them. In short, unless you are a diehard, Battlefield fan, that must play on the PC, and has spent hundreds of dollars in upgrading your computer, then I would not recommend this game. Expand
  23. Mar 13, 2011
    0
    Bad Company 2 is a good game. However the PC version is a piece of crap. I spent 50 euros on Steam for it, and what did I get in return? I got a game that from the beginning (and today) was full of bugs. Knife kills doesn't work properly, road kills doesn't work at all, and plenty more bugs completely ruins this game. The menu system is probably the most stupid I've ever seen. For viewingBad Company 2 is a good game. However the PC version is a piece of crap. I spent 50 euros on Steam for it, and what did I get in return? I got a game that from the beginning (and today) was full of bugs. Knife kills doesn't work properly, road kills doesn't work at all, and plenty more bugs completely ruins this game. The menu system is probably the most stupid I've ever seen. For viewing your score you have to press TAB (very common), but when respawing you can't press TAB, you have to press Esc. How ridiculous is that? Two buttons for the same thing just at different times. Other minor bugs as getting stuck in windows, or getting killed by not standing 5 meters from a collapsing building. Lagg is another big issue with the game, with an average of 150+ in latency/ping/delay i ms.
    Besides from that the game is a complete wreck technical, it has beautiful graphics and a very good multi player (minus all the bad of course).
    Expand
  24. Feb 20, 2011
    1
    the single player campaign is about 4 hours long so its really kind of disappointing. Coming from bf 2142 to this and i find this game very lacking. The guns are lackluster and the hit register reminds me of cod: waw, the graphics are very basic to just downright ugly. if you own a xbox 360 or a ps3 i suggest hire it first otherwise i would give this a miss and stick to mw2
  25. Dec 12, 2010
    1
    To windows 7 users who are using their on-board sound, don't bother to get this game. Multiplayer is fun and would have been great if people who are using their on-board sound can play for over 1 hour without having their computer hardlock on them. This is a known issue for a while now and still has not been fixed. The only solution is to purchase a sound card or usb sound card, or disableTo windows 7 users who are using their on-board sound, don't bother to get this game. Multiplayer is fun and would have been great if people who are using their on-board sound can play for over 1 hour without having their computer hardlock on them. This is a known issue for a while now and still has not been fixed. The only solution is to purchase a sound card or usb sound card, or disable the on-board sound. Stay away from this game unless you have a dedicated sound card. I wish I could enjoy this game, but my computer keeps getting hard locked since day one of my purchase of this game. Expand
  26. Aug 19, 2010
    3
    I have a really hard time believing that many folks gave this game a high score when out of the box it is missing joystick functionality (you have to hack a file to get it to partially work, and most joystick throttles will never work). Months later they have never fixed this. All of the previous Battlefield games worked great with joysticks. They didn't give you the ablity to goI have a really hard time believing that many folks gave this game a high score when out of the box it is missing joystick functionality (you have to hack a file to get it to partially work, and most joystick throttles will never work). Months later they have never fixed this. All of the previous Battlefield games worked great with joysticks. They didn't give you the ablity to go prone, which every war shooter that has came out for the last decade has had. Come on folks. Nice Eye Candy. Bad execution. Anybody who gave this game a 10 needs to do a little bit more thorough review. Expand
  27. Jan 9, 2011
    0
    To begin with, it's the exact normal generic FPS that we all know, nothing new or inventive about it. That would be enough if it had any game balance at all, but it does not.

    If you buy this game they start you out with severely weakened **** guns, no ability to use good sights on anything, no special abilities or anything else that makes the game fun. They handicap NEW players to put
    To begin with, it's the exact normal generic FPS that we all know, nothing new or inventive about it. That would be enough if it had any game balance at all, but it does not.

    If you buy this game they start you out with severely weakened **** guns, no ability to use good sights on anything, no special abilities or anything else that makes the game fun.
    They handicap NEW players to put them at ten times an unfair disadvantage. New players are exactly who should not be forced to use weaker guns in anything competitive. There's really no point in making someone spend 100 hours before you make the game FAIR.
    EA can burn in hell, they're a piece of **** game company.
    Expand
  28. Apr 29, 2011
    2
    I want to enjoy this game but I found a few things annoying. First of all the hit markers are just awful, I can shoot someone 15 times and they will turn and mow me down. Secondly, the handicap that new players get is simply ridiculous, if you're level 1 and just starting out, you will die A LOT. Third I find that many of the hosts for dedicated servers will boot/ban for the smallest ofI want to enjoy this game but I found a few things annoying. First of all the hit markers are just awful, I can shoot someone 15 times and they will turn and mow me down. Secondly, the handicap that new players get is simply ridiculous, if you're level 1 and just starting out, you will die A LOT. Third I find that many of the hosts for dedicated servers will boot/ban for the smallest of issues, such as suggesting one of their clan mates is a cheater. Lastly I guess would be the sheer amount of base rape that happens from people just whoring vehicles the entire game, I mean base rape with 3 tanks in your only spawn is not very fun.

    Overall, this game just made for an unenjoyable game and I found little pleasure from dying 10 times from a guy in an Apache with flares that was impossible to shoot down made for an easy un-install choice.
    Expand
  29. Jun 9, 2011
    0
    Worst game ever. Single player was up to standard but the multiplayer is just TERRIBLE! Every server I have ever played on always has an overwhelming powerful clan that is on one a single team killing everyone making everyone die at their spawn. The weapons are so unbalanced. I understand the game makers want to make the game long lasting to play for the users but IF WE CAN'T WIN, HOW AREWorst game ever. Single player was up to standard but the multiplayer is just TERRIBLE! Every server I have ever played on always has an overwhelming powerful clan that is on one a single team killing everyone making everyone die at their spawn. The weapons are so unbalanced. I understand the game makers want to make the game long lasting to play for the users but IF WE CAN'T WIN, HOW ARE WE SUPPOSE TO GET NEW WEAPONS TO FIGHT OFF THE PLAYERS WHO HAVE ALREADY BEEN PLAYING SINCE THE START? Not to mention the lag, every server, no matter what the ping is, WILL LAG AS IF I WAS RUNNING THE GAME ON WINDOWS 95 ! Also the biased damage, e.g. a grenade can hit a person right in front of him and he would not die but someone can shoot a M9 across the map and still kill someone? What rubbish. Worst spawn system ever. CODBO has better spawning system. I can literally spawn next to an enemy while he is firing. Expand
  30. Jul 21, 2011
    0
    Terrible game. Horrid design compared to the old Battlefields. No prone, why?! It's not even a Battlefield game without prone. The maps are so horribly unbalanced it's not even playable when you're on a certain team at one point. it's almost impossible to take cover because there's no prone so it's a snipers delight. Oh, did I mention snipers? The game is infested with snipers. This is aTerrible game. Horrid design compared to the old Battlefields. No prone, why?! It's not even a Battlefield game without prone. The maps are so horribly unbalanced it's not even playable when you're on a certain team at one point. it's almost impossible to take cover because there's no prone so it's a snipers delight. Oh, did I mention snipers? The game is infested with snipers. This is a sniper simulation and nothing more. I would rather play Call of Duty than this horrid piece of crap. Battlefield 3 better be good or I'm not buying a Battlefield game ever again. Expand
  31. MagniG
    May 23, 2010
    3
    This game is about 50$ 1. The graphics look 5 years old. 2. The AI is an insult to the gaming industry. 3. The story telling is weak at the best of times. 4. The SP is completed in less then 5 hours. 5. The weapons are supposed to be real, but they are not. 6. The Core rendering looks really old. You shot someone in the head and there is a little blood. That's all. 7. In some cases This game is about 50$ 1. The graphics look 5 years old. 2. The AI is an insult to the gaming industry. 3. The story telling is weak at the best of times. 4. The SP is completed in less then 5 hours. 5. The weapons are supposed to be real, but they are not. 6. The Core rendering looks really old. You shot someone in the head and there is a little blood. That's all. 7. In some cases you will have to use an entire mag to kill one enemy. This is just a few things. This is a game with high focus on Online Co-Op gameplay. And not the SP. But for the price and considering that EA is the largest PC game programmer is the world. The single player is simply to weak and an insult to anyone who pays for it. I am going to demand my money back for this very low budget release. Expand
  32. EpicGamer
    Mar 4, 2010
    0
    Why does everyone like this game? Sure, it has dedicated servers, but the browser limits options like not showing the IP address. The idea of destructible environments is great, if only the enemies showed tactics of some kind. Everyone claims the game has excellent sound. Sorry, but some of us don't use 7.1 surround sound, and for us all the in-game sounds seem muddled. Gunshots Why does everyone like this game? Sure, it has dedicated servers, but the browser limits options like not showing the IP address. The idea of destructible environments is great, if only the enemies showed tactics of some kind. Everyone claims the game has excellent sound. Sorry, but some of us don't use 7.1 surround sound, and for us all the in-game sounds seem muddled. Gunshots sound terribly generic and both reloading and the ease at which you die is pathetic. The maps are too large, yes, too large. Call of Duty: World at War gave a better sense of battle tactics. Sure, it was every man for himself, but at least you didn't spend so much time walking across the map, looking for an enemy. The graphics aren't terrific for the terrible frames per second they produce on lower end machines. Running causes you to drift to the left and getting hung-up on the environment is way too common. Heck, even Modern Warfare 2 was more fun than this. I really want to like this game, it has some good "borrowed" ideas. The trouble is the execution. For instance, don't show a cutscene and sgive you control of the camera, only to fade to black. If you are going to use the in-game graphics for cutscenes, give back player control and let them continue playing. I'm pleased the developer wanted to give PC gamers a break (and for that alone they deserve a combined rating of at least 5), but after playing 100's, and I mean hundreds of PC games this particular effort justs smacks of port. In conclusion, poor optimization, poor sound, poor story, and the lack of immersion just ruin what should of been a great game. I wouldn't be so upset if I didn't want to enjoy the game as much as I do. Expand
  33. Sergey
    May 31, 2010
    2
    Nothing special about the game, conventional shooter with scripted friendly AI who can't shoot point blank, no help at all and call out lines they're supposed to. You meet the same buildings with ovens over the whole campaign. But they're destructable? haha There's no destruction at all as in BF1 which was seen in video right away if you're no idiot. Fake Nothing special about the game, conventional shooter with scripted friendly AI who can't shoot point blank, no help at all and call out lines they're supposed to. You meet the same buildings with ovens over the whole campaign. But they're destructable? haha There's no destruction at all as in BF1 which was seen in video right away if you're no idiot. Fake destrctuction 2.0 You shoot at an area,let's say a wall. If a bullet hits the area it disappears, a lot of smoke, flying bricks and that's it, a hole. If all the areas disappear, a building collapses. Don't be suprised if some wall doesn't destroy. Well One bullet and wooden fence literally blows up. The same goes for other objects, looks LOL. The knife is a powerful weapon, one cut, no fency, wire and so on. Explosive one, I guess, too. Any destructable object is prebuild. You can destruct what it's meant to be so by DICE. No physics. I don't even talk about old graphics and engine that hasn't been optimised for PC.The story about the squad that always doubts whether to go on their trip to destroy a super weapon is banal. Expand
  34. Apr 4, 2011
    1
    A poor port from a console. Many modern PC features removed.
    No prone? No lean? Inaccurate weapons. Slow and annoying weaponms unlocking. Inefficient armored vehicles. Empty a whole magazine at an enemy point blank only to get killed by the same enemy with a pistol. WTF?!!
    A poor 1 - just for the destroyable environment. Lacking gameplay.
  35. Dec 7, 2011
    0
    After many attempts to enter my CD key (no copy and paste) and log on to the EA account, I still get "connection error" whenever I try to play the game, even single player. I have not been able to get anywhere near the actual game, not even in single player mode, so restrictive is EA's account management and so flaky their network connections. It seems I am not alone in this experience.After many attempts to enter my CD key (no copy and paste) and log on to the EA account, I still get "connection error" whenever I try to play the game, even single player. I have not been able to get anywhere near the actual game, not even in single player mode, so restrictive is EA's account management and so flaky their network connections. It seems I am not alone in this experience. What a waste of money. EA seem to spoil everything they touch. Expand
  36. Nov 16, 2011
    0
    Single Player is boring and pretty linear.
    Multiplayer is unabalanced,filled with people abusing certain weapons to win and the MP is dumped down compared to older BF games.
    Maps are small,only 32 players,no jets,no modding support,terrible optimization,maps are unbalanced and let teams spawncamp each other all the time and it's impossible to see anything thanks to the high amount of ugly
    Single Player is boring and pretty linear.
    Multiplayer is unabalanced,filled with people abusing certain weapons to win and the MP is dumped down compared to older BF games.
    Maps are small,only 32 players,no jets,no modding support,terrible optimization,maps are unbalanced and let teams spawncamp each other all the time and it's impossible to see anything thanks to the high amount of ugly bloom and 'realistick' dust. The community in BC2's is garbage, it makes the COD community look polite and mature.
    DO NOT BUY BC2, it's the worst BF game ever. If you want a true BF exp. then buy BF2,3,1942,vietnam or 2142.
    Expand
  37. Jul 10, 2013
    4
    BF: Bad Company 2 does not deserve the word "Battlefield" in the title. When it comes to gameplay the game is a step backwards compared to the predecessor. Made strange medic class, only 4 people in squads, not possible to go prone etc. For Esport is not suitable for playing. It looks like the game was made ​​for consoles only. Thanks to the Frostbite engine, the game looks nice and it isBF: Bad Company 2 does not deserve the word "Battlefield" in the title. When it comes to gameplay the game is a step backwards compared to the predecessor. Made strange medic class, only 4 people in squads, not possible to go prone etc. For Esport is not suitable for playing. It looks like the game was made ​​for consoles only. Thanks to the Frostbite engine, the game looks nice and it is the only plus to this game. Expand
  38. Jul 24, 2013
    1
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Im not COD fan, but i hate this game. Singleplayer is SUCKS, AI SUCKS (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LuyFPyD0xYw), multiplayer, was good but not so. Story is worst BF ever made, i want to forget this crap Expand
  39. May 29, 2016
    4
    I was told back in 2011 that this was one of the best games of 2010. So I bought it. Boy, was disappointed to say the least. If this is the best they can do, then the game industry is in a terrible shape when it comes to creativity.

    The gameplay is the same crap as it's always been, just run and shoot some people, take cover, reload, shoot, next level. Repeat. And I mean like fine, it's
    I was told back in 2011 that this was one of the best games of 2010. So I bought it. Boy, was disappointed to say the least. If this is the best they can do, then the game industry is in a terrible shape when it comes to creativity.

    The gameplay is the same crap as it's always been, just run and shoot some people, take cover, reload, shoot, next level. Repeat. And I mean like fine, it's not easy to come up with revolutionary gameplay, so at least make a good story and characters. Nope, the story is crap and none of the characters are memorable. The missions are boring, and when I played half of the game I thought 'when will this crap end?'.

    I will praise the game mechanics to a degree, as I like the movement of the main character that you play and that he's not on steroids like in every COD game, and the guns are somewhat fun to shoot. Graphics were pretty good for that time. And these are the only reasons I'm giving this game a few extra points and it lands on a 4/10. Just another Run-And-Gun no brain game.
    Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. The new single-player mode isn’t that interesting, but the multi-player part is fantastic. With new destructable environments and new game modes Bad Company 2 is the best Battlefield game so far.
  2. Do you like first-person shooters? If the answer is yes, buy Battlefield: Bad Company 2. If there's a weakness it lies in the slightly brief single-player campaign, but the brilliant, potentially Modern Warfare 2 beating multiplayer more than picks up the slack.
  3. 91
    Though it occasionally stumbles, there's one thing that Bad Company 2 clearly demonstrates: DICE has graduated from the, "can only do a multiplayer FPS" class, and is perfectly capable of making a great all-around game.