Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 46 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 1285 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In this installment, the Bad Company crew again find themselves in the heart of the action, where they must use every weapon and vehicle at their disposal to survive. In Battlefield: Bad Company 2, the 'B' company fight their way through snowy mountaintops, dense jungles and dusty villages.In this installment, the Bad Company crew again find themselves in the heart of the action, where they must use every weapon and vehicle at their disposal to survive. In Battlefield: Bad Company 2, the 'B' company fight their way through snowy mountaintops, dense jungles and dusty villages. With a heavy arsenal of deadly weapons and a slew of vehicles to aid them, the crew set off on their mission and they are ready to blow up, shoot down, blast through, wipe out and utterly destroy anything that gets in their way. Total destruction is the name of the game, delivered as only the DICE next generation Frostbite engine can. [Electronic Arts] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 46
  2. Negative: 0 out of 46
  1. 100
    Battlefield: Bad Company 2 is as complete a package as you could ever ask for. Multiplayer-heavy titles can be a fickle beast, but we’re pretty sure we’ll be playing this one for quite some time to come.
  2. Both singleplayer and multiplayer experiences excel in Bad Company 2, and the sequel is a great step up from its first iteration. This is one of the best and most addictive on-line experiences in a shooter in years.
  3. 91
    Though it occasionally stumbles, there's one thing that Bad Company 2 clearly demonstrates: DICE has graduated from the, "can only do a multiplayer FPS" class, and is perfectly capable of making a great all-around game.
  4. Bad Company 2 is an excellent game and the best modern warfare shooter to date. Despite the cookie-cutter campaign, it beats Modern Warfare 2 in both single-player and multiplayer.
  5. It’s almost everything we want in a PC shooter. DICE’s latest installment in the Battlefield series sets the bar – we just wish there were more developers trying to surpass it.
  6. 87
    Battlefield: Bad Company 2 does what it does best: create a multiplayer experience which lifts it head and shoulders above the other shooters. All the pieces come together perfectly in an online that brings out the best of the Battlefields, with Rush as the pièce de résistance. Too bad that the sub-par singleplayer brings down the score quite a bit.
  7. Modern Warfare plus squads and vehicles, and minus the stick up its arse. A solid multiplayer FPS. [May 2010, p.66]

See all 46 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 39 out of 341
  1. Aug 14, 2010
    10
    I really have been into first person shooters for as long as i could remember and all i could say is that i enjoy this game.The wholeI really have been into first person shooters for as long as i could remember and all i could say is that i enjoy this game.The whole multiplayer is by far the most exciting and entertaining part of the game, even tho the campaign was lacking. Expand
  2. Jun 11, 2011
    10
    The best BF game in the series so far! This is one of the best multiplayer games in the BF series allowing more destruction than ever! A gameThe best BF game in the series so far! This is one of the best multiplayer games in the BF series allowing more destruction than ever! A game worth buying! Expand
  3. KyleM.
    Mar 5, 2010
    10
    Amazing game, hands down one of the best online experiences I've had recently. This is what modern warfare 2 should've been, Amazing game, hands down one of the best online experiences I've had recently. This is what modern warfare 2 should've been, gentlemen. Dedicated servers, little to no lag, good class balance, teamwork. It's all here! Expand
  4. RobM
    Mar 6, 2010
    9
    Excellent gaming value, moreso than it's current competition (and ten bucks less!). Very buggy multiplayer connectivity, patches for a Excellent gaming value, moreso than it's current competition (and ten bucks less!). Very buggy multiplayer connectivity, patches for a release this high-selling should come out daily til it runs right, or it will be just another next gen shooter with no fanbase. 40 minutes of dedicated cable/high end specs getting "cannot connect to ea online" messages is unacceptable. They made millions in week 1. Must get MP mode right or game will die! CS and CSS based games have always adhered to this. This game's requirements are a bit higher than stated, running ALMOST perfectly with 4gb ram, and radeon hd4850 (1024 ddr2 ram), but it is still choppy in large video and game-playing areas. That being said, it runs almost perfectly on a computer that cost less than $700 to build, NOT "2-3 thousand". And I'm talking max settings, awe-inspiring shadowing, and textures that can barely be contested. Overall great game but at this point I only applaud single player, being pretty engaging and challenging on higher settings. Expand
  5. Jun 24, 2011
    9
    How people can give this a low score and then claim to be long term gamers with some kind of superior knowledge is just ridiculous and veryHow people can give this a low score and then claim to be long term gamers with some kind of superior knowledge is just ridiculous and very poor marking. This is a well polished game, with some great features that offers something different than just the run around and blast average game.
    ive been playing games since 1842 so I can tell ya a thing or two!!
    Yes the multiplayer outshines the single player and was probably intended to do so.there has been a few glitches online with minor things and like any game it does have it's flaws, like when you are revived by a medic, sometimes it's all too often easy to get killed instantly, which battlefield 3 improves on and will give the dead player the option to be resuscitated or not. grab yerself some mates, (if u have some) get yerself a squad and start playing like a real team. Not headless chickens.
    The only reason I gave it a 9 is that there could be more online maps to play. can't wait for battlefield 3.
    Expand
  6. Brandon
    Mar 8, 2010
    8
    Can I just laugh at Trevor's computer on here? No ok, Well this game is pure win, I'm not a singleplayer game player myself, so the Can I just laugh at Trevor's computer on here? No ok, Well this game is pure win, I'm not a singleplayer game player myself, so the online multiplayer is great. Blow everything up, now it's not just an FPS but a Strategy FPS. Gaming has never been so fun. Spend $100 on a graphics card trevor. and maybe a processor if thats a single core. Expand
  7. EpicGamer
    Mar 4, 2010
    0
    Why does everyone like this game? Sure, it has dedicated servers, but the browser limits options like not showing the IP address. The idea of Why does everyone like this game? Sure, it has dedicated servers, but the browser limits options like not showing the IP address. The idea of destructible environments is great, if only the enemies showed tactics of some kind. Everyone claims the game has excellent sound. Sorry, but some of us don't use 7.1 surround sound, and for us all the in-game sounds seem muddled. Gunshots sound terribly generic and both reloading and the ease at which you die is pathetic. The maps are too large, yes, too large. Call of Duty: World at War gave a better sense of battle tactics. Sure, it was every man for himself, but at least you didn't spend so much time walking across the map, looking for an enemy. The graphics aren't terrific for the terrible frames per second they produce on lower end machines. Running causes you to drift to the left and getting hung-up on the environment is way too common. Heck, even Modern Warfare 2 was more fun than this. I really want to like this game, it has some good "borrowed" ideas. The trouble is the execution. For instance, don't show a cutscene and sgive you control of the camera, only to fade to black. If you are going to use the in-game graphics for cutscenes, give back player control and let them continue playing. I'm pleased the developer wanted to give PC gamers a break (and for that alone they deserve a combined rating of at least 5), but after playing 100's, and I mean hundreds of PC games this particular effort justs smacks of port. In conclusion, poor optimization, poor sound, poor story, and the lack of immersion just ruin what should of been a great game. I wouldn't be so upset if I didn't want to enjoy the game as much as I do. Expand

See all 341 User Reviews